(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

wow... babies are taking their 1st steps liao? thats is wonderful
mine is still very timid leh. looking forward to his 1st step. he still dun like to stand unsupported.. when we let go, he usually squat down.

bkkgal: i only use moisturiser w spf 15. lazy hee~

stephie: wow!! that's fast! :D he would have been like 10 months then? oh you have more than 1 bb right?

bkk: haha, am sure she'll do it again soon. my BIL was worried that we thought he was making things up too, heh.

jass: maybe you encourage him by luring him with TV? heehee.. i think mine can lure with food.

iso
shawn was born in end Jan, so he was abt 11mths then. yup, i've a 4 yrs old girl. for her, she could fully walk when she's 1 yr 1 wk.

jass
mine like to stand. sometimes will push our hands away when we tried to support him. then my mine will say he's trying to "hao lian". keke.

My son is born in year 2008 too. His birthday is on Feb. I would like to know if mummy has recommendation on catering, cupcakes and birthday cake?

Stephie: My son too, likes to stand and climb around and does not like to be carried.

oh, typo in earlier post. i meant to say "my mum", not "my mine".

jas
though he likes to stand, he still likes to be carried leh. especially when he's sleepy/hungry.

apple
me too, not looking forward to running after her! backache ah!

stephie
i think children learn faster if they have older siblings to watch and learn from. have noticed that mine is quite a copycat, like that time joined a playdate, all the bbs were crawling around but she not motivated. after a few days, she also started crawling. on sat, she saw our fren's kid, 1 yr old birthday party, walking and then on sun, she took 2 steps.

bkkgal
totally agree. shawn's sis knock her own head and shawn follow suit, knocking his head and smiling away. that's why i keep telling my girl not to teach him the wrong stuff. or maybe i should rephrase and tell her what she should teach.

been busy at work...plus a lot of re-org going on in my coy so seldom post recently.

talking about teaching and learning...can mummies share how you teach baby especially when it comes to dangerous things / actions they should avoid?

i have been told by many "new age" mums that we cannot teach in the negative eg. cannot say "please don't go into the kitchen" but "please stay out of the kitchen". somehow, arielle understand the first one better leh. so i'm also confused.

anyway, it's not clear to me why we cannot teach in the negative. if i explain why something is bad and therefore should be avoided, instead of a simple "no cannot do this", wouldn't that be good too? for example smoking is bad and you should not smoke bcos blah blah blah...

stephie, bkk
yah! think so too! maybe that's why my and stephie's boy walking faster, i got a 2 yr old nephew at home for bb to watch and learn..

gar
i am "stingy" with negative words, so unless it's a real no-no (like plugs, wires, fans, etc.), i will give a firm NO. sometimes i will also follow up with "no touching the fan because..." even though he doesn't understand. at this age i think they won't be able to understand if you elaborate too much but i think explanations will be important as they grow older so that they can learn to think for themselves.

(funny side story, my mum said bb was crawling towards shoes, and she told him no, then he stoped, and shook his head and hand as if to say no no, and then crawled elsewhere!!)

my ILs, on the other hand, are always (unnecessarily, IMHO) saying to the boys "kabong ah" "bim-boong ah" or "gong gong tou" which all refers to falling or hitting your head. they can say it like 3x in 30 seconds, which i think is really really unnecessary.

i read that negativity not only has an impact by making them more averse to risks, it also has an impact on their language abilities, as in they might be slower to pick up speech.

overall i think a more positive environment is for the best!

Blackbatz, thanks for the tip. Talked to my boss liao, I'm not serving extended notice so 9 Feb will be my day of freedom. Yeah!

