(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jaslyn,
yes, email mi your orders..

Aquaduck
this is wat they reply me abt the pool

Hi Cheryl,

Yes, the pool is heated so it will be warm. The temp will around 30-32 degree.

Well, since the pool is heated, the babies don't really need any swimming costume, the water diaper (Huggies Water Babies) is good enough but if you have some pretty swimming costume, mind as well just show off.

We require only mummy or daddy to be accompanied in the water during the session. If both comes in, the pool will be over crowded.

From your list I have to split them into 3 groups and maybe I will choose those who's going to turn 6 months old first to attend the trial class rather then wait for the others.

Here are some of the available time and day for you to select from.

Saturday 2pm - 2.30pm
Saturday 6pm - 6.30pm
Sunday 3pm - 3.30pm (TBC)

Hope to hear from you again!

pls choose which time frame u all wan???

hi garfield,

i just started the tingkat with meihao99,so far still ok :>

hi apple,
for 3 subjects,how many times do u flash to ur bb in a day?all 3 subjects in 1 session?how long is 1 session?
the hand puppet books got bulk discount of how much?

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4-6 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Suntec (When? Somewhere in Aug(weekend)
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Time: TBA
Age? 6 months onwards
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/programmes.html

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
7. Qingling
8. Jeannie
9. kitsune_sg
10. Snowbelle
11. Tongtong
12. Leila
13. Babyhope
14. Stephie
15. Tubao
16. Winnie
17. yanyen
18. Eliaw

Apple.. wowo.. u start very early hor.. but good that ur ger is paying attention

I read abt the glen doman thingy online but then i asked my hubby he said later stress baby by taching them so early so now like garfield i just talk to her a lot, sing to her and play w her onli. But i watch one of teh shows on National Geographic and they say babies actually can count!!Tell us how it goes k.. maybe i will get one set in the future.

GArfield where is the gymboree thigy?? When can we bring our kids?? is ot for exercise??

Apple u shaving baby's hari?? Why har.. i still thinking to shave or not leh.. so bu she de..

Cheryl.. i will choose the Sat 2-2.30 one

apple... ur baby looks like u!! So cute when i saw the pic of the 2 of u..very alike leh.. U covered urself pretty well.. dun look lik put on a lot of weight hor.. u working now?

BKKgal.. my baby screamed last night when she was sleeping too.. leass than 1 hr after she slept.. i think she cried like 3 times.. everytime eyes closed.. must be some very bad nightmare...

cheryl
me too choose the 2-2.30pm slot on sat. tks.

Re: teaching bbs
i think i'm the most bo chap mum around. only sent my gal to attend 2 trials classes prior to 1 yr old(kindermusik and mygym). thereafter no more classes. she only started attending playgroup when she's almost 3 yrs old! haha :p

apple
wow thanks for the link! they even sell the infant crawler track - i was like, there's NO WAY i'm going to build one at home lor!! :D
i might go see if i can buy a set too. the maths one is the dots is it?

wow all the babies going for swimming classes? How much is the class? I just throw my baby into the bath tub or swimming pool to swim. So far she loves swimming. Think all babies love water.

Dawn: actually my hubby flash to her most of the times, while i prepare the cards the previous night. cos my hubby work fleixble hours and from home.

Hmmm basically everything flash two times a day. we do all three subjects back to back. Flashing of cards is very fast one. eg flash one set of 5 english cards took few seconds only.

jeannie:-
She dun pay attention all the time. You must find the right opportunity to do so. Eg when u playing with her, and she is relaxed and happy, quickly take out the cards and flash to her then. Its quite a "as when thing" to flash the cards. Thats why its suitable for SAHM.

I also bu she de although she only got little little hair. But all the great grandmothers say must shave....

I still have 10 kg to lose leh! Think in the pic I wear loose loose thats why. My baby look like me? But also quite a number of frens say look like my hubby.

