(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi, Eliaw

Yah....Preferrably DIL and MIL don't stay together.... but guess most MIL/DIL, if not every, wish that they have good relationship with each other ....
Hehe....actually for me I think it's good for even husband and wife not stay together----give each other space and forever dating mood......but never try it, haha......

Sometimes if you don't feel right, you can communicate with your SIL; Or just told MIL that you learnt through your childcare education program, it's essential to get baby(especially <1 year old) to have trust on people, etc etc.....and you're the one who's ultimately responsible for educating your child.....

Maybe you tell yourself that you have control on the relationship.....Don't let others control your feelings....

Hehe....for me, at one time, I told my MIL after she kept picking on me that I think I am best DIL compared to my friends/colleagues---anybody I know well; why you still pick on me? Then she clarified; we talked. and since then, every body is happy.

But even if the relationship is still bad in the end, don't blame yourself, especially for some of us who's well liked from young by parents, teachers, friends, colleagues and boss.

Just save the energy for making yourself, hubby and baby happy.

Hi, bkkgal

Can't think of happier life than visiting friends at different countries while travelling around the world. ^_^^_^

i am from the apr thread. if you are thinking of selling 1st birthday party items (banners, favors, balloons, dangliers etc), pls PM me cos i am celebrating my boy's birthday in 3 weeks time.

I'm from the May thread. Juz checking any bb here wearing XL Huggies Ultra Diapers?

I have 3 packs to sell off... my bb is oni 9mths old so can't wear them yet. Somemore, she is using M size so dun wish to keep the XL diapers for so long.

I got the 3 packs from the recent Mother&amp;Baby Fair when subscribing to 12 mths magazine. My sis went down on my behalf but unfortunately grab the wrong "size"...

Willing to let go at oni $40/-
Anyone interested please email me at [email protected]

Have a nice day!

nagsterak,
i give my bb multi-vitamin drops as recommended by PD becos after 6 mths, most breastfed babies dun have sufficient iron from breastmilk, so need to take vitamins. If ur bb is on formula, then shd be ok.

hihi..
i can't make it for the playdate tomorrow cos C is not well yet!! Sob sob.. he caught the flu virus from my hb.. actually he's recovered.. but i don't think he should go tomorrow just in case.. so mummies.. sorry!

4 March (Wed) Playdate @ Gogo bambini
Time: 2-5pm
1. Garfield
2. Bkkgal
3. Berry
4. Piglettail
5. Kitsune

re: MIL
tubao, good for u! i wish i could just say it out loud to her that 'wat's her problem' but i don't think i dare to do that now..
qingling, yes the spanking.. my dearest hb went to 'scold' her.. i almost fainted.. he's the last person to tell her off!! i think he's making the situation worse..

Tubao: take my hat off u. I never never never dare to tell my MIL anything directly. Always try to be respectful of her although she cut my girl's hair 3 times without us knowing (which i kind of mind) etc and things that i don't really agree....
I always tell my husband to tell her most of the things i want to convey or when she happen to bring the topic up then i take the opportunity to *hint* her...and I feel quite suffocated and restricted at times cos I am living with my MIL. But on a good mood day, I think she really has all the good intention and if its nothing too major, i just close my eyes.

Of cos given a choice, I love to stay on my own.

re: multivit

i'm thinking whether bb's liver can handle multivit at such young age? since it's processed stuff. shouldnt we give them more fruits and veg instead? iron- can take from grains, rice and cereal and other natural food right?

