(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi kitsune,

dried scallops,is it salty?need to soak it before cooking?how long ur aunt takes to cook the porridge in the morning?

hi jeannie,

u took plane to shenzhen then go HK,is it cheaper this way?i been to shenzhen 5 years ago,very scared then when i c a man snatching an old lady's luggage at the underpass,and the old lady is very strong to beat the man

thanks for your packing list - looks very streamlined, no bulky items like stroller.

i'm going to peng san liao just thinking of my packing list. On top of bb's things (which are already quite substantial), my dear hb is going to bring all his paraphernalia for the DSLR and his Wii console (!!!) yeah, his reasoning is after babies go to bed, adults play Wii and anyway since shops close in Australia early, some entertainment for us there.

Goodbb, I didn't see her soaking it cos she was cooking the porridge in her room but she said she only put a bit. Can soak if you want I guess. Think she cooks it for about 1 hour.

Jeannie, Gwen looks so cute in her hats, hairband and winterwear. RaeAnne tries to pull everything off, her hat, hairband, and when it doesn't come off, like her long sleeve jacket, she'll cry so we have to fold up her sleeves. Think she doesn't like to be restricted in anyway. Sigh. :p

re: thermal flask/food jar
me very sua ku. how u gals clean/wash ur thermal flask or food jar. i have this mentality that i muz wash it with hot water. or else it will lose its thermal power. tried searching on the net but can't seem to find the proper cleaning procedure.

jeannie,
no no, not thick skin. growing prettier by the day

hb and i so dui2, we din go stanley mkt. miss out on buying those bb's stuff. sigh...
However, we went to the H&M outlet at Central. lots of nice bb's apparels too! did u go?

bkkgal.. i forgot to mention.. i used a pouch sling most of the time.

wah.. ur bubby very cute leh.. but it makes sens.. my hubby also wanted to bring portable vcd player to play nursery sons for gwen but i told him so troublesome.. :p

kitsune.. hehe.. gwen also did pull it off a few times buti just distract her a bit then she forget abt it liao... she quite easy to deceieve... at times.. haha

bkkgal.. the green hat i bought in hk... very chic right ... got a jap feel too.. cheap also... i think ant 10 plus sin?? they have offer at city gate shopping mall.

goodbaby.. i wnet shenzhen cause tiger airways only fly there.. its a bit troublesome..and i was quite worried abt safety there esp when i heard so much horror stories but we only stay at hotel and left for hk and went to luo hu when we back.. so din go many places and we try to keep close together.

in total.. e trip was quite cheap.. i find.. abt 1 k per adult for air fare, accom for 5 nights plus food and shopping.

jeannie,
not yet...planning to recharge =)

bkk,
lol...haha...can imagine how much barang now. too bad it's not me going with you. else can divide and conquer. YL brings wii and UJ brings DSLR or vice versa.

oh, btw just a thought - dec period there are quite a lot of flies in perth so may be good to bring a pair of sunglasses for kate too.

jeannie,
how much did you pay for hotel accom per night.BP international right?

i'm eyeing langham...a bit ex at SGD200+ but my air tickets will be redeemed on miles so thinking splurge a bit never mind. but if can save, then save lor.

bx / vine / cheryl:
ya man.. my hubby will tell mi. got maid ma, so he no need to do lor. OMG!

yes yes.. dor hubby very good very hands on leh.

tute:
ya lor they are clueless... actually my hubby bath matt 1 time when he is like 1+mth old and hubby will always rem tat ONE time. he tell me he is very good liao hor... he 'got bathe bb and feed milk' -> only feed when he for 1 mth for last feed when we dun have a maid. sigh.... hubby yes... is really nice to us but sometimes he really has selective memory i guess. i told him his mum spoils him coz he no need to do housework last time. then he disagree... he said he did... but hahah guess how long ago was that?? Pri sch.

o ya.. btw, how many tablespoon of porridge is cayleb eating?

lezy:
hahah yup. but sometimes just whining to you girls can just get the issues out of the system and i'll feel better to know i'm not alone in such situations hee~

kitsune,

u use bb detergent can wash clean the food jar? i find it not clean leh. so i bot organic detergent 2 wash. the food jar, her bowl, spoon, cup etc.

bx,

one ting abt the Tiger food jar, the inner bottom gets scratch super easily, 1st time use, din knw. happily scooping the porridge, then realize kean scratches inside. so usually i try not 2 scoop deep, touching the bottom

Jeannie
no lah, his motive is not for bb! It's for his self-entertainment.

Gar
Goodidea! divide and conquer.

Flies? as in houseflies? I've been looking for a pair of sunnies for her but cannot find nice one leh. Also I think she will pull them off anyway...sigh, like hats.

