(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Artemis..my baby also surges forward when on his tummy on the mat, but I dare not let him go out of the boundaries of the playmat, coz I dun think he is very stable and may flip back and knock his head on the hard floor.

Noticed some mummies have got high-chairs for your babies..are they useful? Was thinking of getting one...but soo exp. Was thinking the bumbo will do.

vernon handsome boy!

lezy, your ruth is so expression-full! I watched her BJG video, she was very attentive during class
I think mine won't be able to sit still man.

artemis, Good idea abut distracting with a toy. i shall use a toy. Problem with the toy - everything goes into the mouth!

Sometimes my boy try so hard to flip while I'm holding on to his legs to change diaper, it looks like he's doing a handstand or some yoga pose. so scary

Cheryl..I already have the bumbo..so dunno whether I still need high chair. Is the ikea one good? Like not very soft and comfy as compared to the few hundred bucks ones.

ya..mine is ikea high chair...with tray. now high chair comes in RED n BLUE!! paired with wjite trray very nice!

fits perfectly n ruth loves it.

bumbo...seldom sit nowadays.

lezy
nice pics! Ruth seems very happy on the highchair!

cheryl
Vernon looks very boy, very handsome in the 2nd pic!

RE. pear
how do you prepare pears for your baby? can share? thought of steaming and let Hillary try later.

RE. formula milk
finally my Hillary gets to try formula milk (S26) for the first time. am a klutzy mum, put milk powder into the bottle first and forgot about the water!! shd be add in water first then add milk powder. Hillary drank 160ml out of the 240ml i prepared for her. felt rather sad when i was feeding her this morning as i enjoy bf'g her very much, sigh =(

RE. S26
anyone giving S26 for baby? any reviews?

RE. highchair
Hillary loves her highchair, now she hardly sits on her bumbo. instead, her big softtoy is sitting on the bumbo. we got the ikea highchair, cheap and good!! yea agree with lezy, the red one which is the new colour from ikea is very pretty.

the ikea high chair is easy to maintain. i did consider getting those 'higher ends' one. we look n look so long at robinson's.

but ultimately, we decide that high chair is for feeding (mostly) and it should be 'easy to clean'.

the simpler the better. as long as it's safe.

sweetpea, or else maybe u consider getting the tray for the bumbo. if still can fit ok lor. i think most of the advice for high chair is cuz babies may not fit in bumbo for long.

but ruth can still sit in her bumbo. just that she seems to prefer high chair..

Cheryl, ur Vernon rather handsome...

Lezy, ur photos are well taken. Ur gal's so expressive.

Happy, back then, the tiny love...fisherprice...all don't have that steering wheels type of toys as I was very desperately scouring all over the malls in Arizona for them. So ended up have to make for him for our long trips driving up to LV or San Diego lor...anyway, handicrafts materials were easily available so I just bought and make lor. I was also making swaroski jewellery for sale too.

Flipping and changing diapers,
Lol...me also have this problem. We solve it by cleaning her buttocks her way. Whichever position she stays put, we clean as it goes. Then fasten the tab within the second she flips back to her back.

Here's another of her w my hand-made hairband. This one looks quite 'ah-mmm' style hor...

1686923.jpg

And the boys at the airshow on Thursday. We met Phillip Chionh, Zoe's hubby too. He's so tall...

Bought a few books for just S$1 that day. Kids', handcrafts, National education...

1686924.jpg

hihi, i have 4 vouchers for free return air tickets to KL (Jetstar) to give away. won them in a lucky draw but dun think i can go. Just PM me to collect.
oh, to bring the voucher to Chans Bros to collect with your passport.

conditions as follows hor:
Conditions:
-Bookings must be made by 7 Sept 08.
-Travel must be completed by 31 Oct 2008
-not valid to fly during school hols (31 aug to 7 sep)
-excludes taxes of approx $125 per person upon ticket issurance which must be paid in cash oni.

wah, all the babies and kids' photos are so nice!

garfield
if i can't make it for the saturday gathering, can pass the books to cheryl?

cheryl
could i trouble you to collect it from gar? then i collect from you?

