(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

p1nk1e,
I used Cetaphil for my no.1 when he have eczema. Now at 2 1/2. His skin is better althot at times will be red and itchy.

crazysgmum
No menses does not mean that you cannot be fertile for 2nd one. You still can concieve.

XiaoYun & Kelly,
Thanks for your help. Kelly place near my SK place. QooSan place far so can't self-collect.

Winnie,
*WAVE* Which part of SK you stay?

Kitsune,
I understand your feeling. My FIL hardly comes over my place. Since no.1 he only see him 1 or 2times a year only. My gal now also same. He simply bo chap about grandchildren.

Kitsune,
Put Avent nipple size 2, she happy sucking the milk. Switch to my breast, she immediately know the difference and cry. Kept turning her head and struggle. Sigh... The next day, her face all red with rashes....

gosh i feel like a very bad DIL...i never visit my PILs on weekends =P hubby also doesn't suggest so i don't bother.

MIL comes to my place 3x a week in the afternoons to help my mom with bb. FIL drops me once in a blue moon. that's it.

aquaduck:

sorry i got to ask a stupid question...for aquaducks..must the adult accompanying the bb know how to swim? or is the pool very shallow? er...cos i non-swimmer and myself scared of water :p

yah precisely stupid mcp ideas!

but i just feel so sick, once my fil sick he still carry bb.... only at night then my mil say fil high fever for days liao.....

may i ask,
if ours is a first time purchase 5 room hdb
if now the combine income is more than 8k, i cant buy new flat right? only can get resale? can get new EC?

thankful, i am at compassvele lane

jac, my fil is someone who hates to pay parking, so will never go shopping one. my mil also wont. if go out buy groceries, sure in a rush type. if not, they will expect we drive and we pay for parking.... now with bb seat they cant fit in too.

my mil can even hurry me on latching cos worry abt their parking at tmc wen bb is born.

yanyen,

actually shaving the hair and eyebrows are more meant to let it grow nicely in future

hi xiaoyun,

that would be great,u help me to buy the device,i pay u when we meet??can pass it to me together wif the diaper wash :>
u have my hp no,we contact each other thru sms :>

winnie:
fr wat i understand fr my frens. combine slary above 8K have to get resale liao. cannot buy new flats. get resale cannot get hdb loan. but under 10k can buy new EC

thankful:
wat sort of nursing wear do you have? got pics to see?

kinder musik trial..

Sorry pp... the person in charge hasnt got back to me so i guess 15 june is off. I will call them to check on the 22 nd june one.. U all still wanna attend the trial rite? b4 siging i suppose..i will get them to put me on waiting liat so once there is available slots i will update all of u.

Apple.. can send the pdf file too??I went kinokuniya yester and almost finish reading the How to teach ur baby to read.. very interesting book.. so motivated to do my own cards now.. think it will be quite fun to play w the baby too. Apple.. the cards u have is it 6 " by 22 "??

Jaslyn.. u still ordering the cards??

Re: ME time
Yester went town alone. do waxing, facial and shop around.. quite shiok to have some personal time!!

xiao yun,

since no one get the body shampoo, i will get it also lar.

let me know how i can collect. Is there anyone stay in the west will collect fr u?
thankful want me to pass her nursing wrap to u too...

anyone can help to advice? my baby is still refusing bottle, day time drink vry little, each time probably 50 to 70mil and can last her up to 3 hrs. in btw try to feed her, she will split out the teat. it's hard pain to see her slim down.

OMG i can't believe my MIL actually compare her granddaughter with her own daughter as a baby (ie my SIL)

she asked my FIL in front of my mom - is XXX (my SIL) cuter or baby (arielle) cuter? FIL more savvy refuse to answer. then my MIL answer herself, of course XXX cuter, baby got no hair!

if she dares to say that in front of me i'm soooooooo going to tell her off!!!

do you gals think she's super duper ridiculous?

Jeannie,

sent you the file already. Wow u read really fast. U have learnt shicida speed reading before is it? Hee

I am currently doing the Step one - flashing of single words to the baby using 6" cards. Subsequently, the cards will be smaller. The next set of cards is 5". For my case, when I finish the 6" cards, I will start with the 5" ones. So I am not sure when in your case do you start with the 5" cards. I may be meeting the GD trainer this weekend. Maybe I will ask him.

Shiok hor, go shopping and facial all that!

yanyen,
tks - will check it out!

