(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

iso,
Ya, macaroni we give whole. It's ok so far since it's soft. Thk if always give blended fd, may b diff to get bb to eat textured fd.

Isetan Private Sale, I went today at 10+am. I must say the queue is really not as long as previous IPS I went. Don't know if it's because they reorganised the queues or really because economy is bad. Hubby didn't go with me so I'm like the 'siao' woman, lugging two big plastic bag worth of stuff, make sure I buy enough so that I qualify for free delivery, mostly toys and some clothes for RaeAnne, rompers at $3 each and the expensive toys that I've been postponing buying eg. Megablocks cos I know Isetan private sale always have 30% off. Had lunch at TCC cafe at Isetan level 2 after that. Then go to Wheelock place for hair treatment. Only for today, feel like a tai tai. haha.

Gar, how long is Japan trip and what's the purpose? If solely for leisure, couple time, then go without Arielle. But I've also heard that Japan is one of the most baby friendly countries around, so for me if I'm not bringing my gal, I'll definitely choose some less kids friendly countries like Maldives or Vietnam to justify my trip. haha.

Bx, I like BJG too cos it has both intellectual stimulation and physical development (the gym). Whereas LNT only has the mental stimulation. :p But bukit batok really very far leh.

Isobellies, aiyoh, me so blur, forgot all about the plastic bit. No wonder it's so hard to suck, I try also cannot get any water up so I've put the two Avent sippy cups in cold storage. Now, using Tommy tippee but like Nag said, mine also loves to play with the water. She'll tip and shake until water drips out then use her fingers to play with it. :p

Hi, Garfield

Didn't follow your thread about Japan trip...Will you stay in Tokyo only?

Though I left E at home for trip, and she recovered 1.5 days(from timid mode back to aggressive--princess mode) after we were back. my hubby and I remembered vividly how E 's expression the moment seeing us back. My "Er4 shi2 si4 xiao4"(twenty four filial) hubby got red eyes whenever we called home in Vietnam.

E is "made in Japan". We was there in May 2007, been to Tokyo, Kyoto, Takayama. We stayed in Shinjuku and Asakusa. My hubby loved Tempura food in Asakusa.

tute,
ya, i heard that bb may choke when drinking from straw. But those bottles that come with attached straw shd be ok right? I think got built-in valve.

fairfield,
i use pigeon mag2 cup for my son but he can still get choke if he sucks too hard...so we'll also have to help him in the beginning when he can't control yet...

Thanks mummies for e compliments.
QIngling.. mummy not much fashion sense wan.. just mix and match...:p

Tubao.. E doent seem like such a fussy babe leh.. i think she has a very strong and determined character and she definitely knows what she wants already at this young age. I think she is a very smart ger leh.. ( gd genes from e 2 of u!!)

Gar. i bought 2 turtlenecks for her when i was in HK.. actually not many winter wear just mix and match with skirts and tights

Will japan be cold when u go? maybe u can get some cheap buys on old navy.. they clearing a lot of long sleeve top and dress.

On whether u shld bring her to Japan.. hmmm.. i think it really depend on ur itinerary, is this another a romantic getaway??like what pauline say to make no. 2?

IMHO, if japan is such a baby friendly place i will definietly bring gwen there esp if i am going w hubby who can help take care of here.. at e most we will tailor our trip to be a kids trip, go disneyland and stuffs.. and also experience how bb friendly the place is.. can also go supermart buy some baby food for her and let her try.. tons of things to do w baby ard... a diferent kind of joy and somemore... air tix.. cheap.. but MOST IMPT!! A will definitely enjoy herself there too.. bonding time w parents and so many new things to see. But this is what i think only...hm.. u still have to make e decision that u are most comfortable with.

Re: teats or straw
WOw.. seems like many mummies still using teats too maybe i should not be in a hurry to change.

Iso.. yar i think all babes are like that like to drink and spit out.. they derived fun in doing things that 'irritate' us? haha..

Fairfield.. i think drink straw will choke a bit one.. quite normal.. cause they cant control their sucking rate.. u have to actually demo how to suck.. cut e straw short and try from a small cup.. try a few times .. i am sure skyler can do it.. but then i also stopped using straw...got she spit out everywhere.. i very lazy to clean up after her..

Hey mummies.. i got a silly qn to ask..

Sorry for being a bit cheapo.. but i really want to stock up more clothes for her since i am here to physically shop ( dun need to buy online). In ur opinion.. what age shld i buy clothes till.. right now some of e clothes i bought only till 2 T shld i stretch to 3 T?? Is it too Kiasu?