Jeannie, bkkgal, ya can try putting bear/dolly in pram and see if it works. For RaeAnne, MIL puts her in her pram to feed her with solids so she's quite happy sitting in the pram. It's the car seat which she hates. Raining tonight so no chance to put back the car seat, hope tomorrow can put it back.

High chair, I bought a second hand Mamas & Papas one for RaeAnne at $80. Actually, didn't check if it's a good price. :p Got it because RaeAnne has a Mamas & Papas Changing mat (on loan from colleague) which she loves so thought of getting something similar. Haven't try it though.

Very demoralised today cos my boss hinted to me that cannot take too many days of MC cos HR does track and it affects promotion. Alamak, I'm already trying to juggle my work and family as best as I can. Working full time but bringing baby back every night, every night not enough of sleep cos taking care of baby and doing night feeds, BF etc. Never work part time though I wanted to cos dept short handed. Feel guilty that missing out on baby's milestones and growing up stages cos working full time, never spend enough time with her. Fall sick, take MC, but no one pity you, somemore say affect promotion. Feels so demoralised, wonder why FTWM so 'cham'. Work so hard still Liang3 tou2 bu4 dao4 an4.

kitsune
how can taking MC affect promotion?? they so calculative, wah liao..

amy, bkk
u guys so lucky to get to stay overseas, i always wished i had that chance!

Isobellies, ya lor, I'm shocked too. Sigh, anyway, if you work quietly without expecting pay raise or promotion then everything is ok. If you start having expectations, then they start having higher expectations of you lor. Sigh, so sad. 14 days of MC a year, not as if I took a lot, sometimes 4-5 days a year a lot meh? The only time I really took a lot was last year but that's because gynae ask me to rest for my pregnancy, what can I do? :/

uploading mroe pics now for the BJG.

kitsune, sigh, i guess that's still very 'old skool' mentality. eg my dad n mum, last time when i took mc for certain times, they will ask me - 'eh u keep taking mc your boss won't be upset or what meh'. i'm like...i got MC mah, not say i bribe doctor or what. anyway, sick still want me to go office meh? As long as my boss happy with my work, he doesn't care but not say like every other day take mc la.

i'm lucky to work in a pro-everything org. Work-life balance in high priority, though there are still alot of people who work overtime or bring laptop home and work in the wee hours.

i even had this colleague who BEFORE coming back from maternity leave already got her promotion. and i felt she wasn't very high flyer or what. ok la. but not those super outstanding.

in fact i think people are very sympathetic when i was pregnant. can even sleep at my desk. haha.

Hi June! June childishmum right? Glad to hear you are alright. How come you don't visit the thread often anymore? Hope your bb gets well soon.

Kitsune
*hugz* Many of FTWMs share your dilemma and feelings. I feel guilty, frustrated, fed-up, conflicted every time bb reaches a significant milestone or if someone says something to trigger. We just have to manage this as we go along if we wanna continue working. I don't know abt you but i know i will FAIL miserably as a SAHM.

Hb and I felt like we were missing so much on her milestones that we decided to get a camcorder and teach our caregivers to film her so that we can watch when we get home. It's so frus to come back and hear them say "today she learnt to do this" or "she can do that, did u know???" so we thot aiyah, make them record and show us loh! so maybe if you wanna continue to work, you could install a webcam so you can watch raeanne while at work? or ask your caregiver to take many many pics/videos of her?

It's so unfair of your company to say that. I wonder if they say that to the men or is it just to the preggy women and women with kids. As long as the work gets done, what's their problem? I go on MC but when I come back, no one covers me what, I still have to put in extra hours to finish the work! it's equivalent to not taking right? Same goes with leave.

