(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re organic, i read about the healthtimes. are you all going for that? read can get from supermarket readily. i want to go get liao hehee, but if you all got other brands to recommend, do share with me pls..... yesterday suppose to take, but hubby says he wants to watch movie, end up th elittle sat morning break we have end up watching dark knight.

Thanks alot for replying me on the nursing room@! i went to check out the 3rd floor nursing room liao, confirm got plug so i got hope liao, just hope wont be crowded...

lezy, my hubby also likewise, the worse is that you know he willforget to do certain thing, then you have to keep reminding him until i am like a recorder then he hates it, but if i dont mention, he sure forget.....

re baby cot, my bb is still in her cot with us in the same room leh.... never occurred to me to move her out yet.....cos if she cries then how we know? only baby monitor can help in this case?

re spree
really envy all of you, can spree together, sigh i got som much thing want to get, but always miss out the spree as i cant surf net on weekday.. and weekend i can only surf at weird hours when iw ake up to pump (before bb wakes up and my day goes bz again)

garfield, hmm I feel that whether or not your bb sleeps in yr room or in another room, shd be a decision made by you and hb only. Tell your dad very nicely that you need to respect your hubby's views because he is the dad of your child, and yr husband, so u will discuss w him before deciding. I think he also wont want his daughter to quarrel w hb over bb related stuff. ;)
On bb growing up- I dont think u are crazy, I feel 100% the same way. Even as a sahm who looks after them both everyday, I feel that the childhood years are too short. Once in a long while(when she lets me, lol!) I hold my DD in my arms till she falls asleep, and I still cant believe how fast and big she has grown, the little weeny bundle that was in my arms just few years ago. I am glad I did not hold my affections back with my DD all this time, and I will definitely love/kiss/carry and be as close to my bb as I want to be as much as I can during these few short years! So, if you really want her to be in your room for now, I really see no need to rush her into her own (she will grow up fast enuf, there will come a day she will WANT her own bed, own room because she is very big, as she will prob tell you), talk to your hb and see what you guys can work out.

leila, hey hi! Havent heard from you in a while, hope your son's sleeping will regulate soon.

SLEEPING- my DD slept in her cot in our room (next to our bed) from day 1 till just before I pop. I bought her her own single bed to put in her room 8-9mths before that, so familiarise her with it to make transiton easier. Now my bb has taken over her cot while she sleeps in her own room.

kitsune, haha I feel that its even more fun to have a toddler in the room (to us lar)! I remember fondly the weekends when my DD will wake up and then climb over to our bed to snuggle with us- thats the best way to be woken up for me.

haha, berry true true, my baby also like that now, sometimes she'll wake up and see me across on the bed, she will babble non stop until I wake up.

But also not very convenient when baby/toddler in the same room as us. We don't dare to use our master bedroom toilet cos scared the flushing and switching on the light will wake her up. Dun dare to talk to my hubby unless we whisper, somehow she's very sensitive to people talking. Forget about watching tv in the room too. Haha, plus no privacy lor, if no. 1 sleeps with us in the room, think we no need to think of no. 2 liao lor... ;)

Hi Berry,
ya, long time no come by and my boi back to his babbling during the "witching hr" again...well, at least he gave me 1 day break
And thks for ur input on bb co-sleeping...ya...m still thinking abt when's a gd time. btw, can i ask if u tried the bb legwarmers before? claims that to help protect the knees when bb r learning to crawl and well, besides it being a fashion statement, which in S'pore, kinda warm i feel...but nonetheless, it looks cute

kitsune,
think of no. 2 in the kitchen, hallway, common bathroom etc etc lor....heehee!

sunny,
I'm as paranoid as you... my girl also sleeps in her own room when she was 1month plus... now every night I'll touch her to make sure she's breathing several time before I sleep... I think one day I'll go crazy...

sunny,

yup may be he's teething. like to take things and put in his mouth. like to suck his toes too!

he was having a fever last night. luckily ok now.

berry,
that's so true! i feel soooo lucky that i can be sahm for now, becuase i'm having so much fun with my bb and watching him grow! plus i get to do things the way i want and not end up with someone who is the caretaker's "kid"

btw, i also came across this yesterday in a magazine, www.attachmentparenting.com

good afternoon all,
i am now currently letting my girl sleep on her cot in our room since i start work. feel that it's easier for us as we can sleep better this way.

yup, i also hope that she will be in this stage forever. will be very upset when she start to be rebellous. :p

anyway, who wants to organise children's place spree? i am interested in this:

http://www.childrensplace.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?exp=n&storeId=10001&langId=-1&catalogId=10001&categoryId=25913&catTree=25851,26140,25913&clearance=C

vine,
heard that healthytimes will have discount of 15% for > $200 order.
i am interested to get too.

yen,
$12 /hour ah... i am looking for $10/hour. :p (sorry sounds very stingy :p)

hiall...today v happy. after church went john little n bought quite a few caps/hats for ruth. hee.
went kiddy palace too but the hats there more expensive. those at JL only 6.90 - offer. some r reversible somemore!.

