(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal,
poor K...i give papaya every day to C, at least once every 2 days because otherwise historically he always have constipation problem... so only trust papaya now. when i don't give papaya, will give custard or yoghurt. i do agree though that banana may cause constipation. there's one apple prune juice by heinz which i used to give to Cayleb but ever since he takes in more solids, he doesn't want anymore :p could it be because you change her bfast from cereal to bread hence more condensed food? if yes, then prob the answer is to give more water? am just throwing ideas here :p

re:bosses,
i think really difficult to generalise. Prior to my current boss, i have always had female bosses who are married with kids but the best boss for me is still my current one whom i follow from my previous role... he's married without kids and not interested in having one but he's a very people person and understand that his directs need to spend time with their family.

ILs...
ok, my conclusion is - i will only look after my daughter's kids but not my son's (if i do have a son) kids.

Mummies with sons,
is that your conclusion too? =)

gar,
i thk i wld look after only if i am asked to, regardless of son or daughter's kids. If not, i wld be more than happy to go thru' a second honeymoon period wid my hubby. On and off, go visit n play wid the grandkids, spoil them, then rtn to their respective owners. hahaha!!! :p

gar
that depends, are you going to be like those MIL that give DILs headaches? lol

jass
yah, hopefully got more opportunity in the future
btw what kind of work u looking for ah?

bosses
i think the conclusion here is: EQ is impt, whether male or female!

iso,
but hor...based on our discussion - unless we are able to look after our grandkids 100% the way our DILs want us to, else for sure will have friction right?

i'd rather not then. hehe...

gar
maybe depends on each person's character? my ILs look after my nephew - my B/SIL are the super chin-chai type, so they don't mind, or they close 2 eyes and let ILs do everything.
for me, i more opinionated, so more difficult to get along, hee.

Mommies
Help! I have D&D next Fri. I have to dress up as a fairytale character. I'm thinking of Little Red Riding Hood - seems the easiest cos just need a red hood. anyone got red hood to lend me????? my colleague is going as the big bad wolf. hehe.

eliaw!
trial booked! i booked play cos i wasn't sure if we wanted play or musical... 3pm! you still got my number? can sms me?

qingling
there are always so many things to buy

Tong
oh, i didn't know bananas can cause constipation...looks like that may be the culprit cos she lurves bananas - if she sees them, she'll point and say "nana!".

bkkgal, buy a red shawl and wrap ard your head? then carry a basket? haha, can picture you in that, you'll look nice lar.

garfield, hmm I think my own conclusion is to learn from other ppl's experiences so that I wont make the same mistake next time. I will try to be one of those nice mils who will be on v good terms with my future dil. Actually its not rocket science (I hope)? Just need to be respectful and kind always, then wont go very wrong?

Berry,
Good for you! =) i'm all too aware of my weaknesses... I'm not the easiest person to live with and have pretty set living habits. Even hb has a hard time, so unless I mellow with age, unlikely I'll be an easy mil to live with haha!

Gar, me too. Think I'm too particular about certain things. I see my cousin can let my unmarried auntie look after her only son from 2 months to 6 years old. Recently, when I visited, I realised the boy is made to sleep in the sarong in the day because my auntie say he may wet his bed in deep sleep so sarong better easier to clean up. Even the boy protested that he's already a big boy, don't want to sleep in sarong. Also, she didn't want to put him on potty seat on toilet bowl because scared he fall down the hole. Recently then start toilet training using the adult toilet. Plus the boy gets to watch a lot of TV/VCDs because my auntie needs to do her housechores so he started wearing specs last year at 5 years old. And when he was younger, about 1-2 years old, my auntie forbids the parents to bring him out on weekends (they are weekend parents) because when the boy is at my auntie's place, he keeps wanting to go out. I love my auntie but I definitely won't agree with the points above, so my conclusion, I'm the fussy and mafan woman so I won't make a good DIL and probably not a good MIL either. Sigh. :p

Good idea Berry! Ok, at least a shawl i can re-use again. not wasted.