Advice on Maids

Wanna complain about my maid. My maid and my baby is placed in my dad's house everyday. My dad is 70% at home, the rest of the time he has errands to run, so he need to leave them at home , also with his own maid ( with us for 8 years) Yesterday baby fell from the bed in the morning (my dad suay suay not at home at that time). I only found out at night @ 8 pm. I had reached my dad's at 6 pm, she kept quiet about it. She didnt even tell my dad about it when say came back at 12 pm. Until at night when we reached my own place, my baby looks quite cranky and not herself , she then said " Ma'm, actually i want to tell you baby fell from the bed this morning. Me and my husband got a shock of oue lives! We quickly checked her up and down, but found no major visible injuries. But she continued to be cranky till she fell asleep. After that i gave my maid a big scolding. I told her falling down from bed is serious and can even cause death if there is internal bleeding ( recall the incident in the news the maid was bathing the baby , and the baby knocked her head and died a few hours later, because the maid didnt say)? My maid still dare to tell me, i didnt want to tell you because i though you are too tired from work !! What rubbish , then why tell me now ? I can bet that if baby wasnt cranky and she got scared , she wouldnt' even have told me. And my dad's maid also.. my dad even gave her extra money to help to "supervise" also , as we tot we can trust her after 8 years.. Also never breathe a word to my dad.. kept quiet.... I am really in a dilema, shall i change her out ? or give her another chance.. She has been with us since baby was 2 weeks old. GEnerally she is quite ok, she can play/entertain baby, feed her and make her sleep. I am realy reluctant to re-train another maid, who may be even worse?! But i am really thinking , could there be other things she has tried to hide from us ? If you were me , would you change maid ?

on the issue on MIL, i have been staying with my MIL for the past 10 years and how we get along for so many years is that we dont bother too much about each other meaning...i do mine things, she do hers. simple things like washing clothes, hanging clothes etc, wash plates etc also we take turns, most important is to tell her if u r unhappy abt something. dont ask hub to talk to her which makes matters worst. for me, i dont keep anyting inside me. once i see something she do that i dont like i will say eeee ma dont do that like nicely...and she listen.
honestly, they are a great help. for ex, i bring baby home and need to bath, she watch her for a while, when i eat she watch her too.

nicole, but then the thing is, this seems quite common with maids leh, thats what I heard from numerous friends also. So unless you are 100% sure that the next maid wont do the same, if not then its more trouble for you for nothing? How about getting a nanny instead? Your nanny can also go to your dad's house? Nannies are not as ignorant as some maids can be cause they know alot more about child-rearing. plus at night nanny goes home, you have your own privacy.

6 March (Fri) Playdate @ Gogo bambini
1. Garfield?
2. Bkkgal?
3. Berry
4. Piglettail?
5. Kitsune?
6. Eliaw?
Quite a few ppl cant make it, can we shift to friday?

Re Multivits

When my MIL brought my boy to doc last week coz of fever, she got multivits from my PD. I also close one eye and take it that it wouldn't do any harm to my boy. Personally I dun think I will give multivits so early as the food they eat and milk they drink should have enough nutrition. Another friend of mine recommended cod liver oil.

Zoo: I brought my boy to the zoo on his actual birthday too! We went there again 1 week back to celebrate a friends' bday. I'm a fan of the zoo and go there about once every 2 years. The first time James couldn't see very much..we took the tram and he dunno where to look. I think no point taking the tram coz u can't see the animals. We brought him to the water play..if I were a small girl I will love it! I was so tempted to jump in myself. But I only brought extra clothes for daddy and baby, so they both went in. But James was scared and kept hanging on to daddy. Think the water was too cold and water kept spraying everywhere. James conked out by 12.30pm coz he did't take morning nap.

Second time, we walked and the trip was much more fruitful. James managed to see many animals upfront and has close encouters with them..haha. Again we brought him to water play area and he clung on like he did the last time. Also conked out after his lunch at 1pm.

So..3 hours at the zoo is about enough for our babies at the zoo. Advise is not to take the tram. And bring extra clothes for yourself and baby to play at the rainforest playground.

Gogo Bambini
I am keen but this Friday may not be suitable for me.
Can i find out more about this place?browsed thru the web briefly and seems like a 'large in-door playground' facility? do they have teachers to conduct sessions like Gymboree or it's a free play session?

piglettail
gogo bambini is free play.. not lessons.. it's good for baby to crawl/walk and explore different obstacles..

