(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

sunny,
re: cry it out method
sure dun work for me cos i can't bear to see my bb crying.. :p
btw, wont bb gasp in more air if they cry for too long ?

winnie, actually I think alot of bbs like to be carried and patted/rocked. Imagine if you are a small vulnerable bb who is completely alien to this world, wouldnt you like to be in safe arms that rocks and pat you when u are sleepy so that u can relax safely and sleep? Why not just carry her then.

For my bb, he likes to be jiggled and rocked in my arms to sleep too, and I enjoy holding him too. I find that these are the things that promote bonding.

Dor I have try huggies ok for him la but still prefer brands like pampers, mp, nepia, drypers

Happy I want to go home now!

1)kitsune
2)tute (w/ padding)
3)yanyen
4)jeannie
5)stephie (single layer w/o padding)
5)bkkgal (single layer w/o padding)
6)vinegal (single layer w padding)

i'll like to join in as well

1)kitsune
2)tute (w/ padding)
3)yanyen
4)jeannie
6)bx (w/ padding)

kelly,
dunno if u missed my post. do u still have one more bottle of goat's rue to spare? if have, i trf the money to u.

Bx, oops.. u hv override vine's maybe cos both of u posted at almost the same time..
helping vine to put her name back on the list..

1)kitsune
2)tute (w/ padding)
3)yanyen
4)jeannie
7)bx (w/ padding)

opps sorry... thanks happy. i repost coz i wan single layer.

1)kitsune
2)tute (w/ padding)
3)yanyen
4)jeannie
7)bx (single layer w padding)

bkkgal,
it's ok. i didn't know that also. i also want single layer w/o padding

1)kitsune
2)tute (w/ padding)
3)yanyen
4)jeannie
7)bx (w/ padding)
8)garfield9 (single layer w/o padding)

winnie,
oscar the grouch and i both have to abstain from diary products too. no choice lah, just bear with it for the sake of bb.

rocking bb to sleep,
i agree with berry. i enjoy the feeling of bb falling asleep in my arms hee hee....hb and i are human yao lan. we will walk up and down the hall. sometimes we stay stationary and then rock our hips machum doing big walk like that. bb likes it very much and easy for her to fall asleep.

re:rocking bb
i used to like it, but now my bb just too heavy 'n wants to b carried all the time so sling is my savior..

updating list coz i want single layer 'n updating bx's updates as well

1)kitsune
2)tute (single layer w padding)
3)yanyen
4)jeannie

tute,
hee hee...yes, i think in time my gal will be too heavy. now she's still 4kg+ so still can tahan. that's why good time to buy and master the sling.

Baby Bjorn- anyone knows or has heard of a BP for the Bjorn carrier? This is one of the best carriers in my opinion, I remember bringing my older dd to try out carriers and none is as user-friendly as this one. V easy to put bb in/take bb out plus v good back support compared to other brands. Had one for my older DD that we used till she is over 1yo but gave it away later. Thinking of getting one more for bb now. Please share if anyone has seen a BP on this.

garfield, does yr bb like the jiggling? My bb sometimes can ONLY sleep if we jiggle him lol. I imagine that this will look way weird in public. :p

1)kitsune
3)yanyen
4)jeannie (single layer w padding)

hey.. dor.. thanks for the pic i will go and try my existing lone.. ur this sling adjiustable??

Re: dye hair
andrea.. i also colouring my hair on fri!! hehe.. need to change image liao.. cannot be grump mummy.. happy u very fast leh.. go colour hair liao.. for baby first month??

winnie.. my baby at night will get a bit difficult to take care.. dunno why.. she seems to cry louder and behave more crankily compared to day time.. soemhow i think my ger prefers BM to FM.. thats y at night like that cause we feed her formula.. but bo pian.. i fun have so much milk for her..

RE: weight
Wah .. my baby seems to grow quite a bit.. she's now abt 5.3 kg.. she is coming to 7 weeks old on wed.. Is this weight ok?? now she chubby liao..

berry,
i've seen a BP on baby bjorn before. ended some time back in jan i think. ya, i want to get one too. have 15% discount at mothercare but not sure if it applies to this product. if it does, i can get one for you too.

my gal absolutely lurvs the jiggling. we do it in public in restaurants too. when she's a bit fretful, we just stand up and jiggle her on the spot to calm her, so that we can get back to eating. pple stare but i dun quite care. i proudly declare that i'm a silly looking mommy =)

jeannie,
wow your gal is 1kg heavier than mine!

garfield/berry
whats jiggling? hee

weight
mine is 4.7kg at her 6th week checkup (last week)..gonna be too heavy for me to handle soon!

1)kitsune
3)yanyen
9) andrea (single layer w padding)

mums thanks for the response on putting babies to sleep. actually i dont mind carrying her to sleep, just that when i carry her, she auto aim for my breast... no chance to even try to carry her and pat her.... sigh....

then i will abstain from dairy products first...

tute, noted, I will see if my CL can help if not, wait for hubby back then i approach you for help...

jeannie, wah your baby wt gain is good... mine is only 4kg plus cos she is only 2.6kg at birth...

jeannie,
i coloured my hair few days AFTER my bb 1st mth.. funny rite ? haha.. cos can't decide wan to colour 1st or do rebond 1st..
wow, ur gal grow quite alot.. must be v chubby.. u got update her latest pic ? then i can go ur blog & see..

btw, when r u gg back to work ? so who will look after ur gal when u returned to work ?

hi mummies, is this bp on pouch or like the sarong sling? my boy already 6.9kg, can still use? the below can be used till how heavy?