Future potential mil
i think i'll make a good mil - cos i have no intentions of taking care of my children's children!! hahaha. just wanna enjoy my retirement in peace and play with the grandkids whenever i'm in town (cos i'll be travelling ard the world). kekeke.

kitsune
wah! the sarong can take the weight of a 6 yr old meh? you mean ur cousin so accomodating one ah? it's weekend leh...surely weekend is when you wanna bring your kid out and enjoy time together, not stay at home the whole time mah. some more when they are weekend parents, can be very poor thing...i can imagine ur cousin - probably pining to see bb all week but come weekend, cannot bring her out. i dunno lah but i'm the one who needs to go out all the time or i'll go mad!

good morning mummies,

jass,
C normally will have her milkfeed around 6 am too. i wake her up to feed her then hb bring her to MIL place as I got to leave home by 630 am.
good that she doesn't cry when i wake her up.

re: female boss
my feeling is, they will be tough if they are feeling insecure. In fact, 1 of my female boss is good in nature. but when issue happens and she feels very insecure, all funny things will happen.
similar to leila's case, she will call me during off office hours to prepare report for her, check this check that.. etc.
and the other female boss is forever in the insecure mode. hai...

re: constipation
bkkgal,
C sometimes has constipation. there was a few times that she scream so loud to push out the poo.

tong,
my in-law not going to market very often. everytime she goes, she already carry lots of things. paiseh to ask her help to buy anymore things.
prunes, the fresh one also helps in constipation?
i have been using SunSweet PruneJuice to ease my constipation sometimes. :p

berry,
yes. i am worry about the preservatives too. i bought the unsulfured ones from Nature's Farm for the apricot.

jass/iso,
don't know what was i thinking!! why i didn't think of freezing fruits while i freeze her other food cubes.

jass,
what's the ice cube size? 1 oz? 2 oz? i think my ice cube is about 2 oz.
matt has so much vege and fruits everyday. very good.
C's lunch is normally only 1 ice cube with mixed potato/sweet potato + vege + meat. seems too little liao.

re: bb sleep
tong,
i am guilty for torturing C. :p
but after she wake up at 6 am and have her breakfast, she will go back to sleep at about 7 am till 10 am. don't know good or not leh.
next time go school sleep in the class how?

re: in-laws
i am the one that is very mafan, stubborn one.
my ILs are the chin-chai and bo-chap kind. didn't have too much conflict with them as they are so chin-chai.. i think i am lucky. :D
since they are chin-chai with me, then i chin-chai with them too loh. so, close my both eyes.. :p

in fact, i have more problems with my mum. my mum is as mafan and stubborn as me. (my hb said it's in the genes. :p). and because she's my mum, i will always speak up when i am not happy. end up, we always quarrel. I know it's not good, but can't be helped leh.. the advise my siblings gave me is to just KEEP QUITE. :p

Yah...If we insisit that MIL takes care of our children as our way, we become "nano" lady boss at home.

Sometimes I am wondering whether we should lower expectations on others. My two friends married to Ah moh, and moved to foreign country since then. One's MIL helped during her confinement for only 2 days; and didn't take care of her children at all.

Another one's MIL didn't help at all during confinement, helped taking care of baby at daytime, but never cooked her and her hubby's share of dinner. So my friend came back home after 1.5 hour journey(walking, bus, MRT, train, car)from work, she have dinner at 9pm earliest after cooking dinner & settling baby to sleep.

And come on.....we are not looking for MIL who worked as Eton house teacher before.....
Sometimes when we think of how MIL deals things differently with us, we need to think of why we choose this hubby to complement our character, since his character is educated/influenced by MIL.

For words that MIL said, maybe we can observe how she commented herself/her sons/her daughters, sometimes that's the way of she speaking----didn't really mean anything.

And we show basic respects for them because they are older people; we love them /communicate with them because our hubby/our baby needs their love(and whole in-law family's love).

Come to think of it.....If we love MIL and communicate with her and put much hope on her understanding us as much as for our own mum .......

Sorry for never being fun person myself.

leila:
hahah i think that is the best man. play & spoils grandchildren and return them to respective owners when they are naughty or poo. LOL~ but yes, i think i'll be a MIL w my own set of thinking. will have conflicts. hahah thou i dun mind looking after for a while. and although i'll miss my boy terribly next time, i wont wanna him to stay w me too. stay nearby can liao.

bkk:
sorry i dun have a hood. but berry's idea is pretty good leh.. hahah w a basket! that is so cool.

iso:
erm... now i'm looking for either sales & marketing or hr.

For lady boss,

Newspaper wrote that survey shows that more and more lady bosses nowadays; and there's reason 1, 2, 3.....for it.
I can only remember one of reasons as women's outstanding communications skills compared to men....

Even we got bad lady bosses before, we can remind ourselves of what we shouldn't do.

Haha... I am also not to intending to take care of grandchildren.... don't know how to "xian4" this job and travel around the world..

Bkkgal,
we travel together, can?

