(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

my boy has been jerking and shivering (not from cold) and having hiccups in his sleep. this keeps him & us awake @ night as the episodes are rather frequent. like i was hugging him to sleep on my chest just now, he jerks and shivers about 4-5 times within half an hour. anything i can do to make him sleep better? already placed a pillow on his chest when he sleeps liao, dun think its working well. v tiring for us... yawn...

quick questions:
(1) which caterer is suitable for halal and vegetarian?

(2) my lochia is having some very smelly fishy smell. how to get rid of it? feminine wash can be used?

vine,

thanks for ur advise. He 1st time cry like tat so i very scared.

Jaslyn,
my baby also hiccup in his sleep.they said is normal. u can try to let him sleep side way it may help.

winnie, if it helps u feel better, you are not the only one. I actually tipped over an entire bottle of 100ml of EBM just yesterday, can you imagine my dismay? And I spent like close to 30min cleaning up cause it spilt over all the stuff on my kitchen counter top and poured out on the floor running all over my lower cabinets! *faint*

bx, hang in there, when is your confinement ending? Your home sweet home will be all yours again soon.
Or do you wanna hire a PT cleaner to come in to do some weekly cleaning for now? At least you'll feel better if the house is in a better state?

tute, why must switch off the fans when bb in living room? Maybe you can wear socks/warmer clothing for bb so that they dun have to switch off fans?

Hi Kelly, $$ transfered to you already. I will collect from Ikea Tamp instead. Emailed you too but not sure if I got the rite email add. Thanks again for org spree!

berry,
coz according to both my parents + in laws, baby cannot get direct wind from the fan... so eventho i think it's ok they will switch off anyway and i'll feel bad so i just try to stay away...

anyone knows if lights are not good for babies? in laws insist that we should not on the lights in our room coz too bright and not good for the baby.

I have delivered on 27 Feb at TMC. bb's weight is 3.03kg. natural without epidural.

i can't wait for my confinement to end.... bb's drinking habit is horrible... wake up almost every half or 1 hr. really wanna gv up direct latch liao.... feeling so depressed. :*

hi kelly.. i have just transferred 57.12 to u too. The transac no. is 1601806041 under the nick genice or jeannie.. oops i cant remember.

Thanks for ordering.

Hi, kelly, busy cos CL went back, when do we collect if batch 3? If too long, then I have to ask my cousin to get for me when she goes to TMC.

Finally I'm back. Wow so many posting! Can't seemed to catch up already.

Total Breast feeding
1) eliaw
2) garfield
3) emoments
4) yen
5) Winnie
6) andrea
7) stephie
8) purplecurlZ
9)tubao
10) june
11) tute
12) sc
13) bkkgal
14) Thankful

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)
2)cheryl (nan 1 Ha, will switch to nan 1 soon)

Mixed feeding
1) Jeannie ( Breast milk daytime and FM night, Mamex Gold)
2)Dor11 ( breastmilk/FM daytime and FM Night)
3) Blueginger ( Breastmilk, FM, Similac)
4) Vine_Gal ( Breastmilk, FM Similac)
5) julie lim (BM/FM alternate, FM Nan HA)
6) Hppymum2b ( Breast milk daytime and FM night, Enfalac)
7) kitsune_sg (BM mostly in daytime, FM after midnight & early am, Enfalac)
8) jaslynloh (BM, FM Similac)
9) snowbelle (EBM for 1 feed, FM Enfalac)
10)twtw(BF mainly for day. 4x FM ,NAN )
11) Hweiz (BM/FM day and night, Similac)
12) leila (BM, FM Nan ha)
13) star70 (BM, FM Similac)
14) sweetpea (ebm day, Friso night)
15) Tongtong ( EBM/BF day, FM when EBM runs out, Similac)

Xiao Yun,
My girl still having review at PolyClinic. It cost $10+ per visit to lab and see the doctor. I was told by the doc that BM is not the one that causing her jaundice level. So I'm still giving BM to her. Now her jaundice level is going downwards.

finally im back and my pc is finally fixed... hope im not forgotten... so many things to catch up..

