(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

stephie
i am also worried that my gal will react quite negatively after bb is born. hope that everything goes well to you and your gal. it's just a phase that everyone is making the adjustment for the new baby.

Hello mummies, am back from my gynae checkup. Did an internal examination today and was told bb head's engaged and 1cm dilated! Estimated weight is about 3.1kg

Dor, Garfield, Thankful & Eliaw,
Congratulations!

tute,
Last week checkup, my cervix also still not open yet and not much false contraction too... now starting to worry whether my cervix can dilate or not... scare will end up induce or c-sect... Same like you, I've started walking a lot and climbing 17 floors... yet still no sign... now everyday asking bb to come out earlier... sigh... hope bb can come out this week... I'v started my ML liao... don't want to waste it leh...

wow snowbelle, u climbed 17 floors. i climb 4 floors already panting.

i oso hope my bb can come out this week.... so far no signs and symptoms.

tongtong: Best not to wash with tap water or touch water. I touch alot and now my hand got "feng mo" and is very itchy. But not sure whether is due to touching too much water or allergy to other things.

bx,
Climbed 17 floors also no use leh... read from other forums that they climbed stairs liao, at night went into labour... so envy... hopefully my waterbag can burst tonight and cervix dilating now lor...

if ur waterbag really burst tonight, tmr i will try climbing 17 storeys too

CONGRATS ladies... i havent log on for a while and so many of you have popped! o ya... happy lunar new year too.

i'm still waiting for my turn 38W, bb engaged since 35W. cervix not dilated... gynae told mi not likely this week. so its still a waiting game for me.

dor, dun feel miserable ok. perhaps u are feeling more vulnerable and emotional now. take care ok

stephie, ur daugther will understand you cant bathe her for now, perhaps she is feeling a little insecure right now? dun feel so bad ok... try to give her a little more attention? hope it will easier for her to adjust
take care.

andrea,
good for you if you've started to dialate !

snowbelle,
wow 17 floors !!! that's a lot of staircases to climb... i only climb 5 levels daily, maybe should start to climb twice a day. but if your 17 floors work, i'll give it a try...

to all mummies who are still waiting, good luck to us !!

Congratulations to dorothy, Garfield9, eliaw and Thankful.

Hi ViNE_GAL,

I still owe you 4 diapers. If the items from the spree not here yet, you want me to mail out to you? Email me at [email protected] or SMS me with the brands you are interested in okay?

Been busy as I had to return to work to cover my boss while he prepares for and attends the Senior Management Meeting. By right only go back to office for 2 days but last minute he ask me to go tomorrow too. Super xian.

re: breastfeeding
last nite i endured for 8 hours without expressing and i think it really worked in reducing milk supply. my breasts have been painful all day, but at least when i express the milk amount is less. i have sudden throngs of pain coming for a few seconds then disappearing. i wonder if that is due to inflammation. so far no fever/shiver but do have headaches and backaches caused by the engorgement. like moi_dar and some others told me, medicine will stop the milk flow, so i guess if i wan to bf my baby i have to endure the pain...

kitsune, just wondering, when u put salt on a wound, won't it be very painful?!?

jeannie, i think u can consider maxmobile too. cos besides using at home, u can use on the go, anywhere in singapore. both hb and i using that now. corporate discount so only $29 each a mth. otherwise i think it's $60 or so. but it's reali convenient.

re: induction
heard some of u saying that induction is more painful than natural. i didn't have the chance to have natural contractions. but in my experience, out of the 10 hours of pain, the first 9 hours of contractions by induction was bearable. so maybe not as bad...

re: waiting mummies
dor, yes i totally agree with u. been one week since i discharged and everyday barely 5hours of interrupted sleep, except for last night when i bear the engorgement pain for 8 hours cos i was simply too tired already! pls rest and sleep more when u still can!

xiaoyun, my bb head was 34cm at birth - 38w5d old. abt the same as yrs, juz that yrs not out yet... hehe

bx, didn't cut the tags and bb is ok so far. my waterbag burst when i was leaving office!

linda, yes, my bb was engaged for more than 4 weeks then i delivered.

casa, thanks for helping me check... so nice of yoU!

jess, my stretchmarks are also itchy, but i nv do anything abt it, juz scratch it once a day when i feel too itchy.

dor, i think it's normal ba. for the first few nights i started crying very badly and felt depressed over small issues. like on chu er, i cried until i was breathless and i never cried like that for years liao. was crying because didn't like my MIL around and the way she does things la. actually just a small issue but dunno why cry until so cham. guess it's just the hormones.

stephie, wear gloves la. but if u r bathing for her, it's warm water should be ok what. i bathe and wash my hands with warm water. in fact sometimes lazy so i juz wash with cold water, but wipe off immediately.

tongtong, supposedly not allowed so i use warm water. my aunt said she washed her hands with tap water during confinement and all her veins came out so she warned me not to do so.

to: mummies who want to give birth

walking a lot does help. for the few days before i delivered i was walking a lot.... there was one day i went shopping for 10 hours straight and 3 days later my waterbag burst.

