(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx,
ooo...1 bottle jar not enough for ashlynn ? wow, means she's eating more than cayleb...
there's one time cayleb was really hungry so i try to mix the dinner bottle jar with 1-2 tbsp plain porridge and he takes it quite well. Maybe you can try that if you can get plain porridge ? At least no need to prepare the vegies :p

bkkgal,
yeap2...try a few more from other brands if she doesn't like ht. i'm lazy lah so sometime will give those bb custard for snacks rather than preparing fresh...hehehe.. :p

garfield,
i just remembered that i told you i'll pass a list of recommendation for sesame street, so here goes (in order of cayleb's preference hehe):
1) Kid's favorite songs
2) What's the name of that song
3) The best of elmo
4) Sesame Street Sings Karaoke

dunno...i think i'm overwhelmed and maybe even suffering from delayed post natal depression. i get upset easily and little things trigger me off. i don't recall being so touchy before baby came along.

among other things that i am upset about...is how my life is consumed with the little one. don't mistake, i love her to bits and there are so many things i want to do for baby. but as a result i have no time for myself. and when i want to take time out for myself, i feel guilty for not spending it with her (or doing her stuff).

work wise, i've a new boss who isn't making life very easy.

arrrrrrrrrrrgggggghhhhhhhhhhh

to the point that i kind of look forward to my next work trip overseas. my team has been quite kind and ever since i conceived, they've actually not planned any biz trips for me. so i haven't travelled since May07.

then again, i know i will miss arielle and feel guilty for wanting to run away from her.

very very conflicted feelings.....

apple:
o dear.. poor amanda. her fever quite high wor, have to keep sponging k. yupm better give the weekend trip a miss coz she will need time to rest

sleep training:
although he auto sleep thru since 3 or 4 months. recently he will cry in the middle of the nite. could be once or twice.. usually abt 12-1am. hahah quite fixed the timing not sure y. hahaha dun dare to let him cry it out coz his cries will turn into wail if not attended and I'm afraid to wake the neighbours. v paiseh ma. thinking to buying teething gel.. but i'm not sure what actually coz him to cry.. dunno if he has bad dreams / teething pain / stomach pain / hum min / wat leh.

re: red star
have to go real early. try for breadkfast hour...but the egg tarts and cahr siew bao is the MUST TRY.

iso jie:
i only use dried scallop in the stock base leh which is used to cook porridge. hehehe when its in the soup, its find to find in the pile of bones, meat, veg haha~

xy:
i let him taste a bit of fresh persimmon he is ok. but my fruit very ripe liao so i puree and freze lor.. who knows the taste and texture change. haa~

gar:
hahah matt tried all the common brands like enfa, similac, friso, nan, mamil... tot its easier to switch fm when bb is taking bm... coz we eat different things then bm different taste? haha~ just my thots lah huh

re: hols
you gers are tempting me to go hols too... aiyoh... i want i want. but hahahah havent even make my passport (expired since preggie days). no make new one coz nowdays its valid for 5 yrs only, quite wasted if make liao then nv use.

gar:
*hugz* yes, its not easy to juggle work and baby and other aspect of our life. 24 hours a day is nv enough. the to-do list is nv ending.

Esther, if you pay for their holidays, sure they'll go with you. But I didn't pay for their holidays lar, too siong but my hubby paid for my MIL's holiday while I subsidise my mum and aunties' shopping.

Gar, I felt like that too. Even when I get some time on my own, I end up shopping for baby stuff, can't get it out of my system. :p I was feeling so guilty for leaving her behind to go to Shanghai. But after the HK trip, I realised that my hubby made the right choice for me. We are so tired out even with family support. After knowing what we are in for, if just the two of us going with baby in just 2 weeks time, think I'll be dreading the shanghai trip liao. Instead, I'm secretly glad (and a bit guilty) that we will have a holiday at ShangHai on our own where I can roam and shop without a baby, but still need to pump and throw away the milk lar. :p

Garfield it is ok to feel that why cos I think most of us feel that too. But it is impt for us to take a break sometimes too so if you have time just go shopping alone or do something u like alone or with your hb. For me I feel that way very strongly for the past 5 mths. Get agitated for little thing and argue with hb. But now I feel better cos Julian is getting older and I let him play independently. Sometimes, I will leave him with my mother so me and hb can go pa tor. After spending time alone with yourself, you will be charge up and you will have the energy to play with A.

gar,

i share your feelings. my work piling up like crazy but i know it's a choice i made when i switch jobs halfway thru pregnancy.

fortunately for me though, my org is very pro family and my boss(es) are all very nice and supportive.

