(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

artemis.. how u keep prepare the fruits and vege??

What fruits and vege are u talking abt har?

Re: US

wow.. later i become shopping queen because of all of you!!! BUt sounds FUN!!

And i think other than the shopping part its good that i can take care of her myself.. can prepare more variety of food.. very difficult to get my MIL to do cause she thinks very ma fan. I will not blame her lah.. just hope that if she had been more receptive, it will be good.

<font color="purple">just a message from MF (mini-fashionista) while i was chatting with her.

she says that her socks are not trumpette/jazzy toes etc. she designs and gets it manufactured specifically for her exclusive line of products called mini-fashionista.

dunno if u all noticed - but the soles have the words mini-fashionista on it as non-slip portons.</font>

lezy.. got anymore ebony??? i like ebony!!

lezy,

ic. i din knw abt cod fish mercury ting.

btw wat socks u gals r talking abt? i'm interested. can provide me the link if there's any? any pretty leggigns or leg warmers?

Hi Ester,

I have tried mixing but Danica doesn't like it. So I bought a plate with 3 separate compartments and place the cereal, vegetable and fruit in each compartment to feed her. (Like a mess tin) :p Then feed all at the same time lor. E.g. 1 spoonful of cereal, 1 spoonful of vegetable, 1 spoonful of fruit.

Hi lezy,

No lah... Took me a while to get the schedule going cause I introduce only 1 meal per week.

So Ruth doesn't take lunch?

Hi jeannie,

Healthy Times is fully organic. Some more no milk or nuts wor. Strictly speaking it's more organic then Bellamy's.

hello all..wow..thread moves fast.

lezy - tks for ordering. if u dun wan to take the lemon or chocolate or turqoise i can take another 2 pairs if need to make up a set. let me know..

lezy i can take turquoise also... u can pass me ur fuschia socks on sat lor.. easier..

artemis.. is it.. aiyoh... obviously this mummy doent even noe what her baby eats.. :p

Hi jeannie,

lol... Making purees for Danica was a lot of trial and error. At first I tried to give her uncooked pear. Just chop using the Braun handheld blender then puree. I think she hated the raw taste so reject. Plus, the pear oxidised so quickly that there was a strange aftertaste. Then I went to Mothercare and read a few pages of Annabel Karmel's book which recommended steaming or blanching the fruit first. So I did and Danica liked it much better.

So basically I peel the fruit, steam it, chop and puree it. Then I put it into Avent cups and freeze immediately. When need to feed I choose from the available cups in the freezer and heat up fruit, vegetable and EBM (in that order) before mixing EBM with cereal to feed.

So far I only tried spinach, carrot, pumpkin, sweet potato, pear, apple, banana.

can i check orh.. the spinach you all give bb is the 'heng' cai - the one which we have to peel off a layer transparent lay of thingy at the stem / the spinach as in the type where there is a little reddish tint near the roots. just wondering when we are talking abt feeding bb spinach are we talking abt the same. haha~

crystal: i stay at yishun lor, further than u! hehe.

cheryl: vernon so handsome!

iso: the east coast one is at eastgate building i think, next to roxy square if not mistaken.

bx: salute u leh , woke up at 4+ to pump!

artemis: wah, good idea to buy those plate with 3 compartments! now i mix the puree into the porrdige or cereal and feed in a bowl :p

jass: i read we can give heng cai first, but spinach hold on first. i read from wholesomefood.com
"It would best to wait to introduce spinach into baby's diet until between 10-12 months of age. Waiting until after 10 months of age to introduce baby to spinach, particularly homemade spinach, would ensure that the nitrate issue has passed"

is this spinach 波菜?

cheryl:
i realised my post on vernon photo mia. dunno y? anyway... he has a very charming smile. his eyes quite expressive huh, like hui shou hua like that
next time will charm a lot of girls ya haa~

Jeannie,
i can probably make it on sat!!