RaeAnne not standing nor walking yet. Hope she'll wait for Mummy so that I can witness them.

garfield,
If you say this:
"please don't go into the kitchen"
the kid may wrongly get the idea of go into the kitchen instead of the word don't.
there's a study show that children misunderstood the meaning 80% of the time when the sentence gets longer.
so, in order to confirm that there's no miscommunication, it's better to check with their understanding after you tell them what to do.

kitsune,
congrats on your pending freedom. i'm not SAHM so can't really give any advice, but i would like to applaud your move! =) i think you will be a fantastic SAHM given your dedication to RaeAnne (evident from your perseverence to BF inspite of being prone to blockage). im sure you are sooooooo looking forward to it right?

and, my personal 2 rupiah worth re the DSLR or videocam is to get it cos you will witness a lot of milestones and will want to capture it all down to share with your hubby.

initially hubby and i didn't buy all these before arielle was born. but after she arrived, we decided after 2 weeks that we should just get it to capture the precious moments =P i got the nikon D40, it's the most basic and cheapest(?) but it does it's job pretty well and no regrets buying it at all. it only costs about twice that of a digicam (good one would be about $400?) so you depreciate it over the months and years...really not that much more.

for my gal, i will tell her "NO" and shake my head when she's playing with the telephone socket.
the only thing that she learned is "NO" then she will shake her head. still cannot get the idea of "NO playing with telephone socket" haha..

xy,
hmm...interesting. but the sentence is already so short? will be challenging to shorten it further without ending up as singlish hehe

xiaoyun
haha.. so cute. sometimes it really depends on what the kids pick up when we say certain thing. so we have to be mindful not to have too many gestures or worst inconsistent body language when we 'lecture' then. sometimes, i'm guilty of smiling when i scold shawn (cos the way he look at me when i scold is so cute.) then when he sees me smile, he'll smile too. so message definitely not sent across. :p

garfield
agree with your views re DSLR. the price may seem ex at first glance. but when you compare with the priceless pictures captured and the memories that will stay with you, i'm sure every cent is well spent.

are you still ON for the clippies?
the shipping from the spree is about 20% of the item cost.
let's say a clip that is USD 0.70, it works out to be less than SGD 1.50 per clip.

gar/stephie,
agree that it's quite hard to deliver the correct message to them..
but at least we know that we have to be careful... that's a good start. :D

Thanks, Gar, *blush*. You have more confidence in me than I have in myself leh. Hee, but I hope so lar. As for DSLR, got to KIV lor, wish I can borrow one for her birthday party this Sunday though. :p

yup. GO FOR DSLR! Just to tempt ppl more with the blurry backgroun effect...:p

Happy 11th months to all 15-Feb babies!
(think other than ruth, k & ashlynn n got more one i cannot remember!)

2083128.jpg

lezy,
can you teach me what settings to use to capture motion shots? is flash a must? my photos are not as sharp as yours.

my mom keeps nagging me to take without flash..is that possible?

the sharper pics are using a "flash attachment". u know that big flash that ppl attach on top of DSLR. It can bounce light off the ceiling/wherever so it doesn't hit baby's eyes directly.

FLash is really quite imperative for motion shots in poorly lit environment.

AS for the exact settings..think iso better position. I'm not the photographer...my hubby is! have to ask him. iso took course before..she more technically savvy!

lezy
wah, to quote kitsune, i think u have more confidence in me than i have in myself, haha.

gar, u use auto mode or manual or.. ?

hmm where to start.
good photos are all about lighting! if you're taking babies who are moving all the time and not sitting there waiting for you to shoot, then you need fast shutter speed, like 1/50 at least. so if it's not bright enough, you need flash so that you can increase shutter speed, and your photos should be less blurry. otherwise your camera will make the shutter speed slower for more light, but the photo will be blurry cos the baby moves.

make any sense?? it's hard to summarise, haha.

iso,
i flunked my physics in school, so maybe that's why these principles don't come naturally to me hehe!

your explanation is clear - so it is a function of light. and light is in turn dependent on two variables - shutter speed and flash. when there is a flash, shutter speed is fast as it doesn't need to stay open so long to let in light resulting in clearer pics for objects in motion. did i understand you correctly?

gar
i'm an arts (JC lah) student myself, so i think i'd be a lot better at photography if i could be bothered to learn/understand more of the technical stuff, haha!

yup, correct. actually the 2 variables are basically shutter speed and aperture that control everything - so when there's insufficient light, at a certain shutter speed the aperture can only be so large to let light in, that's why need flash to "help" out.

hi hi mummies!

been out of touch lately too! lotsa things happening in my life too.. lotsa changes..

kitsune, congrats on taking the move to be SAHM! u go gal!! hope u have recovered!

re: b'dae bash
how is it? we gonna do after CNY right? n also we need a venue! how how?