I used to put myself on a guilt trip too. BUt I also realize that I"m happier wif her when I've fulfilled my own 'needs'/'wants'. I think we need to come to terms with what our intentions are. No point pushing ourselves to the extent of what you're feeling now - cuz it makes family life worse, not better. End up, we will feel bitter when we see hb enjoying themselves.

FOr me it's like that lor. My hb can go for some stupid school trip overseas (though only batam but means throwing me at home).

He can gladly agree to take pictures for friend's wedding, be brother n etc. FOr me I don't even dare to commit to such things anymore! Even to go for wedding dinner I think twice.

THen i also reflect - why he can just go like that without caring for my feelings. My conclusion is that he's not intentional that he doesn't care about my feelings - but well, to think in a more mature way, he kinda trust me to look after ruth alone lor.

And i guess it helps that now she's slightly older, he also can look after her without me...so i can go for exercise or facial or massage etc without being worried about her being alone with him - or burdening my mum to 'work overtime'.

BUT, i also have to "let go" abit - as in maybe the way he does certain things abit 'not so compliant' with our standards - but come on, baby won't die lor. My cousin once told me - babies are more resilient than what we know/think/feel. Sometimes we are really too protective - such that our babies grow up 'in a bubble' - isolated from all harms n etc.

nevertheless, being a parent just means that - that we want to protect our child from everything 'bad'. But that doesn't means we hang on to everything with our dear lives and feel bitter and sore about it.

Some people can do it though....like my mum. but even with her superb motherly instincts, she also gets bitter n etc...just that she can endure very very long.

With the evolving role of woman nowadays, we are no longer the 'stay-at-home for years and don't go out at all' type of woman. Even SAHM need to go out shopping or walk walk every once in awhile, much less for those of us who are used to independent working lives.

I also sometimes feel I've given up so much for this baby compared to hb while hb is still pretty much 'the same man' - i used to do so much more "me" things. But after a few months of those kind of negative and draining feelings, I gave up and just decided that I needed "me" time and "me" attention.

SO i started my facial and massage regime. And today, I will take half day to go meet a personal Pilates trainer.

It doesn't mean i love ruth any less. I'm sure Ruth (And arielle and all babies) want a mummy who's life-giving, positive, brings cheer and healthy and if that means taking some time for yourself, dun give yourself guilt for doing so.

gar,

i can understand how you feel. don't worry, it's quite a normal feeling i think. had that during the first month after giving birth when i felt suffocated as i was taking care of bb alone, and the first time i went out of the house i felt soooo relieved. from then onwards, things got a little easier. maybe you should take a day (or two) leave and just go pamper yourself i.e. go shopping or to the spa, whatever makes you feel better... everybody needs a break from time to time.

gar,
u must learn to let go abit. sometimes i oso leave bb with mil to go facial, shopping, etc... hee.. but i tell her i got some work to settle first then go for facial.

i do feel guilty. but i noe i need the tiny break.

re: hubbies
so far haven't master the courage to leave bb alone wif hb at home. haiz... i am not sure abt the rest of ur hbs. mine doesn't take initiative. (of coz when i ask him to do, he will

lezy,
at least now u can entrust ruth wif hb. i still can't. i think she will suffer diaper rash or go hungry if they are left at home. opps... sorry hubby...

lol bx

Re: Hubbies

I do leave bb at home with hb but is at night when bb can sleep ezily den i go out dinner with friends. Surprisingly he can handle leh but not for whole day cos im sure he still dunno how to manage.

Bx train yr hb so next time ashlynn dun have rashes.lol

*hughug*

Gar, don't feel bad ok? Many of us share the same feelings. I myself was very overwhelmed few weeks ago juggling family and work. Work was bad, shorthanded, plus busy period. I was snappy with UJ, my helper, moms everyone who crossed my way. Then i realised how difficult it is for them and bless them, they were really trying to help me. Sometimes just taking off for an evening or afternoon by yourself can help alot. But don't take an afternoon to shop for bb's stuff. Get a massage/pedi/mani, dun think abt bb, to-do lists, home. Do something to love and pamper yourself. I think that's what mommies forget to do.