But my hubby is the one willing to make lots of sacrifices for children, if he stay back to take after grandchildren, I will follow him....

xy:
erm.. ice cube hor, i mean ice cubes from the ice cube tray we make our ice in. hahah so 2 cubes its abt 1.5 oz i think??

haha dun worry abt carrie sleeping, our little toddlers are still babies ma.. so still need abt 13+ hours of sleep. matt is also sleeping @ abt 10 to 12 after his mid morning milk. *fingers cross tat he can sleept so long* then again in the afternoon after his 3pm milk

tubao:
yup, defintely we need to respect and love our ILs. hehe so my conclusion is... visit them once in a while will love & treasure them more. conflicts will come in if we have to live together due to different style of living and upbringing.

a couple living together has to adjust to live with one another... but if the DIL has to stay w the family, 1 person has to adjust to the current living style of a whole family so personally i will find it tough. esp i'm not the most organise person, will leave things ard like if i need to rush for work (which is like v oft coz i wanna zzz as much as possible) in the morning, prob i wont wash up my dishes after breakfast. will leave them lying ard, but if stay w ILs... if they are not working, they might not like their DIL leave things ard lah.... haha somethings little little things get on our nerves man.

so i'm really counting my blessing that my MIL is really nice and chin chye. she is someone i can talk to.. even more than my mother. but still sometime i really dun understand the why she do things. LOL.

xy:
like you, i oft argue w my mum and sister. but then, family ma... after a short while will be ok liao, wont bear grudges.

tubao
haha, sure next time we grow old, we can travel and talk abt the old days when our children are still young and compare notes abt the grand children! hehe. actually i have a plan not to retire in spore, i will build a house in thailand and live simple life - my grandchildren can visit me during school holidays.

XY
i think it's normal they go back to sleep. K will wake abt 4.30, drink milk and go back to sleep until 8. only when sleeping then there's brain development.

bkkgal, hehe, I was fantasizing to buy a place in Phuket cos of the beautiful sea and sands when I visited in Jun 2004. Then Dec 04, tsunami struck, my husband said got $ also will not buy a place in tsunami prone area. :p

bkkgal, exactly, his legs r already sticking out of the sarong cloth. My mum too has been nagging forever but i just dun want her to sleep in sarong. i'm sure they bring him out secretly on weekends. My cousins also complicated background, now they r staying at my aunt's cos their previous flat bought with mil has been sold.

good morning mummies,

tubao,
your analogy is so so true...
if there are 2 lady bosses, thinks get even worst. hb will be the one sandwiched in between. LOL

but it's difficult for us to compare with those ang moh MIL.
in fact, not expecting MIL to follow our way exactly. just hoping that they don't impose things that are against our way.
that's why i say i am lucky that my MIL is chin-chai and i can't complain too much about it as long as i don't need to stay together with them.

just like jass said, it's especially difficult if staying with ILs or anybody if living style is different.
cos most of them will impose the rules of the house for us to follow.
even when i was at my parents home, small things like where we put our clothes, shoes will be nagged by my mother. cannot tahan... :p

jass,
your ice cube so small ah. no wonder... mine is 1 cube about 1 oz (or 1.5 oz),
anyway, checked with PD today when i brought her for chicken pox jab yesterday, she said amount of fruit intake is about 1/4 of apple. i think i can meet the target.

Hi anyone has Perth itenary to share , especially if you had gone with babies... We are going in May (self drive) and planning the itenary now.

THanks!

bkkgal, yea shaun loves banana a lot too. K so cute! she knows how to say banana!

xiaoyun, yea fresh prunes quite sour one. but shaun can take wor. it helps in pooing a lot

xiaoyun, aiyo not to say torture C la when you wake her up. but C's pattern very interesting! cuz she can sleep from 7 till 10 wor!! unless you dont wake her up but just pick her up and latch her, like dream feed like dat, then she continue to zzz. see this round she sleep till what time?

wah i never quarrel with my mum. what i said my mum will agree. maybe she thinks what i said is logical too? hehe.

ILs trouble again.. heard tat friday my MIL shouted at my boy becos he didn't want to eat his porridge n then he cried.. apparently spanked him twice on his bottom too.. alamak..
super conflicting in parenting ways..

tubao, yes, it's important to communicate with MIL, but wat if MIL doesn't want to communicate? u know my MIL's mentality 'DIL n MIL cannot stay together'.. so in her head, she already has this mental block that we can't get along together, so naturally, we just can't get along.. really, for communication to be effective, it has to be 2 ways. much as i wish to be on better terms with her, but i think if it's only 1 way, the relationship won't improve at all.. but dwelling too much on MIL & DIL relationship will eventually put a strain on relationship with HB.. so at the end of the day, just close 2 eyes..

