(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bbkgal,

"Red Star" Restaurant. Not sure if it's is authentic HK Style, but they do hv pushcarts.

Personally my family & I prefer this restaurant than "Yum Cha" and "Da Tong".

jass,
re: persimmon
the siap taste of it i think it's the part closer to skin.
don't know if it's good for freezing. so far fed her the fresh one, those very ripe kind.
she likes it..

re: blueberries
i use those frozen one blend with yogurt. no need to defroze them.
for those defroze one, i think they become very nuah compared to those fresh one. in the end very hard to cut them up.

garfield,
i still have 1 tin of Similac and 1 NAN haven't open yet. don't think it's wise for me to get those formula now, afraid they will expired before i need them.
agree with bkkgal, it's hard to switch formula if bb get used to 1 brand.

re formula,
i have switched A from friso soy to isomil to similac. so i wanna try to switch her (again). bad mommy!! if she will take to the organic formula, i will let her take that instead. no harm trying lor.

bkk,
errm...we don't do frozen purees at all at home cos my mom and dad insist on doing everything fresh....plus i already set aside 1 pack on standby. still have 2 packs extra.

xy,
oh then don't waste. unless you really want to try the organic formula then i think you can v easily sell away the similar and nan cos those are popular brands

jass
the dried scallops u put in porridge, later got puree? or u dun feed matt the scallops? he so "ho mia" got scallops to eat, heehee.

gar
where u getting the milk from? the states? i got a sample tin of Nan so i use that for cereal usually, for drinking i give similac.. so thinking whether to try organic for cereal.

bkk
yah red star not bad! i was going to recommend yan palace at hong lim but i can't rem if they have pushcarts. actually food republic also got push carts, hahahaha...

my only gribe about RED STAR is that it can get really CRAZY. I mean, noisy and there was once we actually had to 'chase' for our food cuz not enough manpower and no one taking orders and push cart come out all kana 'attack' by hungry customers!!

xy,
thanks =) ya she can take diary based formula liao. v recent only. we transitioned from soy to diary over one month gradually. she started full diary formula last week.

hehe RED STAR sometimes have to wait for a while cos long queue and ya agree its noisy. But overall its quite good plus it really has "old" atmosphere.

iso,
ya have to get from the states as this brand is not available in singapore.

i've been doing some research on this topic for awhile becos my concern is that there are big bucks in the organic foods biz and i won't be surprised if there are unethical practices going on even in firms that claim to produce organic foods.

there is a lot of controvery over the certification "USDA Organic" as the US govt is under pressure by the various biz communities to relax their standards. hence, the stamp "USDA Organic" doesn't really stand for much to me.

You can check out this site http://cornucopia.org/dairysurvey/index.html which rates independently the quality of organic milk.

"As family operated organic dairy farmers are nudged out of operation by big business factory farming, parents need to become savvy organic shoppers. The goal of USDA organic certification is to assure consumers that organic products meet the strict requirements as defined in the USDA organic laws. However, the bureaucracy of government and power of corporate dollars are quickly changing the organic dairy industry. Concerned parents need to look beyond the USDA organic seal and consider the living conditions of the cattle producing organic milk and what this means to their family’s nutrition."

lezy,

haha... yes!! esp on wkends and holidays!

i realize esp they change their staff 2 younger ones, kinda of slacked in terms of service. but boh bianz leh, i still find the tim sum there yummy!

kitsune,
need ur advise. How did u prepare RaeAnne's porridge there? what are the ingrdients u brought over? i'll be bringing bb to KL for 3D 2N. MIL and I cracking our heads over this and that. While the men have nothing much to worry about...

any mummies can advise if boiled tap water is suitable for drinking in m'sia?

The forum was down for a long time!

Gar,
Yes coach classic is choped by you. I'll take measurements of the MARNI dress tonight and let you know. Also have a BN Katharine Melandrino top which I bought, also sadly just before I got preggy, my ribcage expanded. You interested?

Yeah, I go have a lot of stuff *guilty* Alot like the home decor stuff were not used at all.