Travelling for work
I too am blessed by understanding bosses/colleagues who did not pressure me to travel. But next year is gonna be different with a new boss and young colleague, I'll be taking on the travelling load. In a way, I'm sort of looking forward to going on a work trip cos it's a chance for me to take some time off K, off family, see the world abit, explore. Also, I'm alot more confident of my place in K's heart. If I was made to travel earlier when the mother-child bond was weaker, I think I'll be one antsy spider. Am pretty sure she will still rem who is mommy when I return. I feel abit guilty thinking of "relieving my duties" to the hb as single parent but then again, I know his mom/my mom will be more than happy to step in.

lezy:
*hi5* yeah... hahah sometimes i'll feel quite upset w my hubby coz like yours he will enjoy himself watching cartoon, play playstation and leave matt to maid and me and when i ask him to help out more, he said he 'purposely' give me a chance to bond with matthew. (coz my son prefers him to me when its comes to playing.. hence it feels sucky when hubby says i dun bond w matt lor)

yes, i'll feel bad (and miss him terribly) when i dun get home before he zzz. hence meeting frens after work / facial is once in a blue moon. dun even have time to jog (which my hubby nags too) coz when i reach home, its almost 8 liao. sometimes got viewing will be even later. sigh...

bx:
mine is worse... there is twice i went mkting w maid and come back late. saw matt crying coz his nappy is wet and its his lunch time. hubby take easy way out by giving water and playing w him to distract him.

no leh not all men leh! dor hb can wor.

Think they just need more training! If not they think we woman can handle everything!

jass,
haha.. ur hb very funny...
feels much better knowing that my hb is not the only one.

cheryl,
ur hb good leh. he takes care of vernon when u go out right?

vinegal,
can keep warm roughly how long? do u think if i put in at 11am, 7pm still warm?

ESther
me too felt the same about travelling with bb overseas will be the same as SG - bz, bz, bz! but I decided dun care, will let go of expectations and just go with flow. Since I'm the one who is planning, organising, packing, deciding what to do, how to handle bb, hb will share the load by being my slave and doing what i tell him to. no questions, just do. hahahah!

ya bx. but he will sure miss out doing something eg. feed vernon his multivit. haha.. other den that, i tink he is V good liao. even he cant handle. his mother will help also.

Re:Thermos Flask

Bx the food jar can keep warm for that long. Hoever, before you put the porridge in, it is best for you to pour hot water in first and cover it for awhile so that it can helps to retain the heat. But make sure the porridge fill abt 3/4 full to have better effect.

gar,

does ur hb help out whenever possible? he has to be "AUTOMATIC" without u telling him wat 2 do next. i quarrel in the initial mths wif hb. he helps ONLY when asked to. felt so tired 2 do everything and hv 2 give instrucitons. after telling hb hw i feel, hw tired i was, he got better. Nw he will auto do things without me telling.

reali envy mummies wif parents/in-laws to help out while u mummies can go out 2 do ur stuff. i cant. i dun hv any. so am always wif my gal. while my hb seems 2 hv more gatherings after Cayenne was born. kinda of jealous. of cos he do asks me to go out wif my friends. so finally after 8mths (i always bring Cayenne and hb to my friends' gatherings, lucky friends dun mind), i went 2 mit friends. but of cos, i still settle Cayenne's bath, lunch. then off i went. came back b4 her dinnner time. haha

Bx, I used the Foogo pink food jar in HK, for morning feed, it's hot. By evening, only lukewarm cos only left with half a jar. What my aunty did was to pour the porridge into a Avent milk bottle then pour fresh boiling/hot water into the food jar and heat up the milk bottle with the porridge inside, then use that to feed the baby. Can also pour the porridge out into another bowl if you want.

bbkgal,

hi 5!! same here. i tink men r always men! when come 2 bbs/kids, they hv zero instinct of wat 2 do next? keke

my hb leads in his department, but hor when come 2 handling bbs, worse! haha...

re: hubbies,
hmm...we've always discuss about this... hehehe... maybe should get my husband to read the forum...

bx,
ur hb definitely not the only one, mine also doesn't know what to do... he only knows how to play with baby... maybe coz my son quite fussy as well, drink milk very difficult and can only be done by either me or my maid. so usually i'll leave hb at home with maid when i need to go out.

jass,
same! my hb quite clueless when cayleb cries.. and i do tell my hb upfront when he spends too much time in front of computer during weekends when he's already spending a lot of time during weekdays at work...

having said that i won't say he didn't try lah... what he has contributed so far is playing with baby, bathing baby and taking him out for strolls... but then again my son is no the easiest baby to handle so i don't blame my husband (hmm...sounds like i'm trying to defend him) hehehe... :p

cheryl/dor,
yeah... i see your husbands can take care of baby leh... saw dor's hb washing the bottles at my place, hmm...my hb would definitely not thought about that !

re: thermos,
i'm also using the foogo thermos jar. haven't test how long it can keep the porridge warm yet, my only feedback is that it is quite small so not sure if can fit 2 servings of porridge.

looks like a very 'hot topic' ah. heh.

my ex-boss once told me - once the marriage starts and u move into a home, either u clearly outline responsibilities, or u don't 'act smart' and do everything yourself. Cuz once u start doing something, it 'stays with u'.