The only time people will BEG you to take MC is if they know you got something damn contagious! hahaha, like that time SARs, cos my hb work in hospital that deals with SARs cases, my boss straightaway tell me to stay at home, no need to show MC, no need to see doc, just quarantine myself at home with laptop and work. haha, in the end, nothing happened! hee, i got 2 weeks to rest at home. People are selfish in that way. *shrug* what to do.

sorry long post :p pls porgive and have a good day ahead

re high chair
i have one of those nice high back cushiony ones and i hate it! my bb sweats sooo much, even if the fan is faced to him. wah liao. it was recommended to me by my friend, and has won a lot of awards, but obviously in ang moh countries where it's not so hot.. :p

re work
lezy, are you in civil service? actually bkk gave me an idea, kitsune, maybe if you have cough, you should say it's something like tonsilitis which is very contagious, but since they don't want you to take MC, bo bian, but just in case your colleagues start to feel itchy throat, let their GPs know it might be that. that should scare your colleagues, guarantee everyone feel itchy after that!! LOL

i think if someone is genuinely sick, whether it's just the flu, they should definitely stay home and not pass it on because in the end it affects productivity what. tsk!

June,
Valerie also fake cough. Learn from my no.1

Kitsune,
Take heart. My co worst loh. Still surviving here....

Pigeon Breastpad
Anybody keen to take over Pigeon breastpad 36+6pcs? I have 4-5boxes. Will give 1box of Chicco breastpad 30pcs FOC + 2pair of Avent breastpad if you taking all at one go.

good morning mummies,
upon request, i would like to open a spree on Babycentre. Mainly for the toys. Clothes are welcome too.
There are some toys that's highly recommended:
(1) Brightlings Exploration Station
http://store.babycenter.com/product/code/16264.do?scid=SSE:SHPNG&srccode=cii_13736960&cpncode=12-64587380-2
this item is OOS at other places and cheapest at Babycentre

(2) Brightlings Builders
http://store.babycenter.com/product/brightlings+builders.do?search=basic&keyword=brightling&sortby=shortdesc&asc=true&page=1

(3) Discovery Ball
http://store.babycenter.com/product/toys/developmental+toys/discovery+ball.do?search=basic&keyword=brightling&sortby=shortdesc&asc=true&page=1

As the toys are quite bulky, the collection of toys will be at my place only.
For clothes, can meet up/post.

Any of you interested? Please PM me your order list.
I will be quite busy until end of the week.

good morning mummies !!

i am sooooo sleepy... my gal is down with cold.. nose keep leaking.. so poor thing...

Highchair: we bought her a high chair from ikea too. need to let her know that sitting on the highchair means for meal. try not to confuse her and feed her at different place at home.

hope can train her not to run around next time when she knows how to walk during meal time.

the red color is so pretty !!
1688115.jpg
1688116.jpg

Sat afternoon play date
Date: 13 Sep

Interested:
1. Garfield9
2. Bkkgal
3. Dor (if not taking a nap)
4. Xiaoyun
5. Jeannie
6. Happymum (if not going to MIL place)

Anyone interested please add on ok? Sorry if i missed out anyone.

Dor suggested tumble tots trial at parkway parade. There is one session at 515pm to 6pm. Anyone keen? If not, can arrange to come my place.

re TUMBLE TOTS TRIAL (Parkway Parade)

Date: 13Sep
Time: Late afternoon (to be confirmed exact timing)

Pricing: $23
(This is special price, as they are opening up a session just for us. usual price is $30)

Minimum: 5 babies
Maximum: 10 babies (if only one parent joining); 6 babies (if both parents joining)

Interested pls indicate:
1. Garfield9 (bb + 1 adult)

re TUMBLE TOTS TRIAL (Parkway Parade)

Date: 13Sep
Time: Late afternoon (to be confirmed exact timing)

Pricing: $23
(This is special price, as they are opening up a session just for us. usual price is $30)

Minimum: 5 babies
Maximum: 10 babies (if only one parent joining); 6 babies (if both parents joining)

Interested pls indicate:
1. Garfield9 (bb + 1 adult)
2. Bkkgal (bb+1 kiv hb)

bkkgal, isobellies, lezy, thankful ya lor, I also think it's so unfair. But what to do, unless I quit and stay home to be SAHM, the prejudice will always be here lor.

