(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

qoosan,
thks for your inspiring example..
i hope i can be more perseverance this time..

garfield,
u might want to pump if baby is sleepy or not latching on for optimal. 8 times per day is a good guide, if baby not latching, then express. This is for during confinement, when we r back to work, dun think u can make it...too tiring.

A good dual electric pump might hlp too.

vine,
gynae never want to torture their patient. what if you not going back to him for your #2, then he rugi liao, isn't it?
as what garfield said, it's not good to use epi too early cos you can only have limited amount of epi for the whole process. epi will make the mother shiver (for some) and bb more sleepy. can see from the photo that julian looks alert, isn't it very good? :D

happy,
i think my MIL is not 'mao tun'. probably she wanted to discourage me to use cloth nappy in steps.. :p
anyway, if really no choice, will take you and sunny's advise to get the nappy cover. it's something like this, right?
http://store.nexternal.com/shared/StoreFront/default.asp?CS=clothdiape&StoreType=BtoC&Count1=34557521&Count2=951697945&CategoryID=15&Target=products.asp

qoosan,
thanks for your encouragement on bf. it's really inspiring for MTB like us.
btw, your 18mo son still taking your stored EBM until now? heard that the taste of EBM will change after stored for some time. does your son reject the EBM?

thanks qoosan!! will bear in mind. my hb is a big supporter of BF so i hope he can help me persevere cos i can be lazy one esp when it means giving up slee =P

sunny,
i'm 38 weeks and bb still haven't engaged. gynae doesn't seem worried. he says try natural no need to plan for induce / c-section

sunny, when i checked at 36 wk last fri, baby also not yet engaged.. doc says can wait 1-2 more weeks and see how.. my next check tom..

qoosan,
cos my son is v impatient tat type.. during the 1st few days at hosp, i took quite some time to latch him on directly and everytime is with the help of the nurse hor..
when we were back home, my mum oso helped mi to latch him on directly.. again, it took us quite a long time and he will be crying badly until i finally gave up trying to latch him on directly.. oso i m not sure if he will get enuf milk supply cos we cant gauge how much he has drank since he was latched on directly.. btw, how do u determined ur bb had enuf of BM & is full when bb is latched directly ?
so i tried to pump out instead.. the first few days were really pathetic, the supply really v low.. but i continue to pump & finally can pump abt 120-160ml per time but my nipples will be v sore after each pump. Then i started to lax plus i was not determined enuf and pump lesser & lesser times each day until the supply become nil..
tat's y i hope i can make it this round..

qoosan,
is there any food we should avoid since we intend to BF our bb on a long term ?
cos i m a chilli queen, hee.. so i wonder if it will affect the quality of BM ?

xiao yun,
we constantly exchanged the frshly brewed EBM with those older date ( need to mark before u store), deep freezer can keep up to 6mons, so no problem. My freezer is at rest now, cos no more production liao, waiting for moo moo cow to produce again :p

hppymum2b,
i m sure baby will hav enuf milk as long as u latch him on as short as interval of half an hour or 1 hour, not like books stated 2 or 3 hoursly. Once baby cried and want latch on, jst provide. This is normal for the first mon.

How i check my baby got enuf milk?
I was like u also having this question and suspecting also, till on one feed, my son vomit like merlion (maybe i mv and shaked him too much and he got a choke), from then onwards i know he is sucking a lot. Also, u will see baby grow vry fast ler, my boy become a chubby one aft 1 mons plus

Use pampers Newborn cos they got indicator once, if baby got urine, means baby got intake lor.

<font color="aa00aa">Food to avoid</font>
For the first mon, i m avoiding ginger, scared baby jaundice level will be high. Aft that i jst avoid alcohol, not too much of coffee.
Spicy food, i do take also.

Vine, I read and was told by TMC's lactation consultant, that no amount of pumping is as effective as latching, so if you reduce FM intake and just keep latching and latching bb, its almost garanteed to boost yr supply.

