(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Amy,

Have transferred payment to you for CP's spree.

To Account DBS Savings Plus
015-1-041442 Amy Flub
Amount S$21.26
Transaction Reference 1696218161

I didn't deduct 15% cos recall you mentioned holding it to offset shipping right?

Hello jeanie,
Thank you for the reassurance. Tried feeding him at 3 hours interval, he just fussed and cry, refused to suck. I read in babycenter.com, the general guidelines is 700 mls a day. My boy only drank 600 mls in total. Sigh..

Napping- my bb is also a nap-in-arms bb lol! If I put him down(even face front) once he falls asleep, he will sleep a maximum of 10-20min, 30 min once in a looonng while. Otherwise, the only way to get him to sleep is to put him in my carrier; Which is what I do nowadays, I think he is in my carrier 80% of the day!

Hello lezy,
Your girl sleep thru the night? What did you do to let your girl stay awake during the day?

My son is sleeping most during the day. His nap can go as long as 4-5 hours if no one wakes him up. And voila! Night time he is fully awake and wants attention. Tried waking him, talk to him, use toys to stimulate but he'll scream and cry and wants to sleep. Aiyo!

hi designer,

my gal is the same as your boy. she can sleep with the tv on loud and we talk loudly beside in daytime...and come nite time, her eyes will be wide open looking at you to play with her even she is super tired from outing...

already tried my best not to smuilate her too much at evening time...but still the same...
Anyone with advice???

Today dunno why just keep feeling teary over not seeing my bb when I go back to work. crazy hormones at work? Last night can't sleep, keep looking at her through the monitor. Suddenly struck me that our babies will never be at the same stage of development again and this is the ONLY time we have with them. Can't imagine just 3 mths ago I was lamenting to hubby that working is so much easier than spending time at home with a crying fussing baby. I even told him I can't wait to go back to work! *siao!!*

On the one hand feel sad to leave her but on the other, feel excited to go back to work and have adult interaction, intellectual stimulation, new projects, travel. Very 'mao dun'. Can women ever have everything - spend time with family and have a satisfying career?

My bb wakes at 7am, sleeps by 7pm. For my own selfish reasons, I"m now cracking my head over how to extend her awake times so that I can come home and nurse her for the 7pm feed. I tried to keep her up these past few days so that hb can see her before she sleeps but she simply cannot keep awake. haiz. Then last night, after hb did the dreamfeed, he didn't wanna put her down to sleep in the cot, I asked him why, he said he couldn't play with her so he just wanna hug her a bit. I think from thursday, we both gonna be fighting over who gets to do dreamfeed liao! :p

berry,
yes my parents are very dedicated and have great attention to detail LOL. i think A is like a project for them. also good lah, give them something to focus on since they're retired. they brought me up with equal dedication (but A LOT MORE discipline) that's why i preferred them to be A's caregivers from day one and trust her in their hands.

wow your DD is so sensible and positive! just like mommy =) oh, btw, i loaded up on lots of books during the borders sale. also bought the book you recommended. no time to read yet though.

desingnerlabelsaddict,
welcome! wow your nick very long, we need to find an acronym hee hee...!!

generally, if your boy is gaining weight well (between 150 to 250g), then the amount he drinks is enough. different babies absorb differently, and also depends on how much energy they use up. eg. my gal takes 120ml every 2.5 to 3hrs, but her weight gain is on the low side cos she's kicking non stop throughout the day.

lezy,
re honey, <font color="ff0000">not advisable to give bb under 1 yr old even in small amounts</font> honey is deemed an unsafe food for bbs}. i oso didn't know about this until a colleague highlighted.

