(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hello mummies, can any1 help me post in the overseas spree, i can't post there. i wan to get the following, n the seller dun accept PM..headache

Spree for Medela Pump Accessories - happykids

1. medela® Quick Clean Mico-Steam Bags - Item # 232: $5.25

2. medela® SOFTFIT BREASTSHIELD WITH CONNECTOR- Item # 213: $7.00 each

can ask the seller to contact me.tks! [email protected]

jeannie,
i also vei kancheong when i pump while he sleeping. sometimes, veri stressful when i saw him moving..

re: pump while bb sleeping

indeed stress...even output also stress..yest mum went out for a while n i was left alone to cope..wah..cannot cope with pumping n handling crying bb..plus so sleepy..really pei fu mummies with 2 kids...

re: pump while bb sleeping
starry.. heehee. ya lo. if i pump halfway, n he woke up. i will latch him on one side n pump on the other. but veri stress cos he will kick the pump.

Snowbelle,
No, she didn't say. I told her that you've tried everything but still 10ml only. She said still can try. Why not give her a call first?

I'm so happy. After 8 weeks of BF then realize latch not perfect. LC corrected yesterday. So for the last 4 feeds, bb is looking contented and satisfied....no longer crying. I feel so sorry for my gal. I tekan her for so long. No wonder fall asleep at my breast - suck wrongly mah so suck and suck very little milk get fed up go dreamland =P

dor, i totally agree. When i pump whun bb is sleeping, i feel very stress. anytime can wake up. if she wakes up and cry, i will just tell her to wait for mummy, then she continue to cry and cry. end up less milk coz too stressed up.

Medela PIS advanced:
Anyone can advise how to clean the motor? yesterday when the pumping went on to phase 2, i hear the sound like different from usual. panic.. so fast worn out liao?

wow garfield, make me so tempted to contact the LC. she can advise on how to get more milk?? my ss like either stagnant or dropping on certain days.

Hmm sometimes my baby cry non-stop in the day.Sometimes, its due to "fatigue"? Cos they never sleep enough and become "man chang" and in the end find it harder to sleep. Think mummies should try to calm down first cos babies also can sense it one and they may cry even more. Maybe can talk to them and sometimes i give pacficer and pat her to sleep or sleep on tummy(just have to keep a close look cos my baby always lift up and turn her head left and right)

At night, my baby wakes up at quite regular hours now. once at 11 to 12 plus, once ard 3 am and another time ard 7am. Once I feed her and burp her, I will put her in bed and put blanket over her and tell her to sleep and switch off the light. Usually, she will sleep by herself.

thanks cheryl and bkkgal..
Cheryl.. my hubby is less gan chiong than me but i think cause i keep commenting on how he is handling the baby that makes him irritated. But then.. after she fell from the sofa the other time.. i really very scared somemore he will fall asleep while carrying her.. SIgh..dunno whether i should close 1 eye or not.

Winie and dor.. hope ur babies are better now..stopped crying. Really very stress when see her like that.. somemore her rashes seem to get worse i keep on procrastinating in bringing her to see doc cause i think it is only heat rash. Will it cure by itself??

Re:rashes/ Diarrhoea
How many of ur kids still have rashes?? Is it because of the food i take since i am breastfeeding??

Will taking cold drinks make ur babies have diarrhoea?

Dor and bx.. i also very stress when pump during baby sleeping.. immediately when she cry a bit.. then i have to stop.. but sometimes.. when there is letdown.. very messy.. milk start to drip everywhere. BTw.. just to check.. u all breast feeding till when.. i actually very tired ans sian already.. think will stop when i go back to work in may.

I dun like to feel and look engorge leh..a bit stupid rite... somemore i am in sch.. think my students will comment a lot.

apple.. ur routine very good.. my ger sleeps quite a bit in the day.. so at night she does not sleep well.. can i check how much u feed ur ger at night? How many weeks is she?

kelly: hi i have bought the bottle from tong tong. pls post 2 bottles to me ok? thanks
how much should i pay u now?

kelly.. i must say ur blog looks fantastic.. how did u design it?? u are very good w web stuff!!