Total Breast feeding
1) eliaw
2) garfield
3) emoments
4) yen
5) Winnie
6) andrea
7) stephie
8) purplecurlZ
9)tubao
10) june
11) tute
12) sc
13) bkkgal
14) Thankful

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)
2)cheryl (nan 1 Ha, will switch to nan 1 soon)
3)linda (friso)

Mixed feeding
1) Jeannie ( Breast milk daytime and FM night, Mamex Gold)
2)Dor11 ( breastmilk/FM daytime and FM Night)
3) Blueginger ( Breastmilk, FM, Similac)
4) Vine_Gal ( Breastmilk, FM Similac)
5) julie lim (BM/FM alternate, FM Nan HA)
6) Hppymum2b ( Breast milk daytime and FM night, Enfalac)
7) kitsune_sg (BM mostly in daytime, FM after midnight & early am, Enfalac)
8) jaslynloh (BM, FM Similac)
9) snowbelle (EBM for 1 feed, FM Enfalac)
10)twtw(BF mainly for day. 4x FM ,NAN )
11) Hweiz (BM/FM day and night, Similac)
12) leila (BM, FM Nan ha)
13) star70 (BM, FM Similac)
14) sweetpea (ebm day, Friso night)
15) Tongtong ( EBM/BF day, FM when EBM runs out, Similac)

thankful,
thanks for the link...very useful !

pondering when i should start experimenting to give my son ebm...

ladies, i've got a rather stupid question, how do you all heat up your ebm ?

Morning all....

Last night CL is complaining again, she has never seen any mother latch and then pump out everything.... cos end up by next round, baby may fuss when it is not enough and need to top up EBM....

Baby is also cranky, sigh, sleep a little and wake a long time.... want to be carried.

tute, i store those EBM which i think will be consumed within 48 hours in glass bottles and then later submerge into warm glass of water to warm it.

Kelly, sorry I have not transferred yet as hubby has night training last night, so he did not go out to do for me...

Very depressing, he needs to go for a one month overseas work trip in mid March... now thinking if want to employ a confinement lady to tide through another 2 weeks... cos a month is simply too ex....but i really not sure if i want to spend the extra...

cos worse come to worse, i was thinking to put baby in infant care during day time if i cant cope...

winnie, u should educate ur CL that many mothers also latch on then pump out the remaining in order to increase ss.

i personally never pump after latch on coz i am too lazy to assemble, sterilise, dismantle, wash after every pump. as a result my ss really very low now. until now can only pump max 80 - 100ml(both sides) if i miss a feed.

berry, my confinement ending next fri. having full month celebration on sat. will clean up the house on fri before the celebration then another round of cleaning up after the celebration. thought of hiring a PT cleaner but can't seem to find one.

Anyone got lobang for PT cleaner who can work in the east? My budget is $10/hr.

winnie,
no worries. stella kept me & my husband awake fr 11pm-4am tis morn. *faint*
will u hv any help at nite if u put ur bb in infant care?

winnie, how about getting local help (local aunties, not fillipinos) to come to your house for several hours a day to help you with bb/housework? They usually charge $10-$15 an hour, can get from agencies. Then u can catch up on naps or just concentrate on bb in daytime while someone does housework for you?

Goat's Rue at USD19.05 per bottle (excluding domestic & international shipping AND local postage + envelope)

Batch 1 - order placed on 4mar
1) annabelle PAID
2) annabelle
3) annabelle
4) garfield9 (postage) PAID
5) garfield
6) bx PAID
7) snowbelle PAID
8) snowbelle
9) dor11 PAID
10) dor11
11) happymum2b PAID
12) vine_gal PAID

Batch2
1) star70 (postage)
2) star70
3) Winnie (postage)
4) Winnie
5) bkkgal (postage) PAID
6) goodbaby
7) kelly
8) kelly
9) eliaw PAID
10)jeannie PAID
11)jeannie
12)eileengoh (postage)

Batch3
1) bluespark (postage) PAID
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)

mummies, can i check is it once my milk ss drop, it will not .increase already. i used to be able to pump 100 ml in the morning. today only 70 ml. stress!!!

kelly, one of the links u provided is not a probiotic, its a colostrum supplement. I personally dont really believe in the effectiveness cause alot of studies have shown that bovine (cow) colostrum's effectiveness is not proven to boost immune system in kids. I am giving Faye source natural's Life Flora powder, its one of the most potent n effective I've tried (helps her with all sorts of tummy discomforts and constipation/diarrhea), retails at ard $50+ at vitakids, luckyvitamin also has it at a much better price: http://www.luckyvitamin.com/021078009542.html
I am not sure if it will be exposed to heat during shipping, but I guess it shouldnt be under heat for a long time, so shd be fine I guess (I hope :p)?

berry
e source natural's life flora has probiotics? aiya, my boys now having RN. i badly wanna get some probiotics 2 help my girl. very scared she catch e boys' virus at tis age. i know very KS rt?

berry,
i guess everywhere is airconditioned rt? e store, e airplane, e storage area? me trying 2 tik positive. cos e price for e life flora very attractive 2 buy fr luckyvitamin leh.

