(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

apple
wah, the flash cards not cheap hor. i'm having 2nd thoughts now, hahah..

re baby sign
i definitely plan to teach bb some simple signs like milk, water... my nephew is now 15 months and still not talking, but he can understand a lot, so i think if they know some basic signs then they can communicate with us easier
and i think our lives easier also, no need to always guess what they want!

seriously, cos i dunno better...my approach is to let my bb try out a variety of activities and then let her engage in whatever she enjoys!

if she likes talking, i will talk to her
if she likes singing, i will sing to her
if she like flashcards, i will flash

my baby is THE QUEEN =)

eliaw; really ah? I also got read leh.... but din rememebr they say can only start from 6 mths. In fact the trainer say can start maths earlier than english and chinese

kelly, bb can grow without having solid after 6 mths meh? if my son can go only with milk till 11mths very good too!!

qingling
wat i did was to keeping repeating the sign to her. for eg. when i ask her "do you want milk milk", i'll do the 'milk' sign as i ask. then gradually, she will learn. when she wants milk, she'll do the sign. if she wants more, she'll do the more sign. 很好玩。

garfield
wow, you are a 二十四孝 mum. i very bad, sometimes when my girl ask me to sing with her/read story book to her, i'll tell her 'no time/do it yourself' or watever excuse i can think of if i'm very tired.

tongtong
it's hard to describe/read. i went to youtube to see
but they only show certain ones. still trying to find other videos that show more signs, or guess have to try and find other mums who do the same... i looked through some books and find the "instructions" quite difficult. much easier if you can see how it's done!

apple
the bb einstein DVDs, is that being sold anywhere? so i can go take a look?
i saw borders got some cute flash cards, but the one i saw was for older bbs.

pneumococal jab

anyone giving bbs this jab? the nurse told me it cost 600+ for 4 jabs, if taken before 6 mths old. after 6 mths, 3 jab, after 1 year 2 jabs, and dunno before 2 yr is 1 jab. something like that

how much are you all paying for this jab btw?

happymunm.. tahnks for ur concern.. is till sick today.. diarrhoea a few times.. and baby getting naughtier. cries for attentnion.. no time go toilet.

Kelly.. hehe.. paiseh..

Stephie and berry.. i agree q garfield lah.. this kind of thing no stress one.. just do whtaever u think is best for ur kids..all kids are different.. as long as she happy and enjoying herslf can liao.. I also taking it easy.. intend to bring her out to parks, garden, zoo.. and other places to let her interact w the env more when she grows up..

Cheryl.. thanks.. so it is tubao..

hi isobellies,

can post the youtube links to c the bb signs?
i thinking of just teaching the basic signs

what are the bb signs for simple ones like 'milk', 'please', 'more'??

bb talking

heard gals can talk earlier than boys??any exp mums can share if this is true?

Isobellies, I not too sure leh. Nowadays I shop online haha.

wow the jabs are so ex. But its better to take the jab when they are older? So they will need lesser jabs..

tongtong: my boy took pneumococcal liao. 150 per jab by GP. on the same day as 5-in-1. it will be 3mth, 4mth, 5mth, 1 yrs & 1.5yr i think.. forget the schedule. heart pain.

tongtong
ya, difficult to describe the sign here. for milk it's something like 'clenching your fist repeatedly with your thumb pointing slightly up'. next time if got gathering, can show you the simple ones that i can remember.

jeannie
take care and hope you hv a speedy recovery. really no joke to be sick and gotta take care of a bb.

re: pneumococal jab
> 2yrs old only need 1 jab. but i won't wait till then. will start to give after 6 mths. so should be 3 jabs in total. those clinics that i've asked quoted around $170 per jab. so ex. one mummy (can't remember who) was saying the jab cost $150 each. that's considered cheap liao. if anyone has got cheap lobang, let me know hoh. tks.

happy: have received the ON , thanks! but the body suit a bit too small for my boy leh! tot 12-18mth should be quite big liao. anyway, will let him wear it everyday before he outgrows them! hehe.

stephie: mine is @ bukti panjang. blk 103 gangsa rd. chong and lim clinic. i called a few GP also. thats the cheapest i can find. its cheaper to start later, but just in case lah, i tot better start early coz immune system is weaker plus the consequences quite serious leh. i read fr another forum, some bb died fr it.

jaslyn
tks for the info. yalor, that's why i will start after 6 mths. keke, save on 1 jab. for my gal she only had hers after 2 yrs old cos during her time the jab was not so popular yet.

cheryl
jaslyn not scaring you. there were really such cases. last time i attended a talk, the father related his story of how his son died from the disease to the audience. felt so sad for him. nowadays, there's more publicity to create awareness. hence, more bbs started to take the jab as early as few months old.

