(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

happy, haha...
now i only pump for 10 to 15mins.
ya loh, i dun have to install cam or to have phobe line in my hse. yipee...
this morning, i veri hardworking i pump at 1am...
hope to last long man...

Winnie, i tried to use spoon once but failed. So I used syringe but bb hates it. she will cry and howl every time we use the syringe to feed ebm. so we improvised a lactation aid using a thin tube attached to syringe, insert into mouth when she is latched on and slowly get her to suck the milk from the tube. In this way, she doesn't know she is being fed ebm. she also nurses from my breast at the same time.

wah bbkgal, that is a good idea!!!! i never know there is such an aid.

I depend on CL to use spoon, but i know i will let her use bottle when she is 3 weeks old.... cos Mrs Wong class is to introduce bottle in 1 month old...

but that day i went TMC to see her, there is a boy there 11 weeks old, refuse bottle totally, he was screaming the centre down... his mum cried....

so very dilemma one lah, on one hand worried about nipple rejection, on the other hand worried about not baby rejecting bottle later....

Yeah, nipple confusion is my biggest worry too. I'm also hesitant to intro bottle altho it'll be nice to be free of being her on-demand milk bar. I'm thinking of intro bottle nearer to end of maternity leave so my mom can handle bb alone. You can check on internet the various lact. aids. This guy Jack Newman wrote extensively on it. http://www.bflrc.com/newman/breastfeeding/lact_aid.htm

Gtg bb needs to be fed liao!

I am currently in TMC as I had regular contractions yesterday evening. However, apparently they are not intense and my cervix is only 0.5 cm dilated so far. My gynae inserted a induction pill for me just now and will be monitoring a little later.
Update you gals later!

mummies who are using nan ha,
i've jus changed my boi's milk powder fm nan starter to nan ha. And it seems that the poo is becoming fm mashy to watery. So that normal rite?

casa & berry,
m planning to be a SAHM (first time mum wid no maid) and my CL is leaving soon. I really wonder if i can cope too. So now trying to learn as much fm the CL. Really would like to share & chit chat when more settled.

Artemis, all the way!

Leila
I oso wonder if can cope cos after this week, i m more or less on my own. My hb took 2 weeks off to help me. We have no CL and neither mums come to help me on daily basis. When hb goes back to work, i'll have to do every thing except for cooking or when my mom comes over in the afternoon.

Hi Feb mommies! congratulations on ur delivery! i'm from april mtb and would like to ask any mummy here gave birth in TMC? i wanted to know wat is the total bill size like for natural birth? thanks!

Happy
I can feel that my boy is adjusting to the sharing of attention. at one hand he don't want others to bring his littl sister away, on the other hand he don't want grandma(main caregiver) to focus too much on his sister.

June
your boy is handsome. got nice feature esp the eyes. 1st pix like some pop stars coming out from the airport. haha.

BlueGin
Similic scoop 2x the size of others milk powder(ie 2 portion). basically the ratio is 1 portion to 30 ml of water.

saw someone mentioned about keeping the pump in the fridge.tot it was quite a good idea but on 2nd tot based on the - hot expand, cold contract theory, i'm not sure if the cool pump at use will cos the milk duct to contract and reduce the milk supply...

artemis,
jia you!

jeannie,
yes, i'm on TBF. i express only once or twice a day. rest of the time will latch on. Will wake up at night to feed bb too. if i feed her around 11pm+ she normally wakes up about 2-3am and then the next feed is 6-7am.

ya very flustered when bb is struggling with me. also felt like giving up. i talk to her non stop lor, sing nursery rhymes etc. our bbs are still so young and bu4 dong3 shi4, tell myself to be very very very patient. when i really cannot tahan will feed EBM

garfield, when u feed ur baby at 11pm+, 2-3am and 6-7am, u give FM or EBM or latch on? ur interval sounds good. how old is ur baby now?

bx,
my gal is 19days old. my night feeds are latch on. she cluster feeds around 6pm - 11pm (up to 3 feeds) so maybe that's why can stretch up to 4 hr intervals certain nights, but not all the time.

bluegin,
After I fed her 1 feed of EBM, her poo-poo is ok liao... think she didn't drink enough water...

dor,
My ss very little only... need to pump 3 times then enough for 1 feed...

dor
happy for you that you have no more fan nao since ur mum is helping you! that's the best arrangement one can hope for

artemis
all the best to you and have a smooth delivery.

twtw
i also keep the pump in the fridge in btw use. so far ok leh, won't cos milk duct to contract. if you are worried, maybe can use hot water to rinse the pump before using?

Re: nipple confusion/bottle rejection
i've started bottle feeding cos afraid bb will reject bottle when i do so only at end of maternity leave. as it is now, my bb is not very use to bottle feeding till now. for my girl i bottle fed her when she's less than a week old and it was much easier then. she was on bottle feed and direct latch until she's about 5 mths old where she rejected my breast :p

Anyone here can remember the diapers we have got from xiao yun is it Nepia? And whether the tapes on the side is the sticky type (like drypers) or like velcro (like Mamypoko)? Am thinking of going down to NTUC to buy a few packs but can't remember which is the one I prefer.

Xiao Yun did you order yours online or went to NTUC to buy?

Garfield, thanks! hopefully when my girl is older, she will sleep longer. she is now 13 days old. I dun really miss the feeling of bb in the tummy. But i miss those days when i can sleep through the night.

Winnie, my bb gets super cranky in the night. she will only fall asleep when i latch her on.

EBM:
Just to confirm with those whose ss still not that established yet. let's say you pump 20ml and store in the fridge. at the next pump,you get another 20ml, do you add on to that bottle in the fridge and feed the baby when the quantity is enough for one feed? I hope you get what i mean.

