(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

<font color="ff0000">Congrats! Dor, Ade, Moi Dar

Kelly, me too, can only check forum once a day and mostly to read. Can't catch up on the posts. :p

I'm in the hospital now. My waterbag broke at 6pm but till now no contractions at all!

Have to stay here till 7am then doctor will induce labour if still no progress.

Pray pray hard that my contractions will come on their own. Wish me luck! Soon will get to see my bb Jerome!

Jia you, jia you! June. So exciting, going to be mummy soon! Hope your contractions start soon. Have a smooth &amp; fast delivery.

qoosan.. i think my milkbag still with u hor.. hehe.. Paiseh.. so when can i get from u? where u work?

Qoosan/berry/ Garfield.. thanks.. i think i will wait for nurse to prompt.. then take off underwear put where??

Garfield.. i also think very funny leh.. how come never do those tests to check whther v are ok or not.. or got any disease.. stuffs like that..

Winnie.. yar lor.. mine also doc adrain..
so u gonna do strep B test too???

Maternity Pics..
I took my pics yester.. will update in my blog soon!!
Happymum.. ben is a very nice guy.. i even took naked pics leh.. haha.. cover breasts lah.. but think my breasts start to sag liao.. not nice leh. Overall the experience was good but think i not photogenic lah so photos only ok but had fun..

June!! Congrats.. so urs is still a rat baby!!! but no hongbao for u.... :p

June... u can still post on forum??? u using hp or laptop?? Anyway.. hope everything will be over fast.. and hope u can tahan the contractions...

jeannie,
I wan to see ur M pics!! Quickly load onto ur blog! Haha..
Yes, ben oso asked mi if i wanna take some bare top shots (juz hv hands covered d breasts). But i dare not cos too fat liao.. Hahaha..

jeannie,
Haha.. Yes, u can mms mi ur bb pics n i will help u to post. Cos anyway most of the times, i post d bb pics using my hp.. :=P

i'm using laptop... hehe.

got my eeepc laptop. small and handy.

water keep flowing but no contractions

think i will sleep soon... update you all again tmr!

my hubby is sleeping already but i can't sleep. how to sleep when water is constantly flowing out?

i know i need to conserve energy la. only left a few hours b4 doc comes to induce me. really hoping for a miracle... quick contract! quick dilate!

June, pop already or not? Guess no post means pop already...good luck!

Berry
Nurses in Spore so accomodating wan ah? massage perineum for us? kinda wierd leh....

vine gal
don't give up bf. me vegetarian and can bf my gal for 18 mths. i hope this round, i can achieve so far, too. jia you!

i am intending to sell off my medala PIS advanced which is 6 months old (bought from robinsons). the warranty is still valid for a further 6 months till end aug 08. pls PM me if u r interested.

congrats on ur bundle of joy and gong xi fa cai... =)

june,
i went to bed early and missed out the "action" jia you!!! hope you have a smooth delivery =)

jeannie,
i oso want to see your M pics!!!! quick quick load and share your blog. re the underwear - the beds at KKH come with a drawer for us to put our clothes in...not sure about your doc's place. maybe cheryl will know cos she sees dr. adrain too.

okie..okie i will upload tonight k. Pics at home..

Happymum.. i also din really want.. but my hubby ask me take leh.. haha.. i dun mind trying lah.. my fantasy mah.. to take naked pics.. haha... But then hor.. i must agree.. i totally dun look sexy at all man.. look fat lor..disappointing man!!

June!! are u ard?? Or in the process of pushing?? Jia you!!

Happymum.. u going tonight for checkup again?? next week deliver liao!!! so fast!! good.. ur ger got hongbao to take leh... skali i can have natural birth abt same time.. then we can meet in the hospital...shiok siah.. skali u my room mate leh.. hehe

garfield.. u also go and take lah.. very fun leh..

jeannie,
woooo.. ur hb so open-minded leh.. encourage u to take those naked pics.. hahaha..

yes, gg for checkup again tonite.. haha.. ang pao for my ger ah ?? provided got pple come my hse "pai nian" lah.. haha.. it will be a nice coincidence to hv both our gers delivered on same day &amp; we can be room mate.. erh.. wonder wat's the odds for this to happen ? hahaha..

hey, i saw ur qn on where to put the underwear at adrian clinic is it ? the nurse will ask u to remove &amp; will give u a container to put ur undies..

vine,
read your birth story. it's really long. good that julian came out after 21 minutes of pushing.
i do heard other gynae ask patient to go clinic to insert pill to soften the cervix earlier. then patient will 'check in' hospital later in the night. I suppose your gynae is trying to be more cautious to ask you stay in delivery suite earlier..

regarding the milk supply, i think just to supplement the fm while waiting for your milk supply to establish to prevent any conflict with MIL. Sunny is the best example of vegetarian who can bf for so long.
Initially, I also insist to bf. but recently i think i become too tired to fight with anybody liao. so, take it easy. but remember to continue latching on and pump.

last weekend, I assembled the playpen liao. and trying to put some waterproof sheet on the mattress before put on the bedsheet as my MIL suggested because she said cloth diaper will leak. then my MIL commented that bb will be very hot cos waterproof sheet not ventalising enough. then I asked her what should I do because it's her to ask me to put waterproof sheet and now she commented it's very hot for bb. hai..
then her answer is -- 'use disposable diaper lo' hai.. i think our conflict is going to start soon...

the 2nd conflict that I forsee is the bf. she told me that she has prepared a vacuum flask for hot water so that when bb hungry at night can use it to prepare milk for her.. hai... think she's not pro-bf too..

nightmare is going to start.. I told hb that no matter what I will insist using cloth diaper (in the day) and bf for the sake of bb. he has got to support me!!!