Veron,
Suntec got heated pool ah? tot oni the Tanglin one got?

apple, hmmmmm flash so fast one ah? no need to read or talk to them when flashing?
ok maybe i will get one set to try too.

apple: wow.. u teaching ur bb 3 subjects? which subjects? hahah i wanna to make the cards too. but a bit lazy to start. did u make it your self (following the measurement in GD book) or buy the cards?

tubao,
your blog so funny, especially the pics caption... i love that post about emma getting a haircut !!

apple,
no lah...you're not round...i really think ur daughter looks like you...have the same smile... just now saw the video of amanda laughing...so cute, my son haven't start laughing like that yet...can't wait !

re:teaching baby,
am also a lazy mom, until now haven't bought any flashcards... so just talk, sing and play w/ him...

Isobellies- Yah the maths is the dots cards

dawn :- yah must flash fast. The idea is not to bore them.Otherwise they will not want to look at them in future. So must flash fast with enthusiaism haha. Apparently, babies absorb very fast, so flashing fast and clear is okie.I also wonder intially, but then I think I should give it a try and as I mentioned my girl show pleasure sometimes when we show her the cards,so at least there is some reponse back. Whether it will benefit her or not I dunno, can only try our best...... (maybe I am guilty cos I din breast feed her ahha)

Tubao, does your baby struggle when shaving?

Tute, she laugh so loud last night! Got a shock. Then in the middle of night during her sleep, we heard her laughing while she is sleeping ahha.

stephie,
replied yr PM liao =)

you're not bochup lah...am sure you are a great mum cos yr gal is so sweet. different parents have different parenting styles. i know of parents who focus more on letting their babies enjoy childhood and discovering their souls/character building instead of intellectual development. no right or wrong. just what you believe is good for your baby =)

garfield
tks for replying my mail

u are so kind. make me feel less guilty.
i want my kids to enjoy their childhood as much as they can. i believe intellectual development can be picked up later. of cos, if can hv both done currently then lagi better loh.

Age? 6 months onwards

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
7. Qingling
8. Jeannie (sat 2-2.30pm)
9. kitsune_sg
10. Snowbelle (sat 2-2.30pm)
11. Tongtong
12. Leila
13. Babyhope
14. Stephie (sat 2-2.30pm)
15. Tubao
16. Winnie (sat 2-2.30pm)
17. yanyen
18. Eliaw

pls note each class can only have a slot of 6 babies..

Saturday 2pm - 2.30pm
Saturday 6pm - 6.30pm

OOps,sorry I hope I am not making any mummies here feeling stressed or guilty or what.
As Garfield said everyone has different styles.

I am just sharing my experiences with you mummies.

The most impt thing besides all these is that our babies will grow well and healthy.

Age? 6 months onwards

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
7. Qingling (sat 2-2.30pm)
9. kitsune_sg
11. Tongtong
12. Leila
13. Babyhope
15. Tubao
17. yanyen
18. Eliaw

Saturday 2pm - 2.30pm
Saturday 6pm - 6.30pm

apple
no worries. i already knew of frens who expose their bbies/toddlers to different developmental activities, shicida, flash cards, kindermusik classes, ballet classes, gym classes, etc. it's jus that me and hubby not so on when comes to such activities loh. haha..for me, sat is to be spent shopping/idling in town. sun is 'visit-in-law' day. and weekdays too tired to do anything. keke :p

shd thank you for sharing so that mummies here can pick up a tip or two

hi apple,

flash one set of 5 english cards a few seconds only,so every subjects is in set of 5 cards??flash for only a few seconds,bb can catch the words?no need to read out to bb just flash will do?

garfield, hehe I am def 'old school' too, tho I prefer to think of myself as doing 'free-range' parenting. :p

stephie, you are not alone! Fun and creativity is a big thing for us, a priority in my kids' childhood. I obstinately refuse to do a single flashcard or even use multimedia as a learning tool. To me, they learn best by having lotsa space and opportunity to explore freely and for us to follow their cues on what to expose them to rather than having syllabus fixed by me.

