(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xiao yun
can't remember how much nappy cover cost... i think less than $8 bah.
yap, water proof one.

goodbaby
i used the sling after my gal is more than 1 month old.

goodbaby,
nurse told me to remove mitten after 1 month.
but i am still putting on mitten.
about booties, i also putting on for her. think she too cold without it.

xiao yun
can go kiddy palace c c. mayb got cheaper one. i bought it more than 2 yrs ago, so, not too sure the mkt price now..

sunny,
sure. will go if i've got the chance to get out of the house..

Dear Mummies
I am a MTB from Sept 08. I am presently at a loss of which brand of breastpump to go for. I know MEDELA PIS is the best. Has anyone uses PIS as yet? Can share ur valauable reviews? How abt other brands such as Ameda Duo pump?

I am sure u ladies will be able to give me valuable information since u haf hands-on experience

goldfish
i've tried medela pis, medela mini electric plus. i have an ameda dual lact and a fren lent me an avent isis.

pis and ameda are wat they call hospital grade pumps. pis has a phase 1 baby sucking simulator function which imitates bb's initial sucking when latched ie fast and short. after tt, the pump moves to slow and long to draw out hindmilk. ameda just has dials for controlling how fast and how strong the suction.

the mini electric's machine is different. noisier and has only 1 speed dial but i found it yielded the same results as the pis and ameda.

the avent isis the best i found so far. allows u to pump manually at firt and then the machine imitates ur move. the petals massager helps.

i made a mistake buying the ameda cos i followed a fren's advice tt medela too noisy, who cares abt the noise if it can perform rt??

b4 buying, u shud go n test out the pumps. breast feeding mothers support grp has a range of pumps for u to try.www.breastfeeding.org.sg

xiaoyun,
strange...her BP link gone. i just saw it yesterday cos wanted to buy something. i only remember that the bug repellant spray was going for SG$17

tong,
no lah...i meant i dun have nursing top. i wear nursing bra below a casual top.

bkkgal: Is the Avent isis really good? I'm using the manual version now and I find it really good. Somehow the Medela mini electric didn't work for me - only droplets came out. Now that I saw your post, I'm more confident of Avent isis - considering to buy for pumping when I go back to work. Hesitating as I don't seem to see lots of recommendations for Avent and everyone is talking about Medela.

hello, anyone know if the california bb bug cream can put on baby skin? cos the citronella smell quite strong, not sure if can put directly on her skin, or must rub on clothes...

i oso asked nurses and lact cons why pp always talk abt medela. it's marketing la.. hospitals only use medela industrial grade pumps. avent and other brands dun haf.

i find the avent isis satisfying to see the milk comin out. hee.

Hi xiaoyun/garfield9,
I'm from the Jan 08 thread. saw your discusson on CB products. wanted to give you her link but couln't find it. Hers her website.

http://www.freewebs.com/thepinkcream/index.htm

Her prices are not that far off from ordering directly. Anyway, she mentioned she has excess for celendula. Can always drop her email, quite responsive.

tute..
wah. my girl past week 5 only 3.7kg..she born 2.9kg. still n newborn/S, depending on brand/cutting.

feeding pattern:
my girl still siao siao now. smtimes will feed only 5-10min every 2 hours. smtimes will stay awake for 1-2hours like last night from 4-6am...make me damn tired.

potty training:
my cousin says some experts opinion is u start at 2, they learn by 3. You start at 3, they learn at 3. get the point?

sunny,
seems like your interest vs baby interest? i'll change if it's wet lor, whether or not baby wakes up. if baby wake up, will just have to comfort her n put her to sleep again. it's true if diaper is wet she will get rashes more easily. also if wet n full, she may wet everyhting else - clothes, bedsheet etc and that means more washing too.

XIAOYUN,
do you want the diaper pants? i have afew to let go cuz never use cloth nappy in the end, cuz cancelled CL n no time to wash on my own.... 2/3 are new. 1 is pre-loved. can sell to you for a token la.

finally found some time to come in...

my baby is not sleeping very well, keep waking up in the day and night... thus, i am losing sleep. Last night mum volunteer to take over from 1am to 3am, but i know it is tough on her.... and then guess we are not used to it, a little movement, we tend to wake up and check...

my baby is into 6th week, but no established feeding pattern leh hehehee. when she wants means when she wants, and can tear the whole house down.

vine, blackbatz,
THANKS!!! i ordered from nor before but didn't keep the link to her order form. i agree that she is very responsive and good service =) if not much price diff can order from her. i have her email somewhere...will ask her if we can still order.

garfield still can order from nor as she have excess and her another BP is coming up. I like her way of dealing as she is responsive and fast.

blackbatz/vine,
thanks for the link.
agree with garfield if the price difference not much difference, can get from NOR.
btw, how to directly get from california baby?

lezy,
is diaper pants water proof?
i don't mind getting both preloved and new one from you. whawt's the size?

