(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

AhCapp

Good routine. Wah your bb can last from 7am to 11am for feed. Mine still can't last more than 2.5-3 hrs. My routine goes like this:

7am Feed
8am Sit in rocker while I eat brekkie
8.30am Nap
9.30am Bath time
9.45am Feed
10.45am Playgym
11.00am Nap
12.30pm Feed
1.30pm Play
2.00pm Nap
3.00pm Feed
5.30pm Feed
6.30pm Towel down/play abit/Feed
7.30pm Sleep
12.30am Feed
5 am Wake up and fuss (my hb will try to pacify her and try to extend sleep)

I'm trying to bring back the 12.30 am feed to 11pm dream feed and extend her 5am waking to 6am cos I think once I start work I cannot start feeding her at 7am.

In order to cut back the night feeds, Tracy
Hogg says need to tank up their day feeds so that they have enuff calories to last the nite. Maybe you can try cluster feeding more in the evenings?

garfield,
ok...and about the bb bjorn, think drop me off the list too, if i'm getting will get from the bp from nicetots...cheaper leh and hb still contemplating as well coz quite ex and can only use till 12kg for synergy and 10kg for air...

yanyen/tongtong,
are you still on for the pouch sling ? i think organiser mention got 1 single order for blue grey as well so if we order odd number should still be able to get the discounted price...but i gotta hurry so i'll pass the order for kitsune first...

ah capp,
you v good can establish such a regular routine... me still trying to establish napping routine now, dun think can use the EASY method on my son...no matter how sleepy he is during the day, once we put him on his back he'll wake up immediately... pat2 no use as well...now i resort to putting him on tummy and that works...will try to establish his napping routine first, so far morning one ok...afternoon one still haywire.. :p

night time, he dun need to be carried to sleep just get him half asleep and after nursing i'll pat2 him, he'll fall asleep (on his back)...but timing wise, if he's cranky and doesn't nurse well he can stay up to 10pm or until next feeding time...so i make sure there's enough time lapse between feeds such that he nurse more and falls asleep after feed...most of time need to use pacifier to do this, not sure if i'm doing the right thing...anyway, doing this one step at a time hopefully can establish routine soon...

Tute, since you emailed DeBabyGear about the bulk order, can you send our order to her? Cos when I emailed her, I only mentioned 4 people may be ordering but after she said no special price, I didn't follow up so don't want her to be confused by coming into the picture again. Thanks.

Oh ya, did someone mentioned earlier that they are letting go of a secondhand pigeon steriliser? Thought I read it somemore but can't remember where I read it, either Jan MTB thread or Feb MTB thread? Looking for one for ILs place if price is cheap. Thanks.

bkkgal, your gal so cute, so expressive. Your camera can take 9-in-1?

Bjorn carriers
BP price looks good, anyone knows which model is good? Wonder if I should get one so that hubby can also sling BB when she's bigger cos he doesn't like to bring the pram out for short trips cos my Maclaren quite bulky. :p

bkkgal
your gal so cute! what's the software you use for these collages?

re: adjusting routine
just now i tried adjusting, so sad, it failed. past 3 days, my boy could sleep from 7pm+/8pm+ for 6 - 7 hrs. so, i thought of adjusting the timing to gv him one more feed after the 7pm/8pm feed at 11pm. who knows, he woke up at 1am+.... thought he can sleep till 6am.

should i still gv him 1 more feed after the 7pm/8pm feed?

