(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal,
thanks for the info ! how do i order yeah ?

kitsune,
i'm fine either way...if mummies here wanna consolidate order i can help

mummies ordering pouch sling,
wanna consolidate order ? let me know your 1)size 2)collection method 3)email addr (as per what i've put below)

1)kitsune (single layer w padding)
2)tute (single layer w padding/M/reg post/[email protected])
3)yanyen (single layer w padding)
4)jeannie (single layer w padding)
5)stephie (single layer w/o padding)
6)vinegal (single layer w padding)
7)garfield9 (single layer w/o padding)
8) andrea (single layer w padding)
9)tongtong (single layer w padding)

will need to post order by today afternoon coz tom is the closing date for bp and night time normally i don't have time to log on
let me know if you all prefer to order separately...thanks !

p.s. for the size, refer here :
http://debabygear.blogspot.com/2007/07/baby-sling-pouch-paddedunpadded.html

BJORN CARRIER- who is keen?
(those who are keen, can meet at centrepoint mothercare sometime this week on a morning (ard 10.30?)? Its the only time I can make it cause thats when my DD is in school.)

1)Berry (I'll prob get the synergy, which is the active model in the AIR material thats more breathable than the usual padding)
2)Garfield
3)Winnie (I am interested to join, but I cant go out.... cos need to be home with CL and baby, is it possible to join int he purchase and opt for postage instead? or pick up from one of you when hubby is back next week?)

sorry, can I have LC betty Lee contact again? cos I just discovered a lump on my breast last midnight... not sure is it cos I am pumping with bra on.... so cause the lump to grow beneath the aerola area..... i thot i better practise not to go braless during pump since i cant do so in office...... can she massage lump?

lezy, is it around 8+ and is the man in a green sling? Cause my hb went to ta-pao food for me from vivo ard that time w bb in a sling. He tells me that when he brings bb out alone in my sling, he gets stared at alot, but he is v proud of carrying his baby around haha.
BJORN- the original can be a little hot if used at non aircon places. But there is this new version called AIR, they use breathable material instead of the hot stuffy padding, this is the one I plan to get.

bkkgal
can i join u? i want a pinky one too =)
will pm you!

5)stephie (single layer w/o padding)
8)tongtong (single layer w padding)

jeannie, yr ss good what!
i pump abt 8-10times daily. each pump is abt 160-220ml. i feed him with ebm, only latch for nursing.
thanks.. trying to stock up my ss, for fear that ss will drop when i go back to work.

dor,
wow.. u pump so many times in a day !!! then wat happened when u returned to work ? continue to pump every 3 hrly in office ? ur office got nursing room ?

bkkgal
pm-ed u..do let me know if you received

dor
good ss! so envious
btw is your measurement for the pouch sling accurate? the size you bought fits you nicely?

Bjorn carrier,

There are 4 models
1) Original
2) Air - made of mesh so airier and cooler for bb
3) Active - sturdier back support
4) Synergy - best of both worlds (combination of both air and active features)

I think the price starts from about $150 for original to $290 for synergy. Will call the supplier later and update all.

Vine,
Can i include you in as well just for tally count?

Ok, anyone else wants the pink colour sling? I'll consolidate for and place order this afternoon:

1) bx
2) bkkgal (M)
3) andrea

Ladies, pls give me your measurements.

bjorn carrier,
me interested too but same like winnie, won't be able to go down and meet you ladies at mothercare...

Vine
Do you know whether we have to keep the ampoules (unopened) in the fridge? I know for opened ones we keep in fridge rite? After so long, frankly I've forgotten what are the diff types of ampoules meant for! :p

vine, Bjorn is a little exp, but v worth the investment. V user-friendly and provides v good support compared to alot of other bb carriers. Also, since this is your first child, can always use for second kid later on for more mileage hehe.

Gar, yea u may add me in to tally the headcount.

bkkgal: I have no idea for the storage for ampoules leh. Can check with garfield on this.