20 Sept ( saturday) West side playdate + makan
(Holland v or anyone's place?).CONFIRMED.
2 pm at my hse.

1. Jeanie
2. lezy (2)
3. bkkgal (after 2 cos bb lunch nap is quite long. u all start first ok?)
4. bx (2)
5. jass1408 (12/2)
6. cheryl TBC (after 2)
7. Qingling (2)
8. Tubao (2)
9. Isobellies TBC

esther
your apple puree - u got cook the apple or not? mine always oxidises really fast..

artemis
i think as long as bb is happy feeding, then no problem. i also find that my bb eats more frequently with solids rather than milk! am slowly increasing the amt of solids too, but i'm already at 3 FM scoops of healthy times barley cereal for one feed (plus fruit or vege)! and he can still eat 2 to 2.5hrs later.

tong tong:
ya, the reddish tint one is 波菜. o... so when we give heng cai.. we have to remove the waxy thing from the stem too right? ok... i feed him the wrong spinach. :Þ

crystal, wah you coming to yishun too! great, at least my son got a playmate ?hehe

fruit: i never steam fruits and give shaun wor. had given fresh cut apple, banana, papaya,prunes. will give nectarine and peach today and tomorrow! issit necessary to steam?

jass: yea remove the waxy layer from the steam of hengchai, my mum cook liao and blend. i dunno whether she got sieve or not? i will check with her hehe.

french bean: anyone giving? i have given shaun french bean! but more work to do cuz kena blend and sieve.

sunny/crystal,
nectarine liang huh?
ok loh. just give her other apple if it's available at my PIL's place.

iso,
all along we always add peas to her cereal. but not too sure is the amount.
my MIL likes to make the cereal tasty tasty. so, most of the time she will add carrot or pumpkin.
but she still gets constipation le. until i can see some streaks of blood on her poo when it's too hard.
another thing that causing her constipate is water intake. MIL always forgot to feed her water.

jeannie,
mm... i think we need someone to go factory outlet for the bargains? :p

Re: spinach
I think we can just cook the leaves, leave out the stems. I bought a pack of baby spinach with only leaves from Carrefour, there's expiry so can keep for 1 week.

Re: fish

I'm introducing fish to baby but I'm wondering if we can put ginger on the fish to steam ? Are there any side effects ?

I buy 午鱼 and cook on the day and the following day. If I keep for 2 days, the fish will have a fishy smell no matter how long i steam it. My son won't eat. I'm wondering if i can put ginger to get rid of the smell ?

tong,

i give my gal chinese spinach. got 2 types - sharp pointed leaves and round ones. my bb sitter say round ones better.

isobellies,

i dun cook the apple. i jz peel, chop and blend. i add ALOT of water. cos i dun wan my gal 2 take 2 sweet at so young.

no leh, the apple puree wont get oxidized fast leh. maybe my gal loves 2 eat, so feed quite fast? keke...

i tot of steaming apple, but havent try yet.

the reason behind steaming
fresh apples will turn brown cos oxidise. When apple turn brown, vitamins are lost. Brown apple tend to cause constipation to bb as well. Thus better to steam. Steam apple does not turn brown.

actually how u all manage to cook everyday for ur babies har?? got chance to feed after work?? or cause u all freeze them??

Artemis.. when u freeze.. how lond do u keep it?

Isobellies.. good good.. hope u cna bring ethan!!

crystal,
apple turning brown is because of the oxidization of the iron and not the vitamins.
vitamin C is water soluble. and it will be destroyed during cooking.
i don't think it's recommended to subject apple to heat over a long period of time. and slow cooking at medium heat is more detrimental than high temperature cooking.

i read from wholesomebabyfood that, the reason for us to cook/steam fruits before feeding baby is because need to destroy the germs that on the fruit if there is any.
when bb is older, we can just feed them the fresh fruits.

of course, vitamin C will be lost when exposed to air. but that's over a certain period of time.
so, i think if you are not leaving the apple in the air for long - means just scrap it then feed baby. i think it's fine.

xiaoyun
my MIL opposite of you, she is a water nazi, will chase my bb and my nephew around the house shouting KUTKUT! i think she's a bit forceful but i guess it's a good habit to get them to drink water.

esther
oh ok, will try
when i scrape/mash the apple it turns brown SO fast. half way done only already turning brown. grr!

jass
oh so u give the ang moh spinach by mistake? i haven't given any, thought of giving the ang moh one since sometimes cold storage got loose ones for salad, then no need to buy so much

jeannie: can cook leafy veg using steam method or blanch la, ie cook in water.
ooh, not i cook la, my mum cooks, i only freeze french bean cuz cant blend if i only cook 3 stalk. so i blend and freeze . i think 10 stalks can make 3 portion for 3 meals.

