(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pinkie,
I have one old medela bottles. Not the new type. Used sterilise then seemed to have soften and melted. Don't know why also. But the other old one is still ok. Hard. The new type also hard. Maybe the steriliser spoilt it? I also don't know.

Stephie,
I used nursing bra during weekends. Weekdays I used padded bra with breast pad. Nursing bra can see the layers and can see nipple shape. It is no-no especially going out and in office.

Jaslyn,
For the sake of our bb health, we have to forgo our nice breasts.

No. / Nick / Weight / No of pieces
1 / jaslynloh / 300g / 250
2 / qingling /
3 / artemis /
4 / jeannie /
5 / Leila /
6 / Thankful / 250g / 200

Thankful,
hmm... mine juz bought for my boy leh... used abt 3 mths nia...
i didn't notice using my pigeon but in office, i use microwave sterilizer, put for 8mins then soft soft...a bit scared.......

hi ladies, wanna ask, if we got red eyes, will it spread to bb?

my mum just called and said one of her eyes is red, she scared will spread to bb leh..

tongtong,
dunno... but most impt thing for now is make sure your mom dun touch/rub her eyes and touch bb, juz in case...
and maybe good to call your GP/PD to check?

thankful
yalor, wear nursing bra sometimes can see the nipple shape. v unsightly. so i try to wear dark colour/thicker clothes to camouflage.

thanks pinkle. tonight will bring her to see doc if condition worsen. mum said she is a pirate now cuz covering the affected eyes with plaster and wool :p

tongtong: think ur mum has to be careful. she has to wash her hands before touching bb or his things, tats how i feel lah. if i'm not wrong its spread by touch le.

tongtong,
good idea to coverup too

yeah, can also ask doc if will spread to bb when you bring your mom to see doc

re: nursing bra
do you still use bra pads when you wear nursing bra?

xiao yun,
which west side mrt? maybe i will get my sis to help cos i might b on business trip. maybe u can pm me ur contact or let me know ur collection point(s) so tht i can arrange wth my sis?

pinkie,
If I found the bottle soft soft after using microwave, then I would throw them away. Better play safe. Maybe Pigeon bottles cannot use microwave to sterilise? I wear bra pad or disposable pad cos don't want to let the nipple shape be seen or to stop BM from leaking out. Even if I wear non-wired padded bra, also wear. If see pad shape also very unsightly.

Stephie,
Yours can't see the breast pad when you wear nursing bra?

Tongtong,
Play safe better.

tongtong, eye infections (pink/red eye esp) are very contagious, thats what my GP told me the last time I had it. Spreads v easily, so need to take special care not to touch that eye at all if touching bb.

Thankful,
Me using Medela...
Medela bots haven't steam already soft leh...
Those bots oni used less than 10times... *faint*

cheryl: huh, your son got bronchiolitis now.. haizz.. i tot that time you said your son's cough ok liao? how come developed till this stage.. pls take care ya

sunny: dont get upset. your hubby sama-sama with my hubby. after i told him off nowadays he started to do things automatically liao. everytime when he comment that i'm so skinny, i will say it's his fault cuz never help out.

Thankful. i'm doing the 12-14hr pumping interval now. yea, ss drops
i will start to resume my goat rue now ..now have started to clear my stock in freezer already. hopefully can TBM till one year. hey your ss power leh!! so if drop also doesnt matter hehe.

BM nutrients : will BM have all the nutrients too even when bb is > 2 or 3 years? issit still better than FM?

bra: pinkle, i wear non-wired bra .. yea i'm prepared to have saggy boobs :p

tongtong,
SS already dropped when I prolong my pumping. That time more ss more chiam. Pain and engorged when time not up yet.

BM best for anti-bodies. Nutrients better get from FM and the food we are going to intro bb when 6mths old onwards. That's what Nutrition Doc told me for no.1

goodbb,
Sorry I forget the brand of the glass bottle. It is BPA-free. the plastic btl of the same brand too are BPA-free. It is an american brand.
Not so fast. After a week on "Your bb can read" program, she is giving me headache. She babbling alot n can say "Hi" which is the first word is the DVD.