On a seperate note, I dont mean to imply that flashcards/brain training prog and other such stuff are bad or not useful. Just that different strokes for diff folks. I am sure there are flashcard mums who are very pleased with the results they are seeing.

Age? 6 months onwards

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
9. kitsune_sg
11. Tongtong
12. Leila
13. Babyhope
15. Tubao
17. yanyen
18. Eliaw

Saturday 2pm - 2.30pm
Saturday 6pm - 6.30pm

swimming costume are required inside the pool for the parent. if not comfortable, you could wear a t-shirt over it.

Hi goodbb, you need to read out the words as you flash. Currently I am doing quite a number of sets. Maybe i can email u and let you know more. AThere is another forum where parents discuss on shicida and glenn doman methods. http://www.sgparenting.com

Age? 6 months onwards

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
9. kitsune_sg
11. Tongtong
12. Leila
13. Babyhope
15. Tubao
17. yanyen
18. Eliaw (sat 2-2.30pm) 16 Aug

Saturday 2pm - 2.30pm
Saturday 6pm - 6.30pm

swimming costume are required inside the pool for the parent. if not comfortable, you could wear a t-shirt over it.

hi apple79,
i have gd's books passed down by my friend and have read about it.. it's amazing how they describe baby's ability to learn..
i tot it's advised to start from 6 months??

anyone heard of baby signing? i bought the baby signing kit n going to start when C turns 6 months..

eliaw, bb signing can be useful IF you have the time and remember to be consistent hehe. I tried several basic signs for a while but forgot to carry on before I saw much results, and shortly after my DD spoke her first words liao. but hor, IMO I feel that if youe child is an early talker, they might very well learn to say simple words even before they have enough motor skill control to do the signs with their hands. So in a case like this, signing might not be as useful as when the child is a late-talker.

eliaw:- No leh can start even from birth. But then becos the few one two months they cannot see clearly, its using some black and white cards to stimulate their visions only.

Just wondering if baby sign is teaching baby sign language? why do u need to teach baby sign langugue. Shouldn't we teach them how to speak? Just curious only.

berry, i was thinking just teach the basic signs.. i did thought about the early talker.. then signing is redundant.. haha.. but i tot it's good way to communicate if bb can't talk but can sign to indicate..

re: bany sign
i did baby sign with my gal last time. only learned a few simple ones like 'milk', 'please', 'more'.

i tried when my gal was 5 or 6 mths old. i think it helps bb to 'vocalise' their needs thru signing cos they can't speak until they are abt 1 yr or so. research showed that bb signing helps their to speak earlier too. this i'm not sure but i did the signing out of fun and was surprised that my gal could actually sign to me when she wants her milk. quite cute when they doing the signs. when my gal started to speak, she'll do the sign and speak at the same time. i find it cute. will probably do the same for my boy. just teach him the basics signs. anyway, too cheam one i also dunno/can't remember :p

jeannie
no prob! e cream dun take up much space at my hse. it's juz tat i very busy fr now til 15jun then i not in town fr 21-30jun so if u not in a hurry, it's fine wif me

apple, i read the gd - how to teach yr baby maths.. in the book mentioned from six months..

re: baby signing
ya, i agree with stephie.. it's more for bb to communicate.. even when u teach signing, u sign n speak at the same time.. next time our bbs can sign to each other.. haha..

SIGNING
hahahah! i taught my boys only 1sign - milk. cos tat's e only sign i know. it helps a lot wif my 2nd son cos when he cant speak yet, he'll sign for milk when he's hungry (he was a milk drinker, didnt take solids until 11mths old).

GD/Shichida (right brain)
i doing something similar wif my 3kids now. my kids love flashcards so i do watever i can wif them. i also play memory games, mazes, IQ games (more wif my #1) n also other stuff like painting, coloring, lego, ball games, etc.

i more like "cha-ba-rang" mummy. everything try, everything can. i was even considering montessori prog 4 my elder kids.