(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bbkgal,

poor kate. does kate drinks alot of water? maybe cut down ont those heaty stuff? like biscuits or probably cheese related food?

I ever fed Cayenne cheese wif bread for breakfast, either lunch or dinner is baked pasta wif cheese the same day for example. I realized Cayenne got abit of hard stools tat when she poo-ed, she will cry.

then i cut down on biscuts/cheese. give oni occasionally. she no pro wif her poo.

bbkgal
My girl is on Friso too.. So far no problem on bowel. what about yogurt? it might help.

Have you feed your little one with honey yet? Which kind? can i give manuka honey? there are so many kind in the market. manuka, royal jelly, raw etc.. i'm confused.

Bkk,
Managed to find out that apart from tui1 na2, yu guo also sees babies for other conditions.

One of my colleague's kids kena constipation before and improved after going there.

The other plan is Eu Yan Sang, but need to call them to find out who is the "child specialist". I believe it's their main branch at Chinatown.

bkk,
can feel your heartpain... what type of fruits do you give K? not all fruits will help with constipation... last time for C only papaya works and we give him one small bowl for snack.. think you should cut down on the biscuits, instead you can try to give fruits/custard/yoghurt (sth that is slightly more liquid) for snack time.

and is she drinking lots of water? for C now everytime he wakes up he will always drink water and he has gone from constipated in the past to poo-ing 2-3 times a day. i notice the improvement ever since he became a water galoon. we have to refill his mag2 cup 3-4 times a day, in addition he also likes to ask for water from our mugs.

there's another thing that i can suggest but it's traditional indonesian method i think... my sis & mom told me last time that bitter red tea (plain, without milk and sugar) can help with constipation. but don't give a lot, like 2-3 teaspoon per day. not sure how true this is... (i did try to feed C last time but only 2 times)

tute
i find E poos better now with more water too! but C is really a "water barrel" hor, 3-4 refills, wow! at the most E will do 2 fills of his magmag, but sometimes during showering if he's playing with some small containers he likes to drink from it too, hahah..

iso,
yeah... "water barrel" !! that's the term i'm looking for... hahaha.. :p i think it's because he moves around a lot, he is a super active boy and sweats a lot during the day... but the downside is that he takes less milk only 2x210ml perday, he prefers water than milk as well.

I bought H a new water bottle, so she carries ard and drinks from it all day long. And its like 500ml, she drinks like 1 and a half to 2 bottles a day. no prob with constipation so far.

Tute, wow Cayleb drinks alot of water! I shall endeavour to make K follow his example. She drinks 1 magx2 cup a day only but alot of milk 600 ml at least. Last night, she drank 340 ml before bed, 220 ml at 2am (woke up with poo in her pampers), and another 120 ml at 7.30 am.

She eats papaya, watermelon, honeydew, rockmelon, apples, grapes, pears, orange (rare), strawberries, blueberries, prunes (3-6 a day) and prune juice. She ate papaya and prunes until sian liao. reject. now ok with apples, pears, watermelon.

Iso
I am still debating whether or not to see PD....the last time I brought her for fever, he saw the hemorroid and asked us to give lactulose. I lost confidence in my PD liao cos he always never "sayang" the parent wan. Wanna change PD.

If I go to PD, probably I will hear the same things that you mommies are telling me. My only concern is whether the hemorroid causes pain or discomfort to her. Notice that she will pull away when I clean her anus but my hb insisted that it's not painful. Probably too young to remove the hemorroid.

Gar
maybe i'll take leave this week to bring her to yu guo. hopefully it works. i asked my MIL to boil all kinds of canto soups to help relieve her constipation liao.

I tried so many different mtds at once - changed milk, give more water, barley drink, black sesame powder - in the end dunno which is the one that truly works. LOL. But who cares, as long as my dd is ok, that's all that matters!!

