HK:
dunno why nobody ask me about HK. haha.
pardon the super long post but i haven't talk about my trip much so this gives me a place to 'talk about it' and share info.
changing rooms:
not much. only the super duper ultra mega new malls have changing rooms - even then not all have. and those i saw (In IFC mall) are equipped with hot water, but no proper table...those foldable against the wall type. (sorry la..i'm spoilt by all our local baby rooms which have nicer changing 'bed-like' tops)
'factory outlets':
i hope u girls not expecting like....5 bucks 10 bucks kind of bargain. for that kinda price, i think u better beware if u'r getting genuine stuff. at the markets, u'll have to bargain down at least 50% and then slowly move up. If u dun mind going through that all the time, i guess you'll enjoy a better price. But with baby in tow, in cold weather, dunno how much bargaining u can do in peace.
i saw the bossini baby on sale..but the sale pieces are all slightly stained and not all that cheap either.
I was at citygate (lantau island) checking out the factory outlets. I only bought from esprit (and only at the HK$100 or less sections). I mean, spending S$50-100 on esprit stuff - i may as well come back and support singapore('s ailing) economy right?
The children stores there quite a lot - but it's mostly about S$15-30 cheapest. i didn't get to check out stanley market in the end - so maybe u will have some luck there.
Weather:
i was there 25th to 30th nov. first 3 days i find it cooling in the shade, but in the sun actually quite hot since the sun is really scorching (hotter than singapore sun i feel!). only on last 2 days, the weather kinda got colder. I believe now should be even colder.
hongkongers generally dress very good and wear as if it's zero degrees. haha. my hubby didn't even bring jacket. maybe that's why when we were leaving, ppl wonder if that's all the luggage we have. (just one small suitcase and a duffel bag) cuz i ended up not buying much since i felt i didn't know if some of the stuff is genuine or not. buying at boutiques will assure u of genuine stuff - but it isn't cheap at all lah. so end up, buying in SG better.
Climate:
humidity is ultra low - about 20-30. Must put a lot of moisturizer, or drink hell lot of water. But toilets not that readily available unless u'r hanging out in shopping centre all day long - unlikely if u wanna get to the markets etc. those in the 'cha chan teng' won't be quite shopping mall standard - if they allow u to use it in the first place. in places like this, i wonder how big are the peoples' bladders - reminds me of europe! somehow we are like the only ppl who need to pee - but these people are just hanging around all night long. Shops close between 10pm-12am. It
is super crazy!
it seems perpetually very hazy (think singapore haze days about 70-80 PSI kind of haziness) - i didn't see a single clear day when i was there (maybe i bad luck). it's not fog. one driver told us it's pollution from the mainland - due to wind directions. another local said it's like that all year round - meaning super polluted???
THerefore, i would highly recommend masks - which some of the workers there actually wear. the concierge guy at our hotel wore a mask occasionally. those cleaners at shopping centres also wear masks from time to time. i think cuz there has been recent outbreak of
avian flu in some parts of china - not sure what strain. when i was there they were reporting it when we were at the china ferry terminal (headed to and fro macau).
I think generally hongkong island is abit more sanitized and pleasant. and erm, hongkongers walk A LOT it seems...cuz if u ask them how to get somewhere, they'll probably ask u to walk if it's within 10-20 minutes walk.
Transport:
i didn't take cab at all - since juz hubby n me. MTR - not all exits have lifts - only selected ones. SOme have escalators, some have stairs. So if bring stroller..u may have to end up carrying it up a flight of stairs if u happen to exit at the non-escalator-non-lift one.
THe exits are very very far apart...think of Chinatown station but some are way bigger - about 2 times! Walking from one exit to another is like walking from CK Tang to PLaza Singapura!
Trams in HOng KOng Island: very cheap way to get around at HK$2 per person and nice way to sightsee.(not sure if they charge for baby.) But the entrance and exit have poles whereby they allow like people to go in one by one. May be challenging to hop on n off while carry baby, baby bag and stroller (and erm...shopping stuff?)
generally, my impression of hongkongers are they just like to be left alone - not say some ang moh country whereby it's slower pace and they will stop for u, help u get up n down etc.
I hope those mummies bringing babies meet nicer people - especially if staying on HK Island instead of KOwloon would be better since well, higher % of expats (working crowd). But then again, everyone is really always in a hurry there - pace is fast!
it was however nice to see one ferry worker help this ang moh lady who was carrying a pram - by holding her toddler's hand when crossing into the ferry platform. It can be quite dangerous when the waters are choppy so be careful.
i think it would help to plan your trips out and about after peak hours. HK island is densely populated.
(Jeannie...i heard before someone told me..bring baby to cold place no need gloves - just warm clothing cuz they'll pull it off anyway. but i dunno - never experience before..)
well, just my 2 cents...based on my expectations i guess.
i still prefer a tour destination to be somewhere more laidback so i actually enjoyed my one day in New TErritories to visit a friend and her place. Didn't wanna leave for busy Kowloon. (gets me stressed seeing so many people buzzing around NON STOP!)