(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

vine,

can include me too ? am interested as well..
SECRETS OF THE BABY WHISPERER
1)Cheryl
2)Vine_gal
3)happymum2b
4)dor11 (help to put her name, think she might be interested too? )
5)goodbbb
6)bx
7)tute

hi mommies, i hv a silly question. When CL cooks, is the money for buying food etc separate from the CL charge? also who does the marketing for the food?

re: bb routine,
mine i think no routine.. morning & nights still ok, but afternoon is one big mess cos she still dont' nap! today me and hubby alternate carry her / calm her/ put her to sleep from 11am-3pm. finally put her in her cot in the dark aircon room (like at night)
i think tracy hogg's book says to make the room dark to minimise stimulation.. maybe that's why my bb dun nap -outside is too bright/noisy/hot in the day. where does everyone's bb sleep in the day? same environment as night? will bb get confused & cannot differentiate day & night a not ah?

jeannie, my bb also dun hv schedule. Feel so lousy compared 2 othr mummies. My bb oso slp late. Ave abt 10plus. Smtx like urs dun wanna slp btw 11pm to 1am

oscar
$ to buy food is separated from CL charge. normally CL would do the marketing.

my boy sleeps in the living room during daytime. after 7/8pm, we would put him back to his room. he can't really sleep in the morning. normally, after 11am, he would take his nap liao...

vine
can get lobang for tis other title? "Baby whisperer solves all your problems" - tis is tracy hogg's last bk, over 400 pgs, covers every poss scenario.

bx
org said i can hv dusty pink cos someone has ordered that too!

Water
i've given bb water. the reason is cos i dun wan her to reject the taste but i dun gv everyday cos still bfing. if u gv everyday, bb will b taking in empty calories end up affecting her feeds - she will then take less from the breast.

in btw feeds, if she cries, i usually listen to her cues. normally they r tired cries but if cries get fierce and if i felt tt last feed was not optimum, i will bring fwd the feed.

Bjorn
I bought the Synergy cos of the lumbar support for my hb. the material is also breathable. it's easy to put in and take out bb by yourself. but i notice when my mum uses it, it seems too long for her n the fit is not optimum.

bx/andrea

re: sling alteration. this wat org said:

"Alteration is possible but will have to wait till after the BP is totally over. btw can only shorten but not lengthen.

Will email alteration details when due for sling collection.

Thanx for posting the orders."

Hi mummies, i chanced upon this thread and read that some of you are keen in the Baby Bjorn carriers which i am holding a BP right now. I see there are some questions and I hope that you can drop me a mail if you would like to find out more, eg. the diff betwen the carriers. no obligations to buying from me or nt, but i jus hope to share what i know with you all.

FYI i m using Synergy and simply loves it. Its the best combi- best of both worlds. cos of the breathable lightweight mesh and the lumbar support. it is expensive, but the quality speaks for itself. As for Air, i do need to comment tt although the material is the mesh same as Synergy, but the support is totally different. After ur baby outgrows, you can sell it off and still fetch as good price so I guess its really a good investment.

Alternatively if u do not wan to spend so much on a carrier, you can choose Active. but provided u carry baby most of the time in air-conditioned places, cos those who have used the Original baby bjorn will know the fabric is slightly thicker than Air and Synergy.

Hope I helped to clear some doubts.Anymore Qs, feel free to come to my thread!

1) put on synergy
2) adjust ur height, and click the bottom straps to form the part that holds bb bottom
3) clip on one side
4) carry bb and slot legs and arms into the side that is clipped (facing in or out is up to u)
5) finally, clip on the other side n click that top button thingy
6) adjust waist straps if required

bb sleep environment
oscar, i will simulate the night sleep environ for bb's daytime naps at home - blackout curtains drawn, aircon, white noise n swaddle.

but i'm flexi oso. if go out, the bb just nap in sling, pram or car seat loh. i dun wan to train her to sleep only in own cot cos later there maybe probs if we travel or put her at IL/parents' place.

bb sleep:

my bb seems to go from dun-sleep-at-nite phase 3 weeks ago to recently dun-sleep-at-noon phase. i tried to stimulate nite environment these few days (curtains down, aircon etc) and follow the EASY method, not always successful. quite worried, cos if he dun sleep in the afternoon, he can sleep like 5 plus hour without feed towards the evening...

Goat's Rue
I just ignored the advice abt not taking more than 4 tablets for pp under 175lbs cos I remember Kelly saying we can take 6 tabs to speed up ss. hee. So I've been taking 6 tabs goat's rue and kiasu some more take 6 tabs fenugreek. :p

yanyen
that means yr bb now sleep at night, that's good rite? try to make him sleep in afternoon and then wake him for feed before evening loh.

i took bb out for half a day and she slept most of it. so i've tasked my MIL to entertain bb and keep her awake while I pump.

i always try not to let bb sleep past 5pm or else will affect her night sleep (this rule I adapted from gina ford. haha, I very rojak one, adapt rules that are sensible and works for me :p)

Hi, I made to Ikea after all, nice to see the mummies there. Hee, my MIl paiseh lar didn't know so many mummies didn't bring their babies cos had to leave early, also her fav Taiwanese serial starts at 430pm.

