(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

apple,
whoops! missed your post. I didn't order the pool sharing books as only XY and you had confirmed orders, not enough to enjoy the 4 for 3 promo.

re gift,
yes me too! wanted to get it for arielle too...

Hi Mummies, I need to play by ear if I can come by this SAT. As my baby has swimming class from 11.30 - 12.15. If she falls asleep after that we may need to let her nap (at least 2 hours ), when after swiming. What time do you guys usually stay till ?

Welcome back BX

My boy still has his rash..so intermittent cos sometimes has has a few spots, then later in the day he has less. Hiaz I may bring him to doc tom.

Sippy cups..I also got the avent one..and like what Artemis say..got this plastic taste cos I tried it myself and very difficult to suck . I have stopped using it..may try again. On the other had I tried the first few years Take or Toss sippy cups (no valves) and my boy managed to drink. Only prob is I dare not put in milk or anything oily as I dun thing i can wash of the oiliness or sterlise. Think have to get another sippy cup. Prob will try magmag.

<font color="ff0000">Christmas Donation - Update</font>

Bkkgal has purchased 3x first aid kits. The total amount is $514.24

Our total donation amount is $570 from the following donors, which means we still have
a balance of $55.76.

Anyone has any ideas what to do with the remaining $$?

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nick </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Esther </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Qing Ling </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Apple79 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Tute </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Bx </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Jeannie </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Artemis </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Mira </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Jass </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Tubao </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Bkkgal </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Kitsune </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Xiaoyun </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Garfield </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

re: gift
hahah i went jurong point to check out too... but coz i got viewing after that, i didnt managed to buy anything yet haa~

tute,
good idea! is everyone agreeable?

if so, i'll get crayons? i checked out previously from those ex blanco court shops - quite cheap 70cts for a box of 6 crayons. we can buy almost 80 boxes

Re: Yah I am fine with the idea.

Nicole: does your baby turn dark from swimming? My girl has become darker. My husband is going to ban my MIL from bringing her to the pool.

Jass : u are a ppty agent?

bX.. welcome back... hehe.. tmr.. i will be going...

How.. got any eateries or places to recommend for shopping... BTW.. is it cold now...

Tell me more leh.. still thinking whether to bring stollers.. any advice since u just been there??

Re: xmas party

Looks fun.. wish i can join too... so whe is the next one after tute har???

Think should be after christmas.. or after CNY??? can we have one before cny???

Gar, I'm going to HK this Sat with RaeAnne. If you can wait then I can update you if HK is baby friendly or not. Just went to Spring maternity to buy some more nursing tops in case there are no baby rooms there. Dejavu man when I saw all the maternity clothes, some quite nice, wish I'm preggie now. haha.

Enjoy the xmas gathering at Tute's, too bad I can't go. :p

Jeannie, mylife posted about HK baby shopping early this week. Did you see her post?

Here's the post for HK baby shopping, courtesy of Mylife, from Jan MTB thread.

Haro....

I know there were a few mommies earlier who said they're planning trips to HK and some of u have asked me where to find/buy nice and cheap babies clothes. Here's a summary of the shopping places to be found in HK. Cut and paste here. Enjoy Brrr...getting a bit cold here liao...

Hong Kong – well known as a shopping mecca. Well, yes it is. But forget Gucci, Prada and Burberry. Here are our best tips on getting good deals on baby clothes in Hong Kong:

Tip 1: Hand-me-downs

Babies grow fast and outgrow their clothes in no time. Local culture says that it’s lucky for a newborn to wear clothes given by a friend/relative.

If you haven’t been offered hand-me-downs, plenty of parents will sell off their slightly used clothes for a few hundred dollars.

Try these local sites:

Ebay HK (now in English)
Asiaxpat

Tip 2: Sample Shops

Trail around Johnston Road in Wan Chai and the back streets of Causeway Bay to pick up British, American and Japanese brands for next to nothing. Baby stuff is often thrown into boxes at the front of the store. You’ll often get stuff for $5 a piece.

Stanley market deserves special mention. You’ll find Next and GAP, Gymboree, Gap, Carter's, Osh Kosh and many other famous brands that may have some minor flaw. Often, the labels are cut – these are the originals. If the labels are all intact, check closely the quality of the stitching and the labelling to see of they’re fake.

Also, check out Li Yuen Streets in Central, Fa Yuen St in Prince Edward and Lion Rock Rd in Kowloon City.

