(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

eliaw,
Yeah... hand print very diff to do... unless I can find cheaper source, else I guess I'll have to do it myself... u try liao, let me know...

BM - My one combined both sides only 10 ml... so very diff to see whether the hindmilk got come or not... just that the end product is very diluted...

MIL - sometimes my hb and I change diaper for bb at night, bb cried lah genna tortured like that, she will rush in... I very pissed off, ignored her, don't let her take over, just continue change her diaper, treat her like transparent... 1st few days she still know how to knock the door, come in when we said ok... then later just rush in... don't feel like locking up the door... think she will keep knocking...

swaddle - I know sometimes my bb don't like to be swaddled, it depends on situation... but they always assumed that she don't like and cannot be swaddled...

garfield,
Going to write email to lactation consultant from TMC and ask about it but keep forgetting... just read from magazine that in order to increase ss, gotta let bb latch on... but bb simply refused...

Garfield,
From the book i read, it states that hind milk starts 15 to 18 minutes into the feed.

Crying baby,
Guess many of us here are facing the same problem. My bb has been crying so much until my FIL started to complain, saying that my bb not 'sian' and tired of crying one meh?! And keep asking me if bb is unwell as her poos are watery, like diarrhoea! I explained to him that BF bb poos are watery and mustard in colour one.

Bb refuses to sleep in the day and yesterday night also refused to sleep. Been crying non stop and I have also become a human pacifier. Each time she cries, hubby will push her to me and tell me to feed her.

snow,
maybe more effective to get consulatant to do a home visit. then she can assess what is wrong and why bb not latching. one visit about $45 it think.

this is my friend's consultant - she says good.

Ms Uma (formally from Thomson) 98318874

she will even bring a weighing scale!

Andrea,
I'm confused... I thought we should feed bb at most 15min for each breast, so if hindmilk only starts 15 to 18min later, then they will never get the hindmilk liao?

garfield,
Thanks! I thought home visit will be more ex, didn't know it's just $45... I think I'll do that but only after PIL go back liao...

snowbelle
Why only 15min for each breast?! If you switch side, then bb wont get the hind milk already. I think the max we can feed on each breast is 40minutes. Best to let bb decides the timing..

snowbelle - ok.. failed.. bb woke up after i took his hand.. my mom helped me.. 4 hands vs 1 hand still cannot get a good print! i'll try again later..

MIL - i don't know wat to say about yr MIL.. if me, surely super pissed off also.. wonder when i move back to IL's place will like dat or not..

garfield - i think it depends on individual.. for mine, after abt 50ml, then it starts to be hindmilk.. usually i express out everything, then i'll mix all together then distribute in order to spread out the hind/fore milk.. don't know if it's ok to do so.. but have been doing it all the while..

i have already stopped BF for a few weeks already. but hubby until now keep encourging me to start again. i tried pumping out just now, though quantity is little there is still some.
Is it alright to start again after stopping? will there be any difference in the milk pumped out? Hope you all can advise me... thanks

andrea
15-18 min?
my bb just latches average 10 min each side leh. so far, his poo is mustard colour....
normally at which week will have green stool if not enough hind milk?

jess
you can always start again. just that the initial amount might be very little. just continue pumping. and i read that if you can, do 2 hrly express to get the milk supply coming.

hi sunny,
thanks for ur advise. i will try pumping 2 hourly then. but the first few supply should i give it to baby or not? cos it seems very diluted.

sunny
I am also unsure =\ but that info is gotten from this book "how to calm, connect and communicate with your baby" Usually I try to feed my bb on one breast and feed her a minimum of 20min.

re latch timing
I used to latch 20 min each side... cos i read in book that by right only first 10 min they are sucking actively.... other than that is comfort... my friend said she only latch 15 min and baby will unlatch herself... I told her it will never be my case... cos even if she is not drinknig, she is using me as pacifier.... so i limit to 15 to 20 min, but if can see she still drinking then i will continue.

my girl is very chicken hearted... nnot sure if it is because she was in distress during delivery... she does not sleep deeply, a bit of sound, like the fork fall onto the plate, she can scream in fright then howl till no voice.....

