(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi mummies.. think i wanna do a poll here..gather some data and do a summary. Can u all help to indicate which category u are in cause i abit confused on who is tbf and who is mixed feeding and who on formula. Can put ur name under the respective category. Thanks!!

Total Breast feeding
1)

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding
1) Jeannie ( Breast milk daytime and FM night, Mamex Gold)

wow.. dor.. 1am to 7 am.. u will wake up and latch on??? i no stamina.. my CL feeds her Fm. i told her before 1 am and also at 6 am in the morn can wake me up and pass baby to me.I scared baby cry when not enuff milk.

Eliaw.. u tbf?? u very good.. nomrlaly express how much??

just quarrel with the cl sigh...

she keep saying i should not pump so often but keep to 6 hourly apart....

i just cant make her understand that must keep clear breast then milk will come wat....

Total Breast feeding
1)

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding
2)dor11( breast milk/fm daytime and fm nite)

jeannie, i take care of him myself/hb so can afford to latch him.

blue, i dun wear bras at home

Total Breast feeding
1) Eliaw

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding
2)dor11( breast milk/fm daytime and fm nite)

dor - yr bb very very hungry!!

blue - usually don't wear is better for circulation.. try to go braless as often as u can..

jeannie - ya, tbf.. i think u all will be shocked at how much i express.. usually 3-4 hrs, i get 200ml min.. 6 hrs i get 300ml..

winnie - yr CL is so sala.. just ignore her..she's leaving soon..

Total Breast feeding
1)

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding
2)Dor11 ( breastmilk/FM daytime and FM Night)
3) Blueginger ( Breastmilk, FM, Similac)

dor.. ur FM what brand? Caue i got CL .. and paiseh to disturb her but think i will try to latch her on after she leaves...

Blueginger.. u feed FM when?? night time??

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding

wow.. eliaw.. u are amazing!!! So when did ur milk ss actually came in?? which day onwards??
u look so slim.. cant c u got so much milk leh!! hehe

hi.. pp my baby pics
1269387.jpg

1269388.jpg

1269389.jpg

all mommies..i'm having a confusion on the medisave claims for delivery and antenatal bills.

I've called up the TMC to ask and the person told me that the maximum claim for the total hospital bill (plus doctor's fee) is $1800 and is inclusive of the antenatal bills.

But i just read up on the Ministry of Health webpage, it stated we can claim up to a maximum of $450 from Medisave Maternity Packages for the pre-delivery charges and as long as the medisave claim limit is under $2250 for normal delivery.

any mommies can help me on this?? =(

jeannie,
every feed if i cannot supply BB with enough BM.

Eliaw & Dor,
But the breast will leak leh. Very uncomfortable. No wonder my BM so low at 12th day.

puffish.. initially i also a bit blur.. but i guess depends on which ward u stay.. and what mode of delivery.. in fact if u r on C sec.. u actually pay lesser cash!!cause u can claim more from medisave.

mine was natural with epi.. stayed in 4 bed upgrade to 2.. paid cash of $1100+ ( including 800 deposit) Medisave claims was abt $2k

jeannie.. so the claim for antenatal bills will not be cashed back to our acct and instead, it's use to pay for any outstanding bills after medisave deduction right?

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding
4) Hppymum2b ( Breast milk daytime and FM night, Enfalac)

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding
4) Vine_Gal ( Breastmilk, FM Similac)

dear mummies, sorry to interrupt, i'm frm mar MTB thread.. i need to know ard how much a gleneagles hospital bill will be for induced natural w/o epidural? thks alot.. approx 3D 2N stay.

pls pm me if anyone delivered in glens. cause i'm due nxt wk. so i really wanna plan my finances, in case my bb have jaundice, i scared the bill is overwhelming...

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding
5) julie lim (BM/FM alternate, FM Nan HA)

vine,
we post at almost the same time..

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw

Total formula feeding
1) ( brand)

Mixed feeding
6) Hppymum2b ( Breast milk daytime and FM night, Enfalac)

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding

jeannie,
my ss is not overwhelmingly huge like eliaw's. i think just enough for bb. i'm using a manual pump - so i think it doesn't drain as much milk as an electric pump =P each pump is only about 60 - 80ml.

but i TBF cos
(a) bb seems contented after most feeds. once or twice a day, she will still cry after i put her down. if i latch her again another 10 to 15mins, she will not root anymore
(b) bb is producing > the min requirement of pee and poo
(c) bb is gaining weight

eliaw,
*jaw drop*

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding
7) kitsune_sg (BM mostly in daytime, FM after midnight & early am, Enfalac)

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield
3)emoments

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding

Hi, Petrina.

I'm from Jan MTB thread & happened to read your message.