Tip 3: Local markets

Chinese-made clothes are very reasonably priced and the quality has improved markedly in recent years. Although you may not be able to find 100% cotton, you can find some very good quality basics such as onesies, bibs and real, cloth nappies!

Wan Chai market and Ladies’ market in Mongkok have plenty of stalls stocking baby clothes and other BABY paraphanalia.

Stanley Market carries children's clothing from most major US brands (Carters, Osh Kosh, GAP, Ralph Lauren) at very inexpensive prices.

Also, check out Marble Road market in North Point.

Tip 4: Citygate Outlets

Take yourself off to Lantau for some bargains. Though not super cheap, you’ll find some huge markdowns (up to 90%) at these outlets.

Tip 5: End of season sales

Mothercare, Kingkow, Chickeeduck, etc all have sales at the end of the season. The key here is to plan your shopping well in advance. For example, if your baby is due in summer, buy winter clothes from newborn to 6 months in the previous end of winter sale. And so on...

Jeannie: oh ya.... pai seh....

Birthday bash : i tot we still having. Will discuss during the playdate ba..

So many of you going HK.Will be going to Genting though next week.

kitsune.. i just went to sear for it.. after seeing ur post..

Thanks!!! btw.. u got gloves and hat for rae anne? what bottoms is she gonna wear?

apple..next time when she's bigger u can bring her to disneyland...
O.. no.. genting tis word gives me the phobia...

Re: wedding anni

Today is my 2nd wedding anni.. going out for dinner soon and going ktv later.. haha.. not very romantic.. but very gian to sing... after watching cape 7 yesterday..

wow.. actually married 2 yrs only and baby already 9 mnths.. hmm.. like quite fast hor...

jeannie,
happy anniversary! i think it doesn't matter how you celebrate, so long as you enjoy it that's what matters

bx,
saw some of the pics you post in your blog...very nicely taken ! loved the one at disneyland with the castle behind...

re:bday bash,
that discussion has been abandoned for some time...heheheh... must dig up old archives to retrieve the list unless somebody have it offline :p

okay, gg off for the day now...had to stay late due to some conf call..

HK:

dunno why nobody ask me about HK. haha.
pardon the super long post but i haven't talk about my trip much so this gives me a place to 'talk about it' and share info.

changing rooms:
not much. only the super duper ultra mega new malls have changing rooms - even then not all have. and those i saw (In IFC mall) are equipped with hot water, but no proper table...those foldable against the wall type. (sorry la..i'm spoilt by all our local baby rooms which have nicer changing 'bed-like' tops)

'factory outlets':
i hope u girls not expecting like....5 bucks 10 bucks kind of bargain. for that kinda price, i think u better beware if u'r getting genuine stuff. at the markets, u'll have to bargain down at least 50% and then slowly move up. If u dun mind going through that all the time, i guess you'll enjoy a better price. But with baby in tow, in cold weather, dunno how much bargaining u can do in peace.

i saw the bossini baby on sale..but the sale pieces are all slightly stained and not all that cheap either.

I was at citygate (lantau island) checking out the factory outlets. I only bought from esprit (and only at the HK$100 or less sections). I mean, spending S$50-100 on esprit stuff - i may as well come back and support singapore('s ailing) economy right?

The children stores there quite a lot - but it's mostly about S$15-30 cheapest. i didn't get to check out stanley market in the end - so maybe u will have some luck there.

Weather:
i was there 25th to 30th nov. first 3 days i find it cooling in the shade, but in the sun actually quite hot since the sun is really scorching (hotter than singapore sun i feel!). only on last 2 days, the weather kinda got colder. I believe now should be even colder.

hongkongers generally dress very good and wear as if it's zero degrees. haha. my hubby didn't even bring jacket. maybe that's why when we were leaving, ppl wonder if that's all the luggage we have. (just one small suitcase and a duffel bag) cuz i ended up not buying much since i felt i didn't know if some of the stuff is genuine or not. buying at boutiques will assure u of genuine stuff - but it isn't cheap at all lah. so end up, buying in SG better.

Climate:
humidity is ultra low - about 20-30. Must put a lot of moisturizer, or drink hell lot of water. But toilets not that readily available unless u'r hanging out in shopping centre all day long - unlikely if u wanna get to the markets etc. those in the 'cha chan teng' won't be quite shopping mall standard - if they allow u to use it in the first place. in places like this, i wonder how big are the peoples' bladders - reminds me of europe! somehow we are like the only ppl who need to pee - but these people are just hanging around all night long. Shops close between 10pm-12am. It
is super crazy!

it seems perpetually very hazy (think singapore haze days about 70-80 PSI kind of haziness) - i didn't see a single clear day when i was there (maybe i bad luck). it's not fog. one driver told us it's pollution from the mainland - due to wind directions. another local said it's like that all year round - meaning super polluted???