Thankful,
Me contemplating between Cetaphil or QV.
Do you use some lotion/cream on the dry patches?

1st day back to work...
busy re-adjusting + pumping...
wat's the interval you guys pump?

jeannie:
yes, I'm gonna order it. some one emailed me that he wanna share. but quite heavy wor. u wanna come w mi. coz 1 pc will be either 25 / 27 / 30 / 35gram up to your choice. so 600pc is like @ least 15kg. it is 1 side grossy, 1 side matt.

garfield:
ur MIl seems to be living in her own world leh. hahahah comparing ur bb to SIL's infancy stage which is at least decades ago i believe.

thankful,
yes yes...i want the glass bottles pls... do you have 10 bottles to spare ? and i'll buy 4 caps + sealing disc from you since i still have 6 spares at home :p when can i pick ? i'm in dying need of containers to put my milk, have been putting in liners for few days as additional storage...such a waste

xiao yun,
thanks for the offer ! i'll get from thankful instead coz her place nearer for me

bkkgal,
i see, now that i think about it, i've not been drinking that much during the day...ok i will drink more and see...thanks !!

garfield,
wow...ur MIL really said that? if my MIL said that i think i'll definitely be angry...but i dun like confrontation so normally i will tell my hb and ask him to talk to her.. :p

jaslyn,
ya man...when i heard it my first reaction was - siao! who in the world compares their daughter as a baby with their own granddaughter?!?! comparing between grandchildren i can understand, but like you said, decades ago liao still compare. my poor mum, has to put up with my MIL all day...

tute,
i used to be like that too =P until hb refused to be messenger anymore so i hv no choice go to raise "issues" with MIL directly lor

p1nk1e: 1 only pump 3 times a day: 10am, 2pm then latch @ abt 7-8pm, last pump @ 11pm (if i havent concuzz yet) then latch in the middle of the night. quite tiring to pump @ work and its taking up quite a bit of time, esp w the washing up, tidying up hor.

jas..alamak.. so heavy...how to lug home.. u got the dimension again?? How much har??I dun mind going w u

apple.. no lah.. of course skip some chapters.. but the rough idea is there.. took a few pics of the book also.. like the different stages and stuffs.. if i got any questions then i ask u lor.. but i thinking when to find the time to do the cards..

garfield.. my MIL also similar.. but she nver compare lah. just say she looks like her own daughter.. even my sil says my baby look like her but her own eyes bigger, thn=en i say baby more cute lor.. I think cannot compare one lah.. different leh.. but if she alwasys does that then u just tell her of coz arielle more cute and pretty.. cause XXX is blah blah blah.. hehe be evil for once..

hi winnie,

ec think need to wait 10 years then can sell,if u take the $30k...

any 1 using bfree bottles?how much for twin pack of 2 bottles?wonder should bring my old bottle to recycle to get the $5 off voucher...

jaslyn,
ic!
i pumped 9am this morn, and juz came back from my 2nd pump... think should be it for the day.
go home i plan to latch on... dunno enough to for my boy or not...

xiaoyun
can help me get the mozzie device too?

pinkie
during weekdays, i pump 3 times a day - 6am, 2pm and 10pm. latch at abt 8 - 9pm.

hi stephie,
do u latch in the middle of the night?
what is the amt u yield for each pumping session?

pinkie,
i using cetaphil intensive lotion for my bb's eczema prone skin. prescribed by my bb's pd. dun think it can be found outside.

jeannie,
seems like u have a fruitful day yesterday

Stephie,
will your bb get confused?
cos mine still refuse bottle (MIL probably having a hard time today) so not sure if i shud still latch on tonite....

xiaoyun,
me also interested to know what the mozzie device is used for...

jeannie: haha i oso dunno how to lug home.. tats y i tu and tu. but i guess we have to start something ya. i think yr bb and mine ard the same bday wan rite. 21 feb? apple mention got 2 size. i am now thinking of starting off with the smaller ones. 6" x 20", 600pc @ $48. i'm thinking of opting for the 25g per pc. not sure if its too neng goor goor. haa~

apple: can check w u the dimension of the 5" card? is there only 2 size? hee if so i'll just start w the 5" card.

pinkie,
i haven't started work but imitating working hours already to prep baby...somehow my schedule similar like stephie's pumping 3x a day 5.30/6am, 12pm, 4/5pm and i latch 7/8pm coz my son sleeps rather early and i also latch for night feeds. and my son still rejects bottle i.e. drink very little from bottle though now i'm beginning to suspect he is a light eater and doesn't take much milk even during latching...

jeannie,
my son prefers his thumb than milk !

re:thumb sucking,
wah...nowadays my son really likes to suck his thumb and he can fall asleep doing this...and i can't pull it out else he wails...so i wait till he's sleepy and i pull out, if he's still sucking will replace with milk (if still trying to finish his milk) or pacifier...

