(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

haha, ya lor, I was surprised. Wondering who sms me at this time. Hee.

My bb gal have been moving very actively and sometimes too very hard. Can anyone tell me if this is normal? im very worried as im almost in my 38weeks liao.

Jac, don't worry. BB movement is always good although not comfortable for us, reduced movement is what you should be worried about.

jac, welcome to Feb Mummies Thread.

Not to worry too much. It is a normal for them to move. Due to a space constraints, it might stretch outward of your tummy hard and could cause discomfort to you. Just bear with it for a couple of weeks.

i am actually thinking should i go for induce or just wait for the moment to come. my hb is so impatient already and i cant even sit or stand too long..its so pain below when i sit too long.

i have been reading the forum for quite sometime but cant really do any post as i always read in office..saw so many bb photo and everyone seems to pop out earlier then their edd which make me very excited.

Garfield9,

sorry for the delay and the misread of your earlier msg that you sent out the clips liao. I had just transferred to you. Thanks for arranging it.

From Account POSB Savings 103-25133-8
To Account POSB Savings 032-73860-5 Garfield
Amount S$6.90

tongtong,
when you sms me, i've already asleep. sorry..
I am on my yahoo messenger now.. we can have more discussion.
you are now TBF, I suppose your supply is alot. and now you even started to store EBM!! what's your secret?

regarding the jaundice, you may wish to avoid directly consume the ginger.

kitsune,
you also taking DOM, immediately after bf? how long you bf RaeAnne again after that?

re: products to use on baby
besides california baby that is highly recommended by Garfield, I found another one which can be found in most of the hospital pharmacies.
www.budsbaby.com

not sure about the price though.

Happy Chinese New Year in advance!

Jac, welcome to the thread.
June, 10 hrs wow! No epi, wow wow!!! CONGRATS!

I had my cervix checked yesterday. Dr says it's soft and 0.5 cm dilated. Disappointed
Looks like bb wants to enjoy CNY in my warm oven still.

But I've been spotting ever since the cervical check. Is it normal? This spotting is not what is called a "show" right?

I was given lanolin cream to massage the boobs and stimulate colostrum. Umm...does anyone know how to massage effectively? I tried yesterday after bath but nothing came out :p Any tips wld be very useful!!! Thanks!

June, Congrats!

xiaoyun
me not steady lah. only can afford to check out forum twice a day at most. gotta wake up at nite to bf bb (twice), so can be quite tired. bb drinking well and gotta monitor his jaundice. next mon gg to gynae and PD for our checkup

tongtong
i also ate ginger leh. but not sure if it's excessive. think better don't eat now until bb has his checkup on next mon.

Re: Rat Baby
I read from a chinese newspaper yday (think it's shin min). A geomancer said that the start of the new zodiac sign is from 4 Feb, 8pm. Hence bb born b4 8pm on 4 Feb is still considered a piglet.

Re: BF
For my case, it started of with miserable 5ml on day 3 (pumped once only); day 4 - 20ml; day 5 - 60ml; day 6 - 80ml (for each pump). Hence, must persevere as ss only comes in days after bb is born.

bkkgal
yes, it's normal to have spotting after cervical check. it's not show. show is something that's mucous like.

bb wanna mummy enjoy CNY first mah
i wan also cannot leh :p

can't advise on the massage cos i didn't do any.

i am start having my PMS symtoms - backache.
hopefully bb can wait for 2 more weeks...

bkkgal,
massaging the boobs will stimulate contraction and early delivery. is this your gynae wants?

june,
congrats!!! wow 10 hours without epi...you are one brave gal =)

yu tong,
thanks! no worries...wow you were up very late yest =P

xiaoyun,
ya, quite a few brands around. i've bought two brands to try - california baby and gaia. have bought the diaper barrier cream too, cos it's in contact with bb skin 24hours so if organic works would prefer to use that instead.

stephie,
your BM supply increasing very steadily. so envious =) what is the time interval you pump / latch? can share what your daily schedule is like?

june, congrats! and congrats to all other mummies too!

xiaoyun, i addded u in my yahoo already but you were offline wor.

regarding my milk supply, yea , can pump up too 125ml each time, and one day pump at least 1 to 2 times, if not the breast will feel very hard, after pumping the breast will soften. now i got to wear breastpad liao cuz it started to leak. I dont know what i have eaten to increase the breastmilk. but i do eat a lot of the red date tea, and black beans. maybe this is the secret?

kitsune, my bb's jaundice level is 9 point, does that means that it's 90? becuase KKH uses figure in hundreds, like your bb's last level is 170+ for instance. does that mean that it's 17 point ?

