(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

RE: weight and height

I believe Danica is average in weight and height. Last weight in July, she was 9.5kg and 74cm (I can't remember already... ARGH... Bad mummy)

kitsune
LOL! after i typed that i was thinking, under my "training" his wife will be lucky!!

gar
now if only i can train my own hubby, hahaha... but thankfully now he is better than before.

RE: Healthy Times BP

mime_msexcel.gif
Healthy Times BP 10 August 2009
Healthy Times BP 20090810.xls (31.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi, bkkgal/tute/bx,
Count me in Jacob Ballas garden playdate.

---Imitation,
My gal likes to do housework; and her fav toys are ball and motocycle; she doesn't like lady things except shoes.

Anyone using Huggies Dry? DH bought the wrong size (large) from NTUC, letting go at $15.50 (offer price $16.95), self collect from Simei St 1. Thanks!

good morning mummies!!
it's a friday and a long weekend ahead!!
so many sales everywhere. Carrefour has warehouse sale at downtown east. hope there's good buy.
wanted to get a luggage, backpack for myself, and blocks for C too.
anyone went carrefour warehouse sale before? hope it's not dissappointing.

garfield,
ya, long long time never see A.
See the picture of Ashlynn, RaeAnne, Emma, Ethan, Cayenne, Cheryl, Cayleb, Kate, Shaun, Gwen quite frequent though. where's A? :p

Iso,
not bad. Ethan help to wash dishes. too bad he's same age as C, otherwise i want to take queue number for him too. :p
i think it's better to get a bf/hb a few years older.

tubao,
shoe is girly stuff meh?

hehe...
Iso,
Can I also get queue num for my Emma? hope that my gal will find hands-on hubby when she grows up.

xiaoyun,
don't know neh....can't think of any other girly ...she never liked hairpin/tie her hair, pulled them out within 1 min. She doesn't like cooking set, likes doll (not much).

xy,
where are all the sales? i don't have today's newspapers =)

re A...hehe...ok ok i go home and use my home PC to post a few recent pics.

garfield,
OG, JohnLittle, Carrefour warehouse sale.
you go online read todayonline.

aiyah.. wanted to rest at home also cannot. :p

tempted to go for Swensen's Buffet at ION Orchard too..

tubao,
too girlly is another headache too. she likes to wear my watch now too..

realise that C is the kind who likes massage. she will guai guai lie on bed for me to do body massage for her. when sitting, she will also sit still for very long if we help her do shoulder massage. good life.. :D

Hi Bx
thanks for offering to lend me! i'll borrow for 1 day after i come back from holiday. really wanna compare btw rainbow (which my fren lent me b4) and delphin. maybe i'll get a 2nd hand one from ebay or auctions.

Training kids
Iso, good that you teaching E. i hope to train my K to learn to take care of herself, do hh chores. Noticed alot of young pp in the office nowadays all come from families with car/maid, everything is done for them at home so when they come out to the world, everything also dunno how. seems to me quite handicapped. also reminded me of this kid who dunno how to flush toilet - maid must flush for him everytime he finish business. haiz.

i also resolve to teach abt value of money when K is older. see my young 22, 23 yrs old colleagues, first job, haven't take 1 month salary, driving to work in brandnew cars, they even tell me no need to give parents money cos parents never ask, so they never give. Wahh!! i think i'm traditional - no matter what, even parents dun wan, still need to "repay" them for bringing me up. i will expect the same from K - i will save $$ for her.

bkkgal,
agree with you that need to start teaching on the $ matters.
no matter what also need to support the parents. easier to teach them starts from young. e.g, when they first have part time job, need to contribute a certain percentage of their salary to the household.

would like to know how much you all give your parents (%)?
for me, it was 15%. Now my parents gave me discount till 5%. :p

good thing is that i've lots of siblings, so they can survive with the amount of money given by all of us.
can't imagine if C need to support 2 of us by herself. very tough on her..

XY
I give 10%+5%. 10% is what we pledge to give even if I stop work i.e. hb will cont to give. 5% is for taking care of K which will stop if I stop work and look after myself.

Actually, hb and myself dun expect our kids to look after us. We hope we can be financially free by the time we retire. What they give us, we will save/invest for them so that when we leave, they can have something to start off in life.

bkkgal,
your hb so good. will even help to support for your parents even if you stop working.
we are not very confident that we can be having enough savings for ourselves 20 years down the road, although we have already started to save and invest for our future now.

tong,
exactly. 15% convert to RM is a lot. that's why they gave me discount after the birth of C.