Dear BBKgal

Poor Kate when she cried and bled and had piles, felt really heartache. You should let her have probiotic to stimulate the growth of beneficial bacteria of the intestines to regulate her bowel movement. This is the probiotic that I gave my son ( I ate myself when I’m nursing) and add to his milk when I’m not bf. It's called Natre Life Start. I found this this brand is most natural as it’s in powder form and without additives or preservatives, it’s 100% probiotic.
http://store.natren.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Store_Code=N&Screen=PROD&Category_Code=002&Product_Code=50125

This product is very safe , as it’s deisgned for infant and for nursing mum. ( I’m only the user and I find it good, I’m not advertising for them hor)

agree with ABC mummy that probiotic is good for eczema too. When my son had that, I actually applied the probiotic on his skin area and it recovers, so amazing.

Pm me if you want to know where to get this. Bring coolbag to keep the bottle after you purchase it as it has to be keep in fridge.

FM alone can’t help much on bowel movement because they are lacked of fibre, unless you want to try oatmilk which has lots of fibre (which my son is on now) yea you can also give fresh milk, which can help bowel movement.

Re: black sesame, you are right, I put in some blck sesame powder into my son’s cereal and he ended up pooing 5 times a day. So I decided to take it off his meals now.

bkkgal
yes i think u shld try probiotics. No harm trying. :)

Grace Lim
i gv manuka honey once a day in the morning, 1/4 teaspoon. Manuka 10+

qingling
where to for water playdates?

Haha, bkkgal. Your hubby is thinking professionally and rationally but he doesn't understand how mummies are worry warts. If I don't see my gal smile, I'll worry if she's are in pain or there's something bothering her but she can't express herself yet. Hope all the measures help, yup, cut out the biscuits, that should help. I've also cut down on RaeAnne's biscuit snacks after her bad bout of coughing. Now, they are only occasional treats when we go out and she makes too much noise. Hee. ;P

Which PD are you seeing? Mine is Dr Cecilia Lee at Tampines Round market, rates are quite reasonable and best thing is she opens on alternate Sundays, Sat whole day, 3 weekday nights, etc. So I find it very easy to bring RaeAnne there. Only bad thing is if she's travelling to Australia (to visit her kids), then the clinic will be closed for 1 week at least. So far, she's quite good except she could not resolve RaeAnne's on off dry cough so I turned to TCM for that. :p

tute,
hee...A also drinks a lot. she drinks 3x Magmag a day of water and 1x Magmag of soup. she and C can be water buddies liao!

bkk,
TCM usually doesn't show effect immediately, but i find that it is a milder and longer term solution to health conditions. so if you wanna try, maybe need to do so for two weeks or so.

probiotics,
my PD sells this brand called LactoGG, is it good? needs to be refrigerated one

Crystal, congrats on your arrival of #2. You have a fast delivery !

ABC, Grace, we can give honey to our 15 month babies now ? I thought can only give after 3 yo ?

Qingling, sounds like a good idea to give bb their own water bottles. They can drink whenever they like. I'll try it, thanks

I'm bringing my son for MMR and pneumococal jab this wed.

abc - i don't live in condo so prob only public pools, not soo sure if you are comfortable with that, is the one at jurong east convenient? i suppose CCK has one too, also near my place has one too, i suppose the one at jurong east is in btw?

all other mummies living in east difficult to join in ya? Or how about sentosa, sand playing date? anyone interested? i tink we can make a poll

1) zoo playdate - waterpark
2) Sentosa - sandcastle
3) Botanical garden - Jacob..?

Cheryl, jialat liao, you let him have softdrink he will only want softdrink liao.

Science center: do you think our tods will have fun at the science center?

Qingling,
Been doing massage for her since young

all other mummies living in east difficult to join in ya? Or how about sentosa, sand playing date? anyone interested? i tink we can make a poll

1) zoo playdate - waterpark
2) Sentosa - sandcastle
3) Botanical garden - Jacob..?

I vote for zoo!

The botanics jacob ballas garden is for older kids, not suitable for those our age.

