(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

thankful,
erlene does not hv constipation problem when she was on stage 1 for past 6 mth.. i guessed it was the switching to stage 2 & back to stage 1 again that caused her din poo for 4 days which has never happened b4.

esther,
my gal oso HARDLY drinks water.. we try to bottle feed or spoon speed her water but she still do not drink and will just let the water flow out from her mouth.. haiz..

jass,
keke, seems like there are some other bb gals who are even taller than erlene, like ruth, valerie & hillary.. lol..

jeannie,
our gals hv the same weight !!

do u knw wat is gwen's height ?

esther:
if you cook the 'hard' veg with porridge then it will be soft liao right? for banana, i feed any kind that adults eat. no particular type

oscar:
wear a long pants for isabel when she sleeps?

I'll join in the fun too.

sunny - boy - 6m - 9kg - 72cm
2. tongtong - boy - 6m - 9.1kg
3. xiaoyun - girl - 6m - 7.1kg
4. happymum2b - girl - 6m 3w - 7.2kg
5. cheryl - boy - 7m 2w - 9.3kg (tat is when 5mth measure 1) now duno how long
6. lezy - girl - 6m 3w - 8.1kg / 70cm
7. dor11- boy - 7m 2 w - 9.8kg(at 6mths old.. think now got 10kg ba)/68cm
8. kitsune - gal - 7m 2 w - 7.6kg (featherweight)
9. Thankful - gal - 6m 2w - 9.735kg / 69.4cm
10. andrea - gal - 6m 2w - 8kg / 71cm
11. tute - boy - 6m - 7.5kg / 69cm (think featherweight also)
12.. sweetpea - boy - 6m2w - 7.03kg
13 jeannie- girl- 6m3w-7.2kg
14. Esther - gal - 6m - 7.8kg / 74cm

h@ppymum2b,

my gal used 2 drink one shot of 50ml thru bottle. Nw dun wan, jz happily hold and bite the teats. *faint*

I resort 2 spoon 2, even springe. Nw smart liao, springe, she will "puke" out.

jass1408,

Ya, i jz dump everyting inside. & let it cooked 4hrs. Occasionally stir.

Heard tat steaming is gd? Can keep most nutrients?

So can I steam the veggies, boil the rice? Then put them 2gether when done? Seems more "ma fan" Keke...

Btw, hv u all start giving fish? Heard tat shd start ard 9mths?

hi jass1408,

i use normal rice to cook porridge for my boy until very nuah..average cooking time 3hrs using slow cooker.

yenlim, i guess so long ur bb is drinking well..then is ok. tats wat PD alws say.

happy:
ya lor, so many tall girls ard. i need to pray that my boy is tall next time.. if short like me hor cham leh... how to find gf haa~

re: water
must persist.. my boy finally drink like 220ml yesterday. ok... thats the amt for the entire day...

re: SOS
yesterday morning i took bus to work. 1 woman gave up seat for me. i was really embarass... then took train home @ night, another man gave up seat for me. ARGHHHHH! how how? quite a few mummies i met on sat are super slim like bx & stephie... how can i be as slim as u? can share your diet / exercise regime?

h@ppymum2b,

Haha.. yes super tall! I told my gal "mummy, dun need u 2 be a super model hor" ;p

So she look so much "bigger" than the usual same mth babies. Keke...

Me & hb ave ba.. me 1.63m, hb 1.75m

esther:
i have not started porridge yet, so still steaming the veg then blend into puree to be added into cereal. planning to start porrdige when my boy turns 7 mths. i think steaming is better boiling. but i guess, if you boil with porrdige maybe the nutrients is still there in the porridge ma. unlike if u boil in water then throw away the water. my boy is mafan, likes smooth puree, lumpy ones he is more fussy.

jass1408,

i wish my gal nt so tall, scare in future difficult 2 get bf. keke...

Oh i need the diet/exercise regime 2! I din managed 2 lose my xtra weight at all since delivery. Seems like my fats happily stick wif me. ;(

jass1408,

ic,. guess i will try 2 steam veggies, blend, then add 2 the porridge. ;p

oh hw abt the stock? i use ikan bilis and "ba dao" 2 mk the stock.

my bb sitter add dried scallop into porridge & fed my gal. i kena shocked! i tot shelltype food shd be later... Anyway i told her nt 2 give liao. I told her i very mafan. ;p

re: porridge cooking time
erlene oso has not officially started on porridge, we let her tried my son's porridge but she does not seems to like it..
anyway, i remembered when i was cooking my son's porridge months ago (b4 i have helper), the avg cooking time is abt 45min and the porridge will be v nuah.. i din use slow cooker..

esther,
we oso used "ba dao", dried scallop, red dates to make the stock..
i understand that at this age, we should not feed bb with dried scallop but can use it to cook porridge to make it taste better..

whether drinking enuff milk anot.

my gal's PD mentioned is normal 2 hv a total intake of 450ml per day (based on my gal's intake - 150/160ml per feed)

nw she into 2 meals of porridge, 3 feeds per day. sometimes cant even finish her feed.

i read a weaning book. it aso say it normal 2 drink less cos u start feeding solids 2 ur bbs..

h@ppymum2b,

ic. probably i can go get a non stick pot. (an excuse 2 buy tings again! hee..)

i find 4hrs using slow cooker very long... waste electricity aso. ;p

re milk,
i'm v confused. the books i read and my PD says that babies still must drink about 700ml a day. but some of your PDs advise 400ml+ is ok.