Dear BBKgal

Thanks for ur advice! Wow.. u have tried so many breastpumpS! For ameda, would u find that the dials is just as good as PIS 2-phase expression method? I find PIS too costly but if ameda yields similar results, I may wanna to opt for ameda. But ameda is more compact than PIS right? And it is not noisy hoh?

For avent isis, are u referring to avent isis IQ duo that is selling ard $700++? I find it quite chic-looking bt I am wondering the manual pump effect which will be automated at the similar stage able to yield more milk than PIS 2 phase expression method? Sorry for asking so much questions on that…

I can see that most mummies are very concerned over baby well-being and sleepless nites.. I can feel for u all cos’ even at 4th mth, I am oledi experiencing cold feet of having sleepless nites :S I read from a book tat ideally we shld not rock the baby to sleep cos it wil develop a reliance for them to do so everytime next time. The ideal method is to deposit the baby and let them cry to sleep!!!.. anyone has tried tat before? It sounds quite dreamy and hard to execute :S

(A) CALIFORNIA BABY SUNSCREEN SPF30+CITRONELA 2.9 OZ
PRICE: $11.82 ~ SGD 17 (before shipping)
NOR price: $25

(B) CALIFORNIA BABY CALMING DIAPER AREA WASH 6.5 OZ
PRICE: $6.62 ~ SGD 9.6 (before shipping)
NOR price: $15

(C) CALIFORNIA BABY CALENDULA CREAM 2 OZ
PRICE: $7.48 ~ SGD 10.85 (before shipping)
NOR price: $15

if the shipping is about $3 per item. the price difference for calendula cream is only $1-2. quite worth to get from NOR for the diaper wash (quite heavy and shipping may be even higher) and calendula cream..

what do you think?

winnie,
maybe you want to buy a bb movement monitor? then you can sleep in peace n no need to keep checking. the monitor detects bb's movements including breathing. if no movements are detected for >10 secs, alarm will go off.

goldfish,
heard that some LC commented that Ameda is too powerful and may cause engorgement and blocked ducts. highly recommended ones are Avent and Medela PIS
please do more research first.

tongtong
i latch on when am outside with bb. find it so much more convenient and don't need to bring so many barang barang. last time during my gals time, i brg ebm out cos i paiseh to bf outside.

i also thk it's kinda early to toilet train bb now.

dor
i don't pump either even during my girl's time when i brg ebm instead of latching. it can be from noon till nite time. yes, will be painful cos breasts really engorged (became hard like stone) and breastpads were soaking with bm.

kitsune
Mt A sells the caps for glass bottles. in packs of 10s. think it's about $7plus. comes in various colours: blue, pink, purple, etc.

winnie
no problem. what's 'CG' as mentioned in your post ah?

as for washing/sterilising of pump. i do so after 2 pumping session. in btw will use hot water to rinse the pump and store in fridge for next usage.

tute
my bb now 7.5 wks, feeding still at irregular intervals. when i tried feeding my boy with ebm, he also took a long time to finish. i think it's becos our bbs are not used to teats yet. that's why i make sure i feed him with ebm once everyday so that he won't reject bottles in future. else i can't leave the home without him :p

xiaoyun
some nursing rooms need not be shared with other mummies, e.g. the one at isetan scotts, suntec. i also wanted to buy nursing wear earlier. so far didn't get any. cos if am not in nursing room, will use my self made nursing cover when bfdg. sometimes i gotta bf while in the mrt cos bb was crying so loudly. there are pple who will look but i just ignore them loh.

yup, earlier i did tell tongtong that OG has got cheap nappy covers. my mum bgt them from OG at people's park. it's $3.40 per piece. brand is Pureen. comes in blue, pink & white and is waterproof. when my mum bgt them, OG was hvg 20% disc so she only pay $2.70 for 1. only cons is that my mum only saw the newborn size. but the size is rather big and is adjustable cos it's those velcro type. can chk it out to see if it suits you.

sunny
i'll chg the nappy only when bb wakes up, cos my bb will usu be waken up if we chg nappy for him while he slps. so far ok with me leh. if see his buttock red red, quickly apply desitin then will be ok liao.