Tongtong,

There's a Da Vinci exhibition at the Science Center that I think the little ones would enjoy. I'm interested. Reserving that for a rainy weekend cos it's indoors

bkk - i also like the zoo water play park. the only one thing is there are many older kids ard, so they tend to run about and quite rough. hehe.

joeey
can gv honey so long bb is abv one yr old.

Qingling
i vote for zoo but not waterplay la. waterplay at zoo very messy ley. If swimming how abt my mother's place at toh tuck rd? Near to bukit batok there?

Garfield
Lactogg mainly for ecezma but of cos it helps in digestion too. But that's only 1 strand of bacteria.

mag mag cup - any1 knows if there's a spare part for the rubber parts, i lost this white color O-ring (the circular piece)..
, now the water will spill when drinking..

Qingling
Re: Mag mag spare parts
Yes, there's spare parts I found at Isetan Parkway. But the spare parts (if change all ah) are more expensive than buying a new bottle! So, in the end I bought a new bottle loh. the round rubber ring is about $4.50, if I rem correctly, it comes with a straw.

bb not drinking water
i tried using rubbermaid bottle and he tend to drink more. prob easier to suck up bah. the bottle very cheap too. Only $4.20

Qingling, I also bought the whole set of spare parts. Got it from Robibsons but Kiddy Palace also have. Thinks is $4 plus. Comes with straws, so I don't mind paying for the whole set as I think straws need to be changed from time to time as well.

My boy also hates water..feeding him water is the most difficult thing. We've given him all kinds of spouts, tried him on straws and cups. Anything new, he will try but after that he learns that its same old water inside so he will reject. But he's very clever to drink baby juices and from our packet drinks. Sigh. Sometimes one day not even 20 ml of water. He also hates barley drink or diluted ribena. So no choice gotta give him diluted milk or tasty water.

Tong tong, science centre was ok for my boy. Worth the trip. I brought him when they were still setting up the Da Vinci exhibit. However, quite a few of the exhibits are not working in the Discovery land. James is only interested in pushing all the buttons and he likes looking at the little mice. I feel its not as exciting anymore as compared to our time. There is a water play area outside. It was sooo hot that day and I wasn't prepared for any wet play, so we didn't play at the water play area.

cheryl/sweetpea,
have you tried giving cold water? maybe they like those softdrinks because of the coolness?

bkk,
hopefully K is willing to drink more water... try offering to her every half/hourly base (esp during the day. I also try to put the cup at an accessible area and when C is thirsty he will sometimes go over, open the mag2 cup and drink on his own. only thing is that he can't close the cap by himself :p

garfield,
haha... yeah, they can be water buddy!

re: drinking from cup
C is a very k-po kid, he wants to try anything that we are drinking... i even give had to give him a bit of coffee coz he keeps insisting... i'm using gerber's training cup now to train C to drink from cup... it's quite good i find because it has a stopper so the water on sips from the side and won't cause choking easily
but i still give with mag2 cup as well coz he drinks more via straw.

Hi, bkkgal

I mean giving her diluted milk to increase water intake & reduce amount of milk powder if K protest other milk brands. K took 600ml milk now; but you can try it with half of milk powder.

For potty training & drinking water alone; it's more for helping K have a better living habit; may need lots of distraction/withstand their screaming.....

We let E play with my purse/watch TV When E protested to sit on potty at the beginning......And E drink water, then sit on potty every time when she wakes up from nap/after bath.

For PD or chinese physicians; you can write down notes every time; compare notes; read some related info(for chinese medicine also). Guess it's more living/food habit .....And chinese medicine may explain you "K is prone to......because of her personality......". When I visited Dr; my mindset is that Drs asked/answered to give me some inspirations to think in more ways. Then I can read more to think deeper, trial & error to solve ........

Jia You! Jia You!

tute,
hehe, A and C really similar in terms of water drinking habits! in fact, most of the time i have wrestling match with her to stop her from drinking too much water (close to meal times). she can finish 1x mag mag at one go....then after that too full to have her meal!