And i think u are amazing.. i din know ur 2 other kids are still so young..are u taking car of them alone?? How u handle??

Ur stella.. she looks so cute her hamburger is overflowing.. carls junior burger lor.. mine only mac donalds..Think ur BM powerful considering she was so small when she was borned.

jeannie, u shld get the avent breast shells..its good..i am using it if i need to get away from pumping for a while, it will also store the precious leaking milk for a while

sorry.. somebody posted an add of a pd at sunsetway.. can u reporst ..i cant find the add.. may be bringing my daughter there cause nearer.

jeannie, my bb's rashes comes on and off. but i would say much better already. sometimes i suspect i eat too many heaty things like potato chips and chocolates then her rash will flare up. and also that time i think i drank milk oso triggered off.

i think i will still pump when i go back teaching. provided i still have milk then. i think i will oso wear looser tops lor. so that my saggy breasts will not be so obvious. my only worry is to find a place to pump.

now going to school to bring some books home to prepare. will be back 1st week of may. so everyday can start looking through abit. very scared i lost touch.

bkkgal, m hubby took bb photo with his digital camera lor! background must be white so we bought the mahjong paper for him to lie on.

goatrue: i only see my ss increase when i nearly finish about half the bottle. so i think the effect not immediate for my case la.

kelly, tonight will ask hubby to transfer the postage and shipping fee to you cuz i'm in msia now. thanks!! so pls send one bottle to jaslyn and one bottle to me.

sunny: when you let bb cry, your bb will fall asleep on his own?
check with u, did you pump after you latched your bb? now you total latch right? sunny your bb cant sleep? u wanna go parentcraft meh?

green papaya soup: how frequent shall we drink?

vaccination: my package 6in 1 got 7 jabs in total which include chicken pox and MMR. 530 nett. but need to pay consultation each time i visit the doc for assessment.i think it's slightly more expensive than others becuase of the consultation fee. but bobian la, it's the nearest PD to my house liao, can save some taxi fee, this is how i console myself la :p

winnie: i stay in yishun, and the infant care i will go is little green house. aiya now so many ppl advised me against going infant care.. nanny better. Do you think so too? aiya so confusing leh. at some aspect i think infant care better cuz they will do the proper way like sterilising, and hygenic. nanny sometimes can be very not hygenic one. on the other hand, nanny wont let bb cry himself..

jeannie, when my mum was helping me last week, i could not pump very well too. was worried tha tbaby will cry half way.... now Cl back, at least i can concentrate on pumping, and i hope that that with the goat rue, it can help a bit when i return to work in first week of may.... my office has a nursing room.... to pump... but of course, need to see boss's face loh, cos i think she may think it is inefficient for me to keep disappearing from work to pump... now i am pumping 4 hourly, i hope to shift it to 5 hourly soon....

Tongtong, truly speaking, from the beginning i have been looking at infant care liao... cos i dont like the idea of nanny... cos i thot other than worrying about the nanny, i need to worry about her house, and the people in her house.... cos you never know who will come into the house.... maybe i am paranoid...

I prefer infant care because i been to the depot road one, and it has good feedback from my office colleagues.... I cannot say it is very good, but at least, they have proper sleeping and play area. proper teachers to look after, and proper schedule... no tv, no junk food, no extra people i need to worry about....of course, there is this part of the ration 1:3. But I console myself by thinking that, sooner or later, my girl is going child care, it is just that I am bringing it earlier. to me, yi4 tian1 suan4 yi4 tian1. I am prepared to let my career go slow just for the girl liao.... no more OT, no more pushing hard.... cos something must take priority. Of course, the risk of gettting sick... but this is not within our control, so just need to take it with stride...