http://www.drgreene.com/21_825.html

Gar, RaeAnne naughty again, don't want to drink milk, don't want to sleep. Had to latch her on at 10:30pm before she finally fell asleep. Today, I called MIL to check on bb. So far, she already let her sleep 3 hours liao!?! Keep saying she 'shui bu shou2". But shui bu shou already sleep for 3 hours, if she goes into deep sleep, how long is she going to sleep? No wonder everytime at night, RaeAnne cannot sleep. Sigh, looks like giving her a schedule is no use if there is no enforcement. Already told her not to let her sleep too much today, but dun know what else I can say, MIL after all. :/

Hello Garfield,
CAn just short form it into DLA haha. BY look, my boy looks fine in term of like he is putting on weight. BUt not sure about the accuracy cos his upcoming PD appt is only in 1 month time for his next jab. YOur gal got her jab at GP or PD?

Kellie,
Very headache and tiring right if bb dont sleep at night? I tried all kinda stimulation. And my MIL even refused to let him nap around 5 pm onward till 11pm. It's so tiring cos he'll be constantly fussing and then we'll have to coo him and distract him but bb being bb only got short attention span. Heard some old wives tale saying that his pyjamas after wash, hang the opposite to dry then let him wear. I didnt try that though. DOnt know how true. heehee

yar.. lezy.. i wanted to tell u abt the honey too.. it causes botulism i think.. so not good to give small babies like what garfield has said.

designerlabelsaddict
i gave my bb pneumoccocal jab together with the 6in1. i observed no side effect except for mild fever which is common whenever babies are vaccinated. nothing a little baby paracetamol couldn't take away

Kitsune
How abt you ask hb to talk to MIL and tell her tht by allowing raeanne (nice name btw) to sleep so much in the day, he can't sleep at night cos she's up and it's affecting his work? I find this "indirect" way always works cos it's not abt you or your sleep but abt affecting hb's work performance blah blah.

Berry
your DD so guai and dong shi

hello bkkgal,
ooo.. this is what the PD told me too, usual side effect fever and pain on the injection site. i intended to give together during the first 6 in 1 jab but my in laws dont permit saying it's too hard and painful for the bb. So decided to do it one month apart. YOu took your bb to PD or GP?

bkkgal,
i know how you feel. i was a teary monster the week i went back too. dun worry, it will get better. towards the end of the week, i already felt more positive about the arrangement. can imagine you and uj fighting over the feeds lol! you have a videocam? can invest in one if you don't so that you can record the moments you are with her.

my routine with A is now:

630/700am - wake up and latch A
up to 800am - play with A on my bed tog with EL
800am - bathe her when my mom arrives
815am - rush to get ready for work and have breakfast
845am - leave home for work

XXX

reach home by 7pm latest and latch A
Up to 830/900pm - play with A
Put A to bed

So on a weekday, get to spend about 3 hrs with her.

bx,
congrats!! haha...you mark exam papers so "relaxing" ah =P good for you!!

DLA
I brt her to PD. I oso gave her rotarix at the same session so it was macham an 8in1 like that!

Gar
You work quite near home is it? It takes me 45 mins to get to work leh...Mornings will be quite rush for me, wake up, shower, make up, dress up, latch, pump and then off to work. Finish work at 6-ish, rush home already past 7. If only K's timing is like A's, go to bed at 9pm. Unfortunately, she sleeps at 7.

Kellie
HOw abt introducing a bedtime ritual for your bb? like a lullaby or a warm bath before bed? That way bb can associate sleep with these activities and know that it's time to wind down. My gal can be fussing like no one's business but the moment we take off her clothes and prepare to wipe her down and change to PJs, she will be quiet already and wait for her milk. She knows after milk, will be swaddled and time for bed.

Kitsune,
Poor Raeanne...She also innocent party hor =P Bkk's approach is good - so MIL gets the message clearly but will not be offended.