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4-6 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Suntec (When? Somewhere in Aug(weekend)
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Time: TBA
Age? 6 months onwards
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/programmes.html

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
7. Qingling (sat 2-2.30pm)
8. Jeannie (sat 2-2.30pm)
9. kitsune_sg
10. Snowbelle (sat 2-2.30pm)
11. Tongtong
12. Leila (sat 2pm)
13. Babyhope
14. Stephie (sat 2-2.30pm)
15. Tubao
16. Winnie (sat 2-2.30pm)
17. yanyen
18. Eliaw (sat 2-2.30pm) 16 Aug

pls note each class can only have a slot of 6 babies..

Saturday 2pm - 2.30pm
Saturday 6pm - 6.30pm
Sunday 3pm - 3.30pm (TBC)

swimming costume are required inside the pool for the parent. if not comfortable, you could wear a t-shirt over

Thanks stephie.. btw.. for the pneumococal jab.. there one cheap one very near ur mother's place.. sefton mediacl.. at the coner between holland road and holland drive.. they charge 145 per jab.. asked them yester when i wnet to see doc. They will charge once for consultaion but subsequent jabs dun need consultation.. their 5 in 1 is 85 and 6 in 1 is 110

Just to check.. if i took 1 Hep B in 1st month, the 1st 5 in one when baby at 3rd month.. then the next one will be 5 in 1 again but the last one can i take 6 in one?? instead of indivd jabs of hep B and 5 in 1 again?? but when should i take? at 5 months or at 6 months??

sorry cheryl.. dun mean to scare u lah. but i'm just paraniod. so might as well, just jab lor. cant paste the www of forum from ido tat whish i saw the info leh

jeannie: the last one can be 6-in-1. i took polyclinic package. i think that is their arrangement. but not sure when to give the jab thou.

cheryl.. sorry paiseh.. i mean 1st one at birth second one at 1 st month and last one at 6 months right?

but then if i taking 6 in 1.. when will i take the last one?? cause by right i should take 5 in 1 at 3, 4 and 5 months leh. I already took one at 3 months so can i instead of taking 5 in 1 at 5 months take 6 in 1?? then when should i take.. at baby 5 months or 6 months har?

goodbb, I dont dare to claim that I have alot of experience since I only have one child before my bb hee. But just to share, I have read before that speech-wise, girls are indeed faster than boys generally. But of course individual personality counts too. My other friends with older kids mostly do seem to think its true too.

kelly, haha, your "cha-ba-rang" comment is so funny!

cheryl: can check w u where to get water diaper for bb? i wanna bring my son to bb pool when he can hold up his head. haha

cheryl ah,
can i ask wen is the date likely to be? If aftr 8 aug, my boi wld b past 6 mths liao. i can t take the evening slot cos my boi sleeps at 7plus...so too rush 4 him wen class ends at 6.30pm. jus let me knw shd ant mummies drop out of the 2pm class. or else sub 3pm wld b gd for us.
thks so much!!!

Age? 6 months onwards

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
9. kitsune_sg
11. Tongtong
12. Leila (sat 2-2.30pm) 8 Aug
13. Babyhope
15. Tubao
17. yanyen

Saturday 2pm - 2.30pm
Saturday 6pm - 6.30pm

swimming costume are required inside the pool for the parent. if not comfortable, you could wear a t-shirt over

cheryl,
alamak, i really messing things up hor...terrible day 4 me...ah boi super cranky thks to the horrendous noise fm neighbour's renovation...stll gg on...argggggggggh. sorry hor!!!

Age? 6 months onwards

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
9. kitsune_sg
11. Tongtong
12. Leila(sat 2-2.30pm)(sun 3-3.30pm-TBC)(aftr 8 Aug)
13. Babyhope
15. Tubao
17. yanyen

Saturday 2pm - 2.30pm
Saturday 6pm - 6.30pm

Any mummies's baby after vaccination (6 in 1 & rotavirus) baby dont want to feed? My baby got fever after 1day of vaccination. he dont want to eat at all. so what should i do

hi cheryl,

i took the package at polyclinic for 5 in 1,the last jab i can take 6 in 1?how to pay for that 6 in 1?cos 5 in 1 package costs $290,think 6 in 1 more ex...

ya i found it cheap also. my friend pay for the 5 in 1 for $400+.. I know the GP since i young so she ask me no need to pay for package just go when the time is up for the jab.