(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

kirsten, grace,

best is to speak to your own PD about it and make a decision that you're comfortable with

my nephew is at the lower end of the autism spectrum (he can't really look at people in the eye, and has difficulty relating to some people) and my hubby and i both find it hard to believe that it could be caused by vaccinations.

i asked my friend who's a PD about the correlation between jabs and autism, and his take is that the theory is not founded on sound medical principles. i haven't asked my own PD about it, but will do next time

purple
i like that, go with good faith and all will be well
recently i was listening to a seminar on disciplining children, and it was urging parents to understand that discipline takes time and you won't see the results immediately - and he summed it up with a really nice quote "walk with faith, and not sight" :D

i read the thread that kristen copied.
As much as i find it very informative but I don want to dwell too much. Perhaps im stil naive in that way. But there are many things can go wrong at any point of any one lives.
Im sure there any many other strong opinions about organic food, milk btls, u name it....etc..

Its good to be educated on certain things and Im glad there are forums like this were we share info and learn. But ultimately, the decision is still yours. Im still strongly believe in practising good faith and positive thinking.
If we go around saying this and that is bad, we are just attracting the negative energy and weighing ourselves down.

its all about being empowered with the info that we receive and make our decision confidently.

Hi mummies! Been sooo busy, so rarely have the chance to join in tho I do read once in a while.

mmr- my dd who is turning 5 this year has not taken the jab, I am one for delaying vaxes, so as long as she get hers before she goes pri sch cause thats a requirement. I feel that the older the child is, the better. My ds (feb baby) took his BCG (the bottom jab they give at birth) only when he is nearly 1, and just did his 5-in-1 few weeks ago. So far so good tho my PD does nag me a little.

My PD's stand on the MMR-autism link is that there could be parents who simply need a reason for something that is genetic, and MMR is usually administered during the same age (ard 2yr+) autism is diagnosed (2-4 yr old), hence its easy for MMR to be the scapegoat. She also believes its a very safe vax. Personally I am not sure (I mean, who can be if it cant even be proven by professionals?) but no point delaying anyway, so delay lor.

compulsory vaccinations:
3-in-1
MMR
TB
Hep B
Polio

Most parents do more than the above, including 5 or 6-in-1, rotavirus, pneumoccocal, chicken pox and so on. It's not MMR that causes autism. I think the discussion is on the link between over-vaccinations and autism, which is not medically proven (caveat: need to read indepth medical journals for yourself to determine whether there is medical proof or not).

So ultimately, this is something that you would have to decide for yourself and your child. I know of moms who just go for bare minimum and others who do want a cocktail of vaccines hence they go for 1 shot at a time.

I do think that children are getting so much immunisation these days. I wonder how their little bodies take it. Hence, my decision is to postpone MMR and chicken pox, although autism rates are higher for boys than for girls. If I have #2, I will choose to go slow on immunisations. But of cos, it depends on your personal circumstance e.g for children going into childcare, parents do tend to take precautions by getting the proper immunisations early.

For MMR jab,
My colleagues claimed that his daughter became very timid & different person right after jab....he elaborated how different the gal was before and after...... my other colleagues and I all decided to delay it to at least 18 month..... don't feel easy since he fed us so many warnings....

Hi, Stephie, Garfield
Long time no See!

Hi, bkkgal
My gal poo 3 times a day; even without taking any fruit/veg. She pooed after every latch-on last time including night feed. She is meat eater; only likes to eat meat; she can self feed all the meat at her plate; and then stopped. We need to feed the rest sometimes up to an hour.

hello mummies - seems like the recipe exchange is arousing some interest
..but i have to read some more to find out how the mummy organise it..otherwise later garang gabok..haha..

now i am in shanghai (sigh..not for play though..)..super sian..i miss my DD

breadmachine - my fren told me the Z brand is sold in tangs for 298, so mummies who r interested do go n take a look

welcome back stephie - share more abt ur europe trip!

tubao

can delay till 18mth for the mmr ?Actually is it better for the child to take this jab when they are older or no difference

Hi morning all

Since we are still on the topic of vaccinations.
Do u think pnuemoccocal is nec? Ill be sending my son to children by end of this year or lastest early necxt year.

So far he seldom fall sick except frm the occasional nose congestion.

Im thinking i should wait and see how he adapts to childcare for the first 6mths ( like probation..hehe) and act frm there. Im sure he will fall sick as thats part and parcel of it.
But if pnuemoccocal is not really really impt, perhaps i can delay?
Any mummies can advice

He has another vaccination in Aug...im not sure wat it is. Moving forward i will have to educate myself move on his vaccination.

Vaccinations: Its scary to think that while we are thinking of protecting our little ones from the virus with these various vaccinations, we might be doing some harm to them. I have to delay the MMR anyway since my girl seems to have reactions when she took eggs.