I even feel like buying some boy clothes for my next bb ( eventhoug i dunno whther it will be a boy).. haha..

Help me k..

genice,
haha, i understand ur shopping dilemma. I also think i will stock up before i go back to sin in future.

Hmm, if u buy Carter's, got to buy bigger sizes leh, cos i feel the cutting is very small. There will be a big sale in end May in the US, Will u still be here?

oh, then u shd be able to make it. It is the Memorial Day sale. I am sure u will shop till u drop.

I will be here for another few more yrs at least.

Genice: wow seems like you having a good time there! Esp the shopping!!

Nicole: Hi nicole. Are you the one at JWT yesterday morning? My hubby brought my girl there ytd and he told me he met a mummy there and I saw the photos and I think is you.
Hubby commented its not that fun as baby are roaming on their own most of the time.

re : rice

Cayenne had 1 tablespoon of rice with some fish on Tues (dinnner) and 2 tablespoons on Wed. Seems like she is ok with rice, in fact heard frm bb sitter she loves it.

re : drink milk frm straw mug.

In fact, I was thinking abt when shd I let Cayenne try, but i tink most likely she will drink abit, bit the straw abit, pass the mug 2 me and repeat the cycle. (she does this cycle when drink water)

I wonder how long she will take to complete the milk...

Genice,

Shiok leh, shopping! Buy! Buy! Buy! Haha...

vernon vomited 7 times last nite... and now having fever... suspect he kana stomach flu.. his fren in infantcare also vomiting..

Pauline,

u prefer BJG? I brought Cayenne for trial last Sunday. I don't really like it. Probably 1st time, without the so called "informing" Cayenne tat she would be swung up, the "teacher" simply pick her up and swung her! In the end, wat i got is a shocked face look and cries. Haha...

Hope vernon is ok! my dear..vomit 7 times. poor boy. better let him have small meals instead of 1 full milk feed?

by the way, any1 has a idea regarding LED monitor vs LCD monitor? Was looking at laptop but dunno what difference is this 2 monitor.

jeannie
if it's really cheap, then why not? i think can keep if u dun put it in a humid place (and kana mould).
plus, that sure beats buying from those "outlets" or BPs, where u dun know the quality! i stopped buying these dodgy ones already, cos it's not say v cheap and all turn out to be bad quality.
water, yah!! they love to play with the water after spilling it out! looks like it's common :D

straw
yah E seems to choke q often when drinking from straw. think i will try sippy cup as well..

stephie
oh ok.. i agree, want to give bb more textured foods but he seems to be more sian when it's not puree, i think he's lazy!! haha.

kitsune
maldives if it's a resort, i think bbs will enjoy leh. they'll be able to see so many fish! just can't stay on water chalet (i think it's not allowed).
but actually true lah, jap is v child friendly

GUG
any mummies gone for this before?

cheryl
oh dear, hope vernon get well soon. from what you described, seems it's stomach flu.
he might no wanna take any solid now, but make sure that he drinks water or any other fluid. hope he gets well soon.

re: sick babies
my 2 kids are taking turns to fall sick. 1st recovers, then the 2nd one falls sick. 2nd recovers, 1st one falls sick again. now, 2nd is sick again... so sian...

stephie
wow... going to europe! envy... enjoy yourselves.

morning mummies! i'm very happy today finally took a one day break from work after long hours everyday... almost burn out and thought i need a break

iso,
re GUG if i'm not wrong abc mentioned she brought her kids there... maybe can check with her. i want to bring C for trial also and just now called them, the United Square one is $50 but Suntec got promo at $25. wanted to go today but then got IT fair so i think better go some other time... today me going for kindermusik trial... heheh...

jeannie,
yeah... stock lotsa clothes !! think you can stock up to 3 yr old ? i would do that if i were you...oh and you can ship back to you in law's place first prior to your return... hahaha.. :D btw i think u are quite fashionable and can mix & match very well, i think i cannot live up to your standard if ever i have a daughter so i'm rather glad to have a bb boy now... hahaha... otherwise pressure to dress bb up :p

cheryl,
poor vernon...hope he recovers soon...7 time vomiting is quite bad...

tute
oh i just went yesterday so was wondering what other people think. they din tell me about suntec having promo!!! grr!
let me know how kindermusik goes

ya loh...
i nvr vomit so many times b4 leh.... tat is why we are so worried, bring him to KKH after he vomited the 4th time. in cab he vomited 5th times. while waiting for his turn he vomited 6th time. the last time he vomit was we are waiting to feed him the purple colour liquid. and doc say if he will to vomit the 8th time, he will have to be admitted.. heng. he nvr vomit after the 7th time.

cheryl
aiyoooo poor thing!! hope he recovers soon.

sunny
so it's true that more than 1 child they will get sick more? my PD said only child usually fall sick less.

thanks for all your advice re my japan trip! many of you raised points that i didn't think previously

have thought about it and decided to bring her along. if hb and i need "couple time" we'll go for a short trip to a less baby friendly country.

qingling,
do you know where is the most convenient lawson near the citadines shinjuku? wanan buy the ghibili museum tickets. can help you buy in advance too!