XY
dat's why have to separate the 2 amts cos if i stop work, he cannot shoulder 15% by himself, plus his own parents.

xy,
i give 20%, will scale back by 5% if A goes to childcare.

talking about retirement savings...also dunno how much is enough.

bkk/bx/tubao,
when's most comfortable for you to go for the outing? Saturday or Sunday?

xy,
i give 5% now because my parents are staying with me so living expenses i will cover separately. btw, your memory good... can memorise the kids names..

iso,
"training" husbands, reminds me of the stepford wives... :p

gar,
yeah... post A's pic

jass,
post Matt's pics too leh.. your multiply is hardly updated now... hehehe.. busy at work ?

re: ND weekend,
Am going bird park tomorrow, there's actually a promotion buy 1 ticket get 1 free for bird park and night safari until 30 aug as part of ND celebration
Not bad...

bkk
kid need someone to flush toilet for them?? i have a similar story - once in my office pantry there weren't anymore clean cups, so one girl said, no more cups. then the sink is full of cups, so i said, just wash lah (i mean, it's natural to me, i would just wash one). and she just look at the sink, like "oh no, what am i going to do" like that. aiyoh

i think even if i have a maid next time i will ask her to leave some chores for the kids. sometimes can be fun too, when i change bedsheets for myself E likes to sit in the whole pile of sheets.

tubao
haha ok can. Ethan and Emma, sound quite cute right? lol.

but actually i agree with what XY said - a few years gap is better. i think girls who are a few years younger are more ting1 hua4. not like me and my hubby, only 1 year apart, always kana scolding from me. heehee.

re: retirement
yaloh. don't know how much needed. we plan to retire at 55.
if spend 1k per month, it will be 12k per year. if life is long enough, can live till 85, need 360k.
that's excluding the medical expenses - most of the insurance doesn't cover medical expenses after 70++

that's a lot of money needed..

re: kids name
not because memory good. just that i am following your blogs.

re: bird park
i went a few weeks back. C loves it! she's more excited than zoo.

XY,
hee...you are very thrifty. 1K a month is not enough for me esp after inflation. i think i need at least 3 or 4K

re insurance - hb and i bought this medical insurance pay premiums for 10 or 15 years and it provides us coverage till death one. i think it's by aviva.

Wow XY, how to live on 1K a month? wat abt inflation in 20 yrs' time? 3-4K maybe can...retire in thailand, buy a house there, grow my own vegetables.

tute
i'm ok with sat/sun..

iso
i used to go youth church camps - there was a girl, 13 yrs old, her duty is to wipe the tables after meals but wipe already, she dunno how to rinse the cloth! i was shocked, had to show her how to rinse and wring the cloth. she said at home she dun need to rinse, just wipe ok liao.
yeah, i agree musn't let the kids have this mentality that they can ask maid to do everything. we ourselves have to consciously do things ourselves e.g. dun always ask maid to bring things to us, if we can, we should do ourselves - must set good example.

garfield/bkk,
that's a very conservative budget - means no traveling, no fine dining..

think about it really makes me worry.

also the cost for her education. if she can't make it to local U, got to send overseas. each year at least 50k. 3 years 150k liao.
yes. being overseas help to let them learn to be independent. that's why we all very independent. :p

xy,
re overseas education, can get study loan. then they pay back every month after they graduate and get a job.

singapore is getting ridiculously expensive lah. look at property prices...cannot imagine what levels they will be when our kids grow up.

must consider migrating liao

Cost of education
yeah it's very costly, every yr goes up. i already told hb - best if she can make it, take a scholarship and study overseas, pay off her bond. if cannot, then just study local. too bad parents dun print $$.

garfield,
local education can get loan too. i've got the tuition fee + living expenses loan (300/month).
but hb said want to support her till tertiary education like what his dad did. but i don't want her to take things for granted. see how lah. still too early to say. maybe he strike toto soon? :D

we like new zealand, want her to go study there. then we migrate there together.
how to let her learn to be independent like that? :p

xy,
i think it's reasonable to fund up till tertiary education (local).

you let her study in NZ but stay in different states lor hehe...

Gar
can't believe pp queue up and ballot for condo, clapping when they got the ballot!