Clover: I am staying ard near amk.

stephie,
welcome back! tell us more about your trip when you have time. is europe baby friendly?

pneumo,
my PD says no need to take so soon unless going to childcare. can delay till 2yrs old, only need one jab

vaccinations,
err...i guess there are some that are essential to protect against potentially "fatal" illnesses and those that are less severe (eg. chickenpox)

so just be guided accordingly i guess.

i think the human race is becoming progressively "weaker" cos over-vaccinated liao!!

My girl finished all 4 doses of pnuemoccocal and chicken pox jabs. Er.. we do whatever the pd says.. it didn't occur to me that vaccinations have side effects.

Clover
I stay near amk too..

pneumoccocal
yup, i agree that taking it before sending them to childcare is probably wiser. hb said that it was impt, hence we took the pneumo jab early on. this is one of those jabs that on hindsight i think we could have delayed.

Btw, it's very painful (the most painful of all the jabs so far) and she cried so much. *heartpain*

Chickenpox
older generation says good to expose them to the chickenpox virus and let them build immunity, rather than take vaccination which may not prevent cpox. can turn up later in life which can be more dangerous. what do mommies think?

Qingling
the Z machine at Tangs is $399 leh..is it another model your fren saw?

Shanghai - work? your travelling starting again huh?

Berry
welcome back, haha. agree with you on the needing a reason for autism part, that's what i think it might be too. it's not easy to deal with something like autism, and i really admire my BIL and SIL for dealing with it.

getting sick,
my PD said that people get sick easily cos we're more confined to closed spaces these days - lifts, buildings, etc. last time more open space, so less chance of catching anything. interesting thought

talking about electrical appliances, can try goh sin huat or paris silk. usually can get it at better prices, but it's on cash terms.

tubao/qingling/garfield
thanks for the welcome back. will update on trip when i've more time. work is never ending before or after the trip. baby friendly in terms of baby facilities? some places are quite well equipped with baby changing rooms. hubby and I are impressed. facilities even better than in singapore.

re: jabs
reading all the posts/info really scares me leh. *touch wood*.

for pneumoccocal, my girl took when she's after 2 years (cos it's more well known by then - before that never heard about it). since my girl is in nursery, chances of catching virus is higher. hence, dare not wait till my boy is 2 years old before giving him the jab. shawn took it last sunday. cried a bit after the jab was administered. reaction same as other jabs. think doc chose a thin needle so not that painful.

re: electrical appliances
adding on to garfield's post, if you are staying in the west, there's a shop in jurong west st 51 that offers good price for electrical appliances too. think it's called thye hong.

one of my doctor friends said, any vaccine less than 12 years old don't take. it takes that long for potential side effects / effectiveness to surface.

apparently some medical journal also reported that that jab they made us take on our left upper arms (is that BCG?) is completely useless after 30+ years

re vaccinations,

i think we just have to assess and consult our pd re which ones are nec and which ones are not. i've given pneumo before my son hits 6mth because honestly i was scared to see what damage it can do if so happens he catch it. i don't want to feel any regret. chickenpox, i think i will delay it as it is not that severe (like what garfield say). mmr, not sure but i will try to delay as long as i can...

btw, the longer we delay and the older our kids get, will they feel the pain more and may get traumatised by the needle ? i'm just thinking the last time we went for vaccination was when C is 6mth old. I'm quite sure he'll scream at the top of his lung now if i bring him for a jab..

berry: oh you mean we can delay the MMR jab? if yes then i will do that too!!! i'm very against vaccination but i have to do it for my son cuz its a requirement. but now since we can delay this i will do that too!!

bkkgal: agree that too much jabs for baby is destructive. i will postpone the MMR jab too. i opted out chicken pox jab, will let him have it and recover by his own, that was what we had when we were young too right.

clover: i stay at yishun, considered near to AMK?

tubao: i think i will follow berry, delay till before primary sch. ur colleague experience is a real one! ur gal digestive system very good lei!

garfield: you mean dont take vaccination until 12 years old?

tong,
no no, means that if the vaccination is newly introduced don't take. only takes those vaccinations that have been administered (in the market) for > 12 years.

bkkgal, having gone through chickenpox right at the start of my freshman year and having to miss 2 weeks of uni life, going back blur cos I don't know my classmates or hall mates or which subjects to add or drop, to me chickenpox is a HUGE inconvenience cos when I get it is not something I can plan. I wouldn't want RaeAnne to get it right before an important exam eg. PSLE, O Level, A Level or end up with permanent scars on the face like my hubby then she won't be mei mei anymore nor let her get it when she's old when there are more complications. Imagine being at SM Goh Chok Tong's age then kenna chickenpox. :p So I have already given her the chickenpox jab. On the other hand, I have not given pnuemoccal yet cos the older the kid is, the lesser jabs they need for pneumoccal so I intend to give that only before she starts school.