some docs also advise that u have sex if the bb is going to be overdue. nipple stimulation, orgasms, semen... all can induce childbirth. i think it's definitely easier than walking or climbing 17 storeys... haha

to: mummies with bbs with jaundice

today brought my bb to polyclinic, only $10.90, much cheaper than the $50 pd and it was fast too, cos they have priority for nb.

when they drew out my bb's blood, i started crying with him. so heart pain. and when i walked out of the room, some ppl laughed at me. his jaundice level is 267. is that very high? no medicine given or anything. only told to go back tomorrow to test again and monitor. but i don't think i want to go back tomorrow. too heart pain to see them draw his blood.

do u all know how to improve/reduce jaundice? i plan to go back and test only when i see that he is less yellow. my MIL says i should feed him plenty of water, but i'm bfding and actually no need water... so does it reali work to feed water? also she mentioned sugarcane... anyone heard of this method?

Re: Jaundice

June: Do let your bb drink plain water although you are bf. It is because due to hot weather, they will tend to sweat (although bb hardly sweat)thus they perspire and cos dehydration.

Normally, when bb cry we thought that they are hungry and by feeding them with more BF n FM (which contains proteins and sugar etc) thus they will become more "heaty" or having fever.

Symptoms to look for water dehydration for bb will be sometimes when bb does not sleep well, abit cranky or their urine become lesser. Also, when my bb have jaundice I make sure he drink lots of plain water and sun bathe in the morning to keep his jaundice level low and indeed ytd check up he do not have to be poke by pd.

Do not feed sugarcane to bb, as it is very sweet for them and it is not cook.

bx, tute, jaslyn,
Hope it really helps lor... climbed 2 days liao but still no news yet leh... only my legs get stronger...

june,
I've checked the web on inducing naturally... nipple simulation needs to simulate for long time like few hours then maybe will work one... sex is another way... but no mood lah... belly too big liao

Hi everyone.

I have came back from my gyane check up tonight. He said water level is running low. Thus need to induce tonight. I was so scared and i think i said a lot of stupid things like not prepared etc hehehehehe.

So I am leaving for TMC at 11pm tonight. Wish me luck!

I'm back from my checkup.... cervic is still not open, but baby has dropped again... very very low now... I kept having the feeling of peeing or shitting too... walk/sit/sleep also painful... Dr Wong checked and said I have been having mild contractions... hmm.... then she 'forced' open my cervic... so now I'm 0.5cm dilated... she said hopefully by this weekend I can deliver...

emoments,

force open!!! sound painful!!! hope u will deliver soon

for those mummies who have delievered, i keep having the feeling that i wanna to pee whenever my bb moves... izzit becoz she is pressing on my uterus.

Jaundice

For Jaundice, I remembered my elder boy had and stayed one more nite in the hospital. When discharged, my mum went to buy some powder from those Chinese Medical Hall to shower him... then put some in a red packet and put under his pillow. I didn't really sun-bath him cos my house has no sun.

Maybe you all can try to ask the Chinese Medical Hall... cos I'm not sure what that powder is being called. Seems like when my boy got jaundice, both sides (my mum and my SILs from hubby side) asked around and learned abt this. They tried it immediately after he was discharged.. next checkup, PD said it is very mild and no need to do anything.

Linda, it's not that painful, just very uncomfortable...maybe I have done too many cervic check liow. She did it while doing the cervic check and said she's gg to stimulate it to open... she just digged it deeper and that's it.

I started getting fresh red blood almost immediately... she said the blood should changed to brown 2mlr, else I need to go in to let her check cos of my previous c-sec.

I'm still feeling very uncomfortable... like my private parts have been invaded like tt... need to wear panty liner as blood is still flowing (a bit like menses flow but not those heavy type).

June, I also thought so but recommended by the KK nurse leh, hubby also said salt is an antiseptic. I also don't know. Anyway, I got 1 extra tube of the numbing cream cos I went to the 24 hr clinic again for diarrhoea & they gave me an extra tube. If you want, can ask your hubby to get from me.

Cheryl, I'm using Nan1 HA for RaeAnne. Poo is loose & yellow but more smelly than when she's on BM. CL said both Nan and Enfagrow ok but don't buy Similac cos BB don't poo poo for 3 days after that.

Xiaoyun, my BB's head was also 34cm. Aiyoh, my gynae didn't even tell me before I gave birth so I had no choice but to push her out naturally, no forceps & vaccuum even hor... :p

Hello mummies, me also going for induction tmr...getting so nervous now..gotta check in at 8pm tmr..hee..now thinking hard what else i have missed not packing in my bag..

Cheryl,
My bb's poo is also yellow and loose. But I think should be ok cos my girl took the same fm when she was young.

Sunny
My bb on total FM now.

xiaoyun
thanks for your concern. Definitely feel better without having to breastfeed. Guess what I went to order the diapers from diaper.com.sg. Just received them today. Must agree with you the container is so cute!