THerefore, i would highly recommend masks - which some of the workers there actually wear. the concierge guy at our hotel wore a mask occasionally. those cleaners at shopping centres also wear masks from time to time. i think cuz there has been recent outbreak of avian flu in some parts of china - not sure what strain. when i was there they were reporting it when we were at the china ferry terminal (headed to and fro macau).

I think generally hongkong island is abit more sanitized and pleasant. and erm, hongkongers walk A LOT it seems...cuz if u ask them how to get somewhere, they'll probably ask u to walk if it's within 10-20 minutes walk.

Transport:
i didn't take cab at all - since juz hubby n me. MTR - not all exits have lifts - only selected ones. SOme have escalators, some have stairs. So if bring stroller..u may have to end up carrying it up a flight of stairs if u happen to exit at the non-escalator-non-lift one.

THe exits are very very far apart...think of Chinatown station but some are way bigger - about 2 times! Walking from one exit to another is like walking from CK Tang to PLaza Singapura!

Trams in HOng KOng Island: very cheap way to get around at HK$2 per person and nice way to sightsee.(not sure if they charge for baby.) But the entrance and exit have poles whereby they allow like people to go in one by one. May be challenging to hop on n off while carry baby, baby bag and stroller (and erm...shopping stuff?)

generally, my impression of hongkongers are they just like to be left alone - not say some ang moh country whereby it's slower pace and they will stop for u, help u get up n down etc.

I hope those mummies bringing babies meet nicer people - especially if staying on HK Island instead of KOwloon would be better since well, higher % of expats (working crowd). But then again, everyone is really always in a hurry there - pace is fast!

it was however nice to see one ferry worker help this ang moh lady who was carrying a pram - by holding her toddler's hand when crossing into the ferry platform. It can be quite dangerous when the waters are choppy so be careful.

i think it would help to plan your trips out and about after peak hours. HK island is densely populated.

(Jeannie...i heard before someone told me..bring baby to cold place no need gloves - just warm clothing cuz they'll pull it off anyway. but i dunno - never experience before..)

well, just my 2 cents...based on my expectations i guess.
i still prefer a tour destination to be somewhere more laidback so i actually enjoyed my one day in New TErritories to visit a friend and her place. Didn't wanna leave for busy Kowloon. (gets me stressed seeing so many people buzzing around NON STOP!)

tute,

re: playdate cum mini xmas celeb @ seng kang (tute's home)
- date/time : 6 dec/1pm-5pm
- food : potluck
I'll be ordering curry in a bread from golden pillow plus preparing indonesian salad + drinks.
- gift xchange : $15 budget for the little ones
- bumper mat : does anyone have a bumper mat to spare ? i only have one, but usually cayleb just crawl around the house...so if you don't mind that then we can do without an extra one :p
- toys : i think i've got quite a few toys but if you'd like to bring some then more than welcome
- address : i'll msg you my address by today

1)jass - will bring kueh from bangawang solo
2)vine_gal (Curry Puffs)
3) dor (bai guo yi mee)
4) nicole
5) cheryl (donuts)
6) happymum2b
7) garfield9 (xmas log cake)
8) Artemis (Chinese finger food e.g. Carrot Cake, Yam Cake, Fried Prawn Dumpling)
9) xiaoyun
10) apple79 (fried bee hoon or otah)
11) eliaw
12) snowbelle (tiramisu)

btw..i saw a lot of mummies (not sure local or not) mostly using various forms of baby carriers. if your health allows it, u may wish to use baby carriers instead since it is safer to keep baby with u. streets of HK are not like big pavements on orchard road. everything is like.....2m width max - enough for the pedestrians to all squeeze past each other.

and i went mcdonalds a few times. my cantonese is only like.....not that good la. so i can more or less understand when they speak slower or when they speak more mainstream cantonese. but they like to slur their words and speak fast...and when i ask them in chinese or english, they will still speak to me in their very hard-to-understand cantonese. over n over again. i tried in a few mcdonald's.

i think u get better service at those char chan teng.

Oh ya..must share this FUNNY incident.