Cheryl, the toscano bag you want? I'll reserve for you cos the other mommy did not reply to me.

alo mommies!

can i ask if anyone knows if they sell J&J soothing vapor bb bath here in SG ?

or any bb bath that can soothe bb runny/stuffed nose ?

i wanted to get CB colds & flu aroma bb bath but so far no one doing spree..

do u know if bb now can use essential oil ?

Bx, if you read my blog, you'll realise the porridge not prepared by me but by my experienced 2nd aunt who had grandkids, 1 & 3 years old. ;)But she did tell me how she made the porridge, basically, she bought a portable hot plate that comes with a metal jug with cover. Before going on the trip, she bought 'ying yu (not ikan bilis)' and grind into powder then bring to HK together with carrot, pumpkin and broccoli & cauliflower (because these veg are hardy and keeps well). She puts all these into the hotel fridge on the first day. Then every morning, she will make the fresh porridge. 1 metal jug is enough for my pink thermos food jar which is equal to 2 feeds. So, RaeAnne had porridge in the morning and evening.

hello gers.. i am back!!

Reached sin at an unearthly hr: 3 plus am this morn!!No choice tiger airways is like that. Luckily baby can take the flight well.. played on the way there and slept on the way back. Just take turns to carry among..

Enjoyed the trip a lot.. it was a bit of hassle bringing baby along but no regrets..took a lot of nice photos and she enjoyed the trip too. She was so happily chatting away in her cot everynight we went back to the hotel.

Places that we esp. like:

1. Ocean Park- the atoll reef is very nice.. a lot of big fishes there.. gwen was in awe when she saw the big fish.

2. Temple street- we stayed near there.. so went there almost every night for their zi char dinner

3. Mongkok - really quite happening place... can buy a lot of things at the ladies mkt

4. Stanley mkt- a lot of kids stuffs.. quitye cheap.. ger tights abt 6 bucks sin..i bought 100 over sin dollars of stuffs for Gwen.

5 Lantau island.. the Ngong ping 360 cable car is quite impressive.. citygate shopping is good w/o baby

6. Victoria Peak- Took bus 15.. lik what lezy said.. bus ride is quite cool.. haha.. winding road up.. quite shiok

7. LuoHu- at shenzhen.. sigh should have gone there before i went hk.. their things there are even cheaper.. i bought 3 pairs of shoes there ( abt 10 bucks each).. they have a lot of kids stuffs there too.. prob. stanley mkt got their stuffs from here. At first i thought shenzehn will be dangerous.. but i think it is ok.. if u just be more alert and keep things close to you.

8. Dim sum- their sim sum is really "hard to find" in a way cause hidden in buildings.. lezy i can find the tao herng.. ask the hotel pp.. they also dunno.. so din go..Went to a few dim sum places near my hotel..and 1 ex one ( Maxim Palace at city hall- dun think fantastic though) would recommend Mu Dan Ting restaurant at Hankow Rd, TST) reasonable pricing and good food.

9. The transport system in hk is quite developed.. its really easy to get around on mtr, minibus.. normal bus and star ferry.. just get an OCTOPUS card.. something like our ezy link..

Last but not least:
i think strollers are recommended if perhaps u are going disneyland or ocean park.. else on the road shopping or moving through the night mkts.. better to use carrier or sling.. i used sling most of the time. less bulky and more convenient.

btw.. i stay at BP international hotel... i like the rooms there.. got harbour view.. stayed on the 18th floor.. requested for 1 queen size bed for 1 room, 2 single beds for another room.. and they are adjoining rooms ( but w no door connecting). Hotel was able to acede request.. daily papers and BF provided.. i think its quite good.. though must walk a bit from jordan station but along the way there are.. pushcarts selling stuffs.. so i think its ok..

Gar and those who intend to go HK, hope the above helps...

bkkgal..

Re: dim sum
i wld recommend peach garden restaurant at Thomson plaza.. push cart dim sum.. great atmosphere..and good service.. price reasonable.. just slightly more ex than red star..

Red star is good.. but a bit noisy... and the queue may be quite long too.

