(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Esther..indeed..me also very "touched" when bb
is only clingy to me..haha..my hubby is jealous though..Heidi will cry if i pretend dun wan to carry her from his hands..but not the other round..keke

vernon doesnt have 1.3l of fluids leh... although he drink water, he dun drink alot... total milk intake abt 800+ml, nvr plus solid

qingling,

Thanks! hope so. been torture 4 her and me. i felt so heart pain 2 c her sick and cried so much. cried till voice turned hoarse.

I cried aso when i see her cried non stop. i rather i'm the one who is sick. when her daddy insisted in carrying her, she look @ me cried so pitifully. my heart almost break! i quickly go over she will immediately open her arms & wanted me 2 carry. then she will stop crying.

re : hb jealous

haha.. yeah! hi 5! my hb aso kinda of jealous now. cos usually Cayenne prefers daddy than mummy! but i tink bbs r very smart. they knw who 2 turn 2 (play = daddy, take care = mummy)

cherly,

dun worry abt the fluid. though Cayenne's PD says @ least 1.3L fluids. we shd plus/minus. at least Vernon drinks 800ml! Cayenne oni hit tat amt when she was 3-4mths old.. after which her intake jz keeps dropping...

as long as Vernon is active, lips not dry. shd be fine.

btw Cayenne weighs 8.2kg only @ her 9mths old. her last weight @ 7mths was 7.8kg. 400gms increment oni!

alo mummies,

can i check with the mummies who ordered LF activity & grand piano thru ABCmummy, have u all received your toys?

mine's under aust post with no tracking number. so can't track if the parcel is in SG already or not.....

iso,
yeap yeap...frustrating if they cannot finish the milk, but now i'm used to it and try not to think about it too much. cayleb won't cry for milk one... we conclude he's basically not interested in food... nvr cry for milk/food. so usually we'll just prepare 150ml of milk and try to feed few rounds... need to try over and over again... i have learn to persevere when giving his milk, if he rejects then i'll wait before i give him his milk.

re: holding milk bottle,
hmmm...not hoping that cayleb can do this, coz he won't even drink milk willingly... so dun think he will hold... :p

re: clingy,
yeap yeap....this one i'm experiencing now... cayleb will cry when he sees me walking out of the room... or when he wakes up in the morning he will cry "ma ma ma" and crawl towards me. my parents say he's now getting more familiar as to who is his mummy...hehehe... honestly, i'm truly enjoying this and deep down inside feel very happy...

esther,
gaining 400gr in 1 month is a lot i think these days... haven't weigh my son yet... hoping that he also have gain
hope cayenne gets better soon from her cold...

re: baby lazy
my bb is always standing in the cot. refuse to lie down to sleep. she will stand and bite the railing until the paint come out. she is also very active in her crawling. very hyperactive baby. but.... she doesn't talk!! and she also refuses to hold bottle. haha... i guess all babies are different.

happymum.. i also blur,.. dunno how much she drinks..cause she sometimes drink half then i will throw away.. sigh.. i think abt 3 feeds of 140 ml plus maybe another night feed of 60 ml..ard close to 500 ml a day plus 1 cereal and 2x porridge.. But yesterday.. i was a bit greedy fed her 3 times porridege but skip the cereal...

Re: baby lazy
Guess all babies dun like to hold bottle hor..:p

bx... i think gwen needs to ave. .. a bit with ashlynn.. she refuse to stand at the cot..prefer to lie down.... refuse to crawl....like to talk to herself.. esp when facing mirror...

who still wants to ave out.. hehe.. must put them together on one of the playdates and ave them....

jeannie/bx...
haha...i also want to ave out ! hahaha... cayleb is also super hyperactive until i asked my hb should bring cayleb for checkup or not. i feel he's super hyperactive...cannot sit still, always crawling around or standing...

diana,
i got my lf table 2 weeks back i think...

bx.. cook once .. and keep it warm lor... cause 1 portion quite difficult to cook also.. so normally cook for 2 feeds..

ester.. hope cayenne recovers soon.. i can understand how tired it is to stand and carry baby and pat her to sleep... my horrible genting trip.... will not forget it...

hi mummies.. the healthy times strawberry and kiwi fruit puree.. taste so good!! Gwen luvs it.. finished 1 bottle on sat as snack ( 2 feeds)..

Go and try it k...

RE : hyperactivity

:p Danica is also very active. Nowadays she doesn't want to be carried. She prefers to be put down on the floor and she will crawl here, there, everywhere to touch and mouth things. The only times I scold her is when she tried to touch the eletrical plug. Put her in the cot, she will always try to stand up unless at night and it's her bed time.