I think finding a good nanny is very difficult, it is really luck you know... just like a maid. I have a horror story that the maid is alone with the boy at home and she suck the boy's penis till it rot..... my mum's colleague told her.... so maid is out for me.....

what do you think? actually there is a thread on infant care, and it makes me feel better after reading it.

tongtong: but infant care bb might fall sick easily as diseases can be spread fr 1 to another le. plus v x wor. @ 1st i wanna get nanny but mil bu fang xin. so now i get maid instead w mil to 'eye power'. haha same price as nanny but can do housework!!! but then loss of privacy man.

now i'm home alone w bb till maid arrive. 2nd week of coping w bb by myself till hubby back fr work @ nite. its tough to get housework done! house is in a mess... need to pack and set expectation for maid to meet...

really pei fu those SAHM!

re: "inconsolable baby"
my baby girl has that sometimes. i aso get "angry" but i think it's more like frustration cuz i dunno how to help her. so far, other than food/diaper/etc, i aso thot of other possible discomforts like scared, insecure, need to suckle, attention. i tried not just rocking...but holding her n her hands tight. speaking to her in calm voice beside her ear, sing to her when she is quieter. aso tried holding her head...to make her feel secure. aso gave her pacifier too. sometimes instead of singing, i hum cuz i think more soothing.

jeanie, address n acknowledge your frustration. dun feel lousy-we r not perfect. bb need to commmunicate discomfort n only way is to cry. the more unsettled n angry u feel, the harder it is to calm the bb cuz bb can feel mummy's emotional turmoil. remember that you feeling lousy is not gonna help the situation - instead makes u feel worse!

re: breast shells
i read that the milk collected is to be discarded n not consumed..

Hi mums, I'm interested in the goat's rue. Anyone wishing to let go pls pm me.
I'm very desperate now coz can only get 60ml after 3hrs w/o latch on & my boy needs 150ml.

Garfield, Wa, so good, I'm sold. Until now, I'm only pumping 100ml if do it every 3 hours. Supposed to extend to every 4 hrs this week but when I tried, every 4 hrs, only get 110-120ml. Meanwhile my gal has been been drinking 90-110ml these 2 days. Really scared I don't have enough for her. Tried massage yesterday but the masseur can't help, she said I don't have breast lump but cannot explain why my left nipple has so few spurts of milk compared to my right. Hope that seeing LC & taking goat's rue will help. :p

Kelly, I collect from Ikea tampines and pay you at the same time, as long as not Sunday afternoon. Thanks.

garfield,
thanks for the input ! hmm...in that case, now i will just continue what i'm doing...hopefully i dun need to supplement till 6 months coz that's my bf target..

kitsune,
same for me....my left breast spurt is so much less compared to my right...thought it's normal ?

dor,
sling is also my savior...my son can fall asleep easily in it plus i get to do other things e.g. surf forum while carrying him...

re:maid,
i realise it takes v long to train maids...i train my maid to prepare water for my son to bathe for more than a month! she just couldn't get it right...in the beginning it was too cold...then after that ok, but after a while...it gets too hot...i have to check everytime to ensure the water temp is ok...otherwise my son will cry when we put him down...lucky now is back to normal.. she's good in consoling my son and she's quite patient so that's a plus...hopefully later on she'll get better...

Every mummy paid SGD28.56 per bottle.
Actual cost = $27.24
Shipping charge per bottle = $3.70
Total cost per bottle = S$30.94
Postage + Envelope = $2 (for 3bottles), $1.20 (for 2bottles) or $1 (for 1bottle)

Batch 1 (USD19.05 x 1.43 = SGD27.24)
1) Annabelle payment & add received
2) annabelle
3) annabelle
4) garfield9 (postage)
5) garfield
6) bx payment & add received
7) <strike>snowbelle</strike> happymum2b payment received
8) <strike>snowbelle</strike> bkkgal payment received
9) dor11
10) dor11
11) happymum2b
12) vine_gal payment received

Batch2 (USD19.05 x 1.43 = SGD27.24)
1) star70 (postage) payment n add received
2) star70
3) jaslyn (postage)
4) bluespark (postage) payment &amp; add received
5) bkkgal self collect at ikea tamp, payment received
6) <strike>goodbaby</strike> xiaoyun
7) <strike>kelly </strike> Winnie payment &amp; add received
8) <strike>kelly </strike> winnie
9) eliaw
10)jeannie payment &amp; add received
11)jeannie
12)kitsune
13)kitsune

Batch3 (USD19.44 x 1.43 = SGD27.80)
1) sweetpea
2) <strike>tongtong</strike> jaslyn
3) tongtong
4) eileengoh (postage)
5) Thankful self collect at ikea tamp
6) yanyen (postage)
7) yanyen

Mummies in Batch 1 &amp; 2 who r self-collecting, pls pay $2.38 x # of bottles
If you r opting for postage, pls add the postage amt, depending on how many bottles u order.