Garfield, are you into organic food too? I as

Jeannie, wah you took maternity photos too, can share the link? I love maternity photos, cause the women in them always look beri 'xing4 fu2' haha.

xiaoyun, wats the reason u prefer cloth?

happymumbe, I read that some babies are v sensitive to taste, if mummy eats certain strong tasting food like spicy stuff, the bb might reject the BM. But some bbs are alot less particular and wont reject BM due to slight change in taste.

talking about ginger. it's another 'hai...' for me.
already told my MIL that i can't take ginger and cook with wine cos want to bf. but she insisted for me to take cos said confinement food w/o ginger is not confinement food. my mum sing the same tune too. she even insist me to take DOM. ask me to give up bf in order to take DOM somemore..

xiaoyun, maybe can take in moderation instead of either avoiding all or taking heaps? I know that some mummies TBF even though they do take confinement food, but just that for the alcohol dishes, they will use only minimum alcohol, and make sure you cook it well to evaporate all traces of alcohol before eating. The goodness shd still be present since its the herbs in the alcohol that is supposedly good right?

xiaoyun
can take in moderation. if i am not wrong, after you take DOM, just pump out the milk and don't gv to bb. only the next feed then gv.
that time, i still take ginger and sesame oil. but in moderation 'cos my gal got jaundice.

berry,
1st, i suppose cloth nappy will less unlikely to develop diaper rash. this is what i observed on my nieces and nephew. main reason maybe cloth nappy is more airy and need to change more frequent.
2ndly, i feel that disposable not so environmental friendly. trying to generate less waste to the environment.
3rd reason is that one experienced mummy told me bb on cloth nappy will be able to toilet train earlier cos they are not comfortable when the nappy is wet. hence, they will be able to express their need to pee. her 2 kids all toilet trained at 12 months. quite amazed, isn't it?

nyny,
mine is c-section, so basically, does not take much on Ginger for few weeks, aft that my mum did cook wth ginger, i jst take it out. so far so good.

berry,
my MIL taught me to cook the confinement food few days ago. she really put a lot of wine. according to her, cannot put any water at all. so, got to replace all water needed with wine.. turn out that the dish is really alcoholic.

but still, she did all this is for me. i should appreciate her thought..

Hi Xiaoyun, yea i guess so bb is alert in tat photo, now he sleep alot.

Berry, will keep trying to latch him in order to boost my supply.

Sunny, will heed yr advise drink more fluid stuff.

qoosan,
thks.. u r so inspiring.. really hope i can make it this time.. i muz really jia you!! :=P

berry,
sigh.. think for the sake of my bb &amp; long term BF plan, i had to sacrifice my "favorite food" (aka chilli).. i remembered my mum telling mi that while she was bf-ing mi, she took some fresh pineapple &amp; i had serious diarrhoea &amp; had to be rushed to hospital.. so i think some bb r sensitive to certain food..

xiaoyun,
i heard when DOM is used during cooking, the alcohol content gets evaporated during the cooking process.. unless u r taking it neat from the bottle.. aft i stop bf-ing my son, i took a small portion of DOM neat everynite for a couple weeks..

berry,
i'm also into organic, but more for bb's sake than my own =) although i'm not going all the way, but in moderation. my hb has been reading up on the harmful effects of pesticides and chemicals on infants so we are trying to minimize the exposure during the early years cos that's when babies have the least ability to deal with these substances. based on what we know, from about 3-4 years onwards, their bodies develop the ability to ward off the negative effects of these substances.

re ginger,
i heard that it's ok to cook our food with ginger and still BF so long as we don't eat the ginger itself. not sure whether that's true or not.

xiao yun,

if the alcohol is evaporate thru cooking, u can still take in, no problem.

Ginger, ur mil can still cook wth ginger, as long as u dun take the ginger, shld be fine.

re: ginger
that's a relief to hear that it's fine as long as dun take the ginger. MIL didn't insist me to eat the ginger (luckily..)

re: alcohol
if the alcohol evaporated during cooking, why I still can smell it? is it not cooked long enough?

re: DOM
before pregnancy, i took DOM/yomeishu every night before sleep in order to sleep better. now stop due to preggy and planning to bf. my mum intention is for me to take 1 soup spoon of DOM everyday.

xiao yun,
the smell might be the chinese medicine or herbal use in DOM or wine. Dun worry alcohol evaporate fast under heat.

qoosan,
read your description of the 2 mountain at the back from mar08 thread...i still cannot visualize leh =P got pic or not?

can see the sagging flesh above and below the bra band?
Of course this is vry fat case lar, but due to pregnancy and breast feeding, slim mummy will might has this also :p

1238498.jpg

Pic extracted fr google search.