Gar: Can advise on the storage of ampoules?

Berry: Yea would like to get a good carrier but can it be use till toddler? Currently let me deal with my 1st kid b4 thinking of 2nd one. hehe

happy, ya loh. now my life revolves with just pumping, latching, doing housework n of course taking care of the 2 of them.

re: back to work.
i plan(plan only) to pump 8am(before work), noon, 4pm(need to see situation), 7pm,10pm,1am and also 4am.

andrea, ya. u have to measure from yr shoulder to yr opposite waist.

vine, shopping again!

garfield, yr ss also good what.. supplement with fm at night cos he cant wait! so he will be on 2 fm feed.

Betty Lee's Contact

Bjorn Carrier,
Tute, Winnie, i don't mind getting for you first and then you collect from my house (in Katong). Convenient?

Ampoule storage,
For unopened ampoules, just store at room temperature unless you want the cooling sensation. For half-used ampoules, must store in fridge and best to use within 24 hours. I use glad wrap to wrap up the bottle.

berry...MUST BE YOUR HUBBY! wah i'm so impressed. he can even bring baby out and buy things for u. mine....hai....i go and bath/toilet/eat also must rush like hell in case she start to cry. but my hub is improving nowadays.....at least he wun be flustered so easily.

my hub was saying - aiyah..ppl baby guai mah..not like ours will tear down the house. i told him my baby also quite guai when she's out mah...as long as there's aircon and someone carrying her (we use a bjorn-like carrier).

BJORN CARRIER:
which wednesday will u all be going to mothercare? tomorrow?

soft-spot on head:
have you all notice if it's bigger now than birth? at birth it was just like a thumb-size 'hollow' spot. today i was stroking her head and i realize quite big leh! I'm going to google now!

wah dor, your ss is so good... i only manage to freeze in feb and march... now in april, i am pumping 6 times a day... each time around 200 ml, cannot freeze cos just sufficient..... if i latch, i can go down to 100 to 150ml..... not sure if i can match up the demand when i go back to work in early may.

Garfield, thanks for the contact, i will massage to see if it goes away, if not have to engage professional liao....
May I check who will be going with you and whether there is a mother nearer to SK please? cos not very familiar with katong area. I dont mind transferring $$ first....

soft spot on head
i realise it also. shd be normal lah. it will only cover up by 2yrs
when birth it is so fragile... now it is getting more firmer

happymum2b
tks for the contact.

tongtong
last time my niece in law's head also titled to one side, so her daddy had to tilt her head to make it straight. my sis-in-law told me that it's easier do correction when bb is younger. for my niece in law, they only realised the problem when she's 6 mths old. so it's good that your PD discovered it early.

dor
i din ask boss for permission when i pumped in ofc. i oni pumped once at work. so juz rinsed after use.

Pouch BP:
5)stephie (single layer w/o padding/S/raffles city on sat/[email protected])
8)tongtong (single layer w padding)

Re: excess ebm
if can't store the excess ebm, wat can we do with it other than pouring away?

berry
ur hubby is super. doubt mine can do that :p

actually i think our hbs are all capable of looking after bb if we trust them and if they hv no other alternatives. sometimes they may feel inadequate or afraid cos the womenfolk ie our moms or ourselves are too critical or we never give them a chance. they can surprise us sometimes ya know. like my hb yday went to book a pedi for me, brt me to the shop and left to shop ard with bb. it was his time totally alone with bb. he told me not to worry abt bb, just enjoy some "me time".

Bjorn Carrier Update

just called the distributor. they say they cannot offer more than 15% to end users due to distribution agreement. so looks like we need to buy from mothercare liao.

suggest that those interested determine the exact model and colour post here. we'll call mothercare and make sure they have the items before we go down.