June
Jia you and hope you hv a smooth delivery! Waiting for your good news.

Jeannie
I also wanna see ur photos leh. let us know when you have uploaded ya? wow, you v daring dare to take half naked photo. me sure no guts (even tho is with hand covering breast :p). my hubby sure won't be like yours too. haha..

happymum2b
saw your photos from the blog liao. so nice.

apple
could be bb pressing on your v area? maybe call your gynae to check?

xiaoyun
just put the waterproof sheet at the area when bb's bottom will be. then at least body won't be hot.

if bb sleeping with you at nite, then you can latch on directly so your MIL won't hv the chance to give FM.

Yes, support from your hubby v impt. at least he can talk to his mum. not sure nice if we as DIL 'go against' MIL. Meanwhile, don't worry about these stuff. Take it as it comes.

xiaoyun,
can understand your predicament.

for BF - must remember that our parents' generation brought us up mainly on FM back in those days. so can't really blame them for not being 100% pro-BF (even my own mum is not fully supportive). so it's not that they are anti-BF, just that we must slowly share with them and educate them on the benefits lor =P

get hb to talk to your MIL

jeannie,
your hb so supportive!!! everytime i show my hb maternity photos hor, he will grimace one. then i oso dun feel like pressing the issue already =P

stephie,
this is what we did for the waterproof sheet. since bb cannot turn in the first few months, i just put it at area where the bottom and air the body.

regarding the bf vs fm part, I'm just afraid that bb will cry at night until she cannot tahan then ask me to give fm. probably i will supplement fm a bit to prevent the conflict. in fact, she's more 'ching cai' than my mum liao. what i can do is to 'left ear in and right ear out' lo. no point argue with her, make myself stress only.. anyway, she also trying to help because she cares..

xiaoyun,
how about expressing BM and then letting MIL feed bb the EBM at night (as a worst case scenario if you are not directly latching)?

btw, there's an article in today's papers on harmful chemicals in baby care products.

go organic!!!! BP on california baby still on =)

garfield,
MIL already declared she will only do day shift. so, me and hb will be taking care of bb at night. the choice of fm/ebm/bf at night shouldn't be big issue.
just afraid that if my supply is low in the initial days, i got to find some way to stop her crying -- probably fm liao..

i didn't buy today's newspaper. can you summarise what are the brands that contains harmful chemicals?

congrats to all ladies who have pop ! hope all of you are resting well...

so happy to see all the cute bb pictures...

dor's prince is the heavy weight champion for now...heheh...

thread has been pretty quiet lately, is it because of the CNY festive or most mummies have gone for ML ?

i'm on my 2nd day of leave now...and find things a bit boring at home but still got lotsa chores to do like washing bb clothes !! unfortunately been raining since yest...hopefully tom's weather will be better..

tute,
you started ML leave already? or clearing annual leave?

ya it's been quite quiet...half of the mummies are probably busy with their little ones. i'm still working, not clearing leave early unless i really cannot tahan.

thanks garfield for the link.

summarising the important points:
- the harmful chemical is "Phthalates"
- Phthalates, in addition to helping cosmetics retain fragrance and colour, are used as plasticisers in some vinyl.
- it altered hormone concentrations as well as increased allergies, runny nose and eczema
- "Manufacturers do not list phthalates as ingredients on labels, so it is not known which products contain them. "

Hi Xiaoyun

Sometimes I am wondering why my gynae wanna torture me by delaying my delivery. As I have to endure the pain till cannot tahan and then administer epi. Also in a way this stress Julian cos takes 2 days for him to come out. As when he come out he have some difficulties in breathing. But everything is fine.

Jaundice
I'm abit worried abt this also cos though dr did explain the "tell-tale" sign but still worried whether his level is high or not.

BF vs FM
Today try to pump out BM but only tiny wee bit come out. Haiz... at the moment will let bb drink FM and let him latch on abit while continue to pump.

vine gal,
no lah...i dun think gynae purposely want to torture you. the nurse advised us that they cannot administer epi too early (got to wait until about 4-5cm dilated) cos the effect of epi takes a while to kick in, and only has a few hour window. so if too early, by the time it's SERIOUSLY PAINFUL, the effect may have worn off.

dun give up re your BF. read in other threads that it takes a few days for supply to kick in so dun be disappointed. must jia you okie?!! did you engage a lactation consultant? may help to have an expert to encourage and help you.

Garfield

I go in on 31st Jan leh the pain start from 7pm till the next day 10am which I din not administer any pain killer loh. Is only when my gynae start the trip den I request for epi cos I dun think I can tong for another long session.

