(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Sorry to intrude. I’ve a couple of Enfalac HA (400g) unopened tins up for sale as my boy has moved on to stage 2 milk. Expire date is: 24 Jan 2011. Each tin going for $14.50. Interested pls PM me. Thanks!

re: ebm
when i put my ebm in the fridge for 1 day, will also see a layer of oil on top.
I didn't mix ebm from different sessions. thought it's normal cos fat is lighter then it will float on top.

tongtong my boi been drinking ebm for 2 mths liao so far ok leh.

ebm
Apart from metallic smell the taste of frozen ebm is ok leh. I've tasted before giving to my son.

Goodbaby,

I used Mustela shampoo for my baby and it really works in removing the cradle cap flakes. U should try it. As for her eyebrows, I just appy some California Baby Aloe Vera cream.. seems to work too.

Good Luck!

Happybee,

Thanks for the advice! I'm really not looking forward to expressing milk at work.. my office has no proper place to do it and my colleagues used to do it in the toilet!! The meeting rooms all have glass panels so cannot be used

Btw, my frozen BM also has a yellow layer after I thaw it... I just swirled the milk in the bottle and fed it to the baby. Is this bad? What's the yellow layer supposed to be?

Hi happy
i just got back and saw ur mesg. Yes, pls go ahead and order the flamingo set for me. I can't wait to bring dd for swim liao.

SAHM
I think being SAHM is more tough than going out to work. Need to multitask, be a good administrator (handle hh admin), manager (handle hh accounts/expense), project manager (handle repairs), clean, cook, launder, educator, disciplinarian. At work, we just specialise in 1 area. :p

Books/Toys
2nd time mommies, did u buy a lot of toys/books to entertain your bbs? I went to the bookshop and kiddy palace just now. So many toys, books, rattles, musical mobiles etc dunno whether it's useful or waste of $$. Seems like every item has different purpose like train hand/eye movt, learning ABCs, counting etc etc. My main purpose is to find something for the caregiver to show bb other than use playgym.

Can anyone advise what are the book/toy classics that we need to get? e.g. i saw some clothbooks on farm animals, dunno is it useful?

oh yes one more thing. i've forgotten like all the nursery rhymes and songs, any CD/book to recommend?

wah piang. haven't log in for the night and morning and i'm blur liao. catch up later i guess. gotta go to my mum's place now to get my girl. Enjoying the last 2 days of my ML before going back to work on Friday.

bkkgal
i also forgot a lot of the nursery rhymes. just google it and you'll find the lyrics (and sometimes the song also) online!
save $$$ (oh, unless u want to play for the caregiver...)

re: sterilising the tubing

i realised now the tubing of the medela pump (I am using SWING) has to be sterilised? opps.. i never sterilise it becos it doesn't touch the milk right..must definately sterilise ah? Now i see the tubing turned a bit greenish - i tink its mould due to the water vapour which will get into the tubing..alamak..how to clean in this case..

i wanna find nursery rhymes online. but duno where to find. any 1 knw??? google dun seem to be able to find....

nowaday my bb wont really cry more like whine or make noise, but we dun really attend to him straight away, more like 5-10min later... i feel so bad. haha....
last nite he whine 10mins so hb go make milk, and he on the light, bb quiet no more make noise, so funny

bkkgal, honestly I find most of those bb 'toys' things quite a waste of my money now thinking back. U know hor, I think there are at least 15-20 such bb toy items I bought for my DD that went untouched cause she was simply not interested! I find that the most 'educational' thing one can do for a bb is to spend time w them to talk to them, play songs or sing to them, read to them, and so on. If you are looking for what 'equipment' to help keep bb occupied when caregiver needs to do chores, then a swing or exersaucer may be a gd idea provided caregiver wont abuse it and put bb in there for long periods of time which may hinder their development.
Songs-I like this series of CDs from the WEE SING collection, you can get them at Borders: http://www.weesing.com/booksAudio.cfm

As for books, there are too many good books to shortlist. But basically stick to books with simple short sentences. For young bbs (below 8mths or so) I personally like books with real photographs as pictures instead of cartoons cause its much easier for bb to recognise and match what they see with objects in real life. Try Kino, they have a wonderful selection of such books.

sunny, talk about messy houses, I think my house has gotta be the champion messiest house ever since bb is born. :p

