(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Re: BJG
Went for the trial class with some oter mummies on sat.

Not sure abt how other mummies feel.. but sharing what i feel abt that day's trial.. Personally i felt that the trainer wasnt good.. perhaps cause she was quite young early 20s.. there were a lot of awkward silences which i dun like.

For the activties.. there were a lot of flashcards which i really think can be done at home if you are free and motivated.

The singing of the ggodbye and hello song wasnt very enthusiastic also.

The gym session is good but our babies still too young to do much.

Overall.. i think that it was good to attend the trial ( for exposure) but i do not think that the programmes for baby our age was well-done ( maybe trainer problem..)

But if the idea is to socialise and see other babies then i think our playdates actually much better... i can do flash cards in the next playdate at bkkgal.

and Garfield... bkkgal said that you will be singing for the babies?? Hehe.. :p

Verdict: Still good to go for trial and experience for yourself..."seeing is Believing" and diff pp have diff opinions lah.

Crystal.. hehe.. the post is as above.

i also wanna try all the different classes. so far brought her to bjg and grace kids only and all on the same day!

Hey mummies.. you may wanna check out grace kids.. its at great worls city.. my friend signed up for me last sat.. so i brought gwen for 2 classes on sat.

It was quite fun.. more happening than BJG cause it was on music.. somthing like kindermusik i think. A lot of ang mo babies.. a lot od singing and dancing bt the parents.. hehe..

My fren signed up but i din cause gwen doesnt seem to enjoy.. haha..

Actually gwen paid more attention at BJG..during flashing of cards... she super studious ger.. but she got the answer wrong.. haha.. i hope next time she will not be a "stoner" in class.. pretend to pay attention but nothing goes inside.:p

The rest of the babies all very smart.. baby heidi, baby leonard, baby kate ( super chatty ger) and baby vera(hope i got the name correct)

http://www.gracekids.com.sg/programme.html

check out this..

my bb seemed to like music alot. gymboree also has music for bbs 6-18mths @$270 for 12 classes. hv not tried the others. Trial class is $28.

i tried calling JWT but their trial at UE square is every Tuesday @ 315pm, 45minutes class and the trial class costs $39.00. only the east coast one is on Saturdays at 1:15 to 2pm. too far for me...

diana
are you organising gymboree trial? hee

sunny
last time i also don't want to give pacifier, but bb had so much difficulty to sleep, he would cry and cry, but w pacifier, sometimes he can fall asleep within 2 mins, so it saved my life, haha. sucking thumb, i think they have to stop by the time they're 2, otherwise end up like me, buck teeth, haha. and apparently it will also change the structure of your mouth, and dentists can sometimes tell if you suck your thumb when young just by looking at you! horrors.. heh.

tute
he sucks his thumb when he's bored, hungry and sleepy. for bored and hunger, we still can help him. but when he's sleepy, he definitely needs his thumb. the only thing can substitute his thumb is thru bf him till zzz. haha...
sigh... everyone's comments making me very 'luan'. i am sure next time when he grows older a bit and still suck his thumb, everyone will blame me for not giving him pacifier....

re: julia gabriel
anyone try julia gabriel before? they have classes for 6 mth old bb onwards. my friend sends her boy there and has good feedback.
i only send my gal there when she reached 18 mth old. i would say it's really good.
i got to start saving more so that i can send my boy there when he reaches 18 mth. really high cost to send kids for enrichment class... *shake head*

iso
really???? the dentist can tell?
i sucked my thumb a lot when i was a bb, too. my mum told me after weaning off pacifier, i sucked thumb for comfort. haha... that's why i am not too sure how useful the pacifier can help.

abc
you brought your kids there before? what other speech and drama class you tried before?
my gal who didn't wanna open her mouth to speak a single word last time, started to talk a lot after attending the bilingual class for abt 2 terms. but not sure if it's because of the classes or it's just the time for her to start talking loh.

and she's attending the english edudrama class now, after abt 3 lessons, she is more confident in speaking english and she dares to stand in front of everyone to do sharing and even recites 'san zhi jing'. she's all the while very shy child.

but, really lah... it's ex. to save $$$, i am going to stop her for next term liao. since she's attending the daily playgroup near my mil's place liao...

sunny
i tried JG before for my gal. Find it is nothing ley. Tried GUG before for 3 term. Find it more interesting n more worth $. Freeplay only at biginning. But prob some mum dun like. Persoanlly i prefer GUG.

Edudrama
wanted to send my gal for edudrama chinese class. But then cos of $ factor i din. Decided to let her join other class non-academic since she is at a childcare now. She is currently doing ballet and mygym. She is 3.5 yr now.

kindermusik - trial.. yes i interested too..but possible to be before 26th Oct? becos i understand from the organiser the new semester begins then, and most prob i will want to sign up leh.