Hi June, long time no see.

kitsune,
i know how you feel. ever since i was preggie - i have been mentally prepared that my career will remain stagnant.

my colleagues/friends with grown up kids tell me that she will only be mummy and daddy's girl up to about 8 to 10 yrs old. thereafter they will want independence. so these are the "golden years"

so i tell myself that even if there are no prejudices, i want to dedicate my time and energy to my baby girl. as a result, i cannot expect my career to progress like it did over the past 10 years.

it's a conscious choice. and there is a price to pay for everything. once you make up your mind to dedicate yourself to your children, it will make it easier to accept the situation at work.

anyone wan to buy a SONY white DSC-T2
comes with tripod, extra new sony batt, 3 yrs warranty. i juz bought 3 mths ago, hardly use coz my canon one still doing well.interested, Pls pm or email me your best price.

bkkgal,
the one that i want to buy is 8 x AA rechargeable batteries.
there's another set sold on the website that consist of charger and adapter for C and D Size battery.
The adapter is just like a plastic cap that makes the batter bigger. Not very fancy but it works.
Most normal charger can charge AA and AAA batteries. I couldn't find charger for size C, D and rectangular shape batter though.

Hi SweetPea,

Can i know where did you get the bumper play mat for your baby? Wanted to get 1 for my baby Andre too...thks ;)

Regarding all this prejudure against mummy at work, it do feel very frustrated.

Actually i dun quite understand Garfield point. What do you mean by Golden years. What will happen to us once our babies reach that age. Can we still cheong for our career anot...

Xia Yun,

The booster seat you were saying is the type that can put on dining chair and 'car seat' as well? Any pic to show... thks alot ;)

i'm also half prepared to just be happy that i'm employed even though i belong to a pro-family organization.

work (and financial independence) is a plus. I agree with Gar that we can't be spending less time at work and still be expected to be given big promotions.

i know some mummies can work late everyday and leave baby to maid/IL/grandparents. i think it's a matter of choice and nothing wrong with it.

But in some manner, we also need to adjust our expectations of our 'career'.

i think easier for me to say cuz i've never been ambitious about career. money enough to spend, can liao. i value quality of life more and that i have time to spend with family (not just baby but also my parents etc).

I need some helps... I thought of bringing my 6.5mths bb for a swim.

Does anyone know where can I get arm floats?

Many thanks.

kellie,
sorry wasn't clear. i coined the term "golden years" to refer to the early years when our children crave for our attention (it's that special feeling when you walk thru the door at the end of the day and our baby's face lights up to see us).

when they are older (i am told 8-10yrs onwards), they start having other priorities, distractions and will no longer feel the same way about us. i can remember my teenage years - didn't want to be seen hanging out with my parents cos it was considered "uncool".

10 years from now, do i want to look back and say that i cherished every day of those "golden years", or would i be regretting not spending enough time with my baby. for me, i don't wanna regret.

what does it mean for my career? at this point, i'm working just as hard. but it means that i leave on time to be home by 7pm, settle baby and housework by 9pm, and resume work thereafter till about 11pm.

am i working towards a promotion? the answer is i don't expect one. of course if the coy thinks that i have the potential to take on bigger scope - that's a different matter

i'm not saying that our careers will necessarily suffer. it's a personal choice lor.

casa,
i've not try the booster seat on car as i don't have car. :p but the booster seat i talking about has a harness to tie bb to the dining chair.
just click on the link above then you can see the picture liao.

gals,
you all not interested to get toys from babycentre?
hope can place order soon, afraid that the exploration station OOS le.