My HB "converted" our bed into an "obstacle course" for her to play in.
She loves it and always laughs happily when we bring her there.

What is ave out?

joeey, your poor bb
must be painful.

jeannie, glad gwen is better.

Esty, thanks for the bottles. Hope Cayenne gets better. Actually, I like the way they hug us like Koala bears nowadays. makes me feel so wanted. hee~

Parenting
I feel like I'm getting burnt out from all the parenting. Wanna run away from baby, from home, from work and just check into a hotel and zzzzzzzzz...but then i feel guilty abt having such thoughts...where do all the mothers of the world get their strength and energy from? sigh..

i feel like sometimes the men just have it so simple. come back from work, put in their hours with the baby. they dun have to think of issues like is baby developing well, is she eating well, drinking enough, poo-ing regularly, how abt playschool, should 1 parent speak mandarin while the other stick to english, should we try any trial classes, is she getting good stimulation at home, what other purees can i try to make etc etc etc? is it becos we mothers think too much, worry too much? or just simply the guys think that things will work out by themselves?

bkkgal..thanks..gwen is recovering well..

Re: parenting

i also agree with you.. why am i so vexed abt hwther she has drank enuff water, how many times she has pooed.. when should she try egg yolk.. when should she try this or that puree.. whether she should learn flash cards to stimulate her and blah blah... when my hubby is not proactive at all...

I mean my hubby doestake care of her but why is that that mummies are always the ones ( at least in my case, to iniitate.... whther to try new food or whatever??)

but my hubby actually thinks that it is the duty of a mother leh.. sometimes vomit blood when i talk to him also...

hi artemis,

me also admire yr perserverance for putting Danica on a schedule..
i've been reading up quite a lot, about various methods for weaning the night feed, and sleeping thru the night..

actually C is already on a routine, but still can't wean off the night feed.. refuse pacificer at night, and only wants to latch.. i've been scratching my head for many weeks already.. any tips?

any mummies who had also succeeded in weaning night feed??

i guess its the maternal instincts that make us differnt... hehe.. at the end of the day.. kate will cling onto u more.. (hehe.. make ur hubby jealous a bit) so its still worth ith.

give and take will make us happier.. dun think so much k..

i have so many things to update!

re: teething
C has popped 3 upper teeth! strange right?
i always tot it's 2 lower, followed by 2 upper, then 2 lower, then 2 upper.. n he's been having runny nose n slight fever for a week already!

re: UTI
sad news, C still have some traces of bateria in his latest urine sample tat i sent to the lab.. 5ml of medicine every day again..
sob sob..
i think he caught the bateria during the DMA test..

re: waving
C also started waving already.. also depends on mood la.. so don't worry..
i also believe tat encouragement is good for them and indirectly they will feel very motivated to do more..
when C waves, we get all happy n excited so he waves even more!
he just learned how to clap too.. the night before he just kept clapping before his bedtime and don't want to sleep.. i lay him down few times, he just sat up and start clapping..

jeannie, wish gwen a speedy recovery!

jeannie
why are we the pro-active ones? really can vomit blood sometimes. the whole week i'm running pillar to post, fighting fires at work, rush here there everywhere to meetings, no time for lunch, no time for toilet and then on Friday, the question to me is always "what's the plan for the weekend dear?". i'm supposed to have lined up the playdates, trial classes, catch up with frens etc planned all swee swee around K's schedule. his way of spending time with K is to open up his laptop, check emails, switch on TV and let her play on her own. what kind of quality time is that?

eliaw
i tried to wean off nightfeed but still no success. only once or twice when my mom managed to stuff so much food into her that she didn't wake up for the dreamfeed.

getting the fathers to put them to bed helps to wean them off the latching i feel. no mommy = no latching. pacifier is next best option.

re: hubby
same with my hubby, he can't quite communicate w bb.. and many times, C doesn't even want him to carry! n C always cry when he's alone w hb.. until someone rescues him..

i think we need to be patient and educate the men too.. not all men have bb instincts.. i'm thankful to my hb in other ways.. such as he's always the one doing ALL the shopping!

bkkgal,

re: nightfeed
C refused to sleep! once i went to attend a wedding dinner, n came back halfway because he was crying quite badly.. kept wanting to latch but nothing to latch on!