AND, if u hv safra card, it's $5 off with purchase of $30. shiok.

oh, artemis, isobellies,i wanted to do ibanking this weekend (for kidsurplus and birkies respectively) but i think my mobile number not updated so cannot get the OTP. Will transfer asap....not sure if going out later. if not tomorrow lunchtime.

Sorry abt the delay.

Re: Healthy Times

Xiaoyun, I wrote to Healthy Time and their discount structure is as below do you think it is attractive to place order with them?

-For 10% off, orders are to be at least $150
-For 15% off, orders are to be at least $250

re: sleeping in own room
chum lar, my bb now cannot sleep with aircon, he perspire a lot so with air con, he can sleep very soundly. Looks like I will have to make additional effort to transit him out.

kitsune, my boy started teething abt 3 weeks ago liao. He ok leh, not sick but this 1 week, appetite not good. Hardly can finish each feed. Over this weekend, each feed, I have wastage when in the past, he will finish up. Thats partly the reason why I thot i start on cereal since he no interest in milk. Now he also no interest in cereal, dunno how liao. He cried so hard like I torture him.

Leila, I not so adventurous leh. Hee.

Babyhope, oh dear how come dun want to eat. But as long as he's happy, should be ok bah, maybe just a phase?

re: healthy times cereal
did u pp notice tt there's lots of unfarmiliar chemical name in the ingredients?

re: rice cereal
i still cannot get my cereal consistency right..can some1 advise me..shld the texture be like porridge or very watery??

lezy,
aiyah!!! so fast OOS liao.
sad sad...

re: organic cereal
vine,
let me do some calculation..
from the website, it's $6.90.
if i can remember, carrefour is selling $6.69 when i went early this month.
with the 5% Everyday card rebate, it's $6.36. it's about 8% discount from the price published on website.

checked the NTUC online store, it's $6.93. (i suppose the NTUC also selling the same price).

For 10% discount, $6.21
For 15% discount, $5.87

for personal use, it's quite worth it to get from them as i suppose there's free delivery.
for spree, i think it's not very worth it if it means that got to make an effort to meet up for collection. but, for those who are staying nearby, should be quite worth it ho? :p

dor and those staying/working at the east, want to share? :p

btw,
anyone knows how many packets of cereal one will need? and we should feed cereal until how many months? i thought i can replace cereal with porridge once bb get used to the texture of the solid food and i can slowly introduce table food after that?

qingling,
is it? i will go back and check. the website doesn't list them out.

read from some where from the website, it seems the brand - earth's best is quite popular.
any review on that?

kitsune, hopefully a passing phase. Me so heartpain and worried that he will be losing weight as this rate its going.

re: rice cereal, I mix 30ml of milk with 1 teaspoon of cereal and get a very watery texture. My mum says I mix too much milk and 20ml shd be sufficient. Is this correct?

btw, anyone is still using Palm? I have a Sony Clie that's with me for about 3 years. The battery performance is becoming very bad.
I am now considering to get myself a new Palm. Anyone knows what are the good buys? I've long time never go and search for the price and review of palm anymore.

qingling, are you sure healthy times contains chemicals? Could those unfamiliar names be the full name of added vitamins (niacinamide, thiamine, etc)? I haven not checked lately, but from what I can remember few years ago, healthy times and earth's best both do not contain additives or junk (actually alot of the heinz and other similar grocery-store brand cereals do, can check the ingred list to verify). Unless they have changed drastically?! Can you remember what is added?

leila, I have 2 pairs of legwarmers but dont use them cause I find that it always leaves a very red mark on my bb's chubby legs. I think no harm trying, but it doesnt seem comfortable to me actually.

re: vitaglo spree
the parcels have arrived at DHL facility, Singapore this morning 6:17am!!!
we should be able to receive them this few days!! yeh!!

