(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

thanks, xy and farfield.
mmm.. will retire my sterilizer then..400ml-500ml is a huge challenge. max she drinks is 200ml.solid food, there are good days and bad days. depending on her mood.. feeding her takes up 1 hour.

reena, gosh! what a big baluku!!!

re: roseola

wanna check with mummies, my son had fever on wed night, given 1 dose of para, but it doesnt work. so i din give anymore medicines cuz i think i let him fight the virus himself and i kept sponging him.his fever stayed at 38+ till thursday/friday. fever went off on friday and started to have rashes until today, appearing on neck, body, and above buttocks. Is this roseola or measle?

DD1 and DS2 walked in opposite directions and bumped onto each other, both fell with DD1 lying on top of him. They weren't even running.

Made durian puffs today

2677736.jpg

may i know what you mummies are feeding your babies? my H still refuses to eat anything. she even vomited early this morning at 5am after giving her the first morning feed. my guess is that she was too hungry after not eating/drinking much the whole of yesterday and she drank too fast. early in the whee morning must clear up her mess @@ panda!

Reena
Ouch! that's must be very painful..

Moms
How to you store the baby's porridge? After cooking,porridge is transfer to the Tiger Lunch Box warmer. My concern is at such high heat, can the plastic container withstand such heat. Will it produce harmful toxic? Sigh.. so stress over this. Been telling my helper to cool the porridge first before putting in but after 1 year nothing seems to get into her head. Mine is not the stainless stell warmer. It's the plastic container with vacum flask ..

Ruth eats erm, anything as a snack.

For meals, depends. Nowadays she's quite a rebel and can reject food as and when she wants to.

She never rejects:

1. ribena (or gripe water or Delrosa or any kind of juice)
2. Breadtalk Steam Cake (any flavour also can - i think it's psychological!!)
3. Granny's porridge (fish, scallops, tomato, spinach - very nice even for me. add teensy weensy bit of salt or marmite if need more taste.)
4. Chwee Kway
5. Hotcake Happy meal
6. Steamed Apple
7. Cheese
8. Karihome Goat's Milk Sweeties

So well, when all else fails, one of the above iwll come in handy.

She'll eat an assortment of rubbish too - anything on our plates looks good. I'm very very thankful she still loves Granny's (nutritious) porridge.
Really saves me a lot of headache. On weekends when granny doesn't cook, we give her bottled food like Heinz, ONLY etc. I find she's slowly rejecting all these
foods cuz it's bland.

She used to eat bread with cheese in the mornings, or banana with cereal. Nowadays she's rejecting the bread but still taking cereal - but can get abit sian of it.
I reckon they are like adults too - need some change sometimes....except for the hot favourites.

As you (all) can see, I'm really relaxing the rules here. Anything to keep her eating and happy.

Gracie, I share your concern.
that's why i bought the THERMOS foogo, which is stainless steel. one of the mummies was selling it pretty cheap in the BP threads, but i can't remember which one already.

me no expert leh...but i guess you could maybe email tiger and ask them? Im' sure their products have specs and will allow heat up to a certain degree.

Sorry not much help.

reena.. ouch.. must be very painful!! Hope ur kids are both feeling better now.

tong.. i think shld be roseola.. but in any case.. better check with doc.. but i remember doc says if fever subsides and rash comes.. its ok.. but if both fever and rash comes together.. than something is wrong.

grace.. i think tiger stainless steel food jar is pretty gd.. u may want to consider that.

grace,
I have the tiger food flask which u mentioned. I do pour in my hot contents into the plastic container straightaway. but i dun use it often. i think it can withstand high heat bah...

Grace, better give stainless steel vacuum flask.

Genice, thanks! Yea I think is roseola cuz the rashes only came out after his fever. This morning I saw already subsided. So shd be roseola . thanks!

lezy
thanks for your input. Hillary is giving me headaches, she refuses to eat what we are eating at times. Sigh. Really need to come out with more ideas with cooking her meals i guess. Or probably she has been tasting sweets and chocolates recently? Bleah!!

btw, can you share how your mom prepare the porridge for R?

she uses slow cooker. texture and flavour is better (subjective though..since diff kids ilke diff stuff!)

ALso, she steams 2 'pots' together, porridge and apple. So it's kill 2 stones in one effort.