First night there, after walking n walking n walking n walking....i was very tired and hubby offered to tabao dinner for me while i go back hotel to bath first.

he came back after half an hour with a pack of char siew fun - complaining it's like a S$14 freaking pack of char siew rice.

i opened and realized it was ALL CHAR SIEW!!! APparently the person only heard char siew - and my hubby cannot speak cantonese and probably didn't know they were verifying or what la.

so we have A LOT OF CHAR SIEW for dinner that night.

in hongkong...if u want beef hor fun, u have to tell them beef hor fun. my mum's friend ordered hor fun - thinking it's the normal mixed ingredient one. they really just fry her a plate of hor fun!!! (cuz apparently, in their culture, ppl do eat just noodles!)

DIMSUM is about the best bargain. If you're in Kowloon, hit for Tao Heung - near one of the streets adjacent to GRanville. Like A LOT OF restaurants, it is not sitting along the road screaming for your attention. You'll have to look out for the signboard at the 'lobby' or at the neon signs and the restaurants are usually located on the 2nd/3rd/4th/5th floor of the building - totally hard to find.

Thing about Tao Heung is cheap and fresh dimsum in nice restaurant atmosphere. they have english menu if u cannot read the 'fan ti zi' (old chinese words). Portions are quite huge and cheap
me and hubby eat until wanna puke, only about S$25 i think.

And why it's recommended cuz it's a LOCAL HAUNT and not one of those tourists haunt. so prices are better. it was recommended by this nice chap at our hotel (also cuz it's near by). he did tell us where the more touristy dimsum places are - but they are pricier.

OH, VICTORIA PEAK!!!
If you're going up and want an exciting ride, take bus 15 up (from along the streets before it turns off Queens Road East i think) or from the interchange/bus terminal at Central.

THe ride is really damn exciting - more so than the tram which costs 3 times as much. The double decker bus winds through narrow roads all the way up to the Peak TOwer. If you sit on the upper deck, it will be damn exciting and nice views of Hong Kong.

Wan ton noodle and slice beef noodles also very nice and huge portion (from dingly little char chan teng). Just try not to look into their kitchens etc and you'll probably be able to enjoy your meal - i'm quite eeeeee about such stuff la.... mostly we just order one bowl and share....then go somewhere else try something again (our way of trying as many outlets as possible!)

morning,

i hate to announce this, but i think i'm coming down with a cough..woke up this morning with sore throat. not feeling lethargic at all so i don't mind hosting the playdate but am just worried to pass it on to the babies. if you all don't mind then we'll continue with the playdate, only thing prob is that i'll stay away from the babie and i can wear mask if need be...will go to see doc this morning and rest a lot, crossing fingers that i'll get better. very very sorry that this happens last minute

gar,
in hk there are alot of slopes and stairs so bringing stroller ard may not be exactly feasible. other than that should not be bb unfriendly bah.

jeannie,
sorry now then see ur post.

food:
erm... not exactly fantastic. i prefer singapore food. i tried this Yee Shun Dairy (@ Yau Ma Tei) steam milk pudding almost puke. but it is supposed to be recommended. We had dim sum at Serenade Chinese Restaurant at the HK Cultural Centre (famous for bird nest egg tarts).

temp:
it gets cold at night. daytime just wear long sleeve with jacket for gwen? if it gets warm, then remove the jacket. agree wif lezy that the sun is scorching esp at disneyland. if u r going to the Peak, better bring gloves for her. i almost froze there. but i went at night la.

basically i was like "mute" there. cannot speak cantonese. the sales people always pili pala in cantonese then i just smile at them.

jeannie:
happy anniversary.
hows your celebrations? er.. hahah i'm even faster wor, my 2nd wedding anniversary is early Feb.

Jeannie:- Happy anniverary! Dinner and singing together just the two of you is romantic already depends on how you see it hee.

i think i am the earliest... unless anyone is shotgun.... my 1st wedding anniversary is in June this yr :eek:

Woo so much talks abt HK. Make me so gian... now my Genting trip might be cancelled also... sighhh

huh? Cherly u are even earlier!

The bad thing is I din even manage to go for Honeymoon (wanted to go Japan)..... so I die die go on a cruise trip that time when I was 5 mths preggy

But no regrets cos babies are so adorable!

Bx,
LOL! pilipala! so funny, that's exactly what I hear when I listen to Canto too!

Tute
hope u get better soon.

Baby carriers
Does anyone have those baby carriers that can be used to go trekking? i.e. baby at the back type? I'm planning to go for an easy, short trek but dun wanna buy one, hope to borrow one first? If you have, can lend?