Garfield,
My MIL sama sama. One day when BB channet was super cranky, she asked me if I was like that when I'm a baby.
Every now n then, she will say bb cot no good, taiwan bb cot better.
There was once when my FIL told her that a jar of preserved plum was spoilt, warned her to check & discard all the taiwan preserved plums if they are too. She claimed, without checked on the rest of the jars, that taiwan plum will not spoilt. I laughed up-side-down.

If anybody is interested in "your bb can read", Gain IQ is promoting Dr Titzer's flashcard. buy a tin of Gain IQ, get one set free.

Garfield,
One of the idea Dr Titzer's concept is to talk in a high pitch to catch bb's attention. teach bb music notes as early as possible.

tv,
my ger so addicted to tv tt she turn her head towards the tv whenever she can, ever when i latched her. my hubby blamed it on me.

tv
blueginger - not your fault lah, they are just attracted to the lights and colours. think they are only addicted if they make noise to tell you they don't like a certain channel, haha!

i'm eagerly waiting for my DVDs from apple so i can start letting my bb watch, after 4 months i'm starting to not know what to do with him every day.. haha..

oh, the supplier in the west ah. i can go cos i live in the west, maybe i can buy

I want to start the reading n maths programs..seems like a lot of flashcard - apple..can i check with u for the Maths program, how many flashcard is there in the kit? Also for the reading kit?

2 / qingling / 300g/ ???
3 / artemis /
4 / jeannie /
5 / Leila /

medela bottles :
pinkie - i dun have this prob leh..i use the microwave to sterilise in the office (using the medela steam bag). at home i use the avent steriliser.

did u check the timing?

leila-i did not DIY the card becos lazy lol i bought it from GD distributor so i dun have contact for blank card.

qingling- the english card

21 Visual Stimulation cards - From birth to 4 months
Large reading word cards - 623 Single word cards - From 4 months onwards;
100 Couplet word cards; 60 Phrase word cards; 20 sentence cards
151 Sentence Structure word cards
30 Erasable blank cards - Create your own words
total card in the GD Read set is 1005 card

As for the Math

Dot cards in black 0 to 20 - from birth upto 3 months old
Dot cards 0 to 100
Number cards 0 - 100
total 223 card for math set

stephie and thankfull... u all are really my idol too!! So much milk!!! Can sell already .. hehe..

Re: what bra..

I also wearing underwired nursing bra.. so far ok.. does not affect ss.. even wearing underwired my breasts already saggy cause always droop when i pump.. sigh.. but my breasts is not ultra firm to begin w.. I cannot wearing normal cotton bra.. cause can see nipples and no shape.. i dun like it..

RE: BF
Sorry for my ignorance.. but when u all breastfeed the baby.. wont there be let down on the other side?? U all wear nursing bra and put breast pad or u all actually collect the milk?? if collect.. what to use?? I am not latching so a bit confused..dunno what to do.. or even when u all pump.. then the other side let down what u all do?? normally i will use e milk bottle cover to collect the milk while i pump away..

Re: engorged
Wah today pump at 8 + in morn then all e way till 9 + then pump.. super hard siah.. and i think i got a bit of fever because of that. But no choice.. went JB to repair car w huby.. how to pump in malaysia.. their toilets all squat one.

Re: breast milk
Pinkie.. i think like what thankful say should mix feed.. dun always feed frozen.. should give fresh also. Actually i also have quite a bit of frozen milk.. but i dun really like to give baby unless bo pian..i will try to give fresh ones and supplement w frozen if i am working.. cuase frozen ones really doesnt taste that good leh.. pity baby.. and somehow i just have the idea that fresh/chilled is better. But at least u are lacthing 2x a day so thats fine.. i dun latch so try to give fresh/chilled.

Re: stop bf

how to stop bf har?? must get med from doc?? or just decrease in pumping interval??