kelly, the life flora is pure probiotics, nothing else in there. But u need to figure how to get her to drink it cause its a powder so it doesnt dissolve in water, even if add water it will be powdery u know wat I mean? I know u are still BF right? Actually if u are BF then its easy, u can take a good CLO and vit C supplement before feeding her, it will pass thru yr BM to her. Aiyo eh u are not KS at all, cause faye seemed to have a sore throat this morning and I was quite worried, cant imagine if my 2 week old bb is ill

bx think it's ok one...i'm expressing at the mom cos cant let bb latch on as nipple cracked and bleeding.. volume varies betw 60-100ml each time..not fixed one..

i am thinking of feeding EBM full-time. coz then i can gauge how much bb drinking. but my friend told me if i dun latch on, ss will drop. izit true?

btw, check with all of u. how much EBM you all feed to ur bb when he/she is about 2-3 weeks old?

bx, i argued with her until no saliva liao.... she just cannot understand... she says she has never met any mums like me who wants to latch and pump at the same time..... wah your supply is good leh, i have not managed to reach 100ml before....

CL keepss aying that throughout her 17 years of experience, only came across 5 mums with good supply.....

dont really understand how come she has not met mums who do pump at the same time....

Kelly & Berry, not yet explored the day help... actually hubby aunt supposed to live with us and care for baby... but i really wonder if she can handle... have not tried out yet...

Eileen, if you express, will there be blood in the milk?? If have i think cannot feed leh, that time i got bleed, mrs wong says better keep apply cream till well, cos baby can throw up if drink a bit of blood...

bx, my Cl feeds around 60 to 70ml...

winnie, my 100ml is without latch on. i purposely feed my girl EBM, then i pump to see how much i can get.

btw, ur bb how big now? my bb drank 100ml of EBM this morning. stress... must try to keep up to meet her demand.

bx, you mean you may decide not to latch anymore??

i dont dare to skip latching part leh, maybe cos i am scared to face the fact.... of how much i can produce if i dont latch... cos i really scared to see the ml thing, whehter it can meet hte demand.

Hi moms

Pump
May I know anyone using Ameda Dual Lactaline pump? Do you find it efficient? Is medela better?

Sleepless nites
Looks like we all didn't have a good nite last nite huh? Hb and me ended up sleeping on sofa while bb slept in the cot in our rm. hb wants to send girl to cry camp for 3-5 days to train her to sleep on her own i.e. let her cry to sleep in a dark rm. So I have to leave the rm too cos she can smell me and expect me to pick her up. So from now on, every nap time I have to bring her to dark rm, settle her in and leave.. If she cries, let her cry for 15 mins then check pampers and leave. Heartbreak!!

Diapers
Drypers is really the worst!!! Last nite, poop leaked on our bed. 12 midnite kena have to change bedsheets!!! I find mamy poko and pampers the best. MP fits my girl better. So for nite time, I'm use MP/Pampers and day time use up the horrible drypers. Anyone tried GOO.N? Feedback?

BX.. i think u should still latch on.. although my ss is very low.. i still latch bb on.. then keep telling her be patient with mummy..cause i noe my milk trickles out.. very little.. sometimes i can take 45 mins to feed her like this morn.. then at the same time when she falls asleep on my breast i will start expressing.. then normally can express only between 30 ml to 60 ml.. quite sad lah. But i try to express 60 ml so can give her for next feed.

BX.. u can ask ur CL to stay another day to help u when u are entertaining ur fren and she can clean up the place for u also...

Winnie.. Cl are like that one.. after 2 weeks i already ignore any comments abt breast feeding. I will try my best to increase ss this month when she is around by 2nd month if my ss is stil that low then i will give her FM in the morning also then prob when my hubby comes home then i will pump more. Decided.. not to stress myself.. but frankly speaking i think babies are more chubby after drinking breast milk.

Kelly.. how is ur milk ss now?? cause the other time u stopped dor quite a while because of low ss rught?? how much can u pump or feed ur ger now?

Winnie and BX.. what pumps are u all using?? good?? I using hand to pump.. u think ok??Anyone using hands to pump??

wah bkkgal.... thats tough right.... my baby also naughty.... night time keep waking up every hour... now day time also want CL to carry her to sleep, once put down into cot will cry in a while... i cant carry her cos onc ei do, she will keep looking for milk and treat me as pacifier....

CL says if baby cries, dont get panic, sigh, just treat it as she is training her lungs...

Yeah, tough love. hb says 15 mins crying won't kill. Actually, his cry camp worked. Last night, she cried 15 mins, then we check pampers dirty,so change. After that, she cry another 10 mins and then so tired, she slept until 4 am.

jeannie, my girl still skinny one.... she is shao1 chi1 duo1 can1 type hehee, i mean eat little but have many meals type of girl loh... sigh....