*headache*

re: cooking brown rice
you can soak the rice for 1 or 2 hrs before cooking. if you want, can soak overnight, too.

esther
i also hope that my gal next time won't be too tall, will really difficult to find bf. ppl told me use 2 yo height * 2, then will be her future adult height. don't know how true it is. if it's true, then, she would be abt 175cm when she grows up!!!

re milk.

wat i tink is quite normal 2 drop the milk intake leh. esp when we drop 1 or 2 feeds. My gal used 2 drink ave 700 - 800plus (many feeds)

i aso worry when she drop 2 400plus 1st time. Tat y asked my gal's PD. He say normal. I actually feel the intake abit on the low side. but then i tell myself, as long as my gal grow healthy, din reject milk/solids, she shd be fine ba.. ;)

sunny,

oh after u mention, i recall my gf told me she soak the white rice b4 cooking so tat will be faster.

re height.

use 2 yo height * 2. wat u mean ah? hw 2 calculate? my gal height nw is 74cm, mine is 163cm, hb is 175cm.

re: bb's future height
sunny, will go measure my son's height tonite & calculate his future height.. keke

oscar,
the booties u knitted r v nice..

esther,
i think wat sunny meant was take the height at 2 yr old and multiply by 2..

when u all intro new veggies, do u let ur babies eat same 4 few days b4 change 2 another new veg?

or can we simply prepare each different veg 4 everyday's meal?

broccoli - me. some pple say windy but i only cut the florets and steam them and then mix some into her porridge. seems ok.

re: new foods - i intro a new food every 2 days or so. dun really bother to eat for few days. otherwise imagine carrot day and night for few days - scared she turn yellow.

oscsar,
v cute!! wah you got time to knit ah...so good. me mega sleep deprived now.

knit one pair for arielle too? hee hee....kidding

can i ask for intro-ing to vegie, should we cook with porridge and mix or should we give one by one? i think i have not try adding anything to the rice porridge... usually from my memory, my mom use to add chicken liver, spinach and carrot for baby porridge and mesh together. my mom doesn't use slow cooker either, just normal pot and keep stirring...but she complain the rice grain here is very stubborn and takes long time to dissolve..

jass,
last time i lost weight by going vegetarian and cutting carbs...i got one colleague who lost a lot of weight by cutting off lotsa carbs too...

oscar,
the booties u knit are soooo cute ! i wish i can knit as well...

iso,
i didn't try increasing the solid portion for my son coz even with current small portion very difficult to get him to finish...sigh, he's just plainly not interested in food or milk i guess! only willing to eat/drink when extremely hungry... should i then not force him? a lot of the time we have to distract him during feeding session and use a bait for him to open his mouth (e.g. using our own food like breads, pudding etc). that's why i still maintain his milk intake and not reduce it...

re:tall babies,
i thought cayleb is tall but then i realise a lot of the babies here are taller ! wow... i need to enroll him for swimming lessons sooner then so that he can grow taller...heheh...

thx Mrs Loh. But do I mix the spinach with the rice porridge and use slow cooker cook for 3hrs? or shd I separately cook the spinach?

theangels

:p i havent try yet... i only make carrot with brown rice for him.... normal i cook the carrot den mash it. den mix into his brown rice...

all the vege i tell u, my son infantcare already make give him eat. hee..... i going to try potato this sat....

jass
i give Hillary teething rusk from Bellamy too. she keeps dropping it very often and it got dirty easily, ended up i always throw it away after she "eats" it for 5 or 10minutes, kinda waste money!!

RE. milk intake
i read somewhere (forgot where) that baby's daily intake of milk should be about 720ml.. hmm..

RE. vege puree
what vege do you give your bb?? i dunno what to give lol =P

jass,
i lost weight coz not enuf sleep. sleep at 11 plus pm, wake up at 4am on weekdays. plus i was skinny before i became pregnant. last time skinnier than now. and i think bf also plays a big part.

bellamy teething husk
it is so hard. so till now nvr give vernon yet. haha

bellamy oat porridge
any 1 interested?? vernon is not interested in it leh... and i got a extra 1 more box...

bx,

re bf.

pple say bf will help 2 slim. But nt 2 me and some of my other gfs leh.

I conclude tat probably we r more "ba ba" category. keke

vegetable puree - i've tried pumpkin, onions, asparagus, potato, sweet potato, swede (or yellow turnip), spinach, broccoli, carrots. gonna try peas tomorrow. actually i dont often puree, too lazy. i just mince the vege finely and throw into the porridge.

garfield - arielle sure have a pair one

andrea:
I'll put the rusk that bb drop under the tap and give it back to him. keep going fr living room where he is to the kitchen and back. he will protest v loudly when he drops it.

re: veg puree
i have tried spinach, potato, sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot, pea, broccoli.
thinking of tomato (remove seeds), califower... any other veg to recommend?
btw, broccoli, i give everything... the stem and florets.

yeah... looking fwd to start matthew on 2 feed of solids next weekend. - 1 cereal, 1 bee ghor (grained rice). found he didnt like lumpy food when we gave him mashed potato. think after bee ghor then will start porridge.

sigh... I'm hungry liao. trying to cut carbs by eating yong tau foo soup for the past 3 days. sob~

esther,
bf works for me and my friends. i guess it depends on individual.

lezy,
coz i need to clear some work from 4-4.45am. Quick shower. 5 - 5.45am pump milk. 5.45 to 6.25am wash pump, change, light makeup. by 6.30am must bring bb to mil's hse.