re: hubby
haha! can't agree more with u! it's on TV, n play on own! he said he's training him to be independent, and self entertaint! *faint*

i also dunno y.. to my hubby he thinks making milk for baby is a great deal liao..everytime i need to tell him to help make milk.. i wonder when will be the time he tells me that baby needs to drink milk or eat something.. he totally doesnt noe ...

i a bit gave up on him already.. i try not to use the words like help me bathe baby or help me do what... cause i think baby is OUR business and not just mine.. he has work.. i also have work... we need to work together... so sometimes i will wait for him to take iniitaitve..

eliaw.. at least u can latch on at night.. evernight.. i need to crawl out of bed to make milk.... sigh... cannot ask hubby..

actually gwen prfers to play w me than hubby.. cause i think hubby's mode of playing not fun one.. hehe.. ssh.. i also dun like.. hehe...

but i appreciate that he can carry baby when we eat outside lor... and carry baby to sleep...

jeannie,
haha.. hubby's mode of playing not fun! totally agree!!!

i think latch on is worse than bottle feeding! now i m thinking when it's time to wean off the breast, it's gonna be very very tough cos of all the whining n crying!

my hb don't really carry bb for long because he has sweaty palms.. ended up he's hot, and bb's hot and both get cranky!

bkkgal.. lets go for ladies night?? to relax.. haha.. okie just a thought.. it has been like 2 yrs since i have gone club or pub or watever.. maebe we should do some club dates .. hehe :p

hb has quite alot of initiative when it comes actual doing like put her to sleep, make milk, change pampers. i do appreciate that he tries to ease my load. But when it comes to the forward planning (e.g. stimulation/playschool/language stimulants) and weekend plans, i wish he could do more.. maybe it's just asking for too much from them to initiate things.

bkkgal,
wat r u plans for playschool? i'm quite keen to do once/twice monthly playschool thingy.. after they near 18 months..

Thanks 4 the well wishes, mummies!

tute,

is 400gm in 2 mths time leh. abit slow i tink. my gf's gal (2 wks older than ours) in her 8mth alreadi 8.8kg. she say her gal might be 9 to 10kg now!

but i do hear tat our bbs' weight tend 2 be abit stagnant when they ard 1 yr old. cos they will be concentrating on growing their height.

jeannie,

oh yes, i rem u mention ur genting trip. scare me 2! tat y hb suggest bring Cayenne go malacca one of these wkend. I dare not...

bbkgal,

yes! yes! i agree wif u. i felt so much WANTED by Cayenne. cos i do get jealous whenever she wans daddy oni. i complain 2 hb tat Cayenne oni treats me as a maid. haha...

i guess our hbs r more of those "relaxed" boh chap men? probably they tink last time we aso din go thru those development courses, we aso can grow well wat.. etc.

i suggest 2 hb say bring Cayenne go swim lessons, trial lessons, wat classes etc. he would give me the "SHOCKED, UNBELIEVABLE" expression like "huh, need meh?" then i gotta 2 explain the pros to him and he would say "well.... ok lor" Sigh... MEN!

Jeannie,

ohh.... i miss partying life man! i used to cheong alot b4 preggy!

nw no more, cos grow fat liao. sianz. haha...

wow ladies' night...count me in!! I think I've earned enuff brownie pts doing nite duty alone while hb is on duty travel, reservice etc

Bkk,
Know wht u mean. I reckon this is similar to the common complaint about men being unromantic. Most involved fathers tend to be active in terms of physical care only. I know of only one father who is active in the other developmental areas.

Personally, I don't expect hubs to be proactive in terms of researching what to do. But I've made it v clear that he must support what I decide is good for baby and he must execute ;) like Reading bed time stories. No tv while she is awak etc. My position is if he isn't going to be a leader then he can be a good follower hehe

esther

my hb also got those expression when i say wanna bring vernon for trial...
other den that he has been a very hand on daddy

tute
yah i think E also can't hold his own bottle or he'll probably just push it aside after drinking like 60mls, to crawl around.. haha.

diana
i just got my LF table TODAY! so long, wah liao. they said they tried to deliver it on friday but no one at home (think my FIL was sleeping..)

gar, will opt for postage. Transfer $1 to you later. Bkkgal, me unsuccessful in weaning off night feeds too. She still wakes up to drink, Prefers to be latched. I've dropped to just 1 pump at work, instead of 250ml, only left with about 200ml. A bit sad but super busy at work even though things were supposed to quieten down by year end.

mira
i had my practicum at bukit view sec sch... nearby is dunearn. Comparing this 2 Bukit view is better. I am staying near admiralty sec and my cousin went there. Not bad.. not sure abt Zhenghua.

