(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jeannie, mine is inconsistent...

each pump around 60 to 90ml. i tried to pump 4 times a day. at 10am, 3pm, 8pm, then 2am....

i tried to latch twice before each pump.....

then for the feed after a pump if she is not satisfied, then i will feed EBM

happy/kitsune/bluegin/snowbelle, thanks for the compliments

bluegin, i have very small eyes la... jerome's eyes are like my hubby's. the powder i never use cos i wash my hair on alternate days. i can give u mine if u want... only used b4 once.

casa, my MIL only comes from morn to noon daily so other than that i'm left to look after my bb alone. not reali a problem... juz feed when he's hungry, change diapers when he poos, other than that he is sleeping. only thing is i don reali get to rest as much as i'm supposed to.

re: bb crying near breast
actually bb may be crying because he is too anxious to drink. my bb is like that. he cries louder than ever when he is near my breast. sometimes when he is already hungry, he cries when i carry him from someone else cos he can smell the milk on me. so, look on the positive side... bb is excited to drink.

re: rashes during confinement
my confinement is really full of bumps. after the high fever, now both my legs are covered with scary looking itchy rashes. doc says it's just an allergy, gave me some cream and medicine. but it's so itchy i juz have the urge to scratch!

re: bb regurgitating milk
when hb bottlefed bb with ebm, he didn't regurgitate any milk. but every single time(in recent days) that i latched him on, he will make a lot of noise and stop suckling every few minutes and he will regurgitate a lot of milk out. quite worried about this. he will drink less than 10 mins in total, yet it seems to keep him full for the next 2-3 hours where he will cry for his next feed.

re: unhappy confinement
had a good sleep last nite cos hb looked after bb so today finally have energy to "inspect" the house. found that MIL made my kitchen very dirty. spent a few hours scrubbing and cleaning up. very very unhappy with her and the only one i can complain to is my hb. yet, sometimes i feel bad complaining to him cos i know i'm giving him stress. there are a million things i'm unhappy about yet i cannot tell her off straight. i really wish i never ever asked her to come and help... and guess what, i found a cotton bud stuck in my bb's diaper yesterday. she left it there while changing his diapers. imagine it could have been poking him all day. she is so careless, dirty and irresponsible!

Congratulations to all mummies who have delivered!

All the babies look so adorable!

I am still waiting although my EDD is 28 Feb. Went for my gynae appointment yesterday and he reassured me that baby's heartbeat was healthy and water level was fine. If I do not deliver by 28 Feb have to go see him again that day and maybe induce on 3 March. So my baby may not be a Feb baby after all. I did a CTG yesterday and my gynae said I was having contractions just not very regular. <sigh> Really hoping for the baby to come out even though after reading all the trials and tribulations you gals go through I feel a little panicky. Fingers and feet swollen since Chinese New Year and hands painful to clench.
Hope I give birth soon.

Starry: If u feed yr bb with 90ml end of 2nd wk, try to add milk powder abt 1 and half scoop. Cos initial before my son end of 2nd wk I gave him 70 ml with milk powder abt half scoop ( guess is too diluted) and he poo poo 3 - 4 time and his stool is watery. So now 90ml I gave one and half scoop of powder, his stool is now more creamy and poo abt once or twice. U can try adding alittle bit more Fm and see if yr bb still have watery stool.
Monitor for 2 more days if still watery than u can switch different brand of FM. If ok that means yr bb is fine with Similac.

Goodbaby, I am feeding my son with similac so far so gd.

June: I think when bottlefed bb he did not regurgitate any milk cos maybe we feed him position is more upright. While latching on bb position is more of lying down so bb might find it difficult to swallow milk. A few time i latch my son and wanted to burp him and b4 i did the milk flow out from mouth and nose.

I think position might be a prb for bb to regurgitating milk just my opinion. Maybe other mummies have different ans to this.