Stephie
I think friends will understand. In any case, for me, I have holding it seperately. Afternoon for relatives and evening for friends so won't have the problem.

good morning everyone..

has been busy in last couple of days, not much time to catch up with the posts..

as some of u may know, i hv scheduled for my c-sec date for tml, 14 Feb but due to my mum being admitted to hospital, i hv to postpone the c-sec date to next mon, 18 feb..

winnie,
hope u hv a fast & smooth delivery.. do keep us update once u hv popped..

julie,
yes, my son still need his midnite milk feed..
i hv brought him to attend a few trial classes b4.. no, i hv not put him in any child care yet as my mum is currently takin care of him while i m working.. btw, r u a SAHM ?

so far, how is ur older son's reaction towards his didi ? any signs of sibling jealousy ?
who is helping u to take care of both of them while u r doing confinement now ?

xiang,
yes. please send email to me with the details.

happy,
oppss.. what happened to your mum? she's better now?
please take care of yourself too...

starry, good luck to u!

emoments, how r u now? still bleeding?

I had a few contractions last nite. thought my big day is here. told myself i will alert hubby if i get one more contraction. in the end morning already still don't have. what a disappointment.

xiaoyun,
my mum was vomitting quite badly yest early morng and had diarrhoea & high fever too.. so my hb sent her to hosp immediately..
doc diagnosed that my mum has mild lung infection and maybe food poisoning..
blood test result will be out in a couple days, will see wat the result show..

yes, i spoke to my mum tis morng & she sounds better.. no more vomitting & diarrhoea but still hv fever..

happy,
luckily you took your ML earlier so that can take care of her/older son.

starry/winnie,
you 2 should be the next one to pop.
all the best!!!

good morning all..i will ask about the procedure..if they ask me if i want to inject epi now or later..i will tong first

good morning mummies

Bb is engaged but I'm only 1cm dilated as of yday. Due to hypertension, may be induced on Friday if natural labour does not progress in these 2 days. I've been stimulating nipples, rubbing tummy like crazy to stimulate contractions but it's really difficult!! sigh. No walking or climbing for me cos of high blood pressure. What else can I do???

Really really really dun wanna be induced. Gynae said there's danger that if induction does not go smoothly, may have to go for c-sect. That's what I'm worried abt.

tongtong
i've been washing hands/dishes/clothes with tap water since giving birth. so far ok.

jaslyn/sunny
thanks for your concern. till now, my girl is quite ok with her didi. it's only when she's cranky then she'll be notty towards him. i've been telling her that mummy can't do many things for one mth. after that, will be able to bao bao her, bring her go gai gai, etc. think she understands. when she's notty to didi, will tell her not to do so as when she's a baby, mummy also won't let others bully her.

june
my girl wanna me carry when she wash her hair (like the salon style where we lean our head backwards). other than the water issue (which i'm not too bothered now), i can't carry her loh. but now she ok liao. know mummy can't bathe her for the moment so will ask for grandma or daddy instead.

re jaundice, i've not heard of the water and sugarcane method leh. the usual method is to sunbathe the baby (either morning b4 10am or afternoon after 4pm cos the sun ray then is not that harmful).

moi_dar
last time i also held the celebration for frens/relative separately (like what you are gg to do). this time, just wanna do it once for everybody since the place can accomodate all of them.

happymum2b
hope your mum have a speedy recovery. you must rest well too during these few days.

starry
all the best to you! but why check in at 8pm? usually gynae will advise patient to check in at 12midnite so that you don't incur add'l one day room charges.

xiaoyun,
ya lor.. tis few days gotta take care of son cos my hb return to work & my son "reject" the maid, dunno y.. sigh..

stephie,
thanks.. will try to rest & eat well tis few days.. yest went gynae check up.. think bb lose abit of weight.. sigh.. my bb nw weighs 2.9kg-3kg.. but as long as she is healthy, can liao..

moi_dar,
thks.. i hv received your transfer.. will let u know once i collected the slings..

tong tong
can ask your mum to boil the water and let you wash hand, face and for brushing teeth. my CL did that for me and she said boiled water can be used.

starry
have a smooth delivery!

june
that time my gal also got jaundice 'cos of the breast milk. we let her drink some plain water. i try to cut it to the minimal 'cos BM has enough water inside and i didn't want my gal to have nipple confusion. she stayed at hospital for 2 days for phototherapy. the jaundice completely went off after 1 mth +.
during that period, we bought some kind of seeds from the chinese medicine hall called 'en kee' and soak in the bath water to bathe her. not sure how useful it is. but since my mil suggested it, we just followed loh. 'cos no harm to the bb.

happymum2b
hope your mum recover soon.

bkkgal,

my labor is quite a long one.

went to hospital on 2 feb 7pm for induce. 3 feb, gynae check at 9am only 2 cm diliated, so insert another tablet.

had contraction in the afternoon. Went to labor ward at 5pm. Gyane burst water bag at 8 plus. Contraction was more often. After that ask for gas and also jab on the thigh.

Delivered my boy on 4 Feb 9am. Think partly was also due to my wrong method of pushing that's why i took so long.

May be u will have contraction these 2 days and u dun have to go thru' induction!