(PS; my ex boss is a M-A-N. haha. a brutally honest one i guess. hah.)

i think men are like that. not a fault or what, but it's the "aiyah if u want me to do it, just say lor".

And if u tell him "it's very tiring and draining to have to keep 'instructing' other people what to do u know?"

fact is - they don't know. they don't get it. at least most men don't.

SO now, I keep telling myself - don't feel bad about telling him to do something. Cuz that's what they want!!

but whatever i ssaid, i'm thankful for my hb n ruth.

Most of us are in the early years of our marriage. We should still remember why we got married in the first place. It should bring back some thoughts like your hb loves u.

Sometimes we can get carried away with all the 'things to do' and feel like hb don't care about us. actually it is not so.

Those of us blessed with more forthright and expressive men in our lives, good for u. SOme of us don't have such partners, don't try to expect something different now.

Despite all that we've gone through - pregnancy, delivery etc - I'm sure we will be able to cope with it. At least for my faith, I believe I"ll never be put in a position which I cannot cope.

SO remember 2 things:
- hb loves u.
- u can do it.

forget everything else. will be good for health (mental and physical).

Thanks mummies for your advice. I used to need to latch on to let her fall asleep too. but now i use bottle, so that i can train her to not depend on me , in case i can't be home early etc. Tried pacifer,but she suck suck a bit then , no milk come out she got angry and cry even louder and push it out with her tongue. I am not staying with my ILs but hubby is the one who is gan cheong and keep saying shouldnt let her cry too long

esther, vine,
thanks for the recommendation on the food jars.

tute,
no lah, not that ashlynn eats alot. recently her appetite not as good. i attribute it to her restlessness. she refuse to sit still to eat thru her meals. haven't tried giving her a btl of bb food jar before. one btl looks small so i thought may not be enuf for her.

bx,
haha..i also had the same thought until my mom say that one bottle is a lot...i pour to his bowl then true enough, quite ok i think (though now after we increase porridge intake i think prob 1 bottle jar not enough)...but i think maybe you can try first and see how? no harm to try...

regarding restlessness, err...cayleb is super restless as well during feeding time so we give things to hold and play around with while eating. i know it's not good, but no choice otherwise he will get bored and start wailing to get out of the chair.

lezy,

on what you said "At least for my faith, I believe I"ll never be put in a position which I cannot cope. ", i completely agree with this.

hi gers.. have finally updated my blog and uploaded some photos. You can vist http://ncyunited.multiply.com if you are interested to plan for hk trip.. my itinerary is up there

bkkgal.. i will update you once i have done teh baby packing list.. it takes so long to update photos... tired liao

ronroo: try giving bottle to make him fuller. cuz if latch on, might not be full enuff and bb falls asleep easier cuz latch on

gar... i can understand... sometimes we just have days that we just feel that we have to let go.. dun need to feel guilty.. going for a break will make you feel better ( as in overseas work trip).... u also need to recharge leh... batteries cannot last forever one.. we are not POWER SUPPLY unit leh..we are chargeable batteries... onced depleted means need time to recharge! :p

jeannie,

ur porridge will turn watery? mine no leh. jz nice. unless the porridge hv 2 much water. so the lunch will tend 2 be more watery. but hor, 4 dinner time, the porridge will be jz perfect.

so i will mk sure the porridge i cook the water is jz right. but of cos is "agar agar" one.

thanks mummies for your encouraging words and sharing of your own experiences / thoughts. i didn't have time to respond to every single comment.

my take aways:
1. i need to find guilt-free time for MYSELF
2. being around arielle every second of my available time does not equate to being a good mother

3. cherishing the support that hb/my parents provide in caring for arielle and general housework
4. try to be less perfectionistic and expect other caregivers (hb or otherwise) to do things the way i do 100% to the T
5. be happy, and be thankful for the blessings of my wonderful child, hb and my family

jeannie,
i especially like your analogy of the rechargeable batteries...lol

Bx... thanks.. a bit thick skinned here but i really think she looks very cute in the winter clothings also.. haha.. now got reason to bring our kids to cold places..:p

Gar... hehe.. so now u recharged a bit liao har??

ester.. i also dunno why.. maybe caus ethe prridge was too watery to start with??? sometimes it doesnt get watery.. sometime sit does.. i also dunno y.. need to investigate..
kao_confused.gif