Hihi, everyone.
For once, I'm checking forum when the sun is still up. CL leaving this Sunday liao.
So better make use of whatever spare time I can get to do my own things. Hee.

Starry, ya, my CL say the green papaya can buy from those Indian stall, my ILs also bought wrongly initially.

Kelly, ya totally agree happy mummy = happy baby, that's my motto too. So I never set any target for myself regarding BF. Didn't even buy a pump until very recently. Only borrowed my friend's but her PIS pump very good so I'm very thankful.

Jeannie, don't worry, 90ml very good liao. I find that my first morning express always the best, it goes downhill after that. Maybe because got enough rest plus engorged. Maybe, fenugreek does work after all, cos nowadays if I don't pump at all after going to bed, the engorgement will be so painful that I'll wake up to pump automatically. Last time can sleep at 9+am. :p

Artemis, jia you jia you. Waiting game not easy but got chance rest more and go wherever you want before doing confinement.

Artemis
same here... waiting and waiting.
did the CTG just now, too. within 1 hr, only 1 contraction. gynae said bb's heartbeat is good. if he doesn't come out this wk, next week need to induce liao.

jeannie, ur ss really good. so xie mu.

have a big problem now. dunno why these 2 days my bb juz can't seem to suckle on my left nipple. she takes a super long time to be able to latch on. I think it is because the nipple is too short. very sad.

Besides that, she usually feed on one breast then fall asleep. i try to give her the other breast she also dun wan. so end up not full. less than 2 hrs later she will cry for milk again.

I think it is a matter of time i will surrender to bottle-feeding...

Hi kitsune_sg,

A bit discouraged cause no show, contractions super irregular, sometimes, half hour once, sometimes 3 / 4 hours once. :p I super scared that I blur blur not sure when is real labour pain.

Hi sunny,

When is your EDD? Where you delivering?

Artemis, I had no show, no contractions also, the next morning, water bag just broke, bloody water came out cos it was mixed with show. Don't worry, I think you'll know when the time comes. Have your gynae number on standby.

May I do a quick survey...

How long is the interval between each pump each of you are doing???

And other than pump, you latch on on demand right?

then do you face the problem that after the pump you got not enough supply for baby? then how you deal with it?

Winnie

I pump after every feed which is on 2.5-3 hr cycle. I count from the start of each feed to the start of next.

I latched on demand at first but now realised that bb is using me as a pacifier, so I'm stopping that now.

After pumping, my breast will not be as full during the next feed. I try to rest in btw feeds so that the breast will be fuller. If cannot rest, then bo pian lor...just carry on and feed as her sucking will stimulate milk. Drinking warm drink and having warm compress sometimes helps me to produce some milk after I've pumped.

Artemis

Your yoga book helped me during initial stage of labour. I brt it along with me to the delivery suite. hee hee. But when I started having 3 contractions every 10 mins and only 2cm dilated, I gave up and asked for epi. :p

bbkgal, thanks... but that means you need a place to store the milk right? since it is pump at such regular interval.... i waited for 2 feeds then pump guess must do it more often...

garfield9,
The thing is my ss is low... scared she got not enough milk... then if let her continue crying for some times, mil will come in... sigh...

constipation,
Thk my bb got constipation... just now saw her so xin ku, heart very pain... just now fed her some EBM... hopefully can help her...

hi happy, kindly update for me can?

Baby Boy: Matthew Tan
EDD: 24 Feb 08
DOB: 21 Feb 08
Weight: 3.1kg
Natural with Epi
Hospital: KKH
Gynae: John Tee

June,
For regurgitating milk, maybe your milk flow is too fast for your baby. You may want to try lie-down posture to feed or slightly lean back. While your baby stop suckling halfway, you can compare your milk dripping vs bottle dripping.

If yours is much faster than bottle and baby got no time to swallow, you can pump out some first until milk reservoir is not much.

Bx,
Don't feel so stressed. You can pump another breast after 2 feeds; then feed your baby EBM at 3rd feed. Hang on there, maybe later one side of breast is enough for your baby.