BJG - agree with jeannie, i personally find the trainer not experience, and i think i can sing better?hohoho..the flashcard thingy i think we can also do better..
all the babies seem to enjoy each other more..haha..but i agree little gwen was very attentive, haha...Kate was too thrilled to see her frens..haha..Heidi was wholetime fiddling with the ornaments on her dress..(1 thing for sure, if u want your baby to be attentive in class..don;t make them wear clothes with accessories. haha..)

kindermusik trial (write yr name below?)
Can we agree to be either sat/sun? personally prefer sat
1. abcdisney n bb (prefer sat)

2. Qingling (Sat and sun ok)

iso: i am keen. but the papa is not keen in letting her daughter go for the trial classes... was at harbourfront yday and went in gymboree to watch the play group. only managed to see the ending where the group was singing.

and the papa said, this classes ah, so expensive, end up its the parents doing the all the singing n playing ---- ____ ----

abc
ahh.. ok. ya, once my gal goes to daily playgroup, i will choose non-academic class for her e.g. music, etc. but now still don't know what class to send her haha.... hb wanna let her learn 'wu shu'. but i think 3 yo is still too young bah.

diana
haha.... somehow, i agreed with your hb. last time, i brought my gal to BJG, tumbletot, kindermusik for trial when she just started learning crawling. during those musical and movement session, i got to carry her following the teachers walking around, playing the musical instruments with her, etc etc. feel so tiring after the trial. and she didn't seem to know what's going on.

sunny:
i heard that if bb suck thumb too much will have ugly thumb. My friend's niece got 'crooked' thumb. but i guess that is from excessive sucking.
i did not give matthew pacifier, so he kinda sucks his lips. look like bo gey ah pek. v funny.

tute:
yeah yeah.. looking fwd to see u and cayleb!

diana:
try to join us if you can ok

abc:
i'm holding playdate @ my place on 18 oct 08. you are welcome to join

dianaz.. and sunny.. my hubby also said that .. thats why din sign up for grace kids and bjg.

i more interested in getting baby to learn swimmng ( survival skills) and also maybe piano ( see if she likes it) and my new interest... fencing.. haha

BJG quite ex too.. $37.. the place also very cramped.. but at least got the experience.. noe what they do over there..

wah.... so many mummies signing up for classes. dun think i'll start on any till matthew is older ma. i think he will be in his own world oso.. haha~

jeannie:
erm.. what do u mean when you mention that gwen got the ans wrong? they are required to ans??

baby swimming
i jus enrolled my boy for baby swimming. but he still very scare of the cold water. Btw aquaducks gv free trials. But their clases are now very full. i myself is on wait list too. maybe can hv swimming playdate?

jass
my boy also. he will also suck his lips! very funny. haha... he really has lots of 'patterns' which makes us laugh.
going to miss that gathering again. so sad....

2. Qingling (Sat and sun ok)
3. cheryl (prefer sat)
4. dorothu (prefer sat)
5. Happymum2b (prefer sat)

A few days never read the thread and there are 3 pages archived!

Hi abcs' mummy,

Welcome.
USANA is a US based vitamin that my family and I have been taking. www.usana.com

Hi tute,

I received your orders so do you want to go ahead based on the list I uploaded above?

Hi crystal,

She enjoyed right up to the point that this silly mummy let her fall off the slope and bump her head on the floor. She wailed so loudly. I was so super duper heart pain and my HB scolded me.
But I find that she more distracted by the toys and the climbing. The music and action parts she can't sit still. :p

Hi qingling,

GOO.N diapers: M44 @ S$15.80 (around S$0.36 a piece). I believe Pampers is more expensive: M68 @ S$34.20 (around S$0.50 a piece) unless there is an offer.

Hi snowbelle,

Noted your orders for diapers.com.sg and HealthyTimes but barley cereal is currently OOS.

BJG
I agree with Jeannie and Qingling. The trainer was inexperienced. Her singing was not inspiring! The room was small, cramped and the air con not working very well.

Baby K was the most "chee-char por" of the whole class! (I already knew she is talkative but I didn't know she was that talkative!) And she is so inattentive! When teacher flashing cards, she was busy scanning the room, checking out the other babies and parents! *faint* and then when it comes to her turn, teacher says "oh you were not paying attention, I will flash again for u!". Half the time, I was a bit stressed, she can't get the right answer! hahaha.

(After flashing various cards e.g. pablo picasso paintings, she will pick 2 paintings and go to each bb and ask them to pick the name of the one she calls out. There was a 'spot-the-difference' exercise where bbs were to pick the correct picture)

Yeah, I think we can do our own activities during playdate lah. Save our $37. hahaha. But overall, I think the exposure was good. It was actually more fun to watch the babies check each other out and interact. (hor leila? i think your son and my daughter hit it off! hehe)

After the class, my hb observed that K started "singing" in a high pitched voice. He said she seems more interactive. Dunno leh...anyone of the mommies have the same observation? I think it was more because it was her first time meeting so many babies at once.

Jeannie
you brought gwen to another trial that day ah? wah, super girl! K was pretty tired out after that BJG trial. Me oso, drive so far to Bukit Batok!

Artemis
Can help me get the fish oil?

Hi bkkgal,

Sorry to inform you that the M diapers is OOS and shipment only arrives mid November. Now headache... Not sure what to get for Danica's daytime diapers. <sigh>