Eliaw, who did you hear from the MIL spanked Carter? Poor boy. Sometimes, I spank RaeAnne on her bottom too but it's diaper protected so she always 'bo hew' me. :p Good that you can close 2 eyes lar, I haven't mastered the art of it yet. I need to be physically away to close both eyes. Hee.

eliaw - oh my..spanking..i really dun wish to resort to that if possible. sigh, really difficult to tell off MIL when you need their help especially..ask your hubby to tell your MIL don't spank, but then you have to advise her what to do..it's sometimes frustrating when the kid don't do what you want.

bb talk - Heidi keep saying "aiya" "aiya"..haha..i find it so amusing..she still is speaking a lot of baby language..and she keeps saying "bok bok bok"..i have to dechiper it..haha

we drove up to Malacca over the weekend, nearly couldn't came back..cos we tagged along fren's car, and his car had some technical fault (car jerking..suspected engine problem) when we are about to reach..and it was Sat night, sun, no mechanics or workshop was open. Worse thing is he was driving a Mazda 6,n Malacca not so advanced yet..no spare parts available! Dam stress..but somehow we managed to drive back last night..luckily engine not jerking,but the engine signal was always on..phew....

qingling
wow, sounds like quite an adventure! i've been wanting to go malacca.. how was it bringing baby there?

baby shoes
mummies! i saw bobux at robinsons city hall last week. also my friend recommended this shoe shop in tanglin mall, the shop name is Nicole or something, they sell babybotte shoes there - quite ex man! a lot of them $100+ (like $198 price range!) but he says they're damn good. check it out www.babybotte.com

Iso - it was quite a breeze cos Heidi managed to sleep on the car seat, and when she woke, we give her things to play with and food to entertain her..she grumbled a little but was manageable. At Malacca, can bring your stroller around in the malls. On the streets we just carry her or sling her. Not that difficult

However i had to bring my slow cooker along to cook her porridge, in that sense we had more things to pack

We stayed in Aldy Hotel - not some posh hotel, but it was clean and nice, and near to Jonker Street, with lots of activities on weekend nights (Sat and Sun only). Overall quite ok ;)

Iso - the shoes look tough..hehe..like going for trekking..hee..but its very ex..considering the lifespan of the shoes is quite short for our bb, is it worth?

paging for Garfield!!

Garfield, is your meet-up with Xiaoyun today at 6pm BJ confirmed? XY has no internet access now, pls call her ok! thanks!

qingling
oh ok, sounds fun! did you see where hotel intercontinental is? i heard it's v new and nice, but not sure whether the location is good. i also like The Majestic, but q ex i think! :D

Iso - never saw Hotel Intercontinental. There's one Hotel Equatorial which is quite nice too.

There's another Seri Coasta which is overlooking straits of Malacca, also quite nice

tong,
avent manual pump around $100 (if i'm not wrong) for just the pump. if buy the via cup one slightly more ex around $20 diff ?

re: JWT trial / bambini
erm... when are we going huh? i'm a bit lost.

went to the zoo this morning! havent been there in ages. LOL, my hubby has never been there before. so i brought 3 sua kus (hubby, matt & maid) there. quite fun but my boy is very funny, probably he cant spot some of the animals, he keep looking @ the water. the water / river tat separates the animals fr visitors. OMG, v funny, so i'm like so noisy trying to attract his attn to point out the animals. we are super exhausted now. hee~

haha..jass..cannot imagine ur hubby never been to the zoo? i tot we always have schools excursion bringing us to zoo and bird parks? so he must have been as excited as Matt

qingling:
dunno leh, prob he missed tat excursion ba. i have been there once during kindergarten excursion and once prob 5 yrs back w frens. LOL

hi all mummies

just wondering if any of you give your babies vitamins?
my baby just turned one year old and seems to be quite prone to fall sick.
other than porridge and milk, she eat biscuits and bread daily...she hates cereal...

nagsterak:
erm.. actually milk is very nutritious. porridge too if you put in enough meat and vegetable.
biscuits i dun think is recommended daily @ such young age due to the sugar content. u can use cheese spread for bread.

so far, my boy dun really fall sick *fingers cross* and he is taking milk, cereal, brown rice powder & porridge. no other supplements.

nagsterak,
i give my son vitamins but mainly because his milk intake is quite little so hoping this will boost his appetite. and i ask my pd, he also said that taking vitamins will not boost immune system but will help with my boy's appetite

jass,
wah...i've never been to sgp zoo...must try to take cayleb sometime.. :p did matt enjoy it ?

i see...ok thanks for advise.
does any mummy face problem of baby waking up every midnight? not for feed, she just stand at her cot and cry and wants to be carried...

nagsterak:
i have tried the moon rabbit (is tat the name?) & the eu ren sen wan.

tute:
haha should try to bring cayleb to the zoo. quite fun. tiring thou, actually didnt see too many animals as we were all tired. lol~ you can actually settle @ the kids' play area for lunch (KFC) and play w water. matt was already sleeping when we reached the kids' play area. haha~