Winnie,
From 1am to 6pm I latch on demand. From 6pm to bedtime I pump every 2-3 hour and feed baby EBM. because my ss is dropping and baby got frustrated easily in the evening; and I'd like to empty breasts before sleep.

vine_gal, tks! i will try to continue giving her similac and observe how, i called PD, he said it's normal and ask me to continue feeding similac. although me n hubby were a bit panicky yesterday nite when she shoot a sudden jet of watery poo out..we went out this morning to get a can of NAN just in case similac really not suitable.

Then i was cleaning her unbilical cord this morning, and it bleed! oh my gosh..so panicky...called the PD, aiyo..lucky the bleeding only a bit and stopped quite immediately, but heart pain to see it, i wonder if it's painful..ahh...it's already the 12 day and the cord still not dropping...alamak..so difficult to clean..i so scared i will hurt her,after the bloody issue..alamak,i have more phobia of cleaning...

her little buttocks also show some signs of rashes, even though i been diligently applying the barrier cream (mustela)..maybe i shld try using desitin..

Winnie

In the beginning, not enuff milk so I pump every alternate feed cos I was afraid not enuff for her to feed on. From 2nd week I started pumping/hand expressing after every feed.

Do you feed EBM via bottle or syringe or spoon?

finally i've delivered
Baby Boy: Sean
EDD: 22 Feb 08
DOB: 18 Feb 08
Weight: 4.02kg
Natural without Epi
Hospital: TMC
Gynae: Jocelyn Wong

hi june,
My last confinement also have high fever up to 40 degree and rashes all over my body and thigh..so scary...then my gynae gave me the dunno wat calomol lotion to prevent the itchy.
This time i also have heat rashes but better than last time, i'll bath everyday and stay in air cond room to make it better

Kelly, my DD was v excited and happy but abit nervous when she first met Gene, when she and hb left the hosp at the end of the day, she wanted me to confirm that Gene will not disappear the next day lol. Also wanted me to confirm that we are bringing him home when I discharge. So far she is quite crazy about him, once in a while she will run over to watch him sleep and then giggle to herself and say how cute he is LOL.

bx, my bb wear a bodysuit at home and at night when he sleeps he wears a sleeper (those one-piece with footing type, alot easier n convenient plus comfy).

Casa, hehe if it gives you any comfort, I also handled my DD alone cause I'm a sahm w/o a maid. This time round, after my hb goes back to work next week, I'll be all alone with my older DD and bb.

Jaundice- Gene has slight jaundice from day 3 onwards when PD saw him, but she said not serious enough to warrant any concern so she didnt order the light therapy thingy for him before we discharge from hosp. But I was told to monintor closely cause jaundice can peak from day 3 to day 5 and our PD appt is only due this friday, which is day 7. Any idea how do I make sure meanwhile that his jaundice levels are ok? How to tell ah? The nurses told me that if you gently press on their forehead, it should turn reddish/skin tone again after it makes a yellowish mark, otherwise will indicate cause for concern. I wonder how accurate is this method? Anyone else has tips on mointoring jaundice at home?

BB Love- Hehe anyone cant get enough of your bb?? I am so in love with my bb I cant stop staring at him whenever I have a free moment, and just want to cuddle him the whole day even when he is sleeping lol. But then I am also quite preoccupied with pumping EBM, caring for my DD and other household stuff, but whenever I have abit of free time, I just want to put him on me and talk to him and stare at him and cuddle non stop. Babies are so irresistable when they are your own huh?

mums, thanks so much for replying me on the milk thing....

I must buck up liao, try to pump more, i am using the milk bag bought by XiaoYun to freeze and then some goes into bottles to normal fridge.

I hope i am doing enough to keep clean as put with the rest of the stuff. I put in milk bag and then into another plastic bag to clip with ikea clip.

bbkgal, i feed the EBM via spoon leh. Did not use syringe... what about you?