re hind or fore milk
actually i very blur too, but i realise sometimes when you squeeze your nipple, you get pure white milk and pale murky milky water kind of milk. so i think there is a diff.

mummies, can i ask what kind of insurance have u bought for ur bb?me looking into that now..me noe nuts abt insurance..so wana know more first b4 contacting my agent

andrea, yours is whine, mine scream and howl so loudly my heart feels so pain and fearful sigh.... i let her sleep on her front, that means pa1 zhe1 shui4. I know it is dangerous, but that is only way to let her sleep longer....

jeannie, sorry forgot to reply your earlier post... yeap I am bonded, another few more years to go, cos i took a bond to complete my masters in NUS. thus it is a no no to quit....

garfield,
the 15 min was partly because my mom came to the rescue and use sling to carry him...but when i carry him using sling he still howls...the way he screams sometimes really breaks my heart and make me feel very stress coz he doesn't cry very often but when he does it's really like end of the world cry type...at least now you found a way to calm ur girl...we must jia you ok !

winnie/andrea,
my baby also will jerk and wake up when he hears some loud noise like when my dad sneeze or the sounds from kitchen, esp. during the day. my parents asked me to start putting him to sleep on his tummy after 1 month so can sleep longer but i'm scared of all the talk on SIDS.

re: latch timing,
my boy never latch more than 10-15 min i think...so if hind milk comes only after 20 min, means he never got any hind milk ? but his poo looks ok leh, just that he doens't poo very often, at most 3 times a day...even today he hasn't poo...everyday i wait and wait till he poo...coz supposedly breastfed bb poo very often..

Hi, Thankful
Thanks. My ss dropped a lot due to 3 days' blocked ducts.

Hi, kitsune
No idea about bedok area. Can ask your colleague shop name and address? Thanks

garfield
i think you had a worse night than me.. hopefully your 'tv feeding' method gives u some rest. hang in there..

i think i figured out why my bb was so fussy last night & this afternoon too. her choking n wheezing noises are worse today and few times during feeds she will make the 'gagging' face then cry out loud, and struggle n kick. maybe her reflux medicine not so good anymore.. sigh. i was hoping to ease off the meds somemore. so young eat medicine v poor thing. but the alternative is her stomach and throat get burned by acid juices.. dilemma.

tute,
yes let's jia you!!!

ya i know what you mean about the howling. really makes me feel like a damn lousy mum. so very gan cheong try ways and means to calm her down.

maybe you can observe why your mom is able to calm bb. sometimes bb can sense our gan cheong ness and then they become even more gan cheong? i dunno also....guessing only

thanks oscar! i hope so too.

mom and i also experimented with a rocker / swing. bb seems to be calmed by it. maybe mummies can try too

Thanks Kelly for placing the order

Eliaw..I also using Nuk teat (silicon) and since this week my baby also will drink drink drink then suddenly phui out the teat and scream and cry. But then he will very quickly open his mouth and grab the teat again

tute, winnie
I also let my bb sleeps on her tummy whenever possible. my mum told me its good as it allows bb to sleep longer without being scare by noise.

hihi, mummies.

Went to Isetan private sale, queue super long, the stuff I bought so heavy, carry like siao. Anyway, bought the following:
Allerhand Black tote bag ($69.90)
Pigeon bottle cleanser refill (2 for $17.50)
Avent bottle cover ($10.10 less 20%)
2 sets Pigeon M teats ($6 less 20%)
1 set Pigeon S teat ($6 less 20%)
1 Pigeon Y teat ($3.40)
Endo Thermal lunch set ($19.90)
Tiger thermal flask & lunch set ($55)

Eliaw, ya, agree it was expensive, hubby was reluctant, but I convinced him cos my cousin spent $300+ on taimaobi and the stamp. Told him at least this one can display in her room like photo frame. Have seen those DIY sets but I prefer this because it's gold and the markings on the hands and feet are clearer and more defined. Plus usually the clay type can only do 1 foot.

eliaw, stretch feeding time? i try lah but everytime cry until like no voice..heart pain nt to give nipple.

sunny, ya got swaddle her. baby reaching full month tomoro!!

night feeding:
last nite my naughty girl woke up 1am, cry, fuss, eat, nap....wouldn't let me sleep until 4+am.

garfield, i'm aso like u...human pacifier + mobile bed. only mum come n bath i can have some "time-off". or when she finally decide to sleep for longer period on bed!