1)kitsune
3)yanyen

physiotheraphy: today brought my boy for first session of physiotheraphy. so shocked and stunned to see how the theraphist turned and adjust my boy's neck! luckily boy din cry.. but so sim tia cuz it looked violent the way she did it.

winnie, why your pd advised u to avoid dairy products? your bb got allergy towards dairy pdts? i din take anmum but heard it can boost milk supply if you take anmum. yea winnie, no one around me to help out so got to opt for infant care. cuz parents in msia n in laws too old and no relatives here in SG who are able to take care.

happymum/kelly, pls pm me aircond guy contact too thanks!

berry,
haha...i used to jiggle my son vigorously when he was smaller and it was effective...definitely will be funny if do it in public...my hb is hopeless in jiggling, he just can't "jiggle" well so look very awkward..in the end he just swing slowly...LOL

tongtong,
the organiser claims that she can carry her 11kg kid using the pouch...wow, your bb sure is heavy !

jeannie,
still ok lah...mine was 5.4kg at 6 weeks...can imagine him growing more...

garfield,
yeah...good time to get sling, trust me you'll love using sling in no time...i love it even with only 1 hand free...imagine if i can use it the way dor using and have both hands free...

re:bb bjorn,
garfield...do update if mothercare 15% is applicable for bjorn coz interested to get one too...regret didn't get from bp last time. i remember bb bjorn is sold in isetan as well...maybe can keep a lookout for isetan sales...

baby's weight:
wah, ur babies all so chubby. My bb coiming to 2 months this fri. i got no idea how heavy she is now. how u all know ur bb's weight? i only got to weigh her when i bring her to the PD.

happy, yes i want!! can i pass u the $ on wed?

bx,
when at home here's what i do to weigh bb : i weigh myself first then weigh while holding bb then just deduct of my weight...hahaha...simple method.

cheryl,
why won't your hb allow you ?

Kelly I transferred fast fast cos intially i already wanted to order, but my hubby dilly dally thus i dont dare to commit to it cos he is always very slow in transferring the $. Finally got helper so i dashed out to transfer.

Tong Tong, I have 2 PD who told me to avoid... my baby no allergy, just taht they say best to avoid... *touch wood*

I think I am in same scenario as you. my parents in 50s still working... my IL hopeless, FIL almost torture my BB yesterday, she cried for help when he rock her so hard in the bouncer... i no eyes to see, so just hide in the study room, cos i sure i will flare up if i am outside... MIL too old also and she got no experience at all, everyday say she good life, all her 3 kids got maid to take care.... And dont need to say about hubby aunt.... terrible, play home politics, in front of me say one thing, in front of him say another, in front of IL say another... so end up all misundersatnding and unhappiness....

my own Ah Yi all have their own things... so also cant help...

Happy yea waitin for time to pass fast but very sleepy now since nite time did not sleep well.

Tongtong yr boi so big now ah!

bx,
yes, u can pay me when we meet tis wed..

tute,
we tried the same method.. but got different weight when i carry the bb vs. when hb carry the bb.. but using the same weighing scale leh.. strange.. :-S

happymum
ya, bb would take in air when crying. we would just apply ru yi oil daily loh. my mil told me when we let bb cry, need to make sure that the tummy is covered.
and i notice that he really cannot falls asleep by his own, i would sling him and go out for a walk. once he's in the sling, he can zz for few hrs.

tongtong
what happen to your boy?

re: bb's weight
my boy was about 4.8kg at wk 4. now 6wk liao, don't know how heavy he is.

haha... tute, i tried that before but i thought like not very accurate. ok, i try again tonight. coz bb not with me now. left her at my mil's place.

re:gathering at ikea@9th april wed
1) happy
2) dor11
3) kelly
4) sweetpea
5) xiaoyun
6) bx

sunny,
i remembered my elder son can cry till almost vomit.. really scare me off.. thus, i dun dare to try the "cry it out" method on him..
then for my gal, she can fall asleep easily in our arms then we transfer her to the bed/yaolan, so dun hv to use the "cry it out" method too..

BJORN- I called mothercare earlier to ask abt the Bjorn, I tried my luck and asked them if there will be a BP discount if can buy more than several pieces from them, waiting for them to call me back.

happymum/bx,
yeah actually this method not v accurate but give you a rough estimation on the weight, shouldn't be too far off e.g. i weigh at home roughly 5.6kg and when i went to clinic turns out bb weigh 5.4kg...

even when you weigh at clinic may not be that accurate, dpends if pampers is full or not...can differ quite a bit

happymum,
you try at the same time or on different occasions?

happy: at night i have to take care of julian leh.

Dor: Do u think Julian can fit into the pouch cos i scare he is too long and cannot fit in leh.

tute,
but the difference we have is abt 1 KG!! oh, we tried at the same time.. must be something wrong wif my weighing scale.. haha..

dor/vine,
Shopping time!!!
check out the BP section.. haha.. got some nice Carter's romper on sale..

mummies who r interested can go check it out too..

Re: Sling

1)kitsune
3)yanyen (single layer w padding)

some questions with regards to storing EBM:

1) can i combine the milk pumped from a few sessions, pour into a milkbag and transfer to the freezer?

2) within how long can i keep the milk in the fridge then transfer to the freezer? or must i freeze fresh EBM immediately?

3) let's say i have 300ml frozen EBM in one milkbag. I only need 120ml. I thaw the entire bag, pour out the qty i need, the remainder can keep in the fridge how long?

anyone can help to clear these doubts?