Snowbelle,
I not so hardworking lah. Remove the binder after 8 hrs. Will get my maid to wash and iron it before she comes in the morning. Anyway, bought an additional binder ($8) from her so that my maid doesn't have to wash and iron instantly.

I bought quite a few herbs from her as well. She will tell me which one I can take now and which one I have to wait till after my bleeding stop. Currently taking only one type which is to firm up the breast. Not sure whether it's working or not cos not consistent in taking also it is supposed to work together with a cream which I am not using as my gynae said I'm not suppose to massage my breast untill my breast no longer supply any more milk. Till now I still have milk coming out if I squeeze my nipples...

Any baby on Nan Ha?

Just checking - is the stool yellowish...soft like mustard...2-3 times a day...

Before when I feed him on Similac, only 1-2 times a day, stool yellowish but lumpy...

Berrywife, you very good mummy leh. I also enjoy looking at my bb gal when she's sleeping and smiling to herself cos when she's awake, she always cry. :p

Garfield, received my ampoules today. Just tried the trace elements face ampoule cos skin very dehydrated since after delivery, hope it works. Did you buy the slimming ampoules? I did, can ask Grace to massage it for me liao.

Starry70, RaeAnne had the rashes when using Mustella too, maybe also because we were using Drypers in the beginning which my CL said it's very hot. You can try the BB Sebamed Special healing cream for the rashes then use Desitin to maintain. Works for her.

Julie, when my BB was on Nan HA, her stool also yellowish and watery. Nan HA is like BM so texture of stool will be the same, should be normal.

Today my baby is 6 day old... tried pumping yesterdae.. only managed to squeeze out 10ml altogether... very discouraging. Sigh...

Jaslyn, try to let BB latch on in the beginning. SS usually low after delivery so pumping is quite discouraging, latching on will stimulate supply. Drink more green papaya fish soup and take fenugreek.

thanks kitsune... bb latch on liao. but falls asleep after sucking for like 10 min. put him down he cry. quite disheartening.

think i'm starting to have a little postnatal blue. tears will flow uncontrolably. sigh

berry
i know wat u mean. i run into e room very often 2 look at my girl too. e boys'll run into e room wif me, very eager 2 c their lil sister, wondering when she'll wake up 2 play wif them. gabe'll say things like, "mei mei so sweet; mei mei sleeping soundly; cannot disturb mei mei rt?" blah blah blah. he goes on &amp; on. very fun 2 c e boys all excited abt stella.

e method abt pressing on e forehead is absolutely rt. try pressing on his back too. another gd spot 2 check. if e yellow looks bright/lemon yellow, jaundice levels may b high OR e white of his eyes looks yellow.

Jaslyn, poor thing, don't worry, it's normal for hormones to go haywire, you only delivered 6 days ago. Give yourself sometime and take 1 day at a time ya. Jia you jia you.

When BB fall asleep, try and "ka cheow" him. I usually nudge my gal's chin or keeping call her, some mummies use a wet towel to touch the face, you can try that too. It's like that, BB loves to sleep when suckling at the breast, I got to keep waking my gal countless times, that's why every time let her latch on can feed for 45-1hr, half the time, I'm trying to wake her up. :p

Kelly, still awake too? Just bf my girl, sigh, she keep crying tonight, think it's due to colic, stomach so hard with wind. It's worse when she keeps crying cos more air goes in. See her so poor thing, even when she comfort suck in the end, also can't bear to unlatch her. :p

Re formula:
I used wyeth S-26 but it was too dry for my baby. like constipated, so pd offered me a free can of Friso to try and I thnk I will stick with Friso.

Starry looks like your feeding pattern for your baby quite similar to mine. Do you give ebm during the day and formula in the night?