EASY method,
my gal is also on EASY. however, her nap time is a bit haywire cos she can only nap short stretches of 30mins. so if she wakes up before feed time, will try to calm and soothe her back to sleep.

but overall still follow the eat, play, sleep sequence.
7am feed
play
sleep
930am feed
play
sleep
12noon feed
play
sleep
3pm feed
play / bath
sleep
6pm/730pm/9pm cluster feed
bed time
330am feed

anybody has advice on how to lengthen bb's daytime nap?

bkkgal,
kate is soooooo cute!! haha..she smiles quite a bit hor

dor,
thanks for highlighting the bb bjorn BP!

bjorn carrier,
ya the BP price is better than what mothercare can offer. let's buy from the BP inistead?

hehe...can see some of us are up wee hours and still manage to log on

bkkgal,
ur gal has soo many expressions, so cute !

bjorn carriers,
wondering how long the carrier will last me, i.e. how fast will my boy reach 10-12 kg...

gar,
3pm you feed baby and straightaway bathe ? i normally wait a while at least 1/2 hour before bathing him...

re: night feed,
the night before thought v good oredi he slept from 9am, woke up 2 am and woke up again at 6 am. but tonight, slept from 9am, woke up at 2 and 4am. hmm...guess he just have a bigger appetite ? but for me i sleep when he sleeps so waking up 2 and 4 am still ok for me....4 am i can straightaway pump coz my breast will feel hard by early morning...

sunny,
your boy sleeps quite early...nowadays my son refuse to sleep until 9-10pm...so after dinner i will be on full duty entertaining him...or trying to make him sleepy...

yanyen,
you need to give me your size/email address/collection point

kitsune,
no worries...i've already emailed her our initial orders...will send yanyen's and tongtong's order once they confirm...

hi tute,

hehe, yah me stuck to the pump now...

actually i went to the lady's BP forum just now and saw she has closed the BP. Have asked her (thru forum) whether can still include my order. But can you also help me to e-mail her just in case? thanks!!

my order: Size L/Email: [email protected]/postage.

tute
ya loh. he just auto sleeps at around that timing.

re: play time
saw the routine that you all posted, during play time, what do you play with the bb? or leave the bb alone to self-entertain?

tute,
i dun bathe baby straightaway. let her have her activity time and then when she's still in a good mood quickly bathe. my gal hates to bathe. she screams and cries murder one. so need to catch the appropriate window. sometimes it's after the 1230pm feed, sometimes after the 3pm feed.

sunny,
during play time, my mom and i will take turns to sing and talk to bb, play with here toys. but we also leave her to self entertain someyimes.

sunny
i oso hv same dilemma cos my girl cld sleep 6-7 jrs after 7pm. first nite i tried to intro dreamfeed at 10pm byt bb woke at 1am. so i decided instead to try shifting the 1am feed backwards by waking her incrementally 15 mins earlier each nite.

stretching naps
bbs hv a 45 min sleep cycle. typically they will stir after 45min, some proceed deeper into dreamlnd at this pt, others wake. once cam anticipate this, go in, put hand on bb chest n gently pat bk to sleep. here's an article called Special sleep interview with tracy hogg. found v useful in keeping the sleep habits. It's lengthy but full of nuggets.

http://www.babywhisperer.com/smf/index.php/topic,451.0.html

kitsune
i think hb uses picasa mainly. he bt a portable photo printer recently, i think the collage template is inside lah.

heehee, he snaps camera away at our girl macham like she some super model. already has 2000 over digital pix of her! *faint*

playtime
use the playgym n let them "self entertain". when i hv time, i will show flashcards to her or bring her on house tour n show where's wat n who's who. bbs dun need alot of special toys. dd is highly entertained just by hb making funny faces at her or imitating her coos.

berry
i think we've all got good hbs. just need time uncover tt unpolished diamond hor? *wink*

i think i am the jialat one, baby has no routine..... sigh... wonder how to put her into infant care, the teachers sure driven crazy by her.....

Thanks for the note on the BP for bjorn carrier, i will go for it. But not sure is it cheaper?

thanks mummies for sharing the play time with bb.

bbkgal
after the 6-7hrs sleep, how long your gal can sleep?
yesterday my boy all on 3 hr after i woke him up for feed at 11pm.
before that, he can sleep for 4 hrs after the 6-7hr sleep.
btw, how do you dream feed your gal? do you carry her out from the cot and feed her? if carry her out, how to make sure she's not waken up?

winnie
don't worry. the teachers in the infant care would develop the routine for her 'cos it's easier for them to handle the babies at the same time. but, i am not to sure how the teachers would train the bb.