Mummies in Batch 3 who r self collecting, pls pay $2.94 x # of bottles
If you r opting for postage, pls add the postage amt, depending on how many bottles u order.

Pls transfer 2 my posb savings a/c 107470123. thks!

GATHERING at Ikea Tamp
Date: 7Apr, Mon
Time: 3pm?

1) Kelly &amp; Stella
2) dorothy &amp; Gervaise(maybe earlier- can meet for lunch also)
3) Happymum2b &amp; Erlene (joining dor for lunch.. )
4) kitsune
5) bkkgal?
6) sweetpea?
7) vinegal?

dorothy, happymum2b
lunch is definitely out of e question. i can try my best 2 reach at 130pm but i cant stay long. cos if i go 2 ikea in e early afternoon, my 2boys'll wanna come n i hv 2 bring them home by 3pm 4 their naps. if i come at 3pm (only after they nap), i can come alone wif stella, i can stay longer n chit chat longer.

u2 sure 1 2 stay at ikea 4 so long, as in wait until i come?

kelly,
dun think vine_gal can join us next Mon as she starts work the same Mon..
Hmm.. it sounds better to meet at 3pm cos u r able to stay longer and i believe the cafe at ikea will be less crowded during that time..
if dor dun mind, then we all can meet at 3pm and go for tea or something.. dor, is this ok wif u ?

kelly,
i can't transfer the money to you now. can wait a few days later?

I am going to meet you all at Ikea Tamp. Sharing cab with Dor. Will be a challenging task for me as never bring galgal out alone.

GATHERING at Ikea Tamp
Date: 7Apr, Mon
Time: 3pm?

1) Kelly &amp; Stella
2) dorothy &amp; Gervaise(maybe earlier- can meet for lunch also)
3) Happymum2b &amp; Erlene (joining dor for lunch.. )
4) kitsune
5) bkkgal?
6) sweetpea?
7) xiaoyun &amp; bb

I went out with bb alone today
but not far lah.

very proud of me <pat> basically took the stroller and wheeled her to a restaurant near my home to meet fren for lunch. Halfway there, she started screaming blue murder, so I had to carry her with one hand and push stroller wif one hand walking down the road. During lunch, I put her in sling and she slept while I ate.

Quite an adventure for both of us. My confidence now boosted.

So yup, I think Ikea on Mon ONZ! Lunch or tea oso ok with me

Hi Kelly

Is it possible for me to go to yr place to collect the goat rue? As next wk i need to go back to work so i wanted to try out the next few days. Or can send by speed post, I dun mind to pay for the postage.

jeannie
*pat pat*
mayb you can try to sling your bb and walk around? my boy can sleep in the sling for more than his usual sleep time. bb can sense our mood/emotion. so, we need to be calmer/cooler than them. i kept reminding myself when i got upset with my boy when he refused to sleep after feed and cry non-stop.

dor
me too! whenever my boy moves during his sleep, i got very kancheong. and i am very scared to hear him crying....

starry
if my boy sleeps more than 3 hrs, i would pump one side and feed him another side.

tongtong
when i 1st try the cry-it-out method, he would cry for 2 hrs! of course, it's not non-stop. he would cry few minutes then rest, then cry, then rest. during that 2 hrs, i would go to see him every 20 min, to make sure that he's ok. and will feed him water, change diaper, talk to him. he would quiet down a while, then cry again....
last time this method worked for my gal, after few days, she learnt to sleep by her own.
for my boy, i am not too sure if this method works 'cos every kid is different.
i am exploring the parentcraft thingy. but no one answer me leh. do you know who went?
i don't pump after each feed 'cos lazy. :p i started to gv 1 time EBM to my boy from yesterday onwards. i let my hb feed him so that he can have some bonding with my boy.,

re: bb feeding
anyone can share how much your bb take and their weight?