I'm back to this forum today..yesterday on mc coz I couldn't get out of bed...back so painful and baby seems to be sitting on my lower part.

After my gynae check yesterday turned out that I don't have Strep B infection (yay!) but just another bacteria which is not harmful to baby.

Congrats to June!!

Hi Andrea

Think BHG and John Little still having sales..might be edning today. Better to call and check first.

Hi mummies, have you got your breastpumps already? Do we need to pack the pump to hospital as well so that we can stimulate milk while in hospital?

tongtong,
strange le. i am online now. you yahoo or msn? no msn access for me, sorry..
btw, where are you stay? If I can knock off earlier, I may passby Kranji --> AngMoKio today. Possible to meet your hb?

Happy Chinese New Year!

I m plang to get a breast pump, coz need to have more rest especially at nite. My milk supply currently still consider ok, can any mummy share with on which brand of breast pump is good & not that expensive.

thks ;)

Tongtong: I also drink red dates tea and black bean. Anyway my mum mix alot of stuff. Milk supply coming in but ytd only pump miserable 10 ml from 2 side.

Regards to massage of breast.
1. Squeeze nipples first top and bottom, den left and right
2. Squeeze areola top and bottom, den left and right
3. Last massage breast area press top and bottom and left and right.
(Step 1 to step 3 when squeeze make sure abit of flow is squeese out)

xiaoyun
i'm using avent manual pump.

garfield
iirc, the schedule is as such:
<font color="0000ff">day 3</font> - only pumped once that day cos no engorgement, etc. lazy to pump also. haha
<font color="0000ff">day 4</font> - more diligent, pumped 2 times dat day. abt 6-7 hours interval
<font color="0000ff">day 5</font> - pumped 3-4 times (ave abt 4 hours interval)
<font color="0000ff">day 6</font> - same schedule as day 5.

bb didn't come home with me until yday cos he gotta stay in hospital for phototherapy. hence, i only managed to latch him on 2 times a day when he was in hospital. bb came home yday and he latched on abt every 3 hours.

SweetPea
I didn't bring my pump to hospital. think not necessary cos supply not in yet. to stimulate milk, can just latch bb on. that's what i did. also, if can, latch bb on straight after you've delivered (i latched bb on when i was still in the delivery suite). can promote bb sucking as well. initially can take a while to latch bb on. must be patient.

stephie,
looking at your schedule, can I conclude that we don't need to hurry in pumping during the first few days?
some ppl suggested to start pumping/latching on every 3 hourly to stimulate supply.

vine,
i think i've got problem adding you in my contact list cos some security setting in office network. will try it again tonight.
btw, you using MSN messenger Live?
yahoo messenger can only talk to MSN user through MSN messenger Live.

xiaoyun
if u can, pump/latch every 3 hrs will be gd to stimulate ss. datz wat d nurses advised too, i.e. must pump regularly. my schedule is not 3 hrly cos i'm lazy :p but now i gotta latch on every 3 hrs cos bb demand for it

wow...just read that june went through labour for 10 hours without epi !! that's incredible....congrats june !

thread slowing down today, guess a lot of mummies either busy with baby or busy preparing for CNY ?

i had my checkup today and gynae said no opening but bb's head is engaged...still have 2 more weeks to my due date so now the clock is ticking :p

re:sale
i thought somebody mention got bb discounts at taka ? not sure if still on though...can call up and check

<font color="ff0000">Updated popped list</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB wt</TD><TD>Deliver Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Grumpus</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.86kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Mini</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.160kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Linda</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Cheyenne</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Kitsune</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>RaeAnne</TD><TD>3.255kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Stella</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Jess_Yew</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Kowa</TD><TD>MT E</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>3.085kg</TD><TD>c-sec with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Adrain W</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Vernon Loh Jin Feng</TD><TD>3.1kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Cuclainne</TD><TD>5-Feb</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.98kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Maruko ting</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD>John Yam</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nigel</TD><TD>3.14kg</TD><TD>emg c-sec with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Casa</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD>Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Andre</TD><TD>2.985kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Hweiz</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Arianne</TD><TD>3.49kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Tong</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Hii</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.33kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Tubao</TD><TD>5-Feb</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Emma</TD><TD>2.98kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Ade</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>29-Jan</TD><TD>Fong Yong</TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Jaena</TD><TD>3.490kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Stephie</TD><TD>16-Feb</TD><TD>31-Jan</TD><TD>Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.805kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>vine_gal</TD><TD>7-Feb</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>HK Ho</TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Julian</TD><TD>3.015kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Moi_dar</TD><TD>21-Feb</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>Lee Wei Hong</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dwayne</TD><TD>3.155kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Dorothy</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Gervaise Isaiah</TD><TD>3.750kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>June</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>5-Feb</TD><TD>Heng</TD><TD>EAST SHORE</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jerome</TD><TD>3.365kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Congrats June on ur newborn!!!