Jeannie, you are my 'ou xiang'. Can bring Gwen to so many places in HK. You went alone with hubby? I passed by BP international, good ah? If I ever go again, want to stay at Langham place, haha.

Thanks Jeannie! I checked out some reviews on Red Star, seems like long queues are the norm! And no reservations it seems....

Looks like it was a enjoyable trip to HK for you and Gwen
That's great. How much did u pack? I'm kaypo cos i oso going somewhere for hols. keke.

Kitsune,
Wow, your grandaunt very pro! Can lend her to me?? kekeke.

kitsune.. really har.. u mean i go a lot of places?? but i din go wan chai and times square that side... soho and lan hui fang also never go.. no energy liao..

gwen slept very late during the trip.. as late as 1pm.. :p

where did u all go??? wah.. langham place super ex!!!!

i went with my in laws.. so at least got 4 adults to help take care of 1 baby. Ur aunt is very nice to help u coom porridge.. gwen became rubish bin during the whole trip.... ate porridge mix with vege gravy and egg yolk, century egg porridg.. egg tart.. po luo bread.. everything just let her eat... but her main diet is milk and cereal... roo ma fan to cook porridege there.. :p

jeannie
how many luggages did u devote to Gwen? Can share your packing list?

I'm going 8 days down under. Already having a headache over what to pack. dunno should pack pump or not cos so bulky or try to handexpress. Milk also dunno 400g enuff or not. Plus maybe going to beach there, so have to pack swimwear, float? sunblock? hat? I'm also thinking whether to bring a portable pot to cook porridge or eat cereal all the way?

And of course, as usual, the men don't care...sigh..i'm going with another couple friend with kid. no helpful grandaunty or mil there to crack brains over what to pack.

kitsune,
lucky got the help of the experienced aunt. did she use any stock to cook the porridge? or just put everything into plain water and cook?

jeannie,
welcome back. glad that u all enjoyed! what's porridge with veg gravy? bought from the place u all dine in?

re: Food jar
can anyone pls recommend a good model for storing porridge. good for keeping porridge until dinner time.

hi kitsune,

ur aunt brings own rice there?is the portable hot plate that comes with a metal jug with cover bulky?how does it look like?any pic?
any idea where to buy it?just connect the hot plate to electricity will do?i had never see it before
do u all boil the tap water or buy mineral water to boil?how much milk powder u bring over?400gram enough?

hi bx,

heard thermos foogo is good,tiger food jar also
i got endo food jar,can last a few hours only

red star
the last order is at 2.30pm,i went last sat,i was still queueing to go in at 1.30pm,so once got a table,then we just go to the cart to get the food,the service is like canteen like that :p

bkkgal.. we only brought 1 luggage leh.. those lojel big one.. dumped mine, hubby and baby stuff.

okie.. let me recall what i have brought and will come up iwth packing list for you..

bx... i really quite "lax" throughout the trip in terms of what baby eat.. i just took the plain porridge the hotel provided for bf and some mix vege( got carrot, cauliflower, cabbage).. then i mix them together and just feed her..

bx,

just a thought...eventho i've never gone overseas with baby before but even at home when we are rushing or came home late, i usually give cayleb bb jar food. healthy times got some really nice ones e.g. chick stew and it contains everything from rice to meat/vegie (can buy in carrefour which has quite a good range). i have a friend who went to malaka last month, she brought few baby jar foods and just fed baby that instead of usual porridge. imho, you don't really have to stick with porridge. another thing you can do is feed barley/plain cereal and mix it with the bb vegie jar food? since you would only be going for 3 days maybe can do that? but of course it's best if you try it out first before you go, just to know if ashlynn likes it or not.

Hi mummies, need advice on sleep training. My baby is still waking up evey 2-3 hours every night! She wakes up to cry very very loudly , and sometimes wont even stop when we feed her. Sometimes she will only calm down after we carry her up and walk around for at least 15 mins then after she fal asleep again, then put her down again. but in less than 3 hours , she wil be crying again. I am not sure if i should use the Cry it out method, but there was once i tried that , she creid for 1 whole hour and my husband was so angry with me. then i felt guilty also. I tried the below:
1) teething gel
2) patting her
3) feeding her as much as she can take (150 ML) before she sleep
4) sleep routine i,e, bathing and reading her book before she sleeps

Am completly exhausted.. Any advice ? Thanks

Tute, that's what I thought too. To feed baby with baby food jar or cereals mixed with food jars. Heard also there is this pigeon instant porridge that only need you to heat the bag up.
I tried mixing food jar into cereal for my girl to try over the weekend. She can take it quite well.