Berry - i will try to type out the ingredients today/tonight..the names look unfarmiliar to me..but like a lot of ingredients, while the heinz rice cereal looks more "plain".

xiaoyun
once in a while, carrefour will have 5% + 5% disc. so the cereal will come to abt $6. the promo was 1 week ago, and it didn't cross my mind to get then. haiz.

stephie,
yup. i remember you talked about it few weeks ago.
but then, i already bought barley, brownrice and mixed cereal, 1 packet each. hence, didn't go and get it.
furthermore, carrefour sometimes have the cutout coupon from newspaper of $10 off per $50/$65 spend. so, it's quite worth it.

however, i always accumulate my things to > $150 every 1-2 months time in order to be entitled for the free delivery. so, probably, the next time i got carrefour will be only next month. :p
do you know how fast is the consumption rate of rice cereal for bb?
I have 1 tin of nestle rice cereal, 1 packet of Heinz rice cereal, 3 packets of healthytimes cereal. don't know how long will it last?

re: bb sleeping
my boy sleeps in his cot in his room (also my girl's room) and i'll go to the kids' room to sleep with them.

re choosing organic cereal,

my hb who is quite into such stuff says that we should check what "organic" means as different companies use the word "organic" differently and at this point, there is no strict governance as to who can or cannot use such a term for their products.

for bb food, we should be looking out for foods that are certified free of synthetic fertilisers or chemicals.

wah... so many posts over the weekends... gd morning ladies

re: Baby Cubes:
Iso / Jasmine / Kitsune,
think the distributos is just doing online sales. They can post out the bb cubes to us, So you guys wan to order direct or i can coordinate and get the person to post it out to you guys? Iso... u wan to order yourself or i order for you coz easier to exchnage w u coz we work nearby?

1 tray of 1 oz (10 cubes) @ $12
1 tray of 2 oz (8 cubes) @ $12

postage: 1-2tray --> $1.50
posatge: 3-4trays --> $2.25

register mail: to top up $2.40.

er... this person seems to sell these part-time, so response a bit slow. FYI: www.littlejetplane.com

come to think of it, the person havent tell me how to pay him! haha~

sunny: haha like u i will go & check on bb when he sleeps, sometimes he is so quiet, i'll be worry & ka qiao him a bit so that he moves / stretches then i feel more assured haha~

berry,
thanks. i've decided to let bb sleep together in our room in her own cot. hb has agreed too =) so happy!!

for mummies whose babies are sleeping in separate rooms, you may want to consider investing in a baby movement monitor. unlike conventional audio/visual monitors (which allow you to hear or see baby), this monitor detects baby's breathing. the alarm will go off after 20secs of non-activity.

i use it at home and it really gives me peace of mind. even though baby is right next to me. cos if i'm sleeping, there's no way i can monitor all the time to make sure she doesn't cover herself with something accidentally.

garfield, if its USDA certified, should be quite safe, cause its governed under USA laws, which are quite strict about these things? (correct me if I am wrong) Which is why I dont usually pay more for organic unless its USDA certified, cause then I wont know what their idea of 'organic' mean. :p

garfield
as long as you and hubby are happy with the arrangement, dun nid bother abt whether next time will it be diff to shift bb to her own room. cos like berry said, when they grow up, they won't want to sleep with mummy and daddy liao.

something to share for Organic food:

As food prices continue to soar, consumers might find it tough to swallow premium prices for organic products. But you can save money if you're smart about buying organics.
Organic means the food is produced without pesticides, chemical fertilizers or antibiotics and generally emphasizes using renewable resources and conserving soil and water. Consumers frequently buy organic food for environmental reasons and because they consider it to be more healthful.
Organic produce typically costs 25 percent to 100 percent more than nonorganic. That premium price becomes more difficult to manage when all food prices are rising so fast. Prices for organic food have been increasing along with those of conventional foods. Here are do's and don'ts when trying to save money on organic food: Don't settle for "natural."
That term on packaging has a lot less meaning than "organic," a term highly regulated by the Department of Agriculture. When price is an issue, don't pay extra for something called "natural" or "all natural."
Do pay for some fruits and vegetables. It's worth paying more for organic versions of some fruits and vegetables that retain pesticide residue even after you wash them. Pay for organic versions of peaches, apples, sweet bell peppers, celery, nectarines, strawberries, cherries, pears, grapes, spinach, lettuce and potatoes, according to the Environmental Working Group, a nonprofit organic research group.
Don't pay more for fruits and vegetables with thicker skins that have far less pesticide residue. The group said you can skip the organic onions, avocados, sweet corn, pineapples, mango, asparagus, sweet peas, kiwi, bananas, cabbage, broccoli and papaya.
Do buy organic protein-rich foods. Meats, poultry, eggs and dairy products are worth buying as organics because they are free of pesticides, synthetic growth hormones and antibiotics.
Don't buy highly processed organics. Breads, oils, potato chips, pasta, cereals and other packaged foods, such as canned or dried fruit and vegetables, are probably not worth buying as organics unless price is no object, Consumer Reports said. Much of the health benefit of being organically produced has been processed out.
Do buy organic baby food. Baby food tends to be made from condensed fruits and vegetables, some of which might contain pesticides. Or make your own baby food from organic whole fruits and vegetables.
Do buy local. You can find organic food from local farmers markets and local producers. "The nice thing about it is it's not only fresher, but it's cheaper," said Ronnie Cummins, national director of the Organic Consumers Association.
Do try store brands. More supermarkets and large discounters such as Wal-Mart, are offering private-label organics, which are cheaper than name brands.
Do cook at home with whole foods. Dining out less could easily make up the price difference between buying organics and nonorganics. And cooking with bulk, whole organic ingredients is cheaper than buying prepared organics.
"Cooking with whole-food ingredients is quite a bit cheaper than processed foods," Cummins said. "It takes more time, but it tastes better."
Do grow your own. If you are the gardening type and have a backyard, grow your own vegetables to save some money and receive the side benefits of exercise and a regular hobby.

