(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

dor,
37cm.. that's the biggest my gynae ever delivered. luckily you opt for c-sect. no need to suffer 2 times (trying natural + e-c-sect).

don't know what should i do, 34 cm, no joke le... hai..

emoments, yup i started my ML. partly because Dr Wong say I may deliver 1 - 2 weeks early during my last checkup. partly oso because i scared my waterbag burst in class in front of my students. very silly thought but i just wanna play safe.

very paiseh to take mc. and there's nothing wrong with me, how to get mc.

mummies out there, dunno whether i asked this before? do you cut away the tabs on your bb's clothes?

I am worried that they can be prickly to the bb's delicate skin.

bx,

i m a teacher too, with dr wong too. still thinking whether to take my ML earlier coz my bb is engaged but dr wong never check for dilation last week. she also mentioned this week or next week bb will pop...me taking MC till tmr coz i m getting breatheless.

emoments
VBAC stands for vaginal birth after c-section.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vbac
no harm exploring with your gynae.

bx
that's not silly thought. waterbag can burst anytime... that time, mine burst middle of the night after pee. i thought i haven't finished the small business and went back to pee again... then realise that it's waterbag burst liao. hehe....

Wow... so many teachers here... 2 under Joycelyn Wong... haha...

I asked for 2 days MCs everytime I see Dr Wong for the past few weeks..... cos she said I may deliver that week. First time was at week 34 when my baby is engaged, so risk of premature and she advised me to walk less, thus I asked for MCs to rest. I tong till week 37, then Dr Wong said I shd walk more now since it's consider full-term already...

Linda, she is very generous with MCs... she will ask u how many days you want.

Actually most importantly is whether your company accepts gynea MCs.... I know of some who dun.... luckily mine do.

congrats to all mummies who have popped. me have been following this thread, but it moves too fast for me le, so seldom post. hehe.
i'm still waiting for my turn. just went check up. gynae say if baby still don’t want to come out by next Monday, then have to induce le. He says baby too big for my size. I’m in my week 39 now and bb weighs abt 3.2kg to 3.3kg. cervix not open yet…. Abit worried natural birth may be a problem liao.

ohh ya, dr wong will ask how many days, think the max she gives at one go is 3 days.

yesterday i have a bad experience with the clinic. i called at 9am wanna book appt with dr wong, coz my breatheless getting bad. then the nurse told me fully booked so i cant get to see her. then at the back of my head, i m thinking how come i cant see her when i got a prob. then i told the nurse whether i can get MCs to rest. she said she will check with dr wong.

so in case of emergency, will dr wong still see us?? coz she always mentions if during clinic is opened just come in and see her if got show/ contractions/ waterbag burst?

anyway, luckily dr wong called me in the afternoon to check whether i m okie...

Yep.. she also told me that in case of emergency, just walk in & see her. Wow, she calls u to check on you in the afternoon... tt's very nice.

I was supposed to go for checkup yesterday too, but it was fully booked, that's y my checkup changed to today.

So are you feeling better now?

linda, wow, she called u to check on you. so nice of her. how many weeks are you now? she first checked for dilation when i was in 37 weeks. she checked because i asked her any possibilities of baby coming out early. so she say she can do a quick vaginal check for me.

so far i have not taken any mc from dr wong. i decided to start my ML early so that i can rest oso. in school need to walk alot and stand for very long.

i oso calculated, by the time i go back to work, it is around exam period. then after that it's june hols already. so timing still not too bad.

Sunny: In the afternoon, just leave yr bb in the living room as well, do not have to bring yr bb back to the room. Only night time abt last feed den bring bb back to his own cot to sleep. My bb sometimes also wake up 2 times at nite.

I agree Dr Wong is nice to call and check on me. So shocked when she called. I thot the nurse will call.

still breatheless, must take in deep breathe..dr wong explained to me why i m feeling like that.

me now in my 37 weeks 2 days. last week, i asked dr wong whether bb is engaged then she checked and said engaged but she never did vaginal check, just did the strep B test.

she said she will do V check at next appt which is next tues. dunno whether i pop by then or not.

one thing i realise that when i teach, my legs will swell by mid day. if i stay at home, the swell not that bad.

emoments,
yup me with dr. wong too ! wah, so many ladies here with dr. wong...my next checkup is tom afternoon, quite anxious since last week my cervix is still closed.

ah...so ur 2nd time mummy hence cannot induce? that's something i didn't know...

bx,
seems like our edd the same leh and we have same dotor as well...heheh...but i still haven't dilated

linda,
dr. wong only did v check on me last week when i'm in my 38 weeks...i guess she doesn't do v check so early ?

re:mc,
so far have not taken mc for gynae check up coz i always go during lunch break...or i'll take half day leave since i gotta clear my leave anyway...

tute... yep, that's something I didn't know till last week's checkup.. was shocked and upset when I know abt it. I dun wish to end up with another c-sec mah.