PRocedure is something lioke this:

1. Soak rice (optional)
2. Soak fish in salt water. Scallop in plain water for short while.
3. Chop apple and tomatoes. Apple into small bite-size chunks, cherry tomato into half.
4. Throw everything into the respective 'pots' except fish. Add a small slice of ginger to porridge pot.
5. Leave it for a few hours (doesn't matter how long.)
6. Throw in Fish about 30 min before meal.

THe above is her method so that it is time-saving and doesn't require her to be away from Ruth for too long.

If adding spinach, she will boil the spinahc shortly to soften it and chop into bits before putting it together with the porridge.

This also means her slow cooker is on for many horus - but it saves a lot of effort of cooking on her part. We bought a small slow cooker. The 'pots' are actually small steel containers you can buy from hardware shops. Transfer of heat is more effective than glass etc.

Ruth also can be very difficult when there is no porridge. I bought so much baby food back from OZ. So far i think she's getting sick of Heinz. Rafferty's she's ok btu i only bought 3 packs. sigh. My greatest challenge is mornings. SOmetimes we even feed her cheese cake. (the light japanese type)

lezy
i shall try to use your method cook for Hillary. i just cooked some pasta for her, she merely ate 1 or 2 mouths and started to spit out. now shes eating bread with cheese + tomatoes.

tongtong
actually more like biscuits with chocolate fillings. haha.. we didnt give alot, just bits of them =P

oh i forgot to say...slow cooker is put water in it, then put the steel containers in it. Slow cooker got 2 modes - keep warm and cook. So usually it is cook for awhile, then i keep warm mode. IN that manner, then never use thermos etc liao cuz at home mah. we only use the thermos when we go out.

i duno how much electricity consumption is on 'keep warm' mode.

Generally i think we use it for about 3 hours in the morning, then 3 hours in the afternoon.

The texture of the porridge is abit more lumpy and full-bodied somehow, compared to cooking on the stove. ALso, ppl say this way, no stiring so not so much 'air' in the food. i dunno how true it is la.

Ruth also not crazy about my cooked pasta - but i realize sometimes it's the ambience leh. Go outside she seems to want our food...no matter what it is!

OH! One more thing! My mum also changes her bowl. Last time she will eat from this 'cartoon face' bowl. NOw she see that bowl she dun wan! then my mum put her food into 'our bowl' (something with blue flowers etc). She will eat!

i think their powers of association override their actual preference of food sometimes. If she sees that same bowl again, perhaps she already preset that she doesn't want to eat it (no matter what it is).

Mayube u try to change bowl first?

sometimes all else fails...no choice, just top her up on milk. Milk can only feed when she is absolutely hungry then she will take it.

I believe children also like adults lah. sometimes no mood to eat, or got mood to eat more, or need some change etc.

reena - your bread n durian puff looks good. hope your boy is ok, its a really big bualuku.

sterilising - i am still sterilising the bottles, with the steriliser not much of a hassle, so i just continue.

I stopped sterilising last week but my hubby is very keen to reinstate the trusty steriliser cos he finds that it's faster to sterilise than to wash the bottles one by one then rinse with hot water. Told him waste more electricity sterilising, he said never mind. :p

Hi moms

See that many of us face probs feeding our LOs. It is indeed frustrating and upsetting when we've prepared good food and they refuse to eat or spit it out. I've taken to being zen about it. First rule of thumb is: whatever can't be made up by solids, I will top up with milk. K drinks up to 240 ml per feed and she gets up to 3 feeds a day. She has "graduated" from porridge to rice and food like what we adults eat. It gives us more incentive to cook healthier food for ourselves too - food involves more steaming, stir frying, less sodium, less oil now. She will have a soup, a fish and rice. If we eat together as a family, she will spy our vegetables and ask to eat them too. You can encourage your LOs to eat with you and let them eat what you eat. If I feed K just by herself, she will tend to not eat or eat less becos she tihnks her food is less yummy but when she sees us eating, she will want to eat our food. She would willingly take food from my chopsticks then from her own spoon! (same theory as Lezy's).

If we eat out (seldom, only weekends), I will order usually a noodle soup or rice with double boiled soup at the foodcourt. If we eat Jap, she will have miso soup and rice + teriyaki cod fish. If Italian, spaghetti carbonara or meatball tomato always wins.