Garfield, Cheryl, bkkgal,
My hubby said all jab don't need. Let channet have chickenpox the natural way. I fainted.
But those vaccination still took. She is going for her MMR this month. I quite worried if she din take pneumoccocal jab and chicken pox. Girls have scars not nice mah.

Teething:
It is truth if baby have their full set of teeth early, they will change to adult teeth early?

pauline
me had chicken pox when i was working. outbreak was terrible, i had to cover my face when i go for doctor check up. was on mc for 3 weeks. prior to that, i kept worry abt having chicken pox when exams is near.

Hai everyone here. good afternoon. Being reading the discussion here. Finally cannot "ta han" and want to share.

My elder daughter have her chicken pox, when she is BB time. Is not easy to take care when just started because of the fever but after that is easy because she only drink milk and do not know to scratch.therefore, no scars on skin.

blueginger,

"Teething:
It is truth if baby have their full set of teeth early, they will change to adult teeth early?"

I don't think is true loh.

cheryl, yea can still kena, but then would be less serious nia. i din let shaun take also

chicken pox: anyone doesnt have it yet? i had it when i was in primary 5.

chicken pox - H jus took it last month, now the discussion we have regarding side effects is disturbing..i was still thinking guai guai send H for the MMR jab 1 month later..now i got to reconsider.

bkk - ya..work. meet supplier

chicken pox - i was so "lucky" i got it first day of school in the uni :p, but i took i think medication to suppress the full blown effect, so i din had much scars or even pox..just a fever and itch for 3 days.

just finish entertaining my boss - dam sleepy, eyes can't open full liao, tmr have to leave for factory at 8am
..argg...sleep not enough...nites mummies who r still ard...

chicken pox
ya it's true you can still kana even if u take the jab, but the effects won't be as full blown. the danger with chicken pox with young kids is that it might turn into shingles, which would be more serious.

qingling
dun be disturbed, just talk to your PD to make an informed decision
i just sent my boy for his chicken pox vaccine on monday

Qingling, so qiao, me first day at school in uni too. But I can't take med to suppress leh, maybe by then too late liao. :p

My PD explained to me that Chickenpox vaccine last time only need 1 jab but some kids still kenna later in life. So now, they need a booster jab before 5 years old to prevent them from getting chickenpox, should be better now I think.

Nepia vs MamyPoko Pullups
Hi mommies, need your help. Can anyone tell me whether the Nepia BIG is bigger than MamyPoko L?

I bought MamyPoko (L) BOY wrongly for my girl. It's the wrong cut and too small. Wanna get Nepia BIG but dunno is it smaller or bigger before I commit to buying a carton from the importer direct.

Hi pinkie,

It's $15 for the Nepia BIG (26). Min 4 packets for free home delivery. I think it's more outside - $16.90.

If anyone interested to share, let me know.

Hmm interesting discussion about vaccinations and jabs. I'm also now in a dilemma when to give the jabs to my boy. Actually before I had my boy I didn't know that our babies in S'pore undergo so many jabs. Only when I got the vaccination card from the PD did I know that there were so many types of jabs. And if I didn't read this forum I wouldn't know so much more and about the choices we can make regarding this jab.

I prefer to stay on the naturalist side. I had a hard time deciding whether to give my boy medication when he has flu, and whether to send him for his Penumococcal vaccines. For the Pnecumoccocal, I though that they have to take it by a certain age? Anyway I kay poh a bit more and did some search about Prevenar - the vaccine which is given for Pneumoccocal:

www.motherhood.com.sg/product_news/Wyeth%20PREVENAR.pdf

Thanks bkkgal..I see..this is for Pull-Ups. Have you started potty training? I heard 18 months is the time to start..and even if you start any earlier, your child will only get potty trained at about 18 months, so no need to start too early. True?

Chicken Pox - I had it when I was sitting for my primary 5 end year exams. Had to be isolated and take my exams in the sick bay.
Hence don't want my boy to fall into this sway experience. Yet, I still think its better for him to contract chicken pox naturally..arge...I'm in a dilemma.

hello all mummies!

how is everyone?

opps... so much discussion abt jabs going on... actually scheduled matt for mmr jab next. hm.... maybe i'll just let him take whatever is the 'required' jab and not those extra jabs ba.

re: chickenpox
i got it inbtwn prelim and o level. so suay... i helped to shift a table for a classmate who kena chickenpox. although she stood like 5 meter away i still kena. when i was in P6 & Sec 2, my family members got that but i didnt catch it leh... dunno y. but it was a v mild attack. the pox size is like full stop sized. only less than 10 normal size blister. actually i tot of going for the jab myself and i'm worried that i will kena again later in life. what is worse is that if ah boy is also infected. it will be tough for 1 patient looking after another.

so... what do u girls think? should i go for that?