CL says i should not push myself, she uses the word qiang2 qiu2.... but she says the milk SS will follow the growth of baby to meet the demand.

I am using the Avent Duo pump, ex, but thumbs up. if you get from china town cheaper... i get from TMC cos that time i stayed 4 days, my breast was engorged. but glad i part with the $$ as manage to pump the col out to give her.

jeannie/winnie, ya thinking of giving up latch on. coz bb always sleep when i breastfeed her. i am very worried she doesn't have enough. at least when i feed her EBM, i know she drinks how much and she won't fall asleep so easily.

i guess i will mix both latch on and EBM for the time-being. coz i scared if i totally dun latch on, my ss will drop.

jeannie, i use avent manual pump. haven't use hand to pump. dunno to go about doing it.

this breastfeeding issue is driving me crazy...

jeannie, i dun have CL. my mil helping me with confinement. and i can't possibly ask her to do my household chores. really regret not hiring one.

i am back again.
back to latching my gal. finishing the 400g FM soon, don't intend to buy anymore. BB can really finish the FM very fast. I bought the 400g last Thursday and it's going to be finished soon. at this rate, it's going to be $17 per week. wow..
after feeding my gal with bm, she seems to poo more.

i tried the pampers, drypers, mamy poko, and nepia. yup, drypers is the worst. very thick and not soft. does anyone experience leaking for Nepia?

Nepia is quite good for urine cos it has 3 urine indicators. Pampers only has 1. But i haven't used nepia for nite time when urine and poo can be alot...

eliaw
then good leh, can extend ML. not a bad deal afterall. keke

i don't wipe dry pump/bottles after sterilising. just assemble and keep in either airtight container/fridge.

hmm...don't get what you mean by "is it ok to freeze BM w water?"

Re: milk ss
dunno why since my confinement is over, my ss seems to have dropped. thankfully still sufficient to meet bb's dd. just that i don't hv much excess to store as compared to previous time. wonder if it's due to lack of sleep (cos only slept at 4.30am on the day of full mth celebration and have been v tired since then. must try to catch up with my sleep), type of food/drink i take post confinement or wat.

Re: BM tasting
I also dare not try my own bm. haha.. hubby tried before last time. fresh ebm is quite tasteless while defrost ebm has got a metallic taste (yucks).

andrea
my bb also wakes up every time when i put him down to sleep (didn't swaddle him then). then later i tried swaddling him. think it worked, bb able to sleep better and not wake up suddenly. i suppose when we carry bb to sleep, they feel secured. when we put bb down (without swaddling), the secureness is lost suddenly hence they'll wake up.

snowbelle
so far yes, the qty given is quite a lot. usually got lots of left over and can let relatives da bao back. quality is good too imo (e.g. the fish dishes are in big chunky slices instead of thin and small slices you get from other caterers). but hope i don't raise your expectation too much cos what's good to me may not be good to you.

goodbabyb
for gim poh, i ordered once so far. rest of the times i tried were at relatives' celebration so can't recall what they ordered. but for dessert dish, it's either bubur chacha or yam paste (comes with gingko nuts too!). both are nice. their bubur chacha is very unique cos they added red bean and use gula melaka. i love it. i ordered the $10 menu for min 30pax. their duck, sea cucumber, pork dishes are nice.

for YLS, i ordered the $10 menu.

bkkgal
my boy also kenna lots of mosquito bites. all on his face some more cos rest of body was wrapped up. didn't apply anything. also dunno what can be applied so just leave it to clear on its own. dunno why there are so many mosquitoes nowadays. b4 bb was born, seldom got mosquitoes in my house.

jeannie
really? bb will become more chubby after drinking bm? brought bb for checkup on mon. bb gained 1.6kg since birth and grew 9cm. now bb weigh 4.49kg and ht at 56cm. happy that bb is growing with mummy's milk.

xiaoyun,
I'm currently using Nepia for bb, always leak too...
find that Pampers better... going to get Pet Pet to try out... hate Drypers too...

stephie,
I'm still waiting for Gim Poh to email me the menu... btw, how long we can have the catering at our place before they will come and collect?

wow.. stephie.. ur b grew auite a bit leh..Wow.. they lengthened by so much?? 9 cm?? Must be chubby now lor.. post pics and let use see!!

I wanna see ur figure.. also u regained ur pre preg wt rite??

Bkkgal.. so u also use hand.... i find it more convenient i use pigeon electric pump.. battery operated one.. till nipple very painful..then i gave up..

BX.. yar lah.. cannot get MIL to clean for u.. like that think get PT lor..

I think Nepia like quite easily full leh.. and i thot it leaks too.. i thik fitti actually not bad.. quite thick.. can absorb more..