*FAINTED*

yes yes...now i know what you mean. i never scrutinized that part of my body - so dunno whether i have or not =P later go look.

thanks for sharing!! any tips on how to prevent?

garfield,
hee... i m a victim also, pple said do upper body exercise can help, but i m the lazy type.
This is why i would prefer to wear a comfort wired bra this time rnd then a non-wired nursing bra which has no support at all.

oh actually i think i know what exercise will help. my hubby is a canoist so they do this exercise to strengthen their muscles on the back (dunno what they are called).

if you do it at the gym - there is this horizontal bar that you hold on to with your arms stretched above your head, then slowly pull downwards till behind your head (while sitting). if you pull downwards in front of you, then you tone the pecs (the muscles above the breast, which helps saggy breasts).

can also do at home with dumbbells or water bottles filled with water.

you try the motion now with empty hands...can fill the toning effect on the back one.

QooSan,
Estimated freight cost for Lani milkbag will be how much? You ordered before right? Or is it playtex that you ordered?

Thankful,
i m the one who order playtex liner
u forgot liao. Think xiao Yun has done a breakdown for the lansinoh milkbag ard $2.20 per pack? shld be ard there, but not sure the per pack is for 1 box or 4 box in 1 pack.

garfield,
am clearing leave for the next 2 weeks and will take ML starting 18 feb coz my due date is 20 feb...

qoosan,
thanks for sharing that story...very inspiring !

sunny,
when i did my check up last week, gynae also never say my bb is engaged so i assume still not... will see how tom...

It has been one week plus already after I delivered last monday. Have been giving 100% breastmilk but bb got jaundice. initial level was 7.9 but doctor said can go back home and sun him. when bb went back for checkup last saturday, level went up to 14 liao. so got to rent the equipment to phototherapy him. today went checkup and back to 9.

Sigh.. I have been eating so much ginger, and the chinese herbs.. dunno whether it affects bb cuz i 100% bf bb.. now thinkig whether to give him FM till his next checkup on jaundice level?

should I still eat ginger or not? feeling so *troubled*

toot,
no prblem. hope to see more mummies can endure the initial part and eventually succeed in BF

tongtong,
mayb can reduce / stop taking ginger for the moment or take out ginger, eat the meat or vege only.

Hi, tongtong. I also asked CL to cut down on ginger when my BB having jaundice. She has to do phototherapy at hospital for 2 days and I allowed the nurses to supplement with FM cos phototherapy will dehydrate the BB and she needs to pee and poo often to clear the jaundice. After 2 nights at the hospital, her jaundice went from 287 to 173.

Hi Everyone.
Im new here but i have been reading the forum everyday. Learn alot of things that you all shared with each other. Now im waiting for my bb gal to pop out, really cant wait anymore pain here pain there. Doc didnt really say whether bb engage or not, he just say bb head is down. Really dont know when will pop....

Xiaoyun, I just had 1 small cup of diluted DOM. I remember during my antenatal class, the nurse said it's ok for drink 2 teaspoon of DOM after your BB's last feed. I just fed BB at 10-11pm, got some EBM in the fridge so I think should be fine.

Anybody know whether dorothy and June popped? The last time I heard is June's son engaged and her cervix is opening and Dorothy decided to undergo C-sect on 4th Feb.

QooSan,
So you know the estimated cost per 25pcs box? I had bought the blue Egg milkbags so wondering which one will be more cheaper and econmical to use loh. Any suggestion?

Blueginger, Dor has popped. June just smsed me, she popped on 5 Feb after 15 hrs of waiting &amp; 10hrs of induced contractions, BB Jerome is born 3.365kg, 52cm. Natural without Epi. Wow!

Latest update. June had given birth to Jerome on 5th Feb. Jerome weight is 3.365Kg. Natural w/o Epi. Another brave mummy. She will update us with Jerome's photo as soon as possible.