Warm clothes
I have a windbreaker jacket for a girl (pink colour). If any mommies going cold places for holiday wanna borrow, pls feel free cos if dun use oso no use, will outgrow soon.

apple: opps... then you can start planning for your honeymoon (+ family) trip hee~

bkkgal: erm... wats a baby carrier that can be used to go trekking?

Bkk: I have a Ergo baby carrier. According to the website, it can be carried at the back or front. But i never carried it at the back before. Only carry in front... If u want i can lend you.

tute,
oh no....take care! hope you get well soon. don't worry about play date.

wanted to order a log cake, but i think i will buy off the shelf tmw if the playdate is proceeding.

Hi apple
Thanks! If you're not using, I'll borrow from you ok? Where do you stay? I'll come pick it up. Or if you gg to tute's playdate tmr, can pass to Gar?

Jass
The carrier is to put baby on our backs, instead of front loh. I have the bjorn one which cannot be used for the back cos it has this spinal support thing.

log time never get to post on this thread cos' my waking hours are spent on my ds. He's now having superb seperation anxiety (i really hope this is the max!!!) that i can't even visit the bathroom without him wailing outside the door. Very very tiring. And even as i try to post smthg here, my son's hanging onto my leg....gosh!!! does anyone have this issue???? So, these days i only got chance to mayb jus speed read thru the posts or do the much needed retail theraphy on line...m sure i bought alot of stuffs when stressed...hahaha!!!

tomorrow, we r gg to sentosa for a short break...began packing n realise have to bring so many of ds's stuffs...really pei(4) fu(1) mummies who can bring their bbs abroad. Was think g of bring g him to canada nxt yr...but see how the weekend thingy goes first.

It's TGIF. Wish u all a great long weekend ahead!!!

xy and artemis,
can do me a big big fav. i knw i owe u ladies $$$ but can't rem how much. Can let me knw again? n ur acc nos. pls... THKS!!!

hi everyone, want to check something wif u all.

IS ANYONE EXERCISING NOW?
Pls share if u have started any form of exercise regime and if u see benefits?

I'm thinking of starting Pilates - cuz i feel so tardy and lethargic. Plus my back is getting worse now with ruth almost hitting 10kg (despite looking so lean. goodness).

I dunno how to bear a second pregnancy with current body condition, plus have to carry ruth from time to time so i better do something asap.

leila,
ruth still clamours for me to carry her when she hasn't seen me in a day.

But i think she's very attached to my mum as well, so it kinda 'evens out' her affections.

Plus now my hubby on school holidays and he has 'risen to the occasion' by taking care of her every morning (till about 10/11am) - includes making breakfast, feeding, bathing and playing.

I think she's now gotten more attached to him. I only need to do the occasional obligatory 'carry and hug' for her to just 'manjah' me awhile. after that she'll go back to my hubby or my mum.

Phew!

Hello leila - wow, understand your position, but also cos he sees you all day round. Most bb here are attached to perhaps their caretakers, not so much the mummies i suppose. at least Heidi is ok with everyone.

lezy - i just joined cardioboxing with my colleagues recently, but we feel that with exercise it make us feel more refreshed the next day

re: playdate cum mini xmas celeb @ seng kang (tute's home)
- date/time : 6 dec/1pm-5pm
- food : potluck
I'll be ordering curry in a bread from golden pillow plus preparing indonesian salad + drinks.
- gift xchange : $15 budget for the little ones
- bumper mat : does anyone have a bumper mat to spare ? i only have one, but usually cayleb just crawl around the house...so if you don't mind that then we can do without an extra one :p
- toys : i think i've got quite a few toys but if you'd like to bring some then more than welcome
- address : i'll msg you my address by today

1)jass - will bring kueh from bangawang solo
2)vine_gal (Curry Puffs)
3) dor (bai guo yi mee)
4) nicole
5) cheryl (donuts)
6) happymum2b
7) garfield9 (xmas log cake)
8) Artemis (Chinese finger food e.g. Carrot Cake, Yam Cake, Fried Prawn Dumpling)
9) xiaoyun
10) apple79 (fried bee hoon or otah)
11) eliaw
12) snowbelle (tiramisu)
13)tubao (Sushi)

gar,
thanks !! umm... i'm actually just having sore throat now so still ok to host the playdate tomorrow ! Have taken today's off so that i can sleep and recharge for tomorrow...heheh... will give another update in the afternoon after i take my nap...hopefully will feel better soon