(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal,
me high energy, always need to move around... hb quite relax person.

re: bb's cues
my bb always gets restless whenever he's hungry or he wants to suckle which is not v good coz when he move vigorously sometimes he'll spit out or vomit... problem is, he use same cue for hungry = sleeping coz he always wants to suckle first before sleeping...

sunny,
i oso let my son wear shoes on his 1st birthday.. after that din let him wear often as he only know how to walk at almost 18 mth!! thereafter, my son starts to wear shoes more often..
yes, i agreed it's abit waste of $$ if we buy shoes for our bb who doesn't know how to walk yet..
but i find bb look nicer wearing shoes than just socks.. :p

garfield, bkkgal and ahcapp.. what is the book u all reading? Can tell me the title.. think i better go and get one from borders.. my gal super no routine.

Wah.. all of ur babies sleep so early.. mine sleep at 11 plus and sometimes 1 am.. cause she will start to struggle from 11 pm till 1 am.. tired but cant sleep dunno why.

For The EASY method, we must follow the sequence is it.. eat, play and then sleep?? So we are not suppose to jump sequence?? Cause my baby will sleep after eating leh..are we not supposed to let her sleep but get her to wake up and play??

Re: buying clothes
Anybody noes where to buy nice tops and tights/ pants for gers??Preferably affordable ones also..I looked at babymallonline.. not much leh.. a lot body suits..Old navy and gap like a bit ex..

sunny
yes EASY cannot go on demand. i nvr fed on dd from day 1 so i dunno how to advise to switch from dd to schedule feeding.

to move from 2 to 3 hr routine, focus on getting a good latch, dun let bb fall asleep, make sure it's a full feed. i know it's tough, i oso hv trouble.

try to stretch intervals incrementally n watch for hunger cues as u go along,

Xiaoyun: I am trying to express out BM in the office but ss is low abt 40 ml. So once express i will put in the freezer. But for my next pump do i have to store in another via cup/milkbag which is wasting space and bag. So I wanted to know whether i can combine the milk?

jeannie,
carters has some nice tops or rompers with pants for ger.. i just bought from this BP..
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1341535.html?1207473637

u can also try kiddy palace, they sell the tights/pants too..
for old navy, try looking under "bargains", can find some good bargains..

i think its better for our bb to wear rompers rather than tops now, so that their tummy r fully covered & to prevent wind going into their tummy.. just my opinion..

jeannie, actually one of my fave is zara's bb clothing, they have really gorgeous stuff! But abit exp esp for the first year when bb grows v fast. Do look out for their sales tho, they have sales I think twice a year. Sometimes if u are lucky, can find v nice stuff at the sale. Mothercare also has quite nice girl clothing sometimes (depends on season), also have v good sales at times (sometimes they also have 20% credit card disc for new arrivals). If u want to buy online, look for pumpkin patch, their sales also pretty good. Same goes for ON and Gap sales tho Gap clothing is of better quality than ON generally.

Garfield, I didnt let my DD wear shoes till she started cruising, ard 10 (thereabouts, cant really recall liao). Alot of research has shown that going barefooted is most beneficial for young walkers up to 18mths even. Cause they are rapidly developing sense of balance during that period, gg barefooted allows them to feel the floor and their toes alot better. But hygiene is of course a concern for us. So its up to when you want yr bb to wear shoes.

vine,
can you put them expressed milk in the fridge first, once they reach the same temperature then combine them together and freeze?
why do you freeze milk in office? how are you going to transport it back home? it will defroze a bit on your way back home isn't it?

SECRETS OF THE BABY WHISPERER by Tracy Hogg

That's the title of the book.

I moved from dd to feeding on schedule. Basically, when bb cry and it's not 2-3hrs yet (based on schedule), i will soothe her and give some water. walk and rock until it's "time".

but if bb cries too frantically, i also dun stick strictly to the 2hr/3hr thingy. i will feed. the schedule allows for some flexibility.

thanks mummies for the advice on the shoes. looks like a good idea not to buys so soon.

i just can't resist cute things. haha need to satisfy my urge for retail therapy in other ways now.

garfield
ya, that's the method i am thinking of to do so as to stretch the feeding interval.

bkkgal
so, in between the feed, bb cries, what would you do?

i dont swaddle the baby anymore now, cos i thot not necessary.

Andrea, I do give water to my baby time to time... never really cal how much. but PD says 30 to 60 is reasonable....

i tink frozen milk mus tbe thaw before we add fresh one in.

happy, is the gathering still on? remember to bring the goat's rue hor

just received the goat's rue which kelly sent out. going to start taking today. see got any effect onot.

happymum and berry.. thanks for the advice. i did check out old navy and gap website.. but i am just wondering should i just order online or should i join spree then buy? got any difference in px?

andrea.. i dun really swaddle baby no but at night when she sleeps i will sawddle cause she tendes to move her arms a lot.. i scared she wakes up..

i also feed my ger water in between feeds if she gets a bit noisy.

vine,
know what you mean. i think should not put in freezer. you store your first 40ml in fridge, then for the next pump you use another cup to store the 2nd 40ml. Once your second 40ml is chilled, you can combine with the first 40ml and then transfer to freezer. basically, you can combine EBM from different pumping sessions so long as (1) the milk is at the same temperature and (2) the milk is all pumped within 12 hours.