BJORN- waah a timely BP! Lets get from there since prices are better.

Dor, thanks a ton for sharing.

bkkga, yes indeed!
Actually last time when we first had our DD, I made the oldest mistake in the book by constantly telling my hb wat to do, how he shd do this and that MY way and constantly checking whether his bb-caring tasks are carried out according to my satisfaction. Later on he got fed up and told me that its v demoralising when I do that. That woke me up after I see myself thru his eyes, I realised that I shd really stop. So then I remind myself alot that he has his style of caring for bb, just like me. Just because its not the same as my way doesnt mean its wrong. As long as its not permanently detrimental to bb's health or well-being, I make myself shut up haha.

tute, I used my olde Bjorn for my DD till she was just past one year old. And she is quite a big girl for her age (in terms of physical size/height). I have friends who have more petite kids who used theirs till 18mth even. MIO the weight limit is more like a safety precaution to free the company from liabiliies, the Bjorn is a v sturdy carrier, I doubt it will give way; Its more depending on you can tahan your bb's weight till how old lol!

bbkgal, garfield,
do u latch on or bottle feed at night? i latch on but recently bb always fall asleep 5-10 min later. then to wake up 1 hr - 3 hr to drink again. i am worried that she is not getting the hindmilk.

btw, what is dream feed?

re: stretching naps,
when my son was sleeping on his back i tried the pat2 and hold chest method but doesn't seem to work leh...he just wakes up after a while...only a few times during his afternoon nap that this method works...but during night sleep, i implement the method and it does work

re:hbs,
yup...i agree that need to trust our husbands...i also initially very paranoid, keep telling him do this and that...comment that he takes his own sweet time bathing bb but he commented that it's bcoz i'm watching that i feel v long but when i'm bathing my son i take as much time as his...from that point on i learn to trust my hb more... nowadays during weekend he can entertain my son well (except for feeding of course :p), give me time for me to wear mask and other beauty rituals which makes me feel like i'm on holiday...lol

berry,
thanks for the info on bjorn...will influence my hb again...after all he'll be the one using most of the time i think

tute calling for tongtong...pls let me know details for pouch sling, need it by today...thks !

berry, for the bjorn, are we able to switch form mum to dad without taking the baby out? can just simply transfer?

I am very lost not sure which one to buy...

hi mummies!!
i'm joining this post late, already 2 months since feb ;) i'm also "trying" EASY and CLB methods but not that easy after all! my son will sleep well at night after 10pm, but then wakes up at 3 or 4am for a feed. I wish i can adjust this to earlier so i can feed him at midnight but progress is slow...

bx,
i bottle feed at night cos bb is too sleepy to drink properly from the breast and will wake up and cry after a while. so to let her sleep another 3-4 hrs after her 3am feed, i bottle feed.

for bbs to sleep 6-7 hr stretches, tracy hogg suggest two methods to "tank up" on calories:

1. cluster feed every 2 hours before bedtime (i start mine from 6pm, and feed every 1.5hrs)

2. dream feed - this is the feed right before the parents retire for bed. This means literally feeding or nursing baby in their sleep. In other words, pick baby up, gently place the bottle or breast on her lower lip and allow her to ea, taking care not to wake her. When finished, do not even burp, just put down back to bed. Do not talk, do not change her.

sunny
my bb can sleep abt 4 hrs after the 6-7 hr stretch but it depends whether my 12 am feed is substantial i.e. did she latch well, did she drink enuff. nowadays i prefer to supp her with FM cos it lasts longer than BM.