1) zoo - bkk, abc, qingling
2) sentosa - qingling

abc - toh tuck is fine for me, but perhaps more mummies??? school holidays coming soon

qingling
u sahm or tcher too? heehee...

Garfield
i duno what is the best but personally i am using life flora powder from vitakids and GNC multidophilus powder. If u r GNC member u r entitled to discount.. :)

bkkgal
sorry to hear abt your dd. Feel so sad when i read your post. My son too, seldom poos like to day my aunt said, he cried a bit. Yesterday he didnt poo.
Im also giving him similac gain iq. actually wanted to change but forgot la. I will try Friso as you some of the mummies mentioned. I secretly think its the milk

Apples - ive read tat apples can cause constpitation as well if taken too much. So i give apples once every two days.

Lets try every possible ideas under the sun that is safe of course so that our kids can develop healthy bowel movements.

playdate
sentosa sounds good

probiotics
im abit behind time on these med terms.
are there found in drinks like yakult?
but i guess the benefits frm taking these are seen only long term right?

purplecurlz
yes it can be found in yakult but yakult is too sweet and the number of bacteria found are not a lot thus dun really benefit the body much.

<font color="0000ff">Health benefits of probiotics:</font>

Most probiotics on the market today promote "general well-being," but scientists are increasingly discovering many more benefits from consuming foods with sufficient levels of probiotic bacteria.

• Digestion: If the natural balance of your digestive system is upset, for example when you are traveling or under stress, you may experience stomach problems such as diarrhea, constipation, and discomfort. This in turn can affect other functions or physiological systems such as the immune system.

• Probiotic bacteria help keep the digestive system and immune system in balance, and have a positive effect on different types of diarrhea as well as constipation.

• Childhood eczema: Childhood eczema is known to be related to an imbalance in bacteria in the gut, and several scientific studies have shown that probiotic bacteria can reduce or even eliminate eczema in children.

• Other target areas: In addition, new generations of probiotic bacteria are targeted at specific problems or areas of the body. A number of probiotic products are believed to be able to lower cholesterol. Recently the market has seen the introduction of probiotic products for women's health aiming at maintaining and restoring a healthy vaginal flora.

• Studies found that probiotics may improve nutrient bioavailability, including B vitamins, calcium, iron, zinc, copper, magnesium and phosphorus.

• Pediatric studies found that probiotics aids in a significantly decreasing the rate of acute diarrhea and rotavirus shedding. Parents also reported a 25% decrease in diaper rash among babies drinking formula containing probiotics.

• Probiotics and active bacteria culture may improve lactose intolerance. The bacterial strain commonly used in yogurt can produce lactase enzymes. Therefore, people with lactose intolerance and children suffering from intestinal infection can usually tolerate yogurt with an active culture.

• Some studies showed that by regulating intestinal transit time, probiotics improve constipation among the elderly.

• Other studies showed that probiotics, especially acidophilus, promotes the growth of healthy bacteria in the colon and reduces the conversion of bile into carcinogens (cancer causing substances).

• Several studies found that probiotics may enhance immunity by regulating lymphocytes as well as antibodies.

Dorothy M. Neddermeyer, PhD, Author, Hypnotherapist and Inspirational Leader specializes in: Mind, Body, Spirit healing and Physical/Sexual Abuse Prevention and Recovery. As an inspirational leader, Dr. Neddermeyer empowers people to view life's challenges as an opportunity for Personal/Professional Growth and Spiritual Awakening. http://www.drdorothy.net

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Dorothy_M._Neddermeyer,_PhD

thanks ABC!

hmm....i have a few more question...hope it doesnt sound too silly...

1)Is this probiotic tastless and colorless?
2) Can it be mixed into current FM or food?

The brand tat you mentioned can be taken by all right..adults, kids. thanks!

Garfield: I’m using natren life start probiotic.

Purple: yakult has probiotic but it’s a sweet drink which is not very good for kids if consume too much