for EBM that has already been frozen, not advisable to combine with output from other pumping sessions.

bx,
yes, the gathering later at ikea is still onz..

the goat rue still wif kelly, tats y later hv to meet u all there to collect from her then pass to u..

jeannie,
unless u hv alot of items to order & big value like USD150-200, otherwise it is better to just join spree if u would just like to get a few items.
no difference in px if u order online or thru spree, but if u order online yourself u hv to bear all the shipping, whereas if u join spree, u only bear shipping charges for your items which is much lower..

jeannie, i not taking NPL. u intend to return to work only after june hols?

happy, ok see u all there. erm isit at the cafe?

bkkgal, your hubby so good, my hubby can't be bothered to take photos except initial period. Even the videocam we bought is untouched. I have to keep reminding my hubby before he'll take a photo of her at 1 mth and 2 mth. Bet I have to do the same when she turns 3 mth.

Berrywife, which Bjorn did you buy? I'm wondering if the Air model is better cos supposed to be cooler but Active is supposed to be better for back support. Hmm... By the way, is it easy to take Baby in and out of the carrier?

Hppymum2b, I also ordered Carters clothes from the BP.

Gar, my SS also dropping since I followed Betty's advice to try and follow my work schedule but problem is, BB is not following that schedule yet, she's still feeding every 3-3.5hrs so end up my pumping/feeding schedule all haywire. Started taking the goat's rue I got from Kelly on Sat but no effect yet. Need to take more to have effect but I only have 2 bottles. If I take 6 capsules a day, I'll finish the 2 bottles in just 10 days.

What time is the Ikea gathering today? Who's going? I'm very tempted leh, but can't go unless MIL is keen to go with me. Hee.

Bx, actually I'm not very good at converting pounds to kg. How much is 175lbs?

Heard from Kelly that can take 6 capsules first if no effect then gradually cut back to 4 capsules. I'm desperate lar, I'm going back to work earlier than most of you, on 21 Apr cos I popped in end Jan. Hee.

who wanna bring bb for bb massage, wanna go with me???

any recommendation on bb massage place?

i saw at KKH is abt $85 for 3 session

kitsune, the bjorn I had for my older DD when she was young is the original. Back then I think thats all they had. Now the Bjorn I will prob get is the synergy- activei model using the breathable AIR material. Its super easy to use, allows u to take bb out/put bb in within seconds cause the front opens downwards as a flap, so dun need to 'slot' bb in like other carriers which makes it hard to use independently unless someone is helping you.

jeannie, spreeing will be chepaer cause you have others to share the shipping with you. Otherwise u might have to buy quite alot of stuff (may at least US100- US$200?) to make the shipping worth your while. Plus when u join in a spree, u dont have to be bothered with the logistics. V convenient!

bx,
ok we see u at the cafe.. btw, i hv just PM u my hp.. in case u need to contact us..

kitsune,
i know, i saw u at the BP..

i oso order the same purple romper as u.. find tat v sweet..

dor, myself, eliaw, bx, bkkgal, xiaoyun, sweetpea (hope i got all the names.. :p ) will be gg for the gathering later..
some of us r meeting earlier at 2.30pm, kelly will meet us ard 3 plus.. come join us lah, bring ur mil & RaeAnne along.. :p

Hi Berry, need your advice. I just bot the Bjorn Air, but found it difficult to slot bb in. Is it that you gotta secure one side then slot bb legs in then secure the other side?? Quite tough leh, cos still gotta support bb neck...

yanyen,
seems like no news from tongtong...i tried sms-ing her but no reply as well. if we can't get tongtong then you might not get the $5 off coz must order in pairs...i try to ask the organiser again but if no reduced price, are u still keen ?

water
seems like alot of mummies who total BF give their babies water. up till today i have yet to intro water to my gal. was told to give water so that she will like to drink water when she grows up!

happy, jeannie
swaddle
i gave up on swaddling her before her 1st mth too!! =P

happymum
ya, i also feel that wearing shoes are nicer. but, to save $ on other things, i control myself not to buy for her till 1 yr old. haha...

Garfield: Thanks for the explaination!

SECRETS OF THE BABY WHISPERER
I am trying to get lobang for this book, anyone interested? Will need to check with my sales exec whether can get good offer or not.

sunny,
me too!! i control myself till my son was abt 9-10 mth old then bought a few pairs of shoes for him.. but he has "ba kar" (fleshy feet, u know wat i mean ? haha..) so end up the shoes dun fit him and he was very slow in walking, only knows how to walk at 18 mth, so in the end the shoes i bought become white elephant at home.. really a waste of $$..

1)Cheryl
2)Vine_gal
3)happymum2b
4)dor11 (help to put her name, think she might be interested too?

1)Cheryl
2)Vine_gal
3)happymum2b
4)dor11 (help to put her name, think she might be interested too? )
5)goodbbb

yes i am intestered too!

1)Cheryl
2)Vine_gal
3)happymum2b
4)dor11 (help to put her name, think she might be interested too? )
5)goodbbb
6)bx