Bx
It depends on whether I need to empty my breasts. Sometimes after I give her FM, she still not enuff so I let her latch - kill 2 birds with 1 stone, I can empty my boobs as well as give her a top-up :p

Iso
What is CLB method? Actually I think our bbs' stomachs may not be able to tahan very long without feed, that's why I'm trying very slowly to stretch their sleep times incrementally. Slow but steady lor. Jia You!

cheryl,
ya i give bb same amount. but i dun force it. normally she can stomach the same quantity each feed except for the last one, sometimes cannot finish.

iso,
err...never leh my gal always drinks from bottle or breast if it's offered...if bb doesn't want then can't force it. offer it half hr later?

my challenge with the EASY method is that i'm not very good at picking up baby's cues. i read the description in the book, but dunno how they translate into real life behaviour leh.

so for me, i roughly go by timing to feed and let bb play / sleep.

bkkgal, ahcapp - can you recognize bb's cues? is there somewhere i can see examples of these cues?

Hi ladies if i have express out my bm and put in the freezer, den the next pump can i just pour the bm onto the bm which have frozen?

cheryl
basically you shud take total consumption of milk ur boi takes and divide over 6-8 feeds. E.g. 800 ml per day, you divide over 8 will be 100 ml. SO if add 2 cluster feed, then it will be 50 ml per feed.

re: bb routine
seems like all the bb here sleep so early at night. mine sleeps after 10 pm. tried to let her sleep at 9 pm. she just wake up at 10 pm.
then she will sleep till 4 am or 6 am. but, life is still not easy for me. i got to wake up pump otherwise my breast will drip and feel like rock.

for day time, i got no routine at all. all depends on my mood. :p

re: freezing bm
vine, don't think you can pour the fresh bm onto the frozen one. the fresh one will defroze the frozen one a little bit, not good.

hee hee...finding more things to buy for bb.

talking about bb shoes - from what age should they start wearing?

looking at the BP for jack and lily / shoo shoo shoes. anyone knows which one is better?

cluster feed before dreamfeed. df is last feed of day b4 u retire to bed. cluster feeds are 1-2 hrs apart.

CUES
tracy hogg's book has this chart of cue descriptions. i use tt to detect.

water
for those who total breastfeed, d you give water to your babies?

tongue washing
i tried to wash my gal's tongue but only managed to wash the front part. cant reach the back of her tongue! any idea how to clean it??

swaddle
how to swaddle snugly without the bb's arms coming out? each time i swaddle my gal, i failed!

garfield,
most elderly will only allow bb to wear shoes after they are 1 year old..
my mum is no exception.. so i only let my son wear shoes after his 1st birthday..

garfield, u bottle-feed at night, so u still got to pump out isit?

cluster feed - amt of milk is less than normal feed? if every 3hrs i give 110ml, every 1.5hr i give 55ml?

dream feed - is it feed until the bb stops drinking?

bkkgal,
i read the chart, but still no use. i find those descriptions very vague leh. i observe my gal, but she doesn't seem to exhibit those signs. sigh...mummy useless haha

andrea,
i do give bb water. not much, about 20-40ml a day.

happy,
any reason why elderly only allow them to wear after 1 yr old?

andrea,
re: swaddle
haha.. it's not ur fault.. most babies managed to wriggle their arms & legs out of the swaddle..
my gal too.. i hv stopped to swaddle her after 1 month.. most of the time, i will put the beansprout pillow over her chest so that she will not get frightened easily..

re: baby personality types,
think mine falls b/w spirited and touchy... definitely not angel and textbook...

bkkgal
if using EASY, meaning we feed on routine, not on demand? else, how to set 3 hr or 2 hr feeding interval? and any advice on stretching the feeding interval from 2hr to 3 hr if i am fully latch on?

andrea
i TBF my boy. i don't really gv water unless he's really cranky in btw the feed.
and don't swaddle my boy after he's full mth.

garfield
i also only let my gal wear shoes on her 1st birthday. actually, if bb doesn't know how to walk, no point buying shoes for them, IMO, wasting $ loh. and defeat the purpose of wearing shoes.

tute
mine is spirited/touchy too

r u n hb high energy types of pp? i read on the bw forum tt personality types cld b genetic. me n hb are always on the move, getting tgs done.