EBM:
I only managed to express about 50ml from my left breast - first time. but when i tried my right...machiam like empty or what.
then i realize that my baby doesn't seem to derive much from my right breast also.

latch timing:
my baby doesn't suck actively for long...but stays latched on for as long as she can.
but sometimes she's very naughty and like....will suck and pull away from me and my nipple will ilke 'bounce' back at me and she will purse her lips like "mmmm...yummm...i'm done!"

FM vs BM:
i have been on TBF for the past 3-4 weeks. Baby coming to full month this saturday. i'm tempted to go half-half. Actually hub tells me to feel free to just feed FM..but after just one feed last night, i feel sad to 'lose' the bonding i feel when i'm staring at her big eyes while she's suckling intently during BF sessions. Also, i feel ilke i'm drpriving her of good nutrients and feelings of comfort.

breast pain & blocked ducts:
seem to be blocked ducts cuz i feel something lumpy. and sometimes when baby suckle got a throbbing pain going through breast.

baby sleeping on front:
how do u all put baby to sleep on front ah? so far only once she on her front...and she kinda erm....did it herself so i dunno how she got there!

sterilise: after sterilising there will be water traces in the pump equipment or the bottle. do we need to wait till the water dries up or can straight pump liao? if straight pump then the boiled water will mix with our milk, will that be alright?

garfield, yesterday my bb's poo still got some blood mucus ( third time), so i already sent his poo for diagnose. hopefully everything is ok and no more
hopefully no more for ur bb too!

cheryl: the sebamed bath is no rinse formula? need to rinse with water or not after bathing with sebamed?

when bb crys, how do we know whether he wants milk or not comfortable?

aiyo, i got eczema and sensitive skin, so now my boy gots it
his cheeks very ugly now.. red red.. sigh. must go and get a good moisturiser for his face liao

Andrea,
If I didn't remember wrongly, in the parentcraft class, they said 15min on each side... Anyway, for my case, bb totally don't want to latch on, so I just pump for 10 or 15min... at abt 10min, I don't see any milk coming out liao...

eliaw,
Luckily, they are going back this sun liao... at least I can have my home and space back... can pump or try to latch on anywhere I like... but then hor, heard them telling my mom they will be back soon... sian leh... think next time I'm gonna ask hb to ask them not to cook liao... if not, she will take over my kitchen and like the owner of the house like that... hopefully, when they have nothing to do, will not stay too long... evil but no choice... if not I'll get unhappy again...

hindmilk - How do you know it's hindmilk when you are pumping? Can see clearly through the pump?

sweetpea - aiyo, my bb drink halfway, then cry.. after tat, push back the teat, suck for 2-3 times, pui out again n cry.. n this repeats for couple of times.. i tot the teat was too hard, so i went to change to the latex one.. also like dat.. so i guess he's just like dat..

kitsune - i quite gian to do also.. heh heh.. i'll go check it out..

lezy, yr throbbing pain is it something like a cramp across the chest? if it is, then it's normal.. i get it also.. as for yr lump, u need to massage hard on it.. after tat ur flow will improve.. as for yr ger.. i also don't know how to help u.. maybe u can call the professionals for help!

snowbelle, yeah, u can see it thru the pump.. it's thicker..

cheryl, i keep in ang pow.. anyway, tell u someting very disgusting.. heard from my friend tat someone's umbilical cord attracted ants!! so pls keep it airtight n dry.. ewww...

tongtong, i used to wipe everything dry.. but apparently no need to do so.. just shake off the water can already.. got water left it's ok..

Snowbelle,
Yes for no. 1 I just pump out the BM. I did not latch on for some medical reasons. So far that time my ss is 200-300ml+. Cos I used the PIS Advanced Medela Pump. There is 2phase. 1 baby sucking and 1 suction. I guess the baby sucking really helps to maintain the supply.

BM
You can see the thin portion when you pumping. Then later when hind milk comes in, you will see your milk more milky white colour.

Tubao,
Hope you have clear your blocked ducts already. Jia you to continue pumping. I'm now training to pump every 4hrly. Then later train to pump 5hrly thereafter 6hrly. Train this before going back to work.