Haha, we talking migration just before national day!! LOL.

bkk,
i know...and to think a 99LH condo in ang mo kio is $1,200psf ?!?!?!?!

i dunno what pple are thinking lor....too much $$ dunno where to spend i guess.

to be honest, i've never seriously considered migration. but i look at the way std of living is going, that i don't think this is going to be a very pleasant place to live in xx years down the road. and unlike larger countries one can choose to move to the suburbs to work / live - there isn't a freaking suburb in SG hahaha

talking about education,

have you started planning? i've got a colleague with an 8 mth old baby whose planning to sell her condo because no good primary schools nearby and she's planning to buy one nearer to a good primary school... I haven't even start thinking abt good childcare, well i have but haven;t literally gone down and check on them...

tute/bkk,
preferable sun for me coz sat ashlynn goes for LNT class. so muz plan her lunch and naptime carefully.

bkk,
ok, u sms me when u r ready to collect from me the vacuum cleaner.

gar
so ex?? is that the centro one? $1.2kpsf can buy sentosa cove already! recently papers say pple pay $800+psf for condo in tanah merah! wah liao.

bkk
wah, some kids really spoilt man..

XY
i notice that kids (like me) whose parents paid for their tertiary, they also want to do the same for their kids. but those whose parents didn't (like my hubbs) think that they shldn't pay for kids also. interesting hor?

tute
i also never. we have a couple friend who, when the baby was 2 months old, (10 weeks younger than our babies) already register for st. james kindy. now looking for a new house near the pri. school they want to send her to. i kind of start thinking but at the same time a bit lazy. and we can't sell flat for another 5-6 years so also dunno what we will do... :S

Iso
interesting observation - my parents didn't pay for me that's why i think K should pay herself but hb's parents paid half for him so he thinks he needs to help her. need to come up with workable formula for K hehe.

$800 psf condo - hehe, i not complaining cos my place in tanahmerah

School
hmm...ok i'm the laid back one but hb is siao onz. he went to put K on waiting list of St James liao (cos our offices are nearby St. James). Personally I thot what's wrong with Sparkle tots or First Skool by NTUC. But since he make effort, i muz support him.

bkkgal, it's quite shocking to hear how a young girl dunno how to rinse a wiping clothes. i dunno the girl, but she can't be stupid for sure. she lacks lots of initiative n observance power. i will never allow my child to be like that. must start exploiting child labour from young! lol.

iso, u took the near the parents scheme? we did. i think we can sell next may or so. we r not sure whether we want to move or not, coz i rather put my boy in missionary school but there's none near my house.

i went for a finance talk recently. the finance planner gave a chilling figure based on the current inflation rate. if we send our kids to US for study 20yrs down the road, the cost will be abt S$500K. it will be cheaper to study in singapore of coz. i think the figure if i rem correctly is around S$80-$100k.

Hi, tute/bx/bkkgal,
Sat/sun is fine with me. Just on 16 Aug(sun)/22Aug(Sat) I can't make it.

Hi, Iso
Yah.. true. My hubby is 7 monoth old than me. He feels shiok when bluffing others; but stutter when bluffing me. ^_^

--train kids on housework,
hmmm..... I plan to let E do cooking for family at her Secondary school days; and will let her wash her small towels hopefully next year.

--schoold fees,
iso, yah, sounds true. Both my husband and my parents didn't pay our schoold fees; so I hope that E can get loan/scholarship for her university fees.

re: interesting observation
this shows that we are contented with how we brought up?

i do hope that she can get scholarship, but don't wish her to be too stressed up.

re: education planning
i haven't plan for the kindergarten.
yet, already chosen the primary school for her. cos my hb is the alumni.

"housework" common sense.

i think i have the ultimate example.

this senior manager - she has 2 children. is engineer by training.

only a few weeks back, she exclaimed very loudly - as if she found out about some great technology trick.

"OH i been using these flasks for years, how come i never knew got minimum water level!! hahahahah!"

(referring to her 'personal'flask at work. those auto-boil thermos flask)

:S

bkkgal, isobellies, I have to debunk the interesting observation cos for me and hubby, it's the other way round. For my tietiary education, I had to pay everything myself after taking the PSC study loan cos my family is not well off. Hubby's dad paid for his education at NTU.

But hubby thinks like if our kids not smart enough to get scholarship for foreign uni then too bad for them, study local uni. Whereas, I feel we should support our gals cos education is their biggest investment for a better future. Maybe I don't want my kids to suffer like I did , worry about school fees, hostel fees, living expenses etc while in university.