oscar,
you can ask nor cos she can clarify with the supplier. i had some questions and she helped me get the answers too.

pump,
i lurv my avent manual pump =)

goldfish,
re letting bb cry to sleep...i thought i would do tht too before bb was born. then i read this book - happiest bb on the block by dr harvey karp. very different philosophy - he argues that the first 3 mths post birth is the 4th trimester. newborns need help to adjust to the world upon birth and crave the calming effects of the womb. he teaches how to re-create those sensations in order to calm colicky babies.

apparently bbs whose parents respond to their cries quickly during this period grow up more confident and self assured.

as to spoiling the bb - he says newborns are too young to manipulate. that kind of behaviour only kicks in 4th mth onwards. so when a newborn cries...he is genuinely in distress.

lezy
ya, you are right in a way, too. 'cos when he's awake, i got difficulty in soothing him back. so, i have phobia seeing him not sleeping after feeding. when, it's difficult to sooth him back, he will easily get overtired and then get cranky. so, i am quite reluctant to change his nappy when he's sleeping....

very mao dun hor?

pump

if u compare the ameda and pis, i'd say the pis perfotms 20% better than ameda but for the px diff, i dun think it;s worth it unless u r a heavy pumper n intend to go full ebm. i'm full latch on.

i haf the avent isis uno.

xiaoyun, actually i find avent suction stronger than ameda.

Hi Garfield

Thanks for ur relevation! I think there is some truth that post birth is the 4th trimester for the baby. Now i visualize myself as the baby and born into this world wif 'strange' pple cuddling me and feeding me and tis and tat, i tink i will be distress myself
:S

What is the full name of the book abd author? I may wanna to read it up

sunny,
my confinement should end only end of this month (for 40 days period)
but i basically break all rules already. now bathe w/o da feng cao cos it makes my skin and hair very dry and itchy. only eat confinement food prepared by my mum.
why?

sunny,
u try to carry him, walk around, rock and pat his backside to a song (you have to sing)? that works for my girl. she also hard to soothe - MUST walk around, cannot just sit down and rock.

also, i will let her latch on for comfort too sometimes.

I realize for my girl..partly why she cry last time cuz she still hungry so i decided to supplement with FM (just 30-60ml sometimes if she still hungry after latching.)

i always remind myself that baby cry becuz they have UNFULFILLED needs so i try to put myself in their position and think of what may be uncomfy - hot/cold/hungry/uncomfortable/frustrated etc.

Also, sometimes they just need to cry to let out some energy/frustration and they will be ok thereafter.
when i think in this perspective and that babies are so helpless and rely on us, i feel different about seeing my girl cry inconsolably. I used to be very frustrated/fedup/upset but now, my heart melts and want to love her more.

re the nappy change, one way is to check everytime he wakes up for feed and change BEFORE feeding. That's what the hospital teach. Different children have different habits and wil require different intervals for feeding and changing. Don't conform too much to 'averages' given by books/society.

goldfish,
you're welcome! here is the link to the book http://www.amazon.com/Happiest-Baby-Block-Crying-Newborn/dp/0553588729/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1206439241&sr=8-2

i found the DVD very useful too cos nothing beats seeing dr. karp calm frantic bbs instantly with his method....pure magic. it works on my gal too altho we need to practise a lot to get it right. you can get the DVD from the first few years.

bbs in our womb don't experience discomfort and pain eg variations in temperature; hunger; pain (eg injections) etc etc...so as you can imagine it is a very traumatizing time for them =)

bkkgal,
that time no choice cos needed to pump. ya, i dun really believe in cry camp, support dr. karp's theory more cos it makes logical sense =P

Stephie, thanks but both TMC andP Mt A quite far for me leh. :p

Garfield, have PM you.

Xiaoyun, I bought my nursing bra and top from Spring, prices are reasonable, my nursing bra (with padding) costs $29.90 but comes only in black, pink is out of stock. :p

long long time never post liao and I am unable to read all the post. All mummies are so determined! I stopped breastfeeding just 2 weeks after the birth of my baby. Had a difficult confinement cos I developed rashes below on top of the stitches and it hurts like hell!

My baby is also cranky at times and would "tear the house down" when she is hungry as what Winne describe. Its also hard to get her to sleep. She will open her eyes when put down on the bed but dozes off in your arm..............Feel quite depressed intially cos being a new mum is too overwhelming for me. Now I am more or less used to it and when I held my girl in my arm and when she look adoringly into my eyes, my heart melted and feel everything is worth it!

yesterday saw a swollen lump at her back near the buttock. Took her to PD today and PD said its the BCG.Its rare for it to swell and was given antobotics to drink and cream to apply. Have to monitor if it gets bigger...... Quite worried..............Baby has been crying these few days when lying down cos i guess its uncomfortable or hurts......