Hi jeannie,

Sure no problem. Will let you know when I will be going to the USANA office to get my monthly supply. dorothy also wants to get.

Hi Garfield, bx,

You gals want to get when I go next time?

Hi h@ppymum2be,

Usanimals is S$26.

Danica is better.
Her cough only 1 - 2 times a day now.

My new maid speaks English but not very good lah. Heng that she at least understand basic English. She's got initiative about cleaning the house but I think she needs time to warm up to Danica and learn how to take care of her properly.

RE : hind milk

I'm not sure if this is a problem but I noticed that in a 180ml VIA cup, my fore milk is only 20ml while my hind milk (I'm assumming that the creamy part is hind milk) is 160ml. Will this cause Danica to get fat fat? :p

RE : www.thedreambag.co.uk

My ang mo boss coming 30 June so I will be getting him to bring back for me (read: no shipping cost). If get 2 or more got 10% discount. I setting the exchange rate at 2.75.

1. Artemis 1.0 Tog Flutterbyes - 6-18m £15.99 (£15.99 x 2.75 x 0.9 = S$39.58)
2. Crystal 1.0 Tog Jungle Friends - 18-36mths £17.99 (£17.99 x 2.75 x 0.9 = S$44.53)

Anyone else interested? Buy 4 or more got 15% discount.

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4-6 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Suntec (When? Somewhere in SEPT(weekend)
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Time: TBA
Age? 6 months onwards
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/programmes.html

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. h@ppymum2be
4. Vine-Gal
5. Blueginger
6. Qingling (sat 2-2.30pm)
7. Jeannie (sat 2-2.30pm)
8. kitsune_sg (sun 3-3:30pm)
9. Snowbelle (sat 2-2.30pm)
10. Tongtong
11. Leila(sat 2-2.30pm)(sun 3-3.30pm-TBC)(aftr 8 Aug)
12. Babyhope
13. Stephie (sat 2-2.30pm)
14. Tubao
15. Winnie (sat 2-2.30pm) after 13th Aug
16. yanyen (sat 2-2.30pm)
17. Eliaw (sat 2-2.30pm) 16 Aug
18. thankful (sat 2-3.30pm) 16 Aug
19. Artemis (Say 2-3:30pm) Any Sat after 2 Sept
20. Beautyseek (Sat 2-3.30pm) 16 Aug
21. P1nk1e

Hi jaslynloh,

I am also interested to get leh! Can I share with you and jeannie? But I think 25 a bit thin leh. How much is the 30 or 35 grams ones?

RE : uncooperative HBs

My HB NEVER helps with changing the diapers or feeding Danica or patting her to sleep. The only thing he will do is play with her. His theory, he already hire a maid to help me so all these dirty jobs no need for him to do. Even when the maid haven't come, asking him to do these things like pulling out his teeth. Have to threaten him cause I help him in his business then he will move his butt to do. <sigh>

RE : PIL

After reading all the horror stories you gals have about PIL, I find that I am indeed fortunate to have quite nice PILs even though their parenting style can be very old school but they are well meaning.

my boy is starting the teething stage where his gums is ithcy. like to bite things... he even bite me when i latch him.. ouch! i almost jump up fr the sofa as he bite me and refuse to let go. any of the bf-ing mum facing this situation? what can i do?

he is so funny, when he feel like just sucking, he will stick his fingers into his mouth. but when he want to bite things he will not put his fingers in, he will cry for something to chew on eg: hanky, teether...

tute,
mine doesn't even drink at all.
he juz wails once a teat is in his mouth

re: thumb sucking
mine also sucking very often... i juz let him be

jass,
erm... how do you know if he's teething?
mine bites me sometimes when i latch-on and he turns his head, pulling me with him *faint*
happened a few times... i tot he's juz playing...

pinkie,
have u tried different positions or experiement during diff times? my baby dun want to drink at all in a cradle positions unless he's in a super duper sleepy about to fall asleep kind of mood...so now i put him on bed and i lightly touch the teat from the side (so taht he doesn't see the bottle and he will open mouth) but even with that he would not suck for v long
so i've got to try few times...v tiring but have to do otherwise he won't get any nutrition during the day...