I gave birth at Gleneagles in Jan 2008, normal delivery w/o epi. Total bill (all expenses + doc's fees) is $2700. $2500 is deducted from Medisheld. So in cash I paid only $500. I stayed 3D 2N there in a 2-bedded ward. When you check in, they will request a deposit of $1380 which I used credit card. When I discharge, they refunded $880 back to my credit card account.

haven't post in a while coz i'm very busy running around b/w TMC and home. my baby's jaundice was quite high on his 5th day that he had to be admitted. heart pain to see him on the glass cot with all his clothes stripped...was crying when i left him there and wanted to room in but nurse advise otherwise because it will slow down the therapy everytime i pick him up. but he should be able to go home today...very happy now... house felt so empty without bb around

re: bf
initially i was totally latching on baby without pumping but due to bb being admitted i have to start pumping, using manual pump now. when my breast milk is full, i'll be able to express for 2 times feed around 140 ml that's around once every 4 hours...

looks like u gals are pumping much more than me, does ur bb feed that much ? mine doesn't seem to feed a lot, he will just latch on 10-15 min or during the day he'll latch longer and sleep longer. so when he direct latch my breast is hardly empty, until now when i had to express more for him. then again, he poop a lot too and he's still gaining weight...that should mean he has enough nutrition right ?

stephie,
my sis also say my ss is a lot, but got a side problem as he sometimes choke during his feed. think milk flow too strong, thinking if i should start applying cold towel before his feed to reduce flow but also scared it will cause my ss to drop drastically...

re: episiotomy wound
it's been a week since i give birth but my wound still sore...wondering how long it would take before the soreness goes away

re: bill
bx, yours seems much cheaper than mine. i stay for 3d2n, 1 bedder, natural w/ epi, circumcision for baby and i paid 3.1k in cash. even for that they made a mistake of not charging pd fees to us, so it should be higher than that.

I finally have a moment to post! In between caring for my older DD, pumping, spending time with bb and all other household work in between, I am gasping for breath lol! Now I am eating my breakfast with bb in a sling while checking in, feels v nice to enjoy a moment of stillness for a while.

Dor, I am happy for you that your mum has agreed to help youout with bb, that must be a huge load off your mind!

leila, I think you'll do fine. Babies just need to be fed, diapered and carried. Soon you'll figure out your own rhythm and find your own routine that fits you n bb.

Jas, I express whenever I have the time to spare 30min (I am using a double pump) which works out to be around) every 3-6 hourly. I normally pump from both breasts at the same time to cut the time in half, which is 30 min each.

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield
3)emoments
4)yen

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield
3)emoments
4)yen
5)bkkgal

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding

Bb frets every nite from midnight til 3 am and in the day from noon til abt 2-3 pm. Anyone else experiencing this regular interval of fretfulness? She is well fed, pampers changed and sleepy but simply refuses to sleep. Any advice pls?

Tute - my wound took 9-10 days before it was not so sore. I think the older we are, the longer we take to heal. I see some younger women, so fast 3 days already off painkillers.

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield
3)emoments
4)yen
4)bx

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding

I do give FM occasionally. For example, i need to bring bb for checkup or i have massage. so far i fed FM 4 - 5 times. Dunno whether i still considered under TBF. If considered under mixed feeding, i give NAN to my bb.

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield
3)emoments
4)yen
4)bx

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)
2)cheryl (nan 1 Ha, will switch to nan 1 soon)

Mixed feeding

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield
3)emoments
4)yen
5) Winnie

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding

eliaw, i really envy u...

girl is getting cranky, sigh not sure why...

bx, does she stop fussing when you carry n pat her? My bb also has times (so far it seems to be morning to noon time) when he just wants to be held n cuddled then can fall asleep, I find that he likes to be held in the koala position, as in I sit n have him lying on his belly on my chest and I pat/rub his back gently. You tried this?

winnie

it normal. mine also... yesterday from 5pm to 1am, my son is so damn awake... keep wan ppl carry. put down cry again.. zzz.....
sometime could be colic? or maybe not comfortable...

Total Breast feeding
1)eliaw
2)garfield
3)emoments
4)yen
4)bx

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)
2)cheryl (nan 1 Ha, will switch to nan 1 soon)

Mixed feeding
2)Dor11 ( breastmilk/FM daytime and FM Night-similac)

berry,
i salute you...how do you handle your DD plus your DS alone?!?!? btw, you seem to be a great fan of slings - i'm thinking of getting one but there are so many options / types out there. can you share what type you are using? any advice on slings?

will try the koala position. bb likes to sleep on hubby's chest but i haven't tried that so far.

bkkgal,
my gal used to sleep immediately after feeds for about 2-3 hrs. this week, she wants to be cuddled and rocked before she will sleep. so tiring...no fixed timing though. for some feeds she will fuss, for others she will kuai kuai sleep on her own.

hello all mummies,

finally am back to forum again. I had my c-sec on 9 Feb. My baby girl's name is Jazzel. She weighs 2.91kg. Last week baby weigh 3.5kg.