Berrywife, wa just checked the BP price for Synergy, $239!?! Wow, will be very difficult to convince my hubby cos of the price. How much did you buy yours previously?

bkkgal, you also bought synergy? How much?

My BB has no routine until now cos MIL tend to let her sleep then feed/bathe or nap in between if she can't finish her milk. I'm quite bothered by it but what hubby said also makes sense, since they are the ones looking after BB once I go back to work, let them try their own method lor. :p

No pixs, haha, only Eliaw and me brought Babies. No extended family also compared to the previous Jan MTB gathering at Ikea, so MIL felt really out of place. Hee. Wa, good price, maybe I should scout around for second hand too. :p

bkkgal
thanks for helping to post the order!

bb sleep environment
my gal refused to sleep in her pram. when the pram is stationary still ok..once we start to move the pram she will start to wail..

E.A.S.Y.
I am tryting to get my gal on EASY but so far only succeeded on the eating part, ie feeding every 2.5hr to 3hr. During the night she can sleep for 5hrs without feeding. I gotta feed her in her sleep..

Vine
How's the pumping going at work? I'm quite sure my ss will drop like crazy once I start work - late hours, fatigue, stress.

Somemore I may be required to travel in my job. Dunno how. My work place no nursing room. Just now I dropped by my office to send some cakes to colleagues, they said can use one of the empty offices to pump but if someone needs to use, we gotta scoot.

How do you sterilise your pumps at work? You use sterilising tablets and bring a bb bottles detergent and brush? Or just rinse and keep?

andrea
mine is oppo! haha, she will cry if pram is stationary so we must always be zooming around the shop with her.

yanyen,
okie in that case i'll pass your order to the organiser...

stephie,
dun feel bad, each baby are different... my baby's schedule still haywire as well, the only thing constant is his bathing time and after bathing he normally sleeps well

re: bb sleep environment,
i don't have to imitate night time environment anymore now that i put bb on tummy for his naps because he doesn't get scared easily and he sleeps better...so far his nap time will stretch b/w 1-2 hours which is good enough for me coz at least i dun have to carry him..

re: water,
i have yet intro water to my baby...if bb cries straightaway after feed i normally offer pacifier coz i think he just want to suckle to help him fall asleep...not a very good method i know but it works and keep him happy...

bkkgal

My ss since starting is not that much. Currently only managed to pump once in the office which is morning when i come in. The rest of the day is impossible as i'm quite busy to clear my work.

I know is unhygence but the only place i can pump is in the washroom. After pumping will use washing detergent to wash (as i forget to bring bb bottles detergent to wash it) and use hot water to soak for awhile or rinse it.

tute: so sorry for my late reply! have been so busy that i only got time to log in now!! and realised u were trying to sms me but couldnt reach me, cuz i'm in msia now. not sure whether my order is still included???

single layer w padding/S/raffles city on saturday{[email protected],[email protected]})

tongtong,
i just posted your order and yanyen's to the organiser. hope she can still take in since initially she suppose to close BP today. will let you know again once she replies

Thanks bbkgal, i have prob with doing step 4. With one hand supporting bb neck, only one hand left to support the bum and at the same time try to slot in his leg... tough leh.

stephie,
forgot to answer your question on milk bath for bb.
yes. just pour the milk into the bath water. read from magazine that it does help to make bb's skin nice nice.

vine,
for storing breastmilk. why don't you get those breastmilk storage bottles to directly attach it to the pump when expressing. then can keep it without the need to transfer to via cup/milk bag. it's easier.
i use the bottle so often that only used about 30++ milkbags so far. and those milkbag used are basically for freezing purpose.

kitsune,
i've been following pumping/feeding schedule as if i were already back to work on half day. ss is stagnating/dropping. but still enough to provide 80% of bb's feed.

actually, have not been so stressed about BF-ing recently.. cos my original target was to BF for 3 months and i'm already almost there. anything beyond that is a bonus. i'd rather be less hung up about BF and be in the right frame of mind to love and nurture my gal.

bkkgal,
very happy to know that we all managed to get the discounted price. otherwise i will feel very bad.

re: ikea gathering
it was nice meeting the few of u - happy, dor, kelly, sweetpea, eliaw and kitsune. today then i realise that all ur babies have stopped wearing mittens. hope to meet up again

Gar, my target is 6mth, actually it's a moving target lar, when I first started out right after delivery, I thought I'll be very lucky to even last 1 month. Somemore, that time I had to supplement with FM from Day 1 cos milk not in yet. But now, trying to meet WHO recommendation of 6 months TBF lor...