6 March (Fri) Playdate @ Gogo bambini - Dempsey
1. Garfield?
2. Bkkgal?
3. Berry
4. Piglettail?
5. Kitsune?
6. Eliaw - ok

Hi Berrywife, thanks! hmm nanny can come to our house ? I always tot nanny must bring to their house ? I had bad memories of nannies , because my younger bro used to don't want to come home from nanny house... wil kick and bawl .. How do i source for this kind of nannies ? I live near Kovan..anyone got recommendations

nicole:
i think can give your maid a chance ba. erm... no matter what she did tell u after all. maybe she didnt know abt the implication of bb falling from bed. she could choose to hid it from you ma. changing might not only means that you have to re-train but also the risk of getting a worse maid.

re: Gogo bambini / JWT
a bit confuse, so tm is not JWT? i tot its the JWT trial. erm... how much is the cost for bambini?

Hi Jass, thanks for your advice. but i see some of my friends' maid like very good with the kids leh, very envious of them.... I don't need someone very smart or cook very well , I dont even mind if she is a bit dirty, that one can close 1 eye.. but she must be patient and love kids.. btw anyone got recommendation for good maid agencies.. my this one like very bo chap leh.. may not go through them if change maid..

Oh the JWT trial is for those who went for the FEb B'day bash and were given a trial pass ? Not sure if you went ?
Next Wed anyone ?

just came in to the thread...so tomorrow there's supposed to be a gathering but changed to Fri? i think fri is out for me.

Berry - sorry didn't get chance to reply to your SMS. looks like overtaken by events here...

Nicole
I went to perth last year. My itinerary is very simple - arrive perth, spend 2 days there, drive to Margaret river and spend 5 days visit wineries and farms and then back to Perth for 1 night before flying off. My girl enjoyed the beach and parks very much. It's very nice for them to explore and discuss these new textures and climates.

Maid agency
The agency I used is very responsive and good. The name is Froggies, the lady is Sheila Lin - she provided very good service. Froggies is the first agency I called and A - my maid - was the first recommendation. So I was lucky that everything turned out ok and my maid loves my bb so much and wants very much to take care of her but I don't allow cos my IL and mom helps me. Hb also dun approve maid taking care cos he afraid that he would lose his "ranking" with bb!

My maid discovered a medical condition few months into her employment with me. Basically it required specialist care that would cost me a lot of $$ to treat her and insurance does not cover that. In the end, Sheila worked out with us and maid an arrangement that would suit everyone. I thought Sheila was very good in that way.

Multivits
I tried to give multivits but it caused constipation - my mom said it's too heaty. Now I give cod liver oil which builds up immunity. And so far, so good - no probs.

re: multivitamins

The iron content must have caused the constipation, so must take more water with that.

I think becos our babies still dun eat enough of solid food, so may need supplements?? But if on formula, then its ok lah, cos already enriched with iron. My bb took iron-fortified cereals but was still anemic last time, so recommended by PD to take vitamins.

Food intake
Mommies, how do u know how much food to give ur bb? Esp now that they are easily distracted, sometimes need 45min to finish a meal. How can i tell if bb is already full and doesnt want more, or if he just takes a very long time to eat?

Today, stay home to look after RaeAnne cos my mum came over. No time to check forum at all. So tired until giddy liao or maybe it was the cold medicine. But still quality time with her lar. Hee.

Gogo bambini
Friday should be better, hope I recovered from my sore throat/cold by then, now it's developed into a cough. So sian. :p

I also have Healthy Times apple cinnamon cookies/cereal to give away. It has just been opened but G does not like it.