Also, because I've been 'stuck' in Singapore all my life, I'm envious of people who has an overseas education and hope I can help my gals if they want to study overseas. Told hubby, maybe we can limit the support to Australia cos US and UK really too exp. But hubby thinks there are no good unis in Australia. Duh. no offence to anyone. I don't know why he thinks that. :p

pauline,
my family was not rich either. i also need to fight for scholarship for my secondary school education. or else, i've got to study the government school. lucky i did! live with $30 allowance per month and rush home for lunch and dinner in order to save $. (lucky i am from small town, travelling time is short)

i too paying hostel fees, living expenses, books with the 300/month during uni days, work part time in the evening and during holidays. i even took money home during the half year of my IA.
graduated with nearly 40k of study loan with me. save hard to pay for the loan cos the interest rate is 5% p.a.

life is hard. but i feel that it's a good experience. and i am very proud of myself of what i've been through.

i don't want her to suffer so much, but don't want her to take education for granted. i don't mind her to do part time job in order to get whatever things they want.

most probably will let her take up study loan first.

no need to envy others for overseas education. singapore universities are high standard.

i am overseas too. from malaysia to singapore. haha..

australia has some good universities too. US, UK has lousy universities as well. it depends on how you choose it.

xiaoyun
i give 20+% of my salary to my mum as allowance. mine is opp from you, i increased the allowance after i gave birth to my kids.

re: education
we bought 'education' policy for the kids. not alot else mthly payment will be siong. at least help cover a bit and we can pay the rest using our CPF if possible. my mum paid for my university fees but i didn't take education for granted cos I knew she worked very hard to support me.

Very interesting discussion here:

Re: Uni education

Iso.. i agree with you. Actually i dun think i will pay in full for my kids education, i will ask her to take tuition loan, she can use my cpf and prob.. return to me after she starts working. Maybe cause my parents could not pay for me in full too eg.. they help to pay 20% and the rest was on loan. But when i graduated they help me pay in full first and i slowly pay them back. Actually i am find with this arrangement cause i know my parent background and i know if i keep working, i do have the means to earn back the $ in future so i certainly dun mind returning them the $ and i managed to clear the 'debts' within 1.5 yrs so i was quite 'proud' of it actually.. haha

I would prob.. do the same for my kids.. definitely i will help them pay first.. but i do expect them to 'return'. Haven really discuss with my hubby so not sure what he thinks. But we have already decided to get Whole life policy for all our kids as gifts for them and that in our opinion are very good gifts compared to paying in full for their school fees ( Just our thinking)

Re: Overseas uni

Me and my hubby dun believe in sending kdis overseas to get their degrees if they cant qualify for local uni. If they really want to study overseas.. i feel that the only way they can get it is to earn it for themselves thru scholarships.. cause the cost of studying overseas is really too high for us to bear.If i send 1.. i dun think i will have the means to send the other kids... end up will not be fair..

I hope i can instill in my kids the importance of working hard and earning for themselves benefits that they deserve for their hardwork. Getting scholarships is one of them..its not just covering of cost/expenses and esperience of studying overseas.. i believe the benefits of scholarships are much more than that. I can see the obvious difference between my hubby and his ex schoolmate who ended up to be his colleague now after going thru air force cause he got an air force scholar ship. Their calibre are almost the same, results were similar.. but because of a scholarship just in local uni ( dun even need to talk abt overseas uni), a stint in air force and now he is drawing a much higher salary. The scholarship route does help in their future. But saying that.. it also depends on how we guide my kids during their growing stage.. hopefully i dun stress them too much..haven thot of how i can achieve a balance.
kao_confused.gif

stephie,
my parents doesn't help me to take care of C. that's why. part of the reason is that they have pay off their car loan, no need so much money anymore. so they give discount for everyone loh. :p

my hb pay 5% more to his mum cos she's taking care of C.
think we are on the right track - means didn't short change our parents.

re: debt
wah genice, 1.5 years to clear the debt. very fast leh.

re: scholarship
scholarship holders have better options and chances to perform than the non-scholarship one. it's like gold plating on their resume. but some scholarship holders are really stressful one, e.g., they have to get certain A+ in order to renew the scholarship. tough tough tough..
can get then good. but if cannot get, never mind also loh.

how's everyone?
boring sunday for me.

i went to downtown east for carrefour clearance sale. nothing much, but a foldable piano is selling $49.90. didn't buy as it stated not suitable for 3yrs below.

instead, i went to popular sale next door. for english books, 50% off on the sale price for 10 books and above. for chinese books, 70% off on sale price for 5 books and above.
bought some board books at $1.50, recipe books $2.50. not bad.