My girl is now having a fever. 39.5 degrees just now. Went to see a doc and was given two type of fever medicine. One for high fever and one for normal fever. Now seems like confirmed cannot go on the short trip this weekend liao.

PORRIDGE:
erm...ruth's porridge is never cooked with stock to my knowledge.

just add in the fish/meat, with spinach, tomatoes sometimes. on occasion, my mum also add in a dash of marmite.

Nicole, sorry i'm one of those lucky mums. ruth sleeps thru from 8/9pm till 6am.

Only bad thing is 6am she will be damn wide awake. used to be 7+am but now getting earlier. *groan*

jeannie...aiyoh u didn't go causeway bay/wanchai area? nicer than mongkok and tst i feel - maybe cuz i really dun quite fancy markets i guess.

n erm, i totally restrained. i only came back with a toy train for ruth. nothing else.

i guess we not very shopperholic type. ppl see our luggage so small, abit surprised. the driver of our airport transfer was like "that's all!?!?"

i guess the variety is more..but pricing i feel nothing that fantastic.

the bus 15 quite thriller ah!
aiyoh tao heung would be not veyr walking distance from mongkok. it's nearer to granville road.

i am with you on food. i think place like HK at least still have porridge for baby..better than 'ang moh' place - only have bread. Must train baby to be more 'independent' and chin chai about food. my mum say when i'm young, bring me out no need porridge. just have some rice with soup and some ingredients can liao.

BKK, i also aiming for trip to melbourne in Sep/Nov/Dec. Prob about 1-2 weeks. haven't start worrying yet. wait for all of u to come back with experiences and let me know. :p

nicole.. cant help u.. cause my ger is like urs.. doesnt sleep well thru out the night..will have to wake up at least 1-2 x.. we have to feed her milk/ water and carry and pat her to sleep.. just 2 weeks ago.. she wakes up abt 5x in 1 night... nightmare for me and hubby..

apple.. wah.. high fever.. tough for amanda na u.. take care k..

apple
hope your bb's fever comes down otherwise should bring to doctor...

nicole
if u want to sleep train, must be consistent and persistent. At 6 mths when she was still waking up at least once a night and once i am very sure it is not hunger, both me and hb decided to let her cry and not attend to her. First night, she cried over an hour until so tired, she fell asleep. Second night, 45 minutes. 3rd night 15 mins and then after that, just whimper here and there but never woke up. It's very tough to watch and hear your child cry but cannot go to her. But we must be cruel to be kind cos the main thing is to teach them to fall back to sleep by themselves. Now she sleeps from 9 to 6am without waking unless she did not eat/drink enough during the day.

My prob is how to train my girl to eat anything, anyhow. She's damn picky abt food which makes travelling tough. Wish she can be like gwen or ruth, so easy! No porridge in Aussieland, how? If pack my own rice, will I get caught by immigration officers or not? That time my father brought mooncakes already kena fined like AUD150!

even jar food, she also learnt that it's not as yummy as freshly pureed food. i bought a few jars of healthy times but she will take one or two spoons and rest of it goes to waste. u see, fed up or not?

Jeannie, ya, Langham Place is ex but with a baby, shopping just downstairs sounds fantastic leh. Hee. ;)

Bx, Bkkgal, oh ya, I forgot the most important ingredient, my aunt also brought dried scallop but she shred and cut before putting it into porridge so that RaeAnne can swallow. My mum brought the 'xin bi' for porridge. Her porridge really very nice, she'll pass me the extra that can't fit into the food jar so I got some porridge every morning. Bkkgal, no no no, cannot lend. If can, I also want to book her for all my trips. hahaha.
But cannot leh. She got 2 grandkids to look after, priority will be given to her second daughter who travels quite often. Sigh

Sorry, can't share any pix of the hot plate and food jug cos I didn't take any pixs. Maybe any travel hot plate with pot will do also?