Gar
I had a fren whose son was going thru the terrible 2s. They kept saying N-O to him like "Ed, no don't touch that" or "Ed, don't run, don't shout, don't pull, don't scream, no, don't jump" until every question that pp asked him, his first response was "No!". Anything we say to him will be greeted with a no. It's really quite the extreme with this fren of mine. Amusing for the outsider who doesn't live with a kid shouting NO all day but really very trying for the parents. The other issue with using negativity could that we may inhibit our children's sense of adventure, willingness to explore, to discover.

But I'm happy to report that my friend's kid Ed is now a happy 5 year old who has grown out of that "No" stage.

re: teaching
ya, i totally agree that nowadays, negativity should be avoided! instead, positivity and lots of love should do it!
agree with XY. bb don't pick up all the words in the entire sentence. Just do a firm 'NO' or 'STOP' should be sufficient. However, after saying, we need to distract or move them away so that they get the message.
C also likes to play with the wires. n the best part is he tests you from time to time. he will look at you, and try again after he removes his hand. so have to be really consistent!

there's a article last Sunday - to Cane or Not to cane, discussing the pros & cons. however, the conclusion of the article seemed to suggest that it is ok to cane. just wondering whether will I cane or not? i think i won't cane, but then when it comes to the actual situation, i might just raise my hand n spank! :p

bkk,
haha...that's quite extreme too! i think i will just adopt a balanced approach. i don't think i will avoid saying "NO" completely but neither will i swing to the other extreme. i think there are certain things which are out of bounds and i will not hesitate to say "NO". don't think saying "NO" now and then will impede their willingness to explore right?

bkk, tat is a classic example of excessive NOs! i think it probably has backfired, and the kiddo doesn't understand the meaning of NO.
in fact, i think we should avoid using the word NO too often so that an strong impact is created when NO is used.
u know how many pp always go like ' no no no'.. i think the msg is not sent across clearly.

anyone wants to go gym trial? tat day i passed by JWT. there's a Sat afternoon class @ 315-4pm. Costs $39.00. r there any others around? anyone keen?

I'm considering JWT. K was damn excited when we brought her to see the gym (no classes at that time) and she had such great time playing with the balls and toys.

But the trial is ex. I checked out the Leisuredrome one. They said can offset the trial cost against the package if we sign up. Package is $288 for Tumblers Wobblers (12-18 Mths) for 10 classes. 45 mins each. It's ok if you are ok to take the class package.

bkk,
ya i wanted to check out JWT too, but the last i asked their schedule doesn't suit me. wondering if there are any changes...don't mind trying out though.

The Kallang one has Sat mornings 11.15 and afternoons 3.15pm which are the only two that suits me. I can show a copy of the brochure when we meet.

Btw, there's a $60 family membership fee which allows your child to have free play in the gym when no classes are in session.

What's JWT? Can share more, when I'm SAHM, will have time to bring RaeAnne for trials liao. But maybe this time no $$. :p

Thanks, Eliaw. Sometimes, I still think I'm crazy to quit when I just got a promotion. But then I'll think back and tell myself, if not now, then when? When she's all grown up? Hee. ;P

What kind of changes happening for you? Everything okie? Wanna share?

re:JWT
yes, am interested in the trials. count me in
attended a friend's bday at JWT... it was fun.. even my 9-year old also enjoyed herself there.

re:walking
hmm.. actually, Gervaise can walk unassisted.
but a bit like zombie

super busy at work, starting new role plus got hc reduction as well so need to keep myself busy
been working late as well but today had to go home early (by early i mean 8pm) coz C is having fever...

anyway, re first step... so many has taken first steps... i'm not sure if C has taken first step or not but he can stand on his own pretty long now, cruising very well and likes to walk with support so hopefully he can walk soon!

kitsune, hope you enjoy being SAHM... with having to work late nowadays i wish i can spend more time at home now..

okay, gonna rest now... hoping that C will sleep through the night even with fever... otherwise i'll loose more sleep...

take care !