Tongtong, I feed my baby with water after sunning him. Initially feed with sterile metal spoon but now I just use a bottle. Although I read that babies do not need water coz formula and bm are high in water content, pd say can feed him some after sunning him. Plus my whole family keep asking me to give water. They say water is necessary.

jaslyn, try not to cry, people say confinement cry is bad for eye sight. Understand your point on the ss thing.... must really take time... now i try to pump more than 4 times a day, the ml drops sig...

very scared when baby needs more and i dont have it.....

but my friends told me cannot think so much, else will fall into postt natal blues....

think i am going mad soon.

after many sleepless nights due to bb waking up for feeds, i finally succumbed to FM last night. hoping it can last her a longer time. but one hr later, she started crying and i gotta offer her my breast again. this went on for the whole night.

dunno how...

Hi Snowbelle,

I iron dry it ha ha ha... Of course sun dry cannot lah. Too little time mah. As for the herbs, they cost between $3-6. So rather affordable.

Feeding at night
My son can really drink at night. I had to let him drink 90ml at 9pm and then another 120ml at 11pm. Keep feeling that i am overfeeding him but he won't stop crying even with a pacifier. So no choice just give in lor. At least he sleeps longer after such heavy feeds. By the way mummies, I am trying out similac for night feeds and Nan 1 Ha for day time. Cos I realised that similac can cost a little constipation and Nan1HA so much like BM, my son poos after every feed! He even had to poo poo twice at night which disrupt his sleep. Have started trying it out last night. Will see whether there's any positive effect and keep you gals updated!~

snowbelle,
bb constipation: did u give her water in between feed. I started to give her water since ytd. Last night able to poo poo once. Alot. We were overjoyed when she poo poo.
Last night was so wonderful. She sleep all the way from 1am to 7am. I hv a wonderful sleep but woke up at 7am with engorged breasts. Hence, latch her on this morning.

Similac:
Feeeding instruction is 1spoon to 60ml water. so your ratio should have a rough guide from there.

Jaslyn,
I have this feeling too initially. I believe all mummies been through this stage. It is norm, so dun think u are odd one out. HANG ON day-by-day. U r doing fine, really. But wake him up on and off. He is enjoying the suction while waiting for your BF to run in. That's y must tickle him to make sure he stay awake.

sweetpea,
water is neccessary. but doc n nurse follow western style, so don't encourage.
FM are to "thick" so bb might be difficulty digest. I dun believe initial. now after feeding water, bb Chanet passed motion. Now I believe. Just go ahead. But it is also a norm for bb not to poo to 3days. depends on individual.

Jaslyn,
Dun cry infront of BB, he will know. Now the trick is he understand u better than u understand him. Take a deep breath and relax. More rest n good nutrition food can help u feel better. Always rem the next day will be a better day.

good morning!!!

long time din post...

congrats to mummies who just popped!

sc, wow!! yr bb veri big!

bx, +hugz+
gal, just to let u know. my boi has being like that since we discharged. yest more jialat.
i was awake from 1plus am til 6am.. he woke up every hour. dare not feed him ebm. give him fm cos more filling.. still cant make it. he fart alot n everytimes he farted, some poo poo will come along... so veri tiring

berry,
heehee... understand what u meant... i like to see or touch him esp when he latched on...

bm
my supply still siao siao one... on good pump can get 100ml. if he latched on, can only get 60ml...

snowbelle, if bb latched on or on tbf, it's ok not to give water cos bm got water inside

just to share my joy with u mummies!
after worrying n thinking since day 1 that i know i preggie abt who to take care of bb, my mum decided to quit her job to help me out!!. yipee!! no maid for me already but got to rush home for housework...

dor,
My milk ss oso siao siao one.. Tis early morng 5am can pump 110ml, juz mw 10am pump only 70ml..

Yeah! Happy 4 u tat ur mum can help u out.. No need to hire maid, so no maid prob 4 u..

blueginger, winnie, kitsune: thanks for the encouragement. i will work hard to be positive! thanks for the support, really make me feel better and less weepy