BF will continue to pump to stimulate the flow on. I ask my friend for help cos she also gave birth ard nov more experience den me now! =)

stephie,
thanks..

xiaoyun,
sigh.. ur MIL quite "mao tun" hor abt the waterproof sheet.. actually, if u want to use cloth diaper v often, u can buy those diaper cover. Juz wear it over the cloth diaper.. it will prevent leakage ba.. then dun hv to use the waterproof sheet &amp; dun hv to worry that it will be too warm for ur bb..

vine,
read ur labour stories liao..
sigh, it was really a long labour for u.. *hug hug u*
but nevertheless, it was all over &amp; everything is fine wif u &amp; bb julian..
tat's the most important..

<font color="aa00aa">Breast Feeding</font>
All mummies,
Pls dun give up to BF. Even though u cannot pump much, doesn't mean u hav no supply.
For my son, when he is few day old, i try to pump aft i latch him to check if i hav enuf supply, and i only got 20ml, which make me quite panic. I keep on drinking more soup - like papaya fish head soup, drink more red dates tea plus hot drink like milo, and horlick and i got my supply increase to 80ml aft a few pump.
Aft seeing so much supply, i more fang xin liao and let him latch on fully. however, when i started to pump again to prepare myself gg back to work aft confinement, i also found that the milk that can draw out is vry little, this amt will increase when ur breast get used to the pump again.
Aft gg back to work, i can pump abt 240ml each time and each day abt 4 time for a interval of abt 6 hrs.
The conclusion is baby suction r different fr breast pump, dun lose hope when u see only little amt for the first few time expressing.

qoosan,
thks for your encouragement..
for the initial stage when supply is v low, do u supplement ur bb with FM ? Also, u mentioned u pump abt 4 times a day, so do u wake up in the middle of the nite to pump too ? or how is ur schedule like ? can share ?

i only managed to feed my son BM for abt 1 mth &amp; i gave up liao.. cos i never successfully able to latch him at hme after being discharged from hospital.. usually i pumped it out &amp; bottle feed him.. yes, i do agree that as u continue to pump diligiently, the supply will increase. This really takes alot of determination &amp; effort to make it happened. Which is wat i intend to do for my ger this time.. Hope i can succeed this time and feed my ger BM for as long as I can..

Finally on leave now till i give birth.

Its afternoon now, think June should have given birth??

Stephie, the tightness is gone today.... i suspect is the baby pressing. Feel like its bursting yesterday.

qoosan,
thanks for your encouragement!! it sounds like baby suckling is the best for stimulating supply. so should we still pump after latching for optimal stimulation? is there a recommended interval to latch/pump?

xiao yun
you can buy the nappy cover so that the mattress won't get messy when the cloth nappy is wet.
when it comes to more than 1 person looking after the baby, there would always be conflicts.
last time after the confinement, i was all alone with my gal without any help. though tiring, i was happier 'cos i was able to take care of my gal in my own way. it's really tiring to 'fight' with others to come to an agreement on the 'best solution' for the bb.
there would be always disagreements, just depends on how we can compromise loh. for in law... i think best is to ask hb to be the talker instead of you. :D

vine gal
remember to drink more fluid. especially before and after you bf. this would help to increase the supply.

qoosan
ya, agree with you. the amount that we see from pumping is actually different from what bb suckles through direct latch.
and i find that hand express can yield more milk than using breast pump. but very tiring lah. hehe...

hppymum2b,
before i went back to work, i pump 8 times per day (that is when i hav abt 2 more weeks ML to go), interval is 24hrs/8 = 3hrsly. yes, i wakeup midnite to pump, sometime pump till fall asleep.
but if i latch my baby in between, i will drag the interval slightly longer.

When i back to work, i drag the interval longer to 6hrsly. my schedule is like:
6am-7am
12-1pm
6-7pm
12midnite

In between u can choose to replace the express wth latch on. If u think the breast still not fully clear aft ur baby latch on, u can express it out aft bf.

my son is vry tiny when he was born, so i m abit kancheong when i saw my milk supply only 20ml, i supplement him wth 1 or 2 FM feed per day for the first few days, aft that fully breast feed or EBM when i m able to express out abt 80ml each time.

I managed to feed him till the beginning of my 2nd pregnancy (he is 18mons) and managed to store a lot of supply in my freezer as well.

Still remember i proudly show to my IL the mountain of supply in my freezer, cos they keep persuading me to give FM as baby is small at born and suspect whether i got enuf supply or not

garfield,
yes, baby is the best breastpump, they can clear the block duct and engorgement vry fast and effectively. It is also advise that drink hot drink before/while breastfeeding/expressing.

hppymum2b,
can i ask why u said u nvr successful in latching on ur son? Do u encounter any difficulty?

Yes, i agree that a lot determination and effort are involved. I will read the forum/ watch DVD when expressing to kp myself awake especially the midnite and morning schedule

qoosan
haha.. same here. that time my mil also worried if i got enough for my gal. then my hb told her that we bought another freezer just to store the bm, she kept quiet from there onwards.