1)Berry (I'll prob get the synergy, which is the active model in the AIR material thats more breathable than the usual padding)
2)Garfield (Synergy / Black)
3)Winnie
4)Tute
5)Vine gal

I can pick up for Winnie, Tute and Vine gal first. Will check out the cost after you have provided your decided model.

bkkgal/garfield/kitsune,
for the pumpin pal handsfree, do we need to get the shield as well or not ?

garfield,
hmm...katong a bit off for me coz like winnie i stay in SK...

bbkgal, thanks for consolidating. We r ordering the dusty pink wan rite?

Pink Pouch Sling
1) bx (single w padding M)
2) bkkgal (single w/o padding M)
3) andrea (single w padding M)

The lady mentioned that if it's too big, she is willing to alter within 2 weeks right? (posted by kitsune) Is it possible u help me cfm with the lady? Thanks...

bx, ok no prob

tute
yes yes get the super shields! it's the thing that lets you lean back while pumping. i find that it cups the breasts better than the pump funnel.

bbkgal, thanks.
i really not sure where is the top of my opp. hip. so i order bigger to play safe. if she say cannot alter, u lemme know.

sorry dont mean to make all of your blur, just that i heard that beco carrier can tahan to 25kg, while bjorn can only take up to 12kg.... thus, want to check with all of you if you have any comments?

bx
i measured one side 23 inch but the other should 25 inch so I just settled for medium. hopefully it's right. i emailed her liao, waiting for reply.

oh yeah, bx/andrea do you want to self collect or opt for normal postage? i prefer normal postage cos Bishan abit far for me.

bb taking nap in her cot that's why can start emailing and checking forum.

past 2 days she has been able to put herself to sleep in the cot so i very very happy!

otherwise i hv to keep carrying and rocking her to sleep on my chest.

trying out a new mtd to put her to sleep. seems to be working so far (cross fingers)

dor/jeannie/winnie...wah..envy ur ss...me still also pumping 100ml most of the time only..how long do u all pump to achieve 200ml?

bx - looks like we r in the same situtation..i hope the goat rue's can help..

am now having bad sore throat..sigh..tired to pump...

bbkgal, what new method r u using..my gal also needs to be pat n carry to sleep..otherwise i have to put her in the rocker...she dun sleep in the cot in the daytime..

tute - do u want the pumping pals handsfree...it dun really work for me cos i using 2 different single pump..Swing n mini electric..so i feel its imbalance..so i am quite frustrated using it..i just bought it on sat..if u wan it i can let u have it at a discounted price since i bought only few days ago..

starry, yup, can't wait to receive my goat's rue

dor/jeannie/winnie and mummies with ok supply,
what do u usually eat for your lunch or dinner? was thinking maybe i didn't eat enough fish, that's why i milk ss can't increase. are you still drinking fish soup or other secret recipe to boost milk ss?

bjorn carrier - hey, i just wanna add on.. i bought 2 weeks back from states.. paid abt $200 for synergy n bib.. maybe u gals can do a spree instead.. much cheaper!!

re:gathering at ikea@9th april wed
1) happy
2) dor11
3) kelly
4) sweetpea
5) xiaoyun
6) bx
7) eliaw

I can go also!
east side mummies need a lift pls let me know.. i can tompang 2 pax..

Baby Whisperer
Starry, u heard of Tracy Hogg the Baby Whisperer? She's an english maternity nurse with 25 yrs' exp with bbs. She wrote this book called The Baby Whisperer.

She talks abt E.A.S.Y.

Eat
Activity
Sleep
Your own time

Basically, feed bb, give her some activity time e.g. under playgym and then put to nap. She does not advocate the cry it out mtd. Hers is the Pick Up Put Down mtd. In short, we are to spot the cues our bb gives. Spot the tired cry and yawns. By 3rd yawn, shud bring to bb room and shush pat them but not to pat until sleep. Shushpat until almost dropping off to sleep and then lay them in cot. Cont to pat slowly and lightly and then move away. If bb cries, pick her up and shushpat and then put her down. Cont the PU/PD until bb gets mesg and falls asleep themselves. For this mtd to work, must be consistent. Tracy Hogg believes it takes 3 days to break any habit or start a new routine.