bkkgal, you also look v fresh for a first time mum!

bkkgal and Iso- waah so exciting to witness first steps, congrats!! :D

milestones- so far my older DD has managed to witness ALL the milestones of my bb from day 1, so its doubly exciting for us! But hor, the first time my bb stood w/o support on his own (er, happenned 2-3 times only), she got so excited and cheered him so loudly that he sat down right away in surprise haha!

garfield, I agree with what iso/xiaoyun/bkkgal said on why they prefer using more positive lang with their bbs. From a bb's pt of view, its v frustrating to keep hearing No to so much that they want to do (touch the fan/pull wires/grab pens/eat unsuitable objects/etc). By telling them what TO do, we are offering an alternative and there is a lesson to learn. Its like if we are in a completely new planet/culture and have no idea what everything is like, imagine how it feels if everything we want to do is met with a strong NO with no explanation/alternatives given, as opposed to being offered various alternatives each time we are turned down. As for offering explanations, I personally do it even if bb cant understand for now, cause I believe that the more I speak to my bb, the faster his vocab/lang ability grows. But I would usually issue short, simple instructions first, then later explain, so that if he can only pay attention to my first few words, the message would have got thru (ie, if he was putting a crayon in his mouth, I would tell him "crayons are hands-only, its poisonous." then after that explain in more detail.)

impulse control- for me, it helps me to be more patient with bb when I remember that just *understanding* the word NO is not enough. Their impulse control has to be developed enough, and at this age, I think most babies have zero impulse control lol! Its an ongoing thing I guess, even as adults; If we have 100% impulse control, all of us would be leading a perfectly healthy lifestlye, and will never yell at our kids/husband and be basically perfect! So there IS a big space between understanding and being able to do it. ;)

JWT gym- count me in too!

Tute, poor thing, must be so tiring. Hope Caleb guai guai and sleep well tonight. Jia you jia you! At least your company was quite family friendly, I remember you had extended maternity leave of 5 months right?

jwt gym trial
hey, I got a suggestion. Since quite a few pf us interested i the trials, why don't we hold the party at JWT? Its $710 for deluxe package for 25 kids. Additional kid 14.50. Works out 28.50 per kid. N each kid gets a free trial coupon. Sounds good right?! Cheaper than trial class! We just need to provide the cake, snacks n beverages! If u gals r keen I'll go check out the ncessary!

kitsune, long story short.
I'm taking a part time diploma course on early childhood. Just started class this week. So basically I'm going for a career change n lower pay. U know how the pay sucks in this industry! I think I got quite enough of the corporate world n part of me also I want to be able to spend more time w my bb. So I'm gonna tender my resignation soon, n do relief teaching at a childcare centre temporary because without the dip I can't be a full fledge teacher.
N after all these months, I realized the importance of nurturing our young ones. We can do so many things to maximize potential! C has been able to achieve many milestones ahead largely due to techniques tat my SIL does with him. She also taught me a lot n spurred my interest n hence made the move. I think it'll be very fulfilling to work in the childcare line. I think it beats hvng to deal w adults! But its not an easy job. So I hope I won't go crazy with 20 kids at the same time!

Actually I need to stress tat its not about able to meet milestones ahead. Its nurturing based on their personal interest n strengths n bringing the best out of them based on their own pace! More importantly its inculcating all the right values, be compassionate, etc. Don't u feel tat in this fast paced society we r too busy n stressed n we don't have enough time for ourselves n the pp around us?

Ok. Very long post. Haha. Need to sleep Liao. Tomorrow sure zombie at work!

Eliaw
re:JWt
i onz

re: early childhood
wa!! something that i always wanted to do... but dun think 09 i can do it as i need to clear all my insurance papers by end of the year.

I like to go to the JWT trial as well!

By the way, do any of u use a backpack diaper bag? Can recommend? Thinking of getting one. Cos all the bags I have are carry on one shoulder kind of bags and I find my shoulder aches cos normally when I go out with Amanda, I bring quite a lot of stuffs....

apple
i use backpack as diaper bag... becos when i go out alone with vernon, quite xiong is if sling him and with a shoulder bag.. but with back pack not too bad lah