DLA,
i took my bb to a PD for jab. quite pricey...if you can find a good GP, can save a bit of $$ =) i teach you method to reduce bb crying. my PD asked me to latch bb while she jab bb's thigh. bb just wa wa twice, then continue drinking. when i went to polyclinic, wa lau she wail non stop for 10 mins cos they didn't do anything to distract bb.

re bb's weight, can buy a weighing machine at home? then you weigh yourself + bb subtract your own weight to derive bb's weight. a lot of mummies here are doing that to estimate bb weight.

bkk,
ya it takes me 10mins to reach work in the mng. evening traffic is heavier so takes about 15-20mins. i think your suggestion re pumping in car is a good one. can try make up in the car too (thats what i do =P). i oso dunno whether A's schedule will continue like that or will change as the days go by. we all know how unpredictable bbs are right? hee hee

btw, re pneumo, since you gave K at < 6 mths, is it 6 doses? cos my PD said give at 6 mths only need 3 doses but before that requires 6 doses. is it ah?

goodbaby

cookie monster n elmo all function the same way... u can go search youtube on tmx cookie monster n elmo, there videos....

i already have elmo at my hse, so i m not buying cookiemonster liao

garfield, if your routine with A fixed? as in she will sure wake up for milk at 6.30/7? does that mean that your gal already zz thru and din ask for milk during midnight already? my boy hasnt zz thru night yet, so i cant fix a routine for him to drink in the morning at certain timing cuz sometimes around 4.30/5 he will want to drink. so i cant let him drink again at 7 before i send him off to infant care.

bkkgal, +HUGZ+
i also gg back to work on thurs. veri emotional these days as i am the main caregiver for the past 3 months for G.
on one hand, will love to go back to work, on the other hand, will love to see him whenever he wakes up.

sigh.

how many of u BATH BABY AT NIGHT?

u give baby full bath? no nagging from parents/ILs that it's not good and too 'cold' etc?

tong,
my house has natural lighting and we don't have black out curtains...so by 7am the whole room is very bright. i believe that's why A always wakes up around that time =P

i not so lucky leh...she still wakes up once or twice in the night for feed. after that she will go back to bed then wake up around 630am to 7am.

bkkgal.. same routine!! I will clean her at abt 8 plus change her into pyjamas.. think she noes that she is going to sleep at that time..more quiet. Kellie.. maybe u cna try that.

Share w u all a pic of my ger that we took at raffles place on sun. i like this pic. of her

garfield, if I have caregivers like these who will help me out, I'll also feel safe to entrust my kids to them once in a while when I need a breather.

can i ask if anyone giving your bb frozen EBM already? i'm trying to "clear" my stock dated march so tried a bottle yesterday.
my boy seems to hate it... cos he keeps crying after drinking about half...
and the milk has a strong fishy smell... maybe 'cos during confinement i ate too much fish?

anyone to share?

Gar
pneumoccocal before 6 mths is 4 doses i think. after 6 mths is 3.

pumping in car..i just found out my ameda can use batteries. will try it out!

My baby still have lots of pimples on his forehead leh. I see all ur pics here ..baby's complexion all so good. Feel like doing facial for my boy hahah. Is it becoz of the food I eat? Or his face dirty? I wipe his face several times a day.

sweetpea,
we're in the same boat
my boy also have lotsa red spots still...
i bathe him using the wash that my GP prescribed and clean his face often... still the same

we do wipe her down and change into her pj. but hor she take it as fun session for her and she will super charge after...usually the only way is to latch her with 2 of us lying down. then she will doze off...

hi xiaoyun
i juz managed 2 find e archived thread wif e order details. juz transferred e $ 2 u. pls check.