I am total breastfeeding now, find it quite hard and stressful. My baby always sleep and only suck for 5-10 mins. Don't know how much she drink, really worried she get not enough. Anyone's baby also like that? Am thinking to pump out to feed her, but also worried milk supply will go down...sigh!

The worst thing is at night. My baby tends to wake up for few hours. I have tried breastfeed her from time to time, carry her and walk around. But she still not satisfy, really stressful man!

Total Breast feeding
1) eliaw
2) garfield
3) emoments
4) yen
5) Winnie
6) andrea

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding

bb full month,
how to calculate when to celebrate? is it 30 days from date of birth (so date of birth is counted as 1st day).

for giving of cakes, can give before or after this date? how about celebration?

Total Breast feeding
1) eliaw
2) garfield
3) emoments
4) yen
5) Winnie
6) andrea

Total formula feeding
1)moi_dar (nan 1 Ha)

Mixed feeding
8) jaslynloh (BM, FM Similac)

Day 7: bb was up playing from 6+pm to 10+pm. In the end, he was so tired that he keep falling asleep during his night feeds. wakes up every 15-20min as he is hungry again. its a sleepless night.

Sling: I also thot of getting a baby sling. arm aching fr carrying bb. WOndering which type is gd. Have to get nursing top too... any recommendation of website that sells cheap and nice ones?

Hello mummies, finally managed to come online. Been feeling very sad after birth partly i cant shower and wash hair and i am tbf my bb
After reading those posts from mummies, i have decided to go ahead and shower and keep myself clean!

Cranky baby
Bb is always cranky at night and needs to feed her every hour and she falls asleep each time during the feed after 10minutes or so. My nipples are still sore due to poor latching and my bb loves to bite my nipples when shes trying to drink milk... but getting much better now.

Drinking water during confinement
Also, not able to drink H20 makes me more sad. I remembered reading somewhere that mummies who are tbf need alot of fluid intake. I need alot of water. My poor two feet are more swollen than pre-pregnancy like elephant feet.

Air-conditioning
The house we are staying at got no air-conditioning in the bedroom and hb and i cant slp in the living room coz we only got a spare super single size mattress (not enough space for the 3 of us) thus gotta slp in that hot and humid room. Its summer time in Oz and I cant stand the heat. Been waking up during midnight due to sudden perspiration.

Sigh. I am really upset and have been crying during the night these few days. Hope I will be well soon =)

garfield, haha actually I am not alone just yet, hb is on leave this week, will be back to work nxt week. So far hb has been a great help, he can do almost everything I do except pumping LOL, so its like having two of me for now. I think the real challenge will come when he goes back to work next week. My dd goes to sch in the morning, so that will help. I guess I will try to finish all my housework and watnot in the morning so that I will have time for my DD in the afternoon. Also, I am pumping as much as I can now cause I know that (sadly) I'll have much less time to pump from next week onwards.

sling- Both my slings are from MIM, the silk range cause I think its v lightweight/thin and the prettiest. :p actually I really cant do without my slings cause with a sling (lke this morning), I could cradle-carry bb (the sling supports his body v well, I only need to use the crook of my elbow to support his neck which leaves me w two free hands) while I prepare myself a simple breakfast. Also, when bb is older and has adequate neck support, can sling in the hip carry or front carry position with bb 'sitting' upright, that lets you have two completely free hands to do stuff around the house plus you can carry on bonding w bb while doing so (I used to carry my DD this way and talk to her while I do my stuff, telling her wat I am doing and so on). It took me quite long previously to get the hang of it, so I personally feel that its best to start when bb is young cause the lighter your bb is, the easier it is to try out. When bb is quite heavy and is old enough to stuggle alot, you might find it harder to learn to use one.

hi mummies..
have some good news! my son's weight has increased frm 3.5 on eve of cny to 4.15kg! proves that im breastfeeding him alright! phew...my confidence level is high

i went to tmc on tues for my final latch on class. was pleased to noe tt myy son weighted has increased. b4 feeding 4.15kg after feeding 4.26kg..so he took abt 80ml of milk. n the condition of my breasts are fine.
i feel so happy that day, even though when we got home, he still struggling abit, makes me feel tt its just him being naughty not me..hehehe..
and i guess for now i will just breastfeed him, i wont pump so much coz i will be at home most of the time and where he goes, i will go.
so, i wanna encourage mummies out there, just hang in there....

hi berry,
is MIM , mums in mind? what is the brand of ur sling? when did u start using the sling on ur baby? my son will be 1mth soon, is it too early to start?