Artemis!!! u also my idol.. wah... 80% hind milk?? hehe.. ur ger must be super chubby soon.. haha.. but very cute.. dun worry.. they will lose thier baby fats one lah.. mine only 20 % and i already feel that it is quite oily... urs must be super oily?? hehe.. difficult to wash bottles?

oopps... the whole post is on bf...:p

2 / qingling / 300g/ ???
3 / artemis /
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila /

wah apple so many to prepare?? sian.. if we want to use chinese characters can we use the same cards??

Jaslyn.. got printer?? thats good.. cause my handwriting is so horrible..pity my students!!!

cheryl.. i understand.. my baby also cry and cry yester day evening onwards.. then i realis ethe diapers she wear cuts into her skin.. got rashes ( btw, its drypers) changed it. then she was ok for a while.. after that also cry.. dunno what she wants.. and somemore yester morning i actually have the thot of taking no pay leave for half yr but after yester evening.. i thot to myself.. erm.. i think i better go work.:p

qingling.. can start maths meh.. thot after 6 months..

Wah apple.. really a lot of cards!! actually how much is the whole thing can pm me if not convenient to say here? I am just curious..:p

BX.. i will be going simiei next week to do nails after going to sch.. can meet up w u leh!! u stay near mrt??I wanna carry ashlynn!!

BTW cheryl.. is vernon ok??

Stephie.. so ur baby is at ur mum hse everyday?? can i visit him w my baby?? so my baby got playmate next time.. skali can go same nursery!!Erm.. will u/ ur mum mind?? Its ok if not convenient.. i thot can drop by since only 3 floors above.. hehe..

thankful, glad to hear that bb's latching again. Got first time, sure got second time. congrats!

I always pump 30-45mins at office, after washing up, locking up lactation room etc sometimes 1 hr, very paiseh. Waiting for boss to scold me but luckily she hasn't done that yet. ;)

Me at fairmont singapore today, booked 1 night stay using amex hotel voucher for $140. Bought a new laptop at pc show so that next time can surf wireless at home, more convenient with bb.

jeannie - can leh..i read the book say good to start from birth too..1-20 in black dots for birth-3 mths..after tt 3 mths onwards swtich to use red dots 0-100.

apple - wah..the english cards so many??!!!

kitsune.. fairmont is the swissotel one rite.. previously raffles the plaza? I dun like the new name leh.. doesnt sound expensive... hehe..

wah. kistune. good leh.. liek that dun nees to work for 1 hr.. haha.. if only i also can..

jeannie,
u going to stop bf soon ah?

how come u come all the way to simei to do your nails? u bringing baby gwen? ya, i stay near mrt
u cfm which day wif me again. next thur and fri i got full day school.

bx.. i used to stay tampines leh.. and my sch is at pasir ris and i got package at simei so thot might as well meet u since u stay there. Actually i can do my nails anywhere lah.. ( nail palace, quite a no. of branches but i quite used to simei one)

I not bringing her leh cause i coming from school.. got to go sch from wed to fri. I had remedial during my 1st 2 weeks also.. next week can school to get reeady for work!! prepare stuffs lor...

I serioulsy thinking of reducing from 6 months onwards.. whatever i have from 6 months will be used to make cereal or add into puree for her.reduce ss lor..sian of my big breasts.. all button clothes cannot wear.. and i think 6 months is a good time to cut down..

jeannie,
i see. i oso got package with them. dun really like it coz they are very pushy on their products. wah, u need to travel very far to sch leh...

what is ur approximate daily output of milk ss now? mine is about 800ml per day. sometimes less if no time to pump. i dunno when i wanna stop bf totally. sometimes really so tired that i wanna stop immediately. i keep telling myself 4 mths is good enuf. initially when ss was very low, i thought i can only bf for 1 mth. so 4 mths already is an accomplishment.

bx.. i also dun like their service.. but already signed so just go lor.. yar.. i travel very far. i thot u also??? ur sch at dor's workplace rite??

my ss is abt the same as urs.. i also getting a bit tried.. somemore.. i have been pumping for 4 months.. even more ma fan.. but since got ss just carry on.. my aim is at least 6 months and see what is my thinking by then... 6 months is good enuff liao considering that my ss was pathetic initially.. hehe quite proud of myself liao.