E expiry date is april 09 ( erm.. seems quite soon leh), i want to give away to any mummies.PM or sms me k.Thks

wow... jeannie u are up till so late.
*hug* hope gwen can recover fast so tat u can travel w ease. fingers cross. rem to pack all her med wor.

morning ladies!

cooking
i wanna 'complain'... i cooked scrambled eggs for my bb this morning and he dun want! hmmp!!
ok, i know it's not MAJOR effort but cos i hardly (or rather never) cook, it's a big feat to me. bought a cook book last week, yesterday went to buy frying pan, spatula and eggs and couldn't sleep well thru the nite yest cos keep 'visioning' how the eggs will turn out to be this morning.
in the end, he ate like 1 teaspoon only and gave me his gagging/choking face... arrgh.
fed up.

multivites
i brought bb for his 1 yr review (Although now it's like almost 13 months) and PD said if bb is healthy and growing well, don't really need multivites

nagsterak
i agree, staying with ILs is v v convenient! and i think good for bbs also to have more people to play with. i feel that in sg they should make more houses with 2 master bedrooms so that everyone can live together! lol

qingling,

yes, he quite like steam egg-charamushi. give him that when we eat out at jap restaurants.

it's just me lah.have this big hang up about cooking, the act itself frustrates me n when my eater dun like it (which is often the case!) i get super 'upset'. but will be ok..chilling out with my morning teh terik..

staying with IL
think there's good and bad. good-always someone to help look after at last minute's notice and as and when (e.g need to go toilet/bathe/eat meals). bad is always feel there's someone lording over/breathing down your neck. esp for 'new' wives and first time mums (like myself), can get stressful. cos haven't found our 'foothold' and 'stand' around household and childcare matters yet.

re : eggs.

checked wif my gal's PD when i brought her to pneumococcal jab last sun. He mentioned that we can start giving eggs to our darlings once they hit their big ONE. Asked him abt the egg allergies, his comment was most bbs wont get egg allergies. But of cos there are exception cases.

I fed Cayenne cheese cake last sat, she enjoyed so much tat i felt tat she prefered cheese cake than her own BD cake. Haha...

My bb sitter told me she aso started feeding Cayenne some half boiled egg, more like 3/4 boiled egg. So far Cayenne no pro wif egg. I'll give her hard boiled egg on of these days.

Now Cayenne's Mcdonald breakfast can hv big breakfast (scrambled eggs) beside the boring hot cakes. keke...

re: bb walking
Heidi can now also take 5-6 steps unassisted
, that was yesterday when she displayed her independence..haha..so fun to see her walking and trying to balance herself

chicken pox: i was told to go back at 14mths for the chicken pox vacinnation, but considering not to go back SBBC, do any of u know if the charges are cheaper outside?

qingling,
congrats!! you must be so excited to see heidi walk!

btw, are you still going to japan? i booked my tickets and accom to tokyo already! going there late march to see cherry blossoms!

piglettail,
did you add any seasoning to the egg? cos egg on its own has a pretty strong ammonia smell. so need to cook it with some seasoning or with other ingredients to mask it!

maybe can try french toast - add some milk to the egg and then dip the bread in to pan fry.

qingling,

haha.. reali happy 4 u. reali funny 2 see heidi walk. does she walk wif her hands slightly up or even close her hands as to balance herself. Cayenne does tat action when she 1st walk without support. very funny. like penguin. haha...

Garfield: my girl vomitted when we try feeding her eggs twice esp when there is egg white in it/ Guess its the smell now that u mentioned but we already mixed it in porridge. When u say add milk for the french toast, its fm?

By the way, when u free? can meet u get the books?
Japan, wow so nice. Longing to go there too...

qingling
congrats!! they r v cute walking

piglettail
yah, true! and sometimes after bb is asleep my hubby and i can still do last min errands like go to supermarket or something

Gar - yes yes! wow..goody..i heard from my jap colleagues, cherry blosoms gona be out end of March..alamak..i hope its still there when i arrive..i will be there from 4th to 11th April.
where are u staying? I am staying in Ueno.