Breakfast is the only "headache" for us. She eats rice crispies/yoghurt/bread but the choice is very limited. Over the weekend, we went to Sentosa for couple of nights stay. She had alot of variety of cereals to choose from the hotel buffet breakfast. She loved the cheese and fruit platter. She surprised me by trying even the raw salad.

I think the key is to make the eating a fun adventure for them. Let them try, experiment, play with the texture, colours and smell and tastes.

Reena
DD1 didn't get a baluku? it looks quite painful.

Lezy
I love Rafferty's Garden too! It's my best find in Oz.

Gracie
No more sterilising since 7 months old.

Tongtong, we have been very slack. We only wash once a day usually, the rest of the times, just rinse. Cos last time our CL taught us that one day no need to wash the bottle 4-5 times (that time total BF), just once, rest of the day can just rinse. That time when I was pumping, LC also said when outside or in office no need to sterilise, just rinse with hot water eg. pump parts or bottle so I also a bit slack. That's why hubby very reluctant to say goodbye to our steriliser. :p

Andrea,
Me almost same like lezy, except that my boy only eats porridge still... he doesn't seem to like texture yet. If we give slightly thicker porridge/rice but he threw up so we held back. For porridge he always eat it, he's not a big fan of fish (takes after his dad) but he's a big pork meat eater/chicken. His fave dish is mee sua which we cook with chicken and the green vegie (dunno the name) and another one is we cook pork meat & chye sim... even i like it! oh, and we also put a biiiitt of seasoning coz we find he doesn't want to eat if no taste :p

Grace,
I stop sterilising since he turned 1. Anyway he no longer drink milk from bottle so i dun need to use the bottles. Was it you who asked about milk intake? Last time, when my son's milk intake was very low i start giving multivit and yoghurt. i give custard as snack as well, i think can try to make home made custard using their formula milk but i never try :p

lezy
at what age did you start puting the scallop in? btw, you are talking about dried scallop right? and also you said 2 pots means 2 slow cookers is it?

bkkgal
you give outside food already? have not really tried yet. am afraid of the amount of salt and msg. can eat teriyaki ah? at what age did you start feeding outside food. so far i tried giving fish porridge and char siew bun ( minus the char siew). told the kitchen not to put seasoning in it..

tute
where can i find the custard? commerical and homemade? what brand?

Sorry.. so many questions.. i'm quite sotong..

Grace
I gave her outside food when she was about 14 months. Like I said, we don't eat out often. She has home cooked meals 85% of the time. On occasions when we do go out, it's just much less stressful not having to think of what to pack for her food. Anyway, she hates porridge, so there's no way I could pack homecooked porridge. i cook teriyaki cod for her at home (my own sauce, not bottled) too

So far, she has tried noodle soup, mui fan, rice with soup, teriyaki cod. Fried foods and ice-cream, chocs are strict no-no. If hb need to eat, he must eat away from her.

gracie. It's a very small slow cooker, wif 2 smaller containers inside. Not 2 slow cooker!

Ruth also eats homecooked mostly. Weekends sometimes heinz, sometimes outside. Heinz is actually very oily. Other organic foods like ONLY also oily. So it's just the salt n sugar content to watch out for. Like bkk said, also not often.

My parents, my hub n i are all not particular n in fact wish for her not to be picky about her food by exposing her to adult food. Adds fun n variety to her life. She will have a whole future of rules n restrictions to live by. Tink i want her to relax now.

Thanks for all your well wishes. Yes, he's well now, just a slight bump on forehead which doesn't seem to go away. DD1 didn't knocked onto the floor so she got away without any injuries.

Eating out
We usually eat out or packed meals on weekends. I don't cook separate for her even when we are at home so it's much easier when we eat out. She has tried almost any adult food and recently we just bought bak kwa, she loves it! She snacks alot (in terms on frequency, not quantity), prob bcos I've got 2 elder ones at home. But for proper food, she's a small eater. At 16 months now, she still can't finish 1/2 bowl of food. Breakfast is a biggest headache for me, she doesn't like bread/muffins/cakes, only like breakfast cereals. I've given her Cheerios(plain, frosted, cinnamon), cornflakes, coco pops, coco crunch, fruit loops and Nestle milo.

bbkgal
can you give me the receipe for home made teriyaki sauce?

lezy
your slow cooker sounds so cool. what brand is it? mmm..i very sua ku..

haha..gracie u misunderstood me.

the 2 other containers are our own improvisation. slow cooker is just the cornell slow cooker - smallest one.

good morning mummies,
lezy, you also into the bread making recently?
the recipe calls for 3-4 banana, definitely fragrant!!

we recently tried to stop C from sucking her thumbs from sleeping. she's now taking longer to fall asleep, hopefully she will soon be adjusted. good that she didn't really protest much.