Actually though, SS dropping but BB seems to be feeding slightly less frequently. Last night, I latch on at 10pm and she slept until 4am before crying for milk. Maybe she was going through growth spurt last week when she was taking 100-110ml every 3 hrs. :p

Gar, you are going to switch to Part time when you go back to work?

sunny
so far i've been keeping bb on 2.5-3 hr schedule which works out to 6 feeds in the day and 2 feeds at night. if stretch, then i will hv less than 6 feeds which spells trouble for night. i hv not consciously tried to stretch to 3.5-4 hr. my little one's stomach capacity not there yet. the only time is if she is napping so soundly i will let her sleep abit more rather than wake her on the dot.

bx,
ya, i latch on in the evening about 7pm and then rest of the evening feeds are via bottle. my gal super sleepyhead, she doesn't keep awake to drink well at the breast that's why i need to feed via bottle. else she will not get a good night's sleep cos keep waking up hungry.

i continue to pump out at night at 10pm, 1am and 4am.

my calculation on amount to feed for the cluster sessions is slightly different from what bkkgal shared. cos my gal only feeds 5-6 sessions excluding the 3 cluster sessions between 6 to 9pm. so i give her the same amount as per her usual feeding sessions and not half the amount. else she won't get enough calories/milk.

for dream feed, ya, feed until bb stops drinking. don't wake bb in order to finish the bottle.

dinoltan
yeah can b difficult when bb has no neck sppt. when i lift bb up, i try to aim her leg into the harness n slot her corresponding hand into the side tt is clipped up.

kitsune
u can scout ard the WTS. couple weeks bk 2 mummies were selling their bjorns, 1 white n 1 black. i was v tempted to get white but quite impractical, scared food stains, milk stain etc.

Kitsune,
Know what you mean re moving target. One mummy shared that we should aim to BF by month and before we know it - already 1 year! let's see if the goat's rue can do wonders or not =P

my boss allows me to drag out my ML entitlement as half days. so i'm doing 4 to 6 weeks of half days before resuming full working day schedule. so that i dun suffer bb withdrawal symptom =P

re using bb bjorn.

should ask berry to do a demo cos she's the pro of bb bjorn having used it for 3 years and absolutely loves it!

berry, how? film a video and post on youtube la =)

Iso
i tried to follow gina ford's mtd. the principles r similar but i fid the routine quite restrictive. i still follow her 7am-7pm rule and not allowing bb to nap past 5pm as well as the blackout curtain rule.

bx/sweetpea,
nice to meet u too!
ya man, reach home pump milk. worse still, boi woke up, so latched n pumped.

now pumping again...

re:sat gathering
can check who confirm going?
cos if the group is small, then can arrange something else

re: book
vine, i also wan the other title leh

bkkgal, okie, I'll keep a lookout. $200+ beyond my budget lar unless I'm very sure I'll use it for a long time. ;P

Gar, true agree with that mummy. Time passes so quickly, before I know it, going back to work liao. What happened to the 84days of ML? Hee.

kitsune, I cant recall the price I bought mine last time since its more than 3 years ago. If you find synergy expensive, u might wanna consider the original version or AIR version. both are alot cheaper and the model is the one I had 3 years ago. Its still a v good carrier.

Garfield, Bjorn dun need demo wan, its v v easy to use, you bring yr bb to try one out at mothercare and you'll know wat I mean.

vine,

can include me too ? am interested as well..
1)Cheryl
2)Vine_gal
3)happymum2b
5)goodbbb
6)bx
7)tute
8)jeannie

Re: Baby sleep
oscar/winnie and stephie same lor.. baby no routine one.. but my baby sleeps quite a bit in the afternoon. i dun need put her in dark room leh. Normally after i bathe her abt 11 am.. she will just drift off to sleep when i put her on bouncer. Sometimes i feed her before she sleeps but somtimes she just sleep first.

Like today.. she slept whole afternoon..
8 am: feed and then play a while
9+ to 10 + : sleep
10+ : bathe
11+: feed and the she drifts off to sleep
1+: feed again but she is still sleeping.. dun wanna wake up
3+ : wakes up cry for milk and sleep again after feed
6+:feed again.. stilll sleeping
7 +: force her to wake up by cleaning her face and wash up
8+: feed again and play w her
9+( now): she falls asleep again.. hopefullly can last till next morn.

My ger very sleep in the afternoon.. she basically sleeps the whole day from 11m till 6 pm today.. jia lat.. skali tonight she wide awake..

Vine, I'm interested too. Can include me too ?

1)Cheryl
2)Vine_gal
3)happymum2b
5)goodbbb
6)bx
7)tute
8)jeannie
9)kitsune_sg