bx
my boy stays with my mum from mon til fri (only bring my gal home on weekdays). brg him home on fri nite. so mon to thu my mum will give him ebm in middle of the nite. on ave, yield abt 400ml per session. on days when i dun hv enuf slp, will yield lesser.

pinkie
my boy doesn't like to drink from bottle. when i was still on leave, alr tried giving him bottle at least once a day. usu he can't finish the 125ml. drink abt 60-80ml most of the time. but think now he got no choice since mummy gotta work. so i think he's slowly getting use to drinking bottle.

stephie,
400ml per session! wow!! super mummy

did u have so much milk when u had ur gal?

tute/pinkie/stephie,
my bb oso dun like bottle. she will wail and wail, cry until tears come out when she see the bottle or when she feels the teat in her mouth. my mil and i no choice, gotta carry her walk around to distract her then she will drink. carry until arms gonna break.

apple, got the pdf, thanks. Help me save $30 and time for the book supply to come. Wanted to read this before I start on the maths and english book that I bought. Sigh... parents are tough jobs these days.

sunny, I dun mean bum wear. Bum wear swim diapers/pants are just with elastic bands which I think cannot wear too long once bb outgrown it cos will be very uncomfortable for him. The one i saw is multi size with buttons and you can adjust the button accordingly so that the elastic will be be too tight. Think its selling abt $21-22. The shop also sells sun block and thermal swim wear for toddlers. So forgetful these days, I should have just get it on the spot when I see it at the motherhood fair.

Xiaoyun, think must let your hubby know that if he dun spend quality time with his bb now, it will be less time spend with his kid in future cos when she grows up, even if he has time, kid may not want to already. I always drill this into my hubby and I think he sees the point esp cos he needs to travel for his job. So when he is in town, he will help out. I even allocate specific tasks such as bathing, diaper changing, cloths washing as father-only tasks.

Cheryl
did you get my pm on the aqua class. If have sun slot, I like to have it too. Thanks.

tute,
my MIL is the one feeding but she can't seem to succeed lor... maybe i can try to get her to try what you suggested...

Stephie,
So do you still latch-on on weekends? any probs?

p1nk1e:
teething is when his gums starts to itch and he want to bite things. starts to drool also. this teething stage is prior to the teeth actually pop out, its the ithcy stage hee. some babies have long teething stage, some quite short.

re: bb dun like bottle
could it be whn u gers feed bb, they can smell the milk from your body? hence reject coz they wanna latch on? sometimes my boy rejects bottle when i feed him but when i pass him to someone else to do the feeding, he will be ok. dunno y, sometimes he let me feed him using bottle.

Stephie: Wow... your supply is so gd! envy u leh. i'll can get at most 200 per session.

Artemis: u oso wanna share the blank cards huh. okok.. erm... actually u gers prefer which size and weight? how many u wanna?

bx,
i think it's about the same during my girl's time.

pinkie
yup, weekend i latch on fully. so far no probs. *cross my fingers*

babyhope
hi 5. me too assign bathing, and cloths washing as father-only tasks. diaper changing will also try to 'throw' to father when got chance.

jaslyn,
no leh... i tried the method of someone else feeding him, even to the extent of me going out but still no success...maybe i'm gan cheong also now i feed him every 2 hours since he drink so little... plus i try to catch him before he become sleepy, once he's sleepy he'll be cranky and only drink 10ml then after that will push teat out of his mouth...

jaslyn
no leh, in fact if i bottle feed my boy, he seems to be more cooperative then if my mum/hubby does so.

re: milk ss,
prob cos my interval is 8 hrs. that's why that amount.

re:milk ss,
mine is super inconsistent...sometimes good, sometimes ok... i can feel ss went down after i pump only in the afternoon but overall still enough for my son who doesn't drink much + freeze 1 pack for storage.

stephie,
lol...answering almost same time with similar tone... :p how much does ur boy drink now ?

tute
haha...yalor, wat a coincidence. :p always prepare 125ml for him. usu can't finish. on ave i think he drinks abt 80 - 100ml. my mum noticed he'll finish the bottle when he's sleepy so she'll try to catch that moment to feed him.

stephie &amp; tute:
u both have gd supply. i gotta mix feed (bm / fm). not enough bm for bb. but ok lah.. mix feed @ least i'm not so stress hee~