Hi, mummies

---food
We fed E bits of icecream, cake, chocalate, sweets. She likes them.

When we eat at outside, we let E have our meal. Last time we cooked porridge and brought outside, she will reject porridge and pester for our food whenever seeing our dishes. So we give up , a few times after delaying ordering dishes at restraurant.

---suck thumb
Finally E gave up sucking thumb....after my niece and my brother commented that sucking thumb is ugly.(My guess, E feel shamed with those comments).

XY: haha..we even bought this book on the breadmaker - but in the end never buy the breadmaker.

Some survey puts a breadmaker as one of those household items that end up in the storeroom after a short use. Same for juice extractor. I can relate to that for my stupid coffee maker. My hubby so happy happy buy (even though i told him i already have one!) but in the end he complain wahsing up is waste of time, resource (water) and energy and drink 3-in-1 better.

I thinking...we don't ahve that kind of 'lifestyle' life la. He drink kopi also cannot use a teaspoon - always use tablespoon in a cup - look so horrible. We not that type of use nice crockery, drink premium coffee/tea and sit at table sip sip and eat premium cookie on nice premium plate. Told him dun buy liao he still wanna buy.

Sigh.

SO anyway, I'm still resisting to buy breadmaker cuz I already have such a big oven. Yet , i'm too lazy to knead bread so dunno how leh...have to find this kind of easy-to-make recipe, no kneading involve - in fact very minimal mixing. just put the ingredients together and stir abit can liao.

Bread vs Quick bread
I love quick breads for the quick and easy recipe but I'll very much prefer the soft and fluffy yeast bread.

Sterilising
I stopped sterilising once kids start on solids.

lezy,
you can try this book:
懒人也会做面包

i actually prefer yeast bread

btw, i've learned to freeze my bread - slice it and freeze them.
thaw it to room temperature then it tasted fresh again.

reena,
do you want to conduct lesson on how to knead bread? i want to learn leh.

xiaoyun
first time i went woodlands library yest. their family and parenting corner collection so huge and specially got one 'room' for it. enjoyed so much at the library yest with the kids. also went to browse the cookery collection, quite a wide selection too. sounds abit suaku here, cuz previously i only lingers at sbw and yishun library and it's quite pathetic compared to woodlands one.

any mummies with kids who only like to eat junk food? just wondering if there are any tips for my nephew. E still eating v well, sometimes after finish his porridge can still eat a few mouthfuls of plain porridge..

sterilising
i stopped about 1 year and i don't even pour hot water anymore, unless we're not staying at home (hotel or on trips), and not sure whether i cleaned the bottles well, then i use hot water

hi tongtong
um, so far so good. just very busy and tired everyday. but i just keep the positive energy to keep myself going and stays happy. occasionally come online for some retail therapy, blogging, facebook-ing.

if want to go out, will ask my dad to come along so easier for me to bring both of them out. it meeting my friends, will leave either one of them at my mom's and i bring one out. other than that, when doing marketing, i sling daryl and cheryl in her stroller.

crystal,
really look up to u. can handle 1 infant and 1 toddler so well despite ur young age. still can cook some more (read from ur blog. hee.. always wanna leave comments but dunno how to). really muz learn from u.

lezy
i see.. you are very creative..

i just got a reply from tiger co regarding the warmer. the plastic containers can withstand the heat at 140c. so it's safe,right? boiling point is 100c,right? hmm.. returned all back to school liao.

tongtong
like macdonald's, french fries, etc... my MIL gets v frustrated cos he not interested in her food. i try to suggest to her that she just let him eat whatever food they are eating too, then if he dun eat it's not really wasted effort. but she dun seem keen.. heh.

iso...
mine..even bowl and spoon must change! SHe want our bowl, our spoon! Fortunately, she will eat HER porridge (more nutritious).