For v-check, sometimes Dr Wong dun wan to check, but I requested as I wanna roughly know whether I'll deliver tt week, esp my baby is engaged.

So if Dr Wong said no need to check and you wish to know, can request one. She's very nice and she will do it for u if you request.

Hi bx
No wonder you want to start ML early. For me, I need to save my leave as I will have 2 boys.. if one is sick, I need to take leave to take care of them.... thus gotta save my leave for such emergency cases.

tute,
my hubby and I conclude we trust Dr Wong experience. Maybe she thinks I am too early for dilation to start.

I took MCs when I am unwell. for regular checkup, i went after my lessons in school.

Just to check, even bb is engaged, the wait can be quite long rite.

I heard that usually when baby is engaged, you will deliver within 1-2 weeks' time. But Dr Wong said some of her patients managed to tong till due date or overdue. If I am not wrong, as long as you don't walk or squat too much, you can tong longer... which is wat happen to me.

Just to check with you. When will your doctor check if you have diluted? I just went to see my gynec last night so far he did not perform any cervix check for me, im in my 38 week now my EDD is 23 feb.

My bb engaged at 34-35weeks, but till now at 39weeks le, still waiting for her arrival. Hope she can come out earlier, else too big for me to give birth naturally le…
Today is the first time gynae check my cervix, so Jac, dun worry, I guess gynae will know when to check based on ur conditions.

emoments,
yeah i guess from now onwards i would want to know if my cervix got opening or not... but dr. wong also said that since i dun have any false contraction then likelihood i'm not dilated yet... that's why i'm now worried that i may be overdue.. so have started to climb stairs these last few days and walk a lot...to help induce, so far no luck though...

yeahlor.. I also started walking and squating more since last week...

Ok.. me need to log off now.. gg for checkup later. Ciao!

how would we know if bb have already engage? My gynec everytime just scan and tell me where the head, heartbeat and body. He nvr tell me if engage or not?

ohh so the wait can be quite long hor...dr wong also told me 1-2 weeks time. she said if i walk alot then this week, if not next week or 39th week.

jac,
for me, i asked my gynae whether my bb is engaged then she touched my tummy then said engaged. I even ask her how come she knows, she said cant feel the head le. then she proceed with ultrascan. can see bb head quite down le.

when bb is engaged, the pelvic area quite painful one. last time i feel smething is dropping when standing. now engaged, smetimes, i sit or lie down, can feel painful one.

jac,

my gynae initially nvr tells me that my bb's engaged or not so i ask her whether my bb's head engaged or not...heheh...so if not sure, just ask

Xiaoyun, it's normal to have pressure increase in last wk of pregnancy but for me, i have hypertension that's why doc is worried for me.

My baby is also engaged at ard 35 weeks but today I am in my 40 weeks and baby is still not out yet. I think I do quite a bit of walking leh but then baby also din wanna come out yet.

Getting a bit frustrated with the waiting......everyone calling me to see if i have given birth........................

But then my baby is considered not too big. She is 2.8Kg when i visit my gyane on Sat.

my baby should be in 37th week, going to see Dr tonight. I am thinking of getting MC to wait at home to see when she wants to come out....

actually i am abit worried about weight now, she is 2.9Kg during 36th week leh... sigh....

and now it seems that my boss is throwing a lot of work down just to see how much i can try to wrap up before going.... so sick....

apple... so good, bb not too big, easier to give birth. envy.
actually i also did quite abit of walking too, but still bb dun wan to come out.

Hi June,

regarding the breast pad, if i m not wrong its costa around RM20-30 coz i bought from msia last time. And u can try to get it from pharmacy or hospital

Hi june,
i just checked for you,this is the contact for the distributor of mothermates in spore. you can call and ask where to buy.