Gar - i dun have a idea leh. I think need to ask the locals. i wonder if can search online. Hee. I dun think i will go to Ghibli muesuem again since i been there..me still planning my intinerary..heh.

Also to buy the tickets is not so easy, cos the ticket machine is all in Japanese. I asked the shop assistant to help us buy the other time. You have to select which date, which timing u want to go. Here's a link for you to read up. http://www.lawson.co.jp/loppi/ghibli/english.html
i think A will enjoy the trip to Japan!

Apple : Yes its me ...
i also recognised your baby
yeah not very good..instructor not very experienced too, (young kids themselves) .. Def will not join..the parents also very cliqish.. The japs in a group, the ang moh in another group

Esty, oh is it? The 'teacher' we had at BJG when Bx and I went for trial ok leh. But true, depends on how experienced the 'teacher' is and if they can handle young kids.

pauline,

the teacher i had quite a young gal. generally she is ok, jz tat we dun fancy surprises like suddenly swing her. or rolled her back over the big balloon etc. maybe i was jz 2 protective. i tot at least tell the kids wat the next step the teacher gg 2 do rather than surprises. but tat's jz my opinions.

Esther - i went BJG trial with jeannie i think last yr, imo, the teacher wasn't very experience, and the activities seem quite boring (and we tot we could sing better too..keke). Join me for little neurotree trial at PoMo?

pauline,

haha.. maybe the trial i went oni 2 kids! Cayenne and another Charlene (i still rem the bb name) 1 yr old aso. after trial, i speak 2 the teacher, then i realize the bb charlene alredi took up the lessons. tat day it was a make up lesson 4 her, no wonder she look so "stable" haha...

qingling,

haha.. better singers ah.. when u gg for the trial? where is PoMo?

iso,
thanks thanks...sure i will give a report! now starting to sort out the packing list.

qingling,
oic. me still planning my itinerary too! are you planning to sign up for any day trips there? or completely F&E?

wow you're v resourceful leh...where did you find this? i think citadines is quite near to the lawson based on the map =)

cheryl,
take care for yourself too...

re: Dumex seminar
anyone going?

Garfield,
may i know if Parkway has any shops selling more variety of organic food?
i am looking for steel cut oatmeal.
i know Nature's farm/NTUC/cold storage may have some organic food. but very hard to find the steel cut oatmeal.

Esther - my first trial class starts tmr, but i think u can still call them. Pomo (at Selegie) is paradiz centre after renovation.
Gar - i should be working..but my work is too boring (arg), so i snake a little and surf a bit.keke. I think i will be totally F&E. I was thinking to plan a day trip to Hakone or not..

RE : Maid Woes

ARGH!!! My maid up and quit on me! :'( I managed to convince her to stay till the end of the month but now a bit scared cause she has become very bo chap in her work. <sigh> My HB said this is my retribution for being too nice to her. I just raised my voice to her once in the 9 months she is here and next day she told my HB she wanted to quit. Even when she spoilt our front load washing machine, we did not even scold her and comforted her when she cried. GRRR!!! I feel so taken advantage of now.

Cherly: Hope veron get well soon. Poor thing. Think he been sick frequently recently. Maybe its the infant care?

Atermis: Thats very nice of you to comfort her even when your front load washing machine is spoilt. They can quit anytime one? Thought got contract or something?

tongtong
not only flu. cough + flu. after recover, then fever. now the doc bans us from bringing my boy out. haha...

iso
if the kid always mixes around with other kids, he/she will get sick easier 'cos virus spreads loh. i remember last time my gal seldom fell sick before I stopped bf. if sick, within 3 days would recover. the most serious one was the stomach flu she got last time. but now, the boy got sick more often and longer period. whenever jie-jie is sick, out of 10 times, he will get sick 4 times loh. record still not so bad lah. i wonder if i stop bf, he will get sick even more often. sigh...