Nursery rhymes: http://www.zelo.com/family/nursery/

re:latching
i latched him twice!!! i not supposed to latch cos of starting work tml. keep tell myself that can only latch after 7pm

re:toy/books?
bkkgal, maybe can get some teethers?
i was at robinson just now. wanting to buy him a toy. hee, gave up as dun knpw what to get.

bx,
was told that if urgently need to consume den use warm water to thaw, if not best to thaw via "from freezer transfer to fridge" way.
this is 'cos having the milk temperature up will activate the bacteria, so best to keep it at low temperature until need to consume..
hope that helps

re: sterilizing tubing
i do it about 2weeks once...
if not, i find the exterior a bit sticky... due to dust i think - using medela twin electric

bkkgal,
same same... i face the same problem
totally dunno what to buy for bb, and feel guilty to let him have only the "bare essentials" like a playgym...
even went to library to borrow some picture books to read to my boy but he's always asleep so also no chance..

so many posts to catch up....

Pinkie,
Where did u get the sterilising bag? The mothercare which i went doesn't have. Don't tell me really have to go all the way to KK.

bb drinking volume
My baby is abt 11 weeks and she have been drinking less recently. Dunno if she is unwell or wat...Thinking of whether to bring her to PD. But then, pooing and peeing is okay lei.

She used to be drinking 120ml every feed. Last Sat, she only drink abt 300+ per day. Her feeding schedule today:
900am: 120ml
100pm: 100ml
430pm: 90ml

Most of the time, I have to wake her up. If not, she will continue sleeping...Even if the feeding time is stretched, it doesn't mean she will drink more, sometimes even less.

Do you actually wake your baby up to feed or they will wake up automatically?

Is this a phase where some babies will experience?
*haiz* any mommies have similar experience?

berry,
hee hee...good to know that we don't need many toys!! i dun hv space to house toys so was thinking of renting initially!

sgwave,
i thought i saw it at tampines mall mothercare leh... if i drop by again i help you bio.
if i'm not wrong my fren told me JL has, she went to the one at marina sq
i got mine thru fren

juz wondering, for those who BF their kids till 1yr etc., as their consumption increase, will our supply increase too?
if not have to exhaust both breasts at a single feed? enough to go around meh?

wow...wat did I miss?... whole day dun get to read much...'entertaining' 30+ Red Little Monsters from Sesame Street who chose to 'visit' me at the same time...

Gals, gymboree has 30% off everything. Anyone wants anything? I getting their swimsuit for my niece.

Anybody wants almost 100+ balls? Those used for filling up mini vinyl playpools? Need to let go. Collect from my place at AMK.

my son is back to rejecting bottle again...haiz...everyday now try giving to him but somehow i always caught him at the wrong time then i end up having to throw away the milk...and after that i'll latch him on...i've tried asking my hb to feed him but no use, he still cries...

those who bottle feed, do you normally wait till your baby ask for feed or give them even if they don't ask anyway at the regular interval ?

i think i may be a bit gan cheong that i prepare the bottle too early or too late...sigh...i have 2 months left before going back to work so hope he can accept the bottle in time...

tute, wat I did previously is...latch him and when he stopped to breathe or reopen to grab, stuff the teat into his mouth...that helps him wean off me. but alas...the special kind of feeling during latching is also missed.

p1nk1e, it's a matter of demand and supply too. when they older, they start on solids too.

Dor
I was at robinson just now during lunchtime also. i went to john little spend $70+ then robinson spend $60+. I sms my sister saying i cannot work once start work sure shopping everyday one..haha

amy,
oic! makes sense, forgot they start solids and BM is juz supplement liaoz..

jac,
i also shopping-deprived so will go mad after i go back to work.. haha

btw, anyone using Carlson wipes?
wanted to get from distributor but they no longer sell.. JL selling how much now ah, any idea?

hi happy,

I've managed to finally steal out of the house and trf the $ liao. S$73.98 with trans. ref. no. 5714. Pls chk and see if it's in order.