Hi Kelly

I will meet you ladies at Ikea 3pm. I will try ask my hubby to transfer the shipping cost to you tonight. Sigh dunno whether I can bring my boy. No confidence to handle him on my own on the bus from Seng Kang...and no confidence to drive on my own.

Kitsune, regarding rompers, at first I also tot difficult to fit through the head and didn't use them. But I find it faster to wear than the string or buttons ones.

One precaution about buttons: they can come loose and baby might swallow and choke by accident. For my boy I dare not let him wear button ones to sleep..scared he swallow the button.

jeannie/winnie: my boy also fussed at 6am this morning , i tot he was hungry so wanna feed him but he dint want. but kept fussing like in discomfort. so my mum applied ru yi oil on his tummy. shortly after that he calmed down and fell asleep. so after you have tried everything but bb still fuss, i think is wind. try burping or applying ru yi oil then.

garfield, what's the difference between the correct latch and incorrect latch?

sleep thru night: whose bb has started to sleep thru night?

jeannie: your bb's rash still very bad? do you want to try bathing her with "jin1 yin2 hua1"? i bathed my bb with this and applied his first mornig pee on his face once ( method told by aunts), and also applied probiotic on his face a few times. and me myself also taking probiotics. i combined so many methods but dunno which one that cured my boy's rashes. now he doesnt have the ugly rashes but only the heat rash which can go off by itself.

breastmilk flow too fast: i experienced this too, i think my flow too much for bb to handle and he choked and coughed everytime i bf him. so i prefer to give him EBM.

jeannie: you total latch your bb on ? i also tired with bf, so i give EBM, easier. but i will latch him on every now and then. just a bit stress cuz afraid he kena choked.

pump at work: my office not bf friendly. so sian. so i will keep pumping to only one time. hopefully my ss wont drop and wont feel uncomfortable with hard breast..

winnie: oh i felt much better after reading ur post!! oh yea u are right! htere's no tv and there's proper playing ground, and good teachers to educate our bb too hehe. where's the thread ah?

chocochip:hopw many weeks r ur bb? 150ml per 3 hr?

kitsune: ur gal drinks 110ml per 2 or 3 hr?

sling: die, i still dunno how to use sling! hopefully there's another gathering so that you all can teach me how to use hehe. this round i cant make it cuz i'm still in Msia.

sunny: when my boy is 6kg, i still feeding him 120-125ml every 2.5 to 3 hrs. scared to increase his intake cuz doc said he a bit plump.er, not too sure who went to parentcraft liao leh.

ML: din do it ever since i was pregnant in April last year until today. so my hubby has been a monk for 1 year liao. now really no mood and it seems that my world is only my boy now. no time to even bother about my hubby. sometimes felt so frustrated with him, dunno why. i just felt that i no longer "loves" him, it was a very scary thought but just donno why i feel this way..
everytime when i thought of the relationship with him my eyes will start getting sore with tears liao

sweetpea,
re: gathering at ikea
do u wan to share cab wif me as i will be gg as well ? i think thankful is gg too..
so maybe the 3 of us can share 1 cab since 3 of us r staying at Sengkang?

thankful, ok ?

bkkgal, I'm glad for you! See, once u do it for the first time it'll be much easier; Some things are harder to imagine than to carry out hehe.

jeannie, from what my friends told me (those who bf a v long time), after a few months, u wont be VISIBLY engorged anymore, if u miss yr pumping time u may leak abit, but wont be all engorged n rock hard like in the early days. but may need to use a breast pad cause leaks are prob more embarassing haha.

garfield, my DD did gymboree classes for a short while when she was a bb. She didnt like it much so I stopped after a while. Apart from classes, they also have free-play sessions whereby u pay much lesser per hour and your child gets to roam around exploring freely. I prefer this cause I prefer less structured acitivities when they are this young. Give it a try n see how u and your bb feel about it.

tongtong, its easy to focus all that you have on bb esp when young bbs are so needy n rely entirely on us for now. But we musnt forget that one day our kids will grow up n have their own friends and eventually their own family. And when the time comes, our hubbies will be our best old-age companion. Try to recall the reason you fell in love with him and the reason you married and have a child with him. There are ups n downs in a marriage, you might prob be just gg thru a difficult phase.