Tongtong,
I put boiled water into steriliser. Even when milk bottle or funnel have evaporated water on them, I continue to use them cos should be safe. I used this method for no.1 and don't have any problem.

Xiao Yun,
Your bb jaundice level still there? Gone down already? Mine still there and like stock market. Up and down. Was refer back to KKH for further chkup. Heartpain that she have to go thru this: poke on left hand the other side of your palm, press some blood out then nurse said blocked already. Have to try the other hand. Another nurse took over, poke into right hand the other side of your palm, no blood came out. So turn over to draw from right wrist. All these while my gal cried until whole face all tears. Now both her hands blue black already.....

Tute, why you never use or haven't bring bb out yet? I find it very useful leh, last time bring BB out got to keep gathering things (diapers, wet wipes, hankie etc etc) and keep in plastic bag or my own bag. Afterwards, when we are outside, want to find something got to keep digging. End up so pek chek. Now, everything has its own place, easy to get and it's light enough, I hate heavy bags that add onto the weight. The bag comes with a diaper changing mat which I don't have so even better.

Thankful, poor thing, sounds so painful for your gal. How many weeks is she liao? Normally, jaundice should resolve after 2 weeks. Did KK dr say why?

thankful, oh dear, sounds terribly painful, you must be quite heartborken to see her like this.

BB crying/spitting during drinking- I think some mummies here mentioned this problem right? From my previous (and current!) experience, it was due to oral thrush. Cause the thrush made drinking very painful due to their sore tounge, so when latching on during letdown, the milk sprays hurt their mouth/throat. And I realised that even when bottled-fed its the same cause the sucking motion hurts their tounge. This isexactly wat is happenning with my bb now. Everytime during feeding, he will drink, spit, cry, try to drink, and struggle/cry again. I really hope he gets well soon.

hind/foremilk- If I am not wrong, the foremilk will slowly change into hindmilk when the fattier deposits in the breasts are dislogded, so its not exactly easy to tell when. But I think foremilk is usually very watery and almost transparent (those who pump EMB will know wat I mean) and the hindmilk tho watery is not as transparent, its alot milkier looking. I read somewhere that usually it around 5 to 7 minutes into pumping/BF when it starts to be all hindmilk.

calming bbs- I think that bbs can sense 'vibes' very well. During the times when I am flustered and am trying to calm bb down, it always doesnt work as well as when I am calm and collected myself. I think that could be why some CLs/granddies seem to be able to calm bb better? Cause usually the mummy is the one who is most affected by the crying, esp when bb is v upset right?

garfield, $45?! I paid $180 for 2 hours this lactation consultant to come to the hosp (cause it was weekend, no in-house LC avail) to help me with my BF problems and in the end still doesnt work. Complete waste of my money.

LV's Goat's Rue at USD19.44 excluding int'l shipping charges & domestic postage+envelope

Batch3 - ORDERED ON 14mar
1) sweetpea PAID $28.56
2) tongtong PAID $57.12
3) tongtong
4) eileengoh (postage) PAID $28.56
5) Thankful PAID $28.56
6) yanyen (postage) PAID $57.12
7) yanyen

thankful,
my bb jaundice went down already.
went to polyclinic twice to test the level. even draw blood to do test. but how come they take the blood from her hand? thought they normally do heel prick?
in fact, i feel that i am a 'hen3 xin1' mother. i don't feel heart pain when the nurse poke her heel. i just trying to distract her (bb) attention from the poking. but i can understand what you feel when the nurse tried so many times to get the blood. seems they are not skillfull enough... anyway, bbs are very forgetful one. they got to leawrn that, it's part and parcel of the life.... :p

have she taken the blood to test the direct and indirect bilirubin level tingy? urine test also?
hope she recover soon..

anyone experience serious leaking of the other breast during latching? i mentioned before that mine leaks terribly... initially use breast pad, then found that i got to change very frequently. then changed to avent breast shell. also need to pour away the milk a few times during 1 feeding session. today i gungho and use the breastpump to collect (without pumping), i actually got 40 ml plus some leaking to my bra !!!! will leaking ever stops? now my bed is full of milk stains and they are so smelly....