From Account POSB Savings
107-47012-3
To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 XIAOYUN
Amount S$26.74
Transaction Reference 1696422125

Jeannie,
Your baby girl is so cute! I wanna pinch her cheeks! heehee

Kellie,
Same thing here, after cleaning up, my baby will wanna be carry around the house. Feeding can calm him down and coo him abit but after about 15 min of sleep, he'll wake up fully recharge. So night routine is like that. 3 hours of awaken, 15 mins of sleep.

bkk,
Wah, 8 things at one go! haha. maybe i should do that so that dont always have to visit PD. We are like visiting him every month. I will be going back to work in 2 weeks time. So sad and scared. Sad to leave baby at home with MIL and scared dont know whether will he be well-taken care of. Call me a fussy mum. Nowadays in order to make myself more accustomed to not seeing him everyday, i leave home to just roam around for a few hours. sometimes nowhere to go still go to library or go back my mum's place. was also once like you, cant wait to go back to work. but now, i wish i can just be SAHM.

Garfield,
Wah fantastic way to measure baby weight. Now i dont have to ponder and wonder whether did he really put on weight.
How much you paid for the jab? My PD quoted 170 w/o consultation and GST. Actually main reason is cos PD very far away thus thought of changing. But PD is better right? Cos at least they are more specialised. I am still indecisive though.

Lezy,
my MIL never agreed to bathing at night just wiping down. So there was once i did it on my own and was nagged for causing baby to have blocked nose that night.

sweetpea/pinkie
it's neonatal acne caused by the crossing of mother's hormones through the placenta to the baby. it will go away on its own, no need to do anything.

jeannie,
ur gal v cute and chubby !!

lezy,
i prefer not to bathe baby at night coz the night wind not so good...prefer to bathe him late afternoon... but i bathe my baby 2x a day...

pinkie,
think ebm smell will be different compared to fresh no matter what food you take...i haven't tried giving my son frozen ebm yet...still hoping can give him fresh milk :p

dla,
agree with garfield...if your boy is gaining weight and seems happy then he should be getting enough nutrition...

re:night feeds,
my son has started waking up 2x during the night again
notice this starts since his daytime feeding schedules regulates at 2-3 hours interval. still experimenting with dream feed and cluster feed...problem with dream feed is that i dun sleep v late (at most 10pm)

bkkgal,
sigh... luckily mine's a boy but see liao still very heartpain

tute,
then old stock how? if bb doesn't like frozen ebm den i dun store liaoz.. 'cos now i still can stockup 2bags a day... so need to make sure he wanna drink frozen ones before i continue...

Re: Neonatal Acne

I hope the pimples go away soon. But for myself my complexion is ok leh. People keep asking me what happened to his forehead. Also with all his pimply spots and rough forehead, I dare not kiss baby.

EBM: Just gave my boy frozen ebm this morning..he didn't wanna finish the 2 bots. Is it normal that frozen ebm have a more yellowish colour compared to fresh ebm? I also noticed that after thawing, (before heating) the ebm is like curdled at the top. Must mix very long and press all the curdle out. But after heating its consistency looks ok.

pinkie

The smell of the ebm is the same no matter what you eat. True as what tute mentioned. I think if your boi only on TBF, he might only tasted one kind of favour that why if he drink ebm he might fuss about. Perhaps u can try to latch him and feed him with ebm starting with 20ml and see how is his reaction to it.

LONG POST ALERT!
designerlabeladdict,
nah..my girl doesn't exactly sleep thru the night but it's good enough for me. she wakes up about 2 times to have a 'snack' on me (with her eyes closed)...then pops back to sleep.
I have to get to her before she starts crying like nobody's business so it helps that baby sleeps on bed with me so i can respond fast.i think if she starts crying and gets all wild, then i will have a hard time putting her back to bed.

daytime she likes to play, "talk", and sometimes cry the whole house down! heh.

bkkgal,
wah my girl doesn't sleep till erm....10/11 or sometimes 12. perhaps i never liked to sleep much during pregnancy so she also got the rhythm? nighttime my hubby n I take turns carrying her. she doesn't like to be put down. Even if we put her in rocker or cot, also must sit there and play with her like monkey.

Gar,
my parents are also my bb's caregivers - my mum quit her job to look after her. TO her, i'm eternally grateful cuz i can trust them with my girl. Even then, i find myself tihnking of her a lot.

re:GOING BACK TO WORK
i'm also goin back to work this week.
Official is FRIDAY but going back tomoro afternoon for half day cuz boss say got impt mtg.