Gave James steamed apples a few times. He usually eats a few half teaspoons then stops. I think its too sour. I tried the Heinz bottle pureed apple for him too, and he does not like it either. I tasted it myself..so sour. So am going to give apples only if mixed with something else.

Will try Avocado this weekend. Can give raw?

xiaoyun, oh, to kill the germs we got to cook the fruits ah? alamak, i have been feeding shaun fresh fruits for a month liao.

sweetpea: oh, apple sour meh? teh organic apples i bot is sweet. and shaun cried for more!

yea avocado give raw. no need to cook

tongtong,
hehe... i didn't bother to steam the fruits.
just rinse with hot water.
i have the mentality that: 'dirty eat, dirty grow' -- please translate to hokkien. :p

jeannie,

i usually oni prepare porridge over the wkends. sometimes oni manage 2 prepare one meal oni cos my bb sleep super early. so cant feed porridge 4 dinner.

u gals mention abt freezing. is it really gd? considering the nutrients. initially i wan 2 try but scare nutrients loss. nt so fresh etc. so i rather do the "ma fan" way. tat is, prepare on the very day itself. can be quite time consuming though.

isobellies,

i knw y oxidize liao. cos u scrape rite. it take super long time 2 scrape the apple rtie! i tired once using spoon. scrape so long, hand tired, apple turn brown, oni a TINY bit come out! so i give up. invest in a blender instead. mk my life easier. hee...

tong,

u say u boil the leaves in water. then wat u do wif the water? the nutrients will aso be in the water rite?

i put everyting into slow cooker and jz on the switch. did i do the wrong way?? advise me pls mummies!

sweetpea,

did u add water 2 ur apple puree, then strain them? wont be sour, in fact sweet. my gf scrape the apple and feed directly, her gal dun like. she even bot the heinz one, aso dun like. sour. so i tell her add water. then strain it. her gal loves the apple puree!

esther: try to avoid freezing of course. but if for convenience can freeze lor, hehe.

scrapping apple: i use the scrapper, very fast! if use spoon, very slow man.

as for leafy veg, no la i din boil. i steamed la. but boil faster ma. if want to boil, then use very little water to boil, the water just use to blend the veg lor. or add into cereal?

not sure whether slow cooker will kill the nutrients too? cuz cooking veg for more than an hour? if steam, very fast, can preserve the nutrients better.

tong,

using scrapper - wont the puree be big big pieces? i blend till quite smooth. i scare choking.
slow cooker - i tot the water wont evaporate so the nutrients will still be in the water?

pardon my ignorance. *shy*

tongtong,
ya. i using the scrapper come with the baby food preparation kit.
very fast. can feed baby before apple turns brown.

I just scrap the apple and feed direct too, didnt rinse with hot water, oops ...

Thought boiling is faster than steaming ? For me, I boil the veg.

My work is more flexible as I'm able to work from home on most fridays. I could then go to the market in the morning after sending my son to the bb sitter. Can cook fri dinner, sat and sun lunch for him.

My son "shrinks" a bit after taking solids so now I prefer to give him milk as it's more fattening.
-- Note : This depends on individual babies.

ester,
the texture very fine one. no worry..
what are the nutrients that you are talking about? if Vit C, the heat through slow cooking will destroy them.
for others, depends on whether the nutrient is water soluble or not.
if possible, use steam rather than boil.

joeey,
haha.. you very cute. got put disclaimer some more.
boiling is faster. but the water soluble nutrients are in the water. unless you are using the water to mix with the puree.
for me, i don't think it makes great difference on my gal. probably because i only have 1 solid feed per day. :p

isobellies:
hahah your MIL so cute. we also call that KutKut hee~ ya lor... i thought tat is spinach, the other is heng cai. hahaha didnt know its chinese spinach. when i know i think i assume the spinache we are talking abt is ang moh spinach lor hee~

sweetpea:
avocado can give raw

jeannie:
i prepare abt 1 week supply then freeze them so that i can control bb's intake.

like tong tong i usually steam bb's food rather than boil. but i'll add a bit of water into the bowl when steaming. then will blend the water tog w the veg / fruit. so as to keep the 'nutrients' in the water

oh ic.. then i can try scrapper 2! i bot 1 but din use. keke...

oh i din reali tk note of the nutrients. lazy cum lousy mummy. i jz simply tot put everyting in. sob!

i better be a hardworking mummy from now onwards!