Jeannie makes me feel like going to a cold country now :p

bx:
dun really ned to wash w hot water ba. i guess what they meant by put hot water is to warm the inside material of the flask so tat it is already warm when u add in the porridge. rather than the the porridge being cooled a little by the normal temp of the flask. coz its vaccum flask ma.

jass,
ur hb is exactly like mine!! he also bathed ashlynn b4 she turned one mth while i was still weak and immobile. and he keep talking abt that few times. and he also very pampered when he staying wif his parents. sometimes i complain to my mil abt his laziness, my mil side him. haha...

esther,
thanks for that additional info
wah, u still buy organic detergent!

jass, kitsune,
haha... i have been washing with hot water all this while. and without any soap coz it's just too hot for me to rinse it. me so silly...

bx.. hehe.. gwen says thank you to u..

jass/bx.. my hubby also same same one lah.. not very zi dong must tell him to do this and that... then he will think that i order him.. :p he doesnt remember when to feed baby also...and he cant feed her too...i think for the whole hk trip.. i was the one feeding her 85 % of the time... mil 15 %... Sob.. all my dim sum turned cold liao... but hubby will help by holding her at times when we eat.. he also bathed her in Hka nd help to change her...

Re: bathing

i think somebody mentioned abt bathing in hotels right.. BP dosnt have tubs.. ( gar. u may want to take note) So we carry gwen and batehd together .. haha.. either hubby bathed w her or i bathed w her.. Gwen is quite used to it liao cause we have been bathing her w shower head ( just siting on the non slip mat at home) for abt 2 months already.

Re: hotel
Gar... the hotel was cheap... cause i book thru hk tourism board website.. they have special offer for winter season.. cost 3300 for 1 room 4 night= 165 sin per night

If u like langham.. y not go for it.. i on budget constraint so cant..

jeannie,
thanks for the heads up re bathing. i bought a rubber duckie bath tub inflatable type from Munchkin. do you think enough space to put inside the toilet?

bx:
SAME!!!!!!

erm... the flask i wash as per normal leh. coz i usually cook the porridge in magic cooker than bring it out using the tiger lunch box kind of thermal flask. so only the flask which hold the small containers is thermal. cannot tahan long say maybe 4 hours? coz i nv check lah, then vain lor, nv check go and buy tat one coz its in PINK. hahah anyway i usually give cereal when i;m out. easier.

jass,
i have the same tiger lunch box. i will wash the inside container. the outside thermal holder i never wash, juz wipe.

re: bath
i oso start using shower head some time back. so dun need bath tub.

so u let bb sit on the floor to bath or support bb to stand while bathing? using baby shower foam and shampoo? for me i'm still using bath tub and all in 1 thingy to add to bath water. can teach me wat to do?

bx:
me too. got tat coz i can split up the portion of porridge so tat i dun need to keep opening the thermal flask and coz tat thing looks so much better than the thermal jug haa~

cheryl.. for eg. hubby shower first then i will bring baby in once the temp is right then hubby will bathed her first and when he finshed bathing her then i will pick her up to dress up lor..hehe.. an hubby continue to bathe.. she bathed abt 5 mins.. this is only for the hotl.. at home she it on the floor.. then 1 person bath her enuff..

GAR... i dunno what size is the tub.. shld have suffic place i think

hmm... i still use the tub for ashlynn to stand and hold the sides. while she stands, i will spray water on her. another way is to find something for her to support herself to stand. otherwise can also let her sit in the floor. cleaner to bathe this way i feel.

jass.. just put non slip mat on floor.. babe's back facing you.. hold her from behinnd.. take shower head... and start spraying from hair and body.. but if u are starting off.. just be carfeul.. coz.. matt may be scared if water flows down his head.. gwen.. quite used to it liao.. so she is ok with it.. must constantly wipe the face..

i still usng all in one.. wash the hair first then wash the body.. hold matt to stand to was buttocks and groin area...and shower all over to wash off soap...

try slolwy.. if frighten them... they may resist.. quite dangerous...

jean:
when i drip water over matt's head, he will try to lick the water leh. hahahah but so far ok lah. ok... think i can try tm hee~

Re: Bath

I have letting Julian sit on non slip mat to bathe for 2 mth plus. I will use shower head to wet his whole body den using baby foam to shampoo his head and whole body and spray again. But i will get another small basin and put some toys for him to play.

just wondering... if u wash his hair w the foam hor, then u will shower off the fom right, the water will flow down bb's head, will they resist / cry?

jass,
to wash ashlynn's hair, i will cradle her like a newborn. giap under my arms lor. then i apply the soap direct to her hair and use shower head to spray off the water. avoiding her face and eyes.

hi dianA no prb! Hope yr gal get well soon.

Re: Bathe
So far my boy does not resist if i use the shower head. But hor after bathe hor lightly blow both ears cos water might accumulate there as just lightly blow it to get rid of water.

bb bath
my gal is also not scared of water flowing down her head. but i have one problem, she likes to open her mouth big big n stick out her tongue n drink the water !..... ---- ___ ----

vinegal: yah... think last weekend overpacked with programs. she too excited then didnt want to nap. and went to a few places crowded with people. then mon was raining whole day. think she caught a cold after that.... sigh...

jass: her tap still leaking but not as bad as yday. think we also overlooked and still let her zz w/aircon the night before.. last night no aircon, tdy leaking not as bad..

we felt so bad... *sigh*

she so poor thing, the tap keep leaking then we have to wipe off for her, she beli pek chek... see we come with handkerchief or tissue will turn her head n push our hands...

hi garfield,

is the rubber duckie bath tub inflatable type from Munchkin big enough for bb?think the safety 1st 1 quite small