Since last friday, i've started leaving baby with Mum cuz i can't walk much &amp; my girl NEEDS to be walked every now and then. It's really quite good to have time to relax and rest and kind of 'tryout' being without baby. So far I latch her during lunchtime, then it's abit hard to last until 6/7pm if i dun pump.

I'm trying to see if i can DUN PUMP at all...since i live so near work. (i'm on partial BF only.)

re: frozen EBM

Sometime back i also froze 2 bags of EBM just to try out - i dun have excess in the first place so no chance to freeze more.

seems that my baby doesn't quite liek it also - but i can't be sure if she was just having a fussy day (which she does get from time to time) or it's really that the EBM not very nice anymore since frozen.

Even my cat will not like fish that's kept for more than x days and reject it. I think baby should be even more sensitive. So my conclusion is i'm ok to express and give her within the day or 2, but not freeze anymore EBM. dun have then give her formula lor.

EBM

Tute sorry for the delay! Will go to your place this sat to collect ebm from u. Cos need to arrange transport. So far how many pkts u dump liao? =p

I think my boi dun mind drinking ebm cos he is being introduce different "drinks". He drank Similac before, plain water, gripe water, Nan HA 1 , Fresh BM as well as EBM. But hor he still dun really like plain water but have to make him drink lately as the weather is hot!

wow today the thread move so fast. take some time to read back.

sweetpea/pinkie,
my bb face oso not smooth. mine is girl somemore. haiz...

sweetpea,
re: neonatal acne
my PD told me got nothing to do with our complexion... chinese say it's the "heatiness" in our body that got to the bb

re: frozen ebm
guess your frozen ebm is more yellowish 'cos stored during confinement? mine also more yellowish than now

did you smell the milk? fishy? my hb tried tasting it and apparently he says quite yucky

vine_gal,
me not TBF actually, dreamfeed is FM...
and a month ago i did try 2~3botts of frozen ebm to ensure he wanna take before i continue to store...strange leh

lezy,
seems like we all have the same prob...
now i'm trying to make my bb hungrier, hopefully he'll take w/o much fuss...

if he really dowan, waste all my effort liaoz *sob*

bx,
my boy face spotty, den sometimes dunno why will get red patches all over

i try to keep his face clean... but not putting any cream...

p1nk1e,

my baby is also TBF. she has always been latching directly and i have been trying the bottle for the last 2 weeks but she kept refusing and crying. only the past 2 days i had some success. i tried both freshly pumped milk and frozen breastmilk for her. baby initially refused the frozed EBM but today i noticed that she takes it when it's a little warmer than normal. try that and see if it works?

question for other mummies:
i'm going back to work in 2 weeks (not looking forward to it
) what's the easiest way to sterilize my pump? currently i use the electric steamer at home.. also, any cooler bags to recommend or should i just use the company fridge?

pinkie ebm and other fm is really yucky to tasted! Normally, if i get any ebm from new mum i will tried it myself first b4 giving to my son. The taste is like erhh..... but as bb only taste limited "drink" so i guess is ok for them.

Spots on face
Mummies why not try to apply organic lotion (eg CB calendula cream) it works for my bb when he have heat rash or little spot.

Pinkie

I also dun have excess. These first two packets are the only frozen milk I have stored over the last weekend. So quite surprised it was quite yellow. I smelled the milk..no smell leh. Should have right? But I know the fresh EBM got smell. I tasted my own emb before..just a few drops..yucks! I am a milk lover but emb doesn't come anything close to nice.

erm.. what are we supposed to do with the frozen BM if bb doesnt like it? thaw and give bb milk bath??

i hope my ss can stay ngam ngam for my boy and i dont need to freeze, since there's high possibility that he doesnt want??