By the way, I have the playtex liners and laniosh milkbags too! Anyone interested to buy over from me? I have the Medela Mini electric plus for sale too and also a box of Pigeon breast pad plus lots of loose breast pad! Anyone interested, pls PM me! Thanks

hi mummies..
this week start work half days already.. tired.. not much time to post already..

so we still going for gathering? tot tat we can try going T2 or T3.. more space.. saturday afternoon shouldn't be too crowded.. how huh??

when does our period start for breastfeeding moms? i thot my lochia already stopped 3 weeks ago but sometimes will have spotting. Is this period or still lochia?

bkkgal, Typing this message while using my new toy - the Pumping Pal handsfree set and my Medela PIS. Not bad, though I have to type very carefully cos afraid I'll knock into the tubing while typing and dislodge the nipple shields. Still not sure if it'll help with my shoulder ache but at least I'm not a prisoner to my pump anymore. Wish I could have discovered this 2 months ago but better late than never lar. Hee.

apple,
hope u hv fully recovered from your rashes..
my gal is the same as yours, will make noise when i put her on the cot but doze off in my arms.. i guess they feel more secured when we are carrying them as compared to sleeping on the bed..
recently at week 5, i oso discovered the BCG area at my gal's buttock swell too.. few days ago, the pus (abit bloody) was released from the swell and now there is a hole in that area.. quite scary to me.. u monitor ur gal's situation.. dun try to squeeze the pus out as it will come out by itself just like my gal's case..
my gal cried very badly during EVERY bath time.. i wonder if it is due to the swell of BCG..

CB calendular cream
i recently organised a luckyvitamin spree n a mummy ordered the above. LV didnt send it out as it says tat e manufacturer stopped its shipment so mayb u'll hv 2 get it fr tat mummy who buys in bulk fr CB.

Goat's Rue
i've juz paid $28+ for e batch3's shipping charges via vpost. e 1st 2batches went thru CGW n batch2 was sent in 2shipments so there r some delay.

i waiting 2 receive all shipping charges b4 i calculate e amt. i also will run 2 e post office 2 weigh e items/get e cost of e packaging (i'll use e postpac cos it's bubble wrapped) b4 i post here so when mummies need 2 pay me 4 postage, it's easier.

i quickly ran thru e thread n learned tat a few mummies giving up e Goat's Rue. i looking thru e achives 2 find e list of mummies. once i find it, pls update e table. thks!

Kitsune,
i have lots of plastic caps to sell away. u interested? have glass bottles to giveaway too. me still undecided whether to bf long or aft go back work. might not have place to pump. hubby insist to stop for fear i will lose my job.

quickly come in to post before baby wakes up....

yeap, i am experiencing the same thing, she can sleep while latching, and sleep on the bf pillow. but once i put her down she will wake up.....

and now the worse thing is taht, if i unlatch her or remove her bottle before she has enough, she will scream, yes, the kind of cry is different from the normal cry.... can distinctly know that she WANTS MORE and RIGHT NOW.

Thanks for the note on washing the pumps. I am now cutting down to 4 hourly.... hopefully i will not be overwhelmed. Really think the SAHM is superb, esp if you have another kid. cos i relaly very stressed up each day and hoping the hour will pass hehee and pa pa will be back.

And may I ask, is there any mum here who will be placing the baby with infant care? I wish to look out for one, but I am not sure how to start.... cos the return from google is pretty limited.... not sure if you have any recommendation to share. I am staying in Sengkang, and working at Depot Road....

garfield, actually istill have a lot of things not bought yet, like the cooler bag etc.... i am waiting for the pa pa to come back before i go and buy.....

Anyway, forgot to add why i need to look for infant care liao.... after i have had the conflict with the hubbyt aunt, i think she has told an entire different story to my SIL and IL, so end up, when they come and see baby, they treat me and my parents transparent. Apparantly, they resent the idea that my parents move in temporary to help me till the ex-CL can come back.... It hurts, to think that during preg, they also dont care about me, when baby is born, they always see baby baby baby, never ever care about baby mother..... then now like this... thus, i think i need to do something about it.

happymum,
that time you were organizing purchase of the baby rock sling. do you know where i can find in singapore to try? thanks