Y dun choose unity sec or Canberra sec? where u stay? waht is the score like?

Mummies, thanks for your well wishes. Bb is sleeping now. I saw his ulcers in the mouth when he opened his mouth to cry loudly, the ulcers are very deep, near the throat and white in color

After my bb sitter fed him milk at 230pm, he refused to drink anymore. Tried to give him barley cereal at 7pm, he took half a bowl only.
Omg, when is he going to recover ?? I saw even more spots on his buttocks, legs and feet and he kept drooling, can't swallow his saliver.

He's not even 1 year old, why does he have to go through this now ...

Jeannie
wait ppl tot i really got twins.. No la it's my gf... My #1 is born in MArch 05 while hers is Dec 05. Her boy is 14 Feb 08, my boy is 18 Feb 08... Thus u see double boys and double gals... hahaha... She is very capable... 2 children with no maid... SAHM... learn a lot from her. Oh she stay quite near u.. south buona vista... if dun mind next time we can always hv playdate together at her place. She stay in condo and has stairs up to Kent Ridge park...

Helping my cousin to sell zoo/night safari tickets

Zoo adult : $15.50 (org: $18)
zoo child (above 3 year old) : $7.80 (org: $9)
Night safari adult: $19 (orginal $22)
Night safari child : $9.50 (org: $11)

valid for 3 mth from 3rd dec.

If interested, please let me know by 12 noon 25 Nov 08 by smsing me at 94578923. Thanks

jeannie
i need more than 1 ladies night muahahahaha! maybe an entire week away from home and work!

seriously, long long time never party liao. maybe dun rem how already?! plus gotten fat too. sighz.

eliaw
yeah, i'm thinking of playschool maybe once a week when they turn 18 mths so that caregivers can get a break. plus the stimulation she gets with the grandparents is limited. i mean, they are ok with her but she doesn't get interaction with other kids or creative play. it's usually just walking around the estate, play with own toys etc.

poor poor baby. must be hard to swallow food with the ulcers. *heartache* i feel your pain joeey. hope he gets well fast fast.

joeey
oh dear.. hope your bb get well soon. did doc suggest any food for the bb? my friends gv ice to their kids to suckle so that they are drinking more fluid. but, they are toddler. not sure can gv ice to bb at this age or not. maybe you wanna check with the doctor? else you can try yogurt. i think cooling food will make bb easier to swallow at this moment, instead of warm one.

Gar, have transferred, 1990295793.

Ladies night, great idea! Now that I've dragged my pumping schedule, I can start taking leave to pamper myself, have manicure, pedicure, go to spa for massage etc. Just need to pump in the morning at 7+am and I can tahan until 3+ or 4pm in the afternoon. But say only, seldom take leave for myself, weekend spend the day running errands, end up so tired. :p

kitsune.. can i check with u what are u preparing for raeanne's trip top hk?? You bringing stroller???

What will she be wearing???

i am thinking of just letting gwen wear tights plus leg warmers and top plus cardigan/sweater.. is this enuff???

Are u buying any winter clothes?gloves??

You intend to cook porridge there?

good morning ladies,

joeey,
agree with sunny that you may want to try colder things.
for my nephew, his PD recommended him to take icecream when he suffered from HFMD. maybe you can check with your PD regarding this.

gwen/esther,
you got to take care of yourself too..
now weather becomes so unpredictable. now it's hot, and it rains the next moment.

some update from my side:
C is very mobile now. she can get herself up to kneeling position but not sitting position.
she's crawling everywhere and likes to dig things up from boxes.

food wise, i fed her egg yolk and she likes it!! not sure about the correct amount to give. i gave her half of it only.
she can now take small pieces of fruits instead of puree. i cut blueberries into small pieces. and she can happily chew on it and then ask for more.
i also fed her soft cooked barley as snack. she likes it too..

i still have problem in introducing her Quinoa. it seems like she doens't like the taste/texture.

re: hb
your hbs are very good already. mine doesn't prepare the milk, feed bb, bathe bb. his jobscope now is only position bb to sit besides him while he's watching tv, and make her sleep.
if no tv for him, he will be very restless.
*sigh*
don't talk about weekend planning, he will just be a follower... if i've no plan, we will end up going to my PIL place. he play mahjong and throw us in the small room. >.<

re: economy
it's really turning bad to worse.
my company may implement 4 day week. and my pay will cut another 20%.

anyone wants a babysitter? every week once. your baby gets to play with my gal. :D