Tyco Healthcare - Singapore/Asia Pacific
No. 26 Ang Mo Kio
Industrial Park 2, #04-01,
SINGAPORE
Email Us (mailto:[email protected])

Thanks for all the answer. My doc only told me that my ger head is down around 35weeks. I am also in the waiting game. still got 11 days to my EDD. now in office also dont know do what which im surppose to be on maternity leave on monday already but boss ask me to come back and help.

For those mummies that are still waiting, take as much rest as you can now. You will need all the energy you have when the baby come out.

are you all still experiencing the rashes at the stretch marks area after birth? mine seems quite bad... anything i can do about it? it is so itchy and dry.
Hope you can advise me!!!...

welcome, julie

starry
i think it should be ok if you were to change your mind. after all you are the one giving birth ma. better say now than regret later. but why gynae wanna induce on EDD?

tute
for my first pregnancy, i also had no symptoms whatsoever during my gynae visit (at 39 wks 4 days). who knows on the very night i had contraction and delivered in the middle of the nite. hence, don't worry so much now and just enjoy having bb in your tummy (some pple miss the feeling after bb is born).

vine_gal
thanks for the advice. me v stressful when my girl wanna play with didi. cos she keeps wanting to sayang his face and i'm afraid she'll exert too much pressure.

moi_dar
i'm also thinking of doing the same as you for the full mth celebration: i.e. give cakes to relatives only. only thing i dunno if it'll be awkward if frens see that some pple have cakes while they don't.

bx
i don't cut away the tag else next time i dunno what's the size. but some of those hand me downs i have had the tags cut off.

xiaoyun, ya loh.. that's y gynae not so encouraging for to wait cos my boy is too big.. if wait til 41 weeks, he might cross 4kg!

vine
re: day/nite tingy
sigh.. it does not work for my boy. since discharge til nw, he stays in the living room during daytime.... only abt 9plus then go back to her room...still he wakes up every hourly in the nite...

emotional
mummies who had popped. do u have this problem? i veri moody n getting vei emotional esp when my hb is gg back to work tomorrow.. sob sob..

Jess
re: i dun but i experiencing itchness about the c-sec wound...

stephie,
thanks...comforting to hear that, i guess i shouldn't worry too much...

bx,
i dun cut away the tags either but my mom just say must ensure the tag is iron and no rumples..

dorothy
think me too emotional at times. that day after coming back from hospital, my gal wanna me bathe for her. told her mummy cannot bathe for her but she kept insisting. so i went ahead to bathe for her loh. as i bathed her, my tears just rolled down cos i felt so sorry for her that mummy can't bathe for her now (as i'm typing this post, my tears rolled downed again).

ya, the feeling of bb in the womb is so nice right.

dor, means ur wound is recovering le...

mine is red patches at the whole of the tummy around the stretch marks, all the way to my back. when the itch comes, all will pop up. if not, it merges with the stretch marks just that its red in colour. i cannot tahan already. later go see doctor.

i am also planning my baby's full month celebration. Will be using melrose buffet. have anyone tried before? Family and relatives alone i have 50 pax already. Dun think i can invite colleagues. Can only give them vouchers. feel quite bad actually. but no choice....

stephie, you popped naturally right? U cant bathe yr DD is it because your wound hurts? Maybe u can get a stool to sit on, see if it helps? I guess its inevitable that the older one will sure feel insecure just after we pop.

Dor, hang in there, alot of how u are feeling could be hormonal, plus u still have an older DD to care for. Once everything settles down and you have adjusted, u'll feel better liao.

bx, I dont cut my bb's clothing tag, so far all the clothing I bot for my BB wither have v soft tags or comes with info printed on (as in not in tag form) so quite okie.

berry
ya, popped naturally. cos pple were saying can't touch water after birth so didn't dare bathe my girl then. silly me.

stephie, ooooh ok haha, sorry I forgot about this point. But I think u dont have to worry too much cause I think this is an asian belief right, if its 100% true then all caucasian women will be v sickly and live short lives liao haha. I believe yr older child will really appreciate the effort you put in for her for sure. In any case, jia you on being a great mum, it must be hard to juggle the needs of both plus your own.

berry
tks for ur encouragement. now my girl knows that mummy can't carry/bathe her for one mth so she'll let daddy bathe/carry her instead