Apple, yup, I bought all the different pigeon porridge variety. Very convenient, just heat up the pack in hot water, tear open the foil and feed. But it's very exp, $7 for 2 small packs. And I find the 7 months type too watery, 1 pack not filling, while the 12 months too lumpy esp the one with small whole fish, it's still too 'bulky' for RaeAnne to swallow. If you want to try those, make sure let her try frist and get used to it before going on holiday. :p

Bkkgal, Sigh, I still fail at sleep training, I can't sustain the Cry It Out method. Don't know if it's too late to start training. :p

Goodbbb, err, the aunties and my MIL helped to bathe RaeAnne, I think they did it in the bathtub but my MIL did complain that need 2 adults to help bathe her. ;P

At night, when we come back to hotel, I'll use a clean warm towel to wipe her face, body, hands. Then we let her stand in the sink and wash her bottom. That's about it. Hee. ;)

apple,
oh no...hope amanda's fever will subside soon...

nicole,
sorry can't help you coz my son auto sleep through...

bkkgal,
cayleb also doesn't like those one type pureed fruit/vegie jar food but i just kept buying and found he like some e.g. heinz the only one he takes is the pumpkin/corn, all those apple/pear/carrot/sweet potato he will reject. healthy times he will take mostly but only those that is from dinner series or mixture of 2 things e.g. kiwi strawbery, banana muesli... i think you shouldn't give up... try a few more and hopefully bb kate will find something that she likes? oh, and have you tried giving custards? those are quite yummy too... can give for snacks/breakfast.

Nicole, you are not alone. I am having the same problem as you. When Hayden was 9mths, we tried the cry it out method. Hayden was crying for 2 hours. We tried for 2 days. No improvment....So my mother asked us to train later...
Hayden still wake up every 2 to 3 hours. Sometime even every hour. Hayden can not fall asleep by himself. When i was around, he need to latch on. Else he can not fall asleep...When no around, then sometime he will fall asleep after a bottle of milk or sometime need to be carried to sleep...
Mummies, any advice? Very desperate liao...

jeannie,
good that gwen is an easy eater. my gal quite choosy.

kitsune,
thks for all the info

re: porridge
thanks for all ur advise. problem with ashlynn is that she doesn't really like cereal even with bb food jars. mayb i'll try more variety 1st.

tute,
the dinner variety we let bb eat on its own or mix with cereal. if eat on it's own, one bottle like not filling leh.

re: sleeping at night
these days bb oso keep ngek ngek many times at nite. at times it will turn to huge wailings which is hard to coax.

re: food Jar
which model number is good? dun wanna end up buying the wrong one.

nicole
actually i think they will auto sleep thru some days.... and not all able to go thru the cry it out method.. when u are staying with MIL or parent... not easy.... cos they will not allow bb to cry too long....

apple,

hope amanda get well soon. heartpain!

bx,

i'm using the tiger food jar which can cook porridge one. mine is the 0.7L which is jz nice 4 2 porridge meals.

usually i cooked 2 meals ard 8plus, 9am. dinner time ard 5plus, 6pm. still very warm. I tink u can invest in the tiger one. i never regret my purchase!

Morning moms!

Sleep training
Sorry I wasn't clear b4. I don't advocate the cry it out method. What I did was to go in and pat her or carry her every fifteen minutes and put her back in the cot. I will keep stretching this 15 mins until eventually she stops crying. The key really is consistency. I also used a paci to soothe her but will pull it once she is sleeping. Hope this helps

Tute
Custard sounds yumm will try it. Yeah maybe I must be as as persistent about food as sleep. LOL

This pigeon porridge that also sounds convenient. Is it salty

kitsune,

so envy! ur MIL & aunties so helpful, u can "relax" abit while holidays. if i go holidays, i will be still the same, as bz as in SG. everyting i gotta do myself. haha... hw 2 relax ah...