And happy new year to everyone in advance!!!

I had gynae chk up yestr and was told m 1 cm dialated liao. Besides the frequent toilet wake up calls, I've also been having tummy cramps in the middle of the nite and have to wake up to walk around to ease my cramps. Have this feeling that my boy is 'training' me to wake up many times in a night for his future night feeds. So, it seems like i'll prob pop before the EDD. Getting v 'kan cheong'.

bkkgal,
didn't get to c u yestr...mayb nxt appt ya? if we've not popped or perharps at the delivery ward

Was also told to massage the nipples and the aerola area ...so far no liquid comes out but the top layer of the darker skin pigmentation is coming off...was also told not to worry if no liquid comes out cos for some it comes only when bb is out...

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+2">Dearest all

Wish you all good health, prosperity and a smooth sailing RAT year ahead !

GONG XI FA CAI!</font></font>

<font color="ff0000">New year is just round the corner....wishing all mummies, newborns, and mummies in waiting...</font>

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">HAPPY NEW YEAR
XIN XIANG SHI CHENG
WAN SHI RU YI</font>

xiaoyun
tks for your concern. bb jaundice so far ok. PD say to monitor these few days to see if there's rebound. Next Mon then bring bb to see PD.

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Happy CNY to ALL mummies</font></font>

Just had my reunion dinner with hubby and my gal

Happy CNY to all Mummies!

Here's an update on my birth story...

1st Feb - Gynae did cervix check. Was 3cm dilated.

2nd-4th Feb - Continuous bleeding(mucus plug coming off)

4th Feb
6pm - Waterbag burst
6.30pm - Admitted into hospital. Still 3cm dilated.
8.00pm - Saw gynae and she said that if I still do not have contractions, she will come in at 7.00am to induce me on drip.
8.00pm - 7.00am - Praying that contractions will come. Couldn't fall asleep cos anxious plus water was flowing non-stop.

5th February
9.00 am - Gynae came and put me on drip to induce contractions.
9.15am - Contractions started coming. Mild and about once every 5 minutes.
2.00pm - Contraction pain increased from 1/10 to 6/10. Requested for pethidine jab.
3.30pm - Pethidine jab effect almost over. Pain increased to 8/10.
6.00pm - Pain escalated to 9/10. Every minute felt like one hour. Nurse said still 8cm dilated only and asked me to relax and wait but it was so painful I couldn't relax, so she asked me to use nitrous oxide. It just made me drowsy but the pain was still there. Totally lost control of myself and was shivering. Especially since next door was already pushing, I really wanted to just push the baby out.
6.50pm - Gynae finally came to help me deliver after delivering the baby next door. I had already lost control of myself and didn't know how to push, and didn't feel like pushing too. But after a few pushes I finally realised that I should be doing my best and making use of all my energy to push the baby out.
7.26pm - Baby was born. Could feel the episiotomy and stitching. Ouch.

Has been a long day since then. Slept only 3 hours. Constant visitors. Breastfeeding every 2 hours. I am so tired. But my baby looks so adorable... it was all worth it. Feel happy just looking at him. Will update with a photo soon. Going to rest soon!

Good Luck to all the Mummies who have yet to deliver. Enjoy your CNY and may you have a smooth delivery!

<font color="ff0000">Happy Lunar New Year Mummies!!!

Xiaoyun, I pumped at 4am cos happened to wake up. But CL has fed BB at 3+am with EBM stored in fridge. I think it's ok bah, my BB still as active. Anyway, my CL diluted the DOM with hot boiling water to help the alcohol evaporate. She also pour very little into the 'cup' provided, the rest was water cos I told her I can't take much alcohol, my heart will pound and I get instant hangover. :p

Tongtong, I'm not sure how much 173 is compared to the index your gynae gave you. After her jaundice came down to 173, we only sunned her once because she had skin infection and we didn't want her condition to worsen due to perspiration. I was doing TBF then and she pee &amp; poo quite often. After 3 days, at polyclinic follow up, it dropped to 144 then polyclinic dr said no need to come back anymore. Now, I'm doing BF supplement with FM cos 80ml not enough for RaeAnne. She'll take 80ml of BM plus another 40ml of FM. My SS not enough. :p

June, Congrats again! Ask your hubby to stand guard at the door or put a "Do not disturb" sign outside your door. I did that cos I was in so much pain after delivery and really didn't feel like entertaining anyone. Some pp still came but at least they 'zhi dong' and leave sooner. Hee. ;)