So sorry for the delay. THANKS!!!

p1nk1e
worse of all i work in orchard..too many shopping liao cannot resist one. Later go home hb sure nag and nag buy so many things

jac,
haha.. heng me work in ulu place, not as bad...
but sure sneak out to buy one...
my hb oredi give up on me liao i think :p

sgwave, i've having the same issue with my boy for the past 1.5wk.. he used to be drinking abt 125ml every 3 to 3.5hr.. but these past 10 days, he tends to throw up milk so we cut back his intake to only 110ml per 3hr.. and sometimes he cant even finish..but he seems alright.. so we havent brought him to the pd..

re medela swing tubing
i also never sterilise.. dont think we need to right? according to the instruction booklet just hang to let it dry.. if you want it to dry faster.. then leave the pump on to run with tubing on without bottle..

re scheduled feeding.. i think it depends on your preference.. we try and give him every 3 hours to try and establish a more predictable feeding pattern..

Amy, I sent you an earlier sms earlier, wanted to know if you have sent out my items and the cost of postage so that I can transfer to you. Also, did you send by registered or normal?

amy
very very high lor plus now lunchtime nothing to do go shopping sure to buy bb things one..i doing outdoor sales so dont go out also cannot, when no appt also have to go out walk walk then come back.

thats why i never join any spree when u all organize cause i know when i start work i sure to buy alot of things...thats what we womens are right? haha

Happymum
How is the ON order? let me know when to pay u leh.

tute,
i try to stick to 3 hrs schedule. if baby still sleeping, i will let her sleep. if she is awake and it is abt half an hour past 3 hrs, i will just feed her even if she never demand for milk.

dor,
good luck for ur 1st day of work. jia you! pump more milk!!

re: bb's appetite
seems like many of our bb's experiencing drop in their appetites. guess it's a growing phase?

bx

mine actually not consider drop in his appetite, cos his teats has worn out, so when we changed his teat, he drink fast n finish everything....

no lah, cos we using boiling method for sterilising. den we use latex teats, the teat become yellow liao, and when he suck no milk come out 1, have to twist n turn den milk will come out, but actually we use less den a month leh... very fast 1.. no good, silicone better...

Went KKH today, heng ah, baby's hearing normal even though she had a bout of ear infection.
She screamed and cried very loudy during the hearint test though, only managed to test for right ear but luckily that was the infected ear in the first place. :p

bkkgal, you mentioned that you watched your baby on the monitor. What bb video monitor did you buy? Price? Is it good? Thinking of getting one too cos baby getting too big for the Arm's reach mini co sleeper so may need to move her out of my bedroom to the big cot in baby's room.

By the way, on weekdays I pass by your mum's place after work at 6-6:15pm, she would have already left for your place right? Working this sat morning, hope can pick up the breast pad from her after I knock off at 12:30pm.

My gal also drinking less and less milk, heat up EBM, end up she either drink a bit then don't want like just now. (110ml left with 70ml) or fuss and don't want to drink although it's her usual 3-3.5hr feeding interval. Don't know why. :p

amy,
thanks for the input...okie, i'll try one more day tomorrow...if he still dun want i'll try your method...so you're fully bottle feeding him now ? i still dun want to wean him off completely...trying to give bottle once a day...

bx,
your baby very nice leh...nvr reject the bottle eventho not hungry yet yeah ? actually my son also never reject direct latch on...heheh...maybe once he gets used to bottle feeding he also won't reject ?

jac,
*high 5*, i also work somewhere near orchard ! hehehe...not smack in the middle of orchard but close enough !!

re: shopping,
hmm...had a chance to go shopping last sat but hor i think i did too many online shopping that i've lost the wanting to do normal shopping...plus having my son there makes me a bit gan cheong...hahaha...

tute,
ya, she wun reject. but she may not finish the milk. i'm sure ur son will get used and not reject the bottle in time to come

re: <u>Private ON Spree #1 <font color="0000ff">(BATCH 2)</font></u>

Orders captured for :-

<font color="ff0000">~ jac S$45.12</font>
<font color="ff0000">~ kitsune S$47.22</font>
~ isabellali PAID
<font color="ff0000">~ vine_gal S$28.20</font>
~ bkkgal PAID
~ berry PAID
~ embargo16 PAID
<font color="ff0000">~ piglettail S$31.73</font>
<font color="ff0000">~ stephie S$7.04</font>

Those mummies in red may proceed to transfer to me as I will be placing order soon.. thks..

happy, I just logged out after paying Amy for my Gymboree purchase. Now got to log in again to pay you. So busy paying $ and online shopping. Haha ;) Anyway, have transferred, trans ref 1698727479

cheryl
usually i google the particular nursery rhyme i want to find, fro there can find a few sites..i cant really recommend cos i usually just find what i want then that's it