Puffish,

My bill is $2100+ after deduct medisave for 1-bedder, natural without epi. Amount slightly high because i had some complication on day 1 and gynae had to pop by to check on me several times. Hence increasing the doctor charges.

bx, me too, she latch and sleeps and once i put her down she screams...

for EBM, my CL says cannot add the next 20ml to the first bottle, but wen you intend to feed, you can then combine both....

Thanks all for your good wishes. Unfortunately, I am still waiting... Now only 1½ cm dilated... Zzz... ARGH!!! <sigh> Looks like my baby wants to only come out on actual EDD.

so winnie, u will store bottles with 20ml separately, then when it's time to feed, u pour them together and warm izit?

so far i have been adding the milk into the bottle in the fridge. so that i can wash the bottles and reuse. opps...

julie: how long can the 60ml BM last for your bb till next feed? tried pumping today, get 20ml. wondering if i should add it to his FM to get a total of 60ml for 1 feed or should i just offer BM to him 1st then top up 60ml FM.

feeling so much better today. No more tearing for me.

Mummies, like to seek your advices on how long is the interval when you express your BM? Each breast express for how long? Sometimes I express till nipple v sore.

sweetpea, yup i give ebm in the day, similac in the night..however this 2 day i been giving 1 extra feed of similac in the day, just to test if the water stools persists (it does but since PD says its normal..so probably i will just continue).

may i ask if giving FM, should you increase from 60ml to 90ml directly..my gal estimated should be drinking 75ml now..so duno if i should continue giving her 60 ml FM or make 90 for her?

For ebm, i am already giving her 70ml.

jus a comment on diapers

drypers - stickers not adhesive..used until i pek chek..haha..i thrown away a few..

sealer - cutting a bit big, but overall ok

pampers - cutting just nice for new born, but considered small cutting and best fitting out of all diapers..

huggies - yet to try but have bought 1 big pack..

woo hoo...diapers n wet wipes are using up fast..

startled baby - my baby can just sleep and suddenly cry out of the sudden..aiyo..scare me..so i been giving her some 八宝散。。hopes it helps

bx, yeap store separate, then mix when neeed to feed.

jaslyn initially, i pump 6 hours apart... now i keep to 3 to 4 hours apart...

Starry for FM you can gradually increase the amt for yr gal etc if she can finish 60ml the next feed try 70ml and increase. If she can finish the milk it means that the amt is ok for her. If you see her timing for drinking FM is shorten u can increase the amt for her. Do not increase from 60 ml to 90ml directly cos u will be overfed her and she will sure vomit out milk.

hi all, just curious wat pumps u gals using? i read that double pumps actually can express more than single pumps..

artemis - leap day baby??! wait 2 more days la! Heh heh..

did anyone of you experience growth spurts? my bb past 2 days feeding 2 hr interval 90ml each.. a lot rite?

hi dor - good for u got yr mum to help.. i'm still waiting for the arrival of my maid.. in abt 10 days time.. sigh..

hi jas - i express every 4-6 hrs depending.. suggest when ur nipples are sore.. pls give it a break.. try massaging to improve flow instead..

am using double pump.. express not longer than 1/2 hr..

bkkgals,
according to the mid-wife, after a month.

can I ask how long u gals lacate on before giving FM?

Artemis,
JiaYou. Jiayou.

artemis, jia you!! try to rest more

eliaw, thanks

re: growt spurts
eliaw, i think mine is going thr it.
2hrs interval of 90ml(fm), if drink ebm can drink 110ml...

pump
i using double now - medela n also avent ones.
i lazy.. only pump 10mins...

cutting nails
my hb cut bb ones last nite. he is 3 weeks old.

re: growth spurts
was quite surprised that he fed so much.. was worried that he'll wipe out my ss if carry on like dat.. how long did the spurt go on for?

re: pump
yr ss very good.. 10 mins only!

wow.. it seems like most mummies having good milk flow now..Sigh.. Mine still very irregular.. sian..

Happymum/ dor/ garfield.. u all very good leh.. so much milk.. garfield.. u in TBF??? u got enuff to feed ur baby?? envy... i dun have leh..itsl exactly 1 week... still milk does not flow a lot.. today from morn 8 am till now 9pm, i expressed 3 times and latched her on the remaining times with 2 FM in between.

1st pump 8 am: 90 ml
FM
2nd pump 1230 pm: 60 ml
latch on whenever baby cries
3rd pump 3 pm: 40 ml
latch on whenever baby cries
FM at 830 pm

think i will only pump 1 more time later and try to latch on then overnight will be on FM.

Is it like that for most of you?? Or eveyone of u on TBF??

Winnie.. u can store ur EBM in so many milk bags and bottles??? Once i expressed.. i will feed in the next feed.. no extra to keep..How often do u express?

hi jeannie,
i also don't know why i got good flow.. my mum also very surprised.. i was thinking could it be because using double pump.. that's why i asked if mummies experiencing poor flow using single or double pump..

Jeannie

If you want to put bb on TBF, must persevere and persist. Milk flow will be slow in the beginning but don't be disheartened. Latch on frequently and your ss will build up.

eliaw, hahaha...
if only can hit 200ml... dun think so.... cos after the 10min, nothing come out liao...

if latch on, only can get 60-80ml...

jeanice
u veri patient liao... can express for one hour... i cant tong so long!!!
no lah. i not on tbf... in bet will give fm...
i pump like 9am, 1pm, 4pm, 8pm n also 1am.. then from 1-7am, i latch on.