Hi cheryl,

Sorry to hear that Vernon is sick. Hope he gets well soon. You also take care since you are sick too. Maybe can get some help to take care of him and you get back your health first? If not can be quite pek chek one. Take care okay?

Hi bx,

I will probably be going next Saturday (21 June 2008). Will post in the forum first before I go.

Hi Thankful,

This cup is I forgot to put in freezer and left in the fridge even though it was full liao. :p I think I pump till I concuss liao. So it was in the fridge for I don't know how long but definitely more than 24 hours liao.

Hi Xiao Yun,

Hahaha... piangz later Danica next time blame me if she needs to diet regularly.

Hi jeannie,

20ml of 180ml is erm around 12% only. Like that Danica won't be dehyrated? But she don't get the pinkish crystal thing lah. But her poop always got a lot of yellow bits floating around. I normally use quite a bit of soap to wash bottles. Now that I think of it, the Tollyjoy one seemed to clean better than the Pigeon one. I thought is the Pigeon one no good (cause wash liao I can still feel a layer of something sometimes and have to wash again) Never thought it could be due to oil :p

2 / qingling / 300g/ ???
3 / artemis / 300g / 300
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila /

RE : sterilising at work

I am using Pureen sterilising tablets in a big Lock & Lock container. I find that got a very strong chlorine smell. EBM from such containers okay a not?

jeannie,
yup, my sch is there. thinking of transfering.

ok lah, going to bed liao. catch up with u more when we meet up. i pm u my mobile.

nitez ladies...

jeannie, yup, they changed name recently. Luckily my vouchers still valid. Hee. Just had a nice bubble bath, hubby still sleeping since we came back from pc show at 8+pm. He don't like tech stuff, he looked so bored and impatient there while I walk all over trying to find the best deal for my budget. Sometimes I wish he's more a typical guy. Sigh.

Jeannie, no good lar, waste so much time, sometimes too stress, no letdown, if stop by 30 mins, not enough for bb's 1 feed, not here not there also. My target is 6 mths too, now my MIL more kancheong than me to stop, keep asking when to start giving cereal, last time she's the one who's pro BF. haha.

tongtong,
saggy b**bs... sigh!
maybe i try 1 wired bra and see how... look at myself in the mirror - super demoralising ah!

blueginger,
wow, your bb can say "HI"?
impressive... which version did you get?
VCD or DVD? are they the same in terms of content...?

tubao,
tks! i'll try to look around there

qingling,
my fren who lent me the microwave sterilizer (container) told me 8mins leh... juz now i checked the bots, like went back to its usual shape liaoz...strange

jeannie,
same here! b**bs saggy + shapeless, wear clothes not nice one...
when i latch-on, i use breast shells on the other side to collect the milk... sterilizer the breast shells and you can actually collect/store the milk. i usually yield abt 20ml on AM feed, but always throw 'cos lazy to store since i fully latch-on... :p

erm, what's the "cards" you guys talking about?
need to make flash cards?? *faint*

jeannie-Can use the same card for the chinese also.As per what qingling said math can start earlier than english and chinese.it better to start early as baby movement is limited n will sit there guai guai n see haha

i'm so out of touch w all of u.. anyways, now watching italy vs romania.. so sad.. it's a draw now..

re: bf
still on tbf as well.. past week was really tough.. ss dropped for 2 days.. super stressed! luckily back to normal already..

re: hind milk vs fore milk
i realised my milk is not tat oily.. maybe i dont consume tat much fats or oil? maybe explains why my bb is supermodel type.. just can't seem to fatten him up..

2 / qingling / 300g/ ???
3 / artemis / 300g / 300
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila /
7 / eliaw / 300g / 300