isobellies,
i am so used to the palm interface and i've lots of things recorded in my palm which i can sync with my computer.
so, don't wish to change to another OS.
furthermore, i like to have my devices separated - palm, handphone, MP3. so that i won't be too heartpain if i lost 1 of it. :p

bb sleeping...

currently we hv king size bed. baby sleeps in the middle taking up MSOT space cuz nowadays, she sleeps with BOTH arms wide open. Me and hubby will sleep with BOTH arms shrugged as close to our bodies as possible. haha.

I won't put baby in separate room becuz my house design, the OTHER rooms as right at the other end of my house from master bedroom. my silly hubby's great idea of wanting a 'unique layout'. so difficult to put things, master bedroom is at one corner with kitchen and living room dividing the other 2 rooms and study. my wireless point is in study...and i can hardly get reception in my master bedroom becuz of the bomb shelter i think...stupid design. i prefer squarish "conventional" design. easier to place furniture n etc. duh...

WE've got small mattress and I intend to let her transit to sleeping on the mattress beside my mattress. Currently our king size mattress is on a platform. Whole room is platform so intend to let baby sleep on floor. My cousin's baby also like that.

eh...like what babyhope said...one room on aircon better than 2. we on aircon partly cuz of mozzies and partly cuz ruth seems to sweat like nobody's business - even with aircon!

Just to share her funny sleeping position nowadays. i'm glad she's abit more 'uninhibited'. she used to be super jumpy and all crouched up. she's actually sleeping in cot (living room) and on just the pad with towels. i think perhaps the mattress insert wasn't that comfy.

1589341.jpg

lezy,
haha.... ruth is cute.
she's sleeping in the chinese word 'da4'. hands open wider than Ruth and with leg open wide too.
on weekends, when she sleep with us on our queen size bed, we got to hide at the corner of the bed in order not to squash her small limbs. :D

haha...xiaoyun...ruth is mostly just hands open wide wide. her legs are quite....erm....subdued. yours will be like a STAR isit...hehe....but ya 大 is also a befitting description.

stephie,
the last time i measured, she was 70cm. but i think she's grown again. tonigh i go measure..

is it any cause for concern if baby doesn't flip yet? ruth only flipped once or twice...but seem like involuntary. i see many of ur babies flipping like roti prata liao...

naan!!!???

so means no flipping yet also?

strangely..now i keep having visuals of the rolling pancake...anyone remember childhood...dunno if it's some storybook or textbook..got rolling pancake one??

(yes ROLLING pancake! goodness!)

Hi ViNE_Gal,

Yeah lor (about BP)... Not sure why also :p

RE : Baby sleeping in own room

Not sure if I am strange mummy but I had no problems with Danica sleeping in her own room. From day 1 she was sleeping in her own cot in our study which is connected to our bedroom (We hacked a wall to connect 2 rooms). But I find a bit inconvenient as HB sometimes needs to monitor his stocks and options in the late evening early morning and the monitors all flash on her face. So about 2 weeks before my maternity leave ended, she was shifted into her own room. Maybe our flat very small or her voice very loud, if she is in distress, we will definitely know and go to her "rescue". Mostly though, she sleeps through the night. Also the design of our flat, the right wall of our bedroom is actually the left wall of her room, so I didn't even feel the need to get a baby monitor. Now with my maid sleeping in the same room, I even more switch off. Unless Danica "voices" her displeasure loudly, I usually don't go into her room at night after her dream feed. I normally go in the morning to take a look at her sleeping cause it's so sweet the way she sleeps. <sigh>

1589492.jpg

lezy, yeah lor, he dun like to be lying down at all leh, so all his waking moments spent sitting/trying to stand/carried. If I try to put him on his front, he will lift his upper body high up and look around for few min, then flop down to suck on his thumb lol!

My boi also can flip one side and stuck there will scream for help after a few mins. This roti prata stuck half way.

Artemis
If your bp not much response if we want to get, still have the revise price or need to meet MOQ?