(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

nursing bras- from my previous experience, after milk comes in, yr boobs will still increase in size wan, plus u will need some room for breast pads (I leaked like MAD for more than a month), so if yr nursing bra has some space now, I think the BP can fill up some?

June, honestly it took me a while to get used to the irreversible changes my body went thru when I had my DD. But after I became completely at peace with my body, I see the marks as a natural and beautiful part of this particular part of my life. Anyway look at it this way- even w/o pregnancy/childbirth, we'll age and have wrinkly/saggy skin one day, right? There are so many women who would gladly trade more to have their own healthy kids but cant/didnt, so thinking abt this makes me v appreciative that I am paying a small price for such a blessing.

BTW so u gonna be a sahm? I am a sahm, one of the most impt I learnt is to always and only surround myself with supportive friends and people. It will make alot of diff to your self-esteem esp at the beginning when bb is still small.

xiaoyun, I think 2 nursing bras not enuf leh. I bought 4 this time round.

cheryl, relax and calm down.
Trust me, you'll get the hang of things fast enuf when bb is out. Meanwhile, eat well, try to sleep well and relax as much as u can

I m on whole day leave 2day!!!
juz nw i was trying to make my notti son sleep but he dun wan..

so wat time u gals meeting leh ?

hi pp... had a terrible night yester...dun think can join u all already.. let me tell share my story w u all.. so sad..

i went to see a skin doc at pasir ris yester night.. he is supposed to be very experienced doc.. 60 + alredy works at Mt E but operates clinic at Pasir ris..

Went to see him at 7 but he only reah at 745 and waited till 8 plus before my turn. Went with my hubby and mother... actually din thot of going but my feet has turned so dark and red and hard that my family suspects somthing is wrong... and they are correct..

When i went in.. then doc asked me how many months preg.. then i said 35 weeks..(BTW his wife is a gynae also.. so he more or less noe quite a bit abt preg ladies) Then i showed him my feet.. he was quite shocked.. used a big magnifying glass with light to check.. and then i told him my fingers all the way to my arms also have.. my calves, my thighs.. body.. then he even checked my arm pit..Then he gave me this look like.. its so weird... then my hubby and myself kept asking him whats wrong.. then he said its not usual for preg ladies to be like that.. normally swollen but mine is bad.. dark feet and the rashes does not look nomal.

Anyway, he does not seem to wanna say more.. but he added.. out of 10 patients that walk in normally 9 are common skin disease... but he is not so sure abt mine. Then he asked me when it started .. i said for abt 3 weeks already..

Hi h@ppymum2b,

Okay. You let me know when to exchange after Friday evening.

RE: high tea

I also feel like going but cannot... My manager is in reservist so I have to be in the office until next Monday.

Hi cheryl,

Take things easy. Like what most of the ladies say, maternal instinct should kick in and if you really not sure, can ask for help from the nurses/midwifes/lactation consultants. In addition, TMC conducts free parenting classes every weekday at 12/12:30 p.m. Ask the nurses if you want to attend with your boy. That should give you more confidence in handling him.

Hi jeannie,

What happened?

Then i also asked him whether its PUPPP .. but he siad its not.. He said must take my blood sample and urine for test. Then he draw out 4 tubes of blood from me.. i was so scared.. he said maybe my vessels are inflamed.. or my liver or kidney... but must go and check first.. Told me to come back and see him tmr night..Then i asked will it affect the baby.. but he said normally no.

I was so upset.. after i left the clinic.. i cried...really dunno what happened... think i very suay like.. at least if he told me its PUPPPP.. i will not be so worried.. now.. i dun even noe.. what is wrong and have to wait for the results tmr.. He told me i better not walk around anymore.. it will get worst.. ask me to just stay at home and dun do HH work avoid.. dust and stuffs.

I really very sad.. keep crying.. but luckily the baby was very active throught yester nite so i feel a bit more assured she is ok.. but i dunno what will happen when she is out....

Dor.. i also dunno.. why it became dark... thats why he said abnormal...

Happymum.. he gave me some anti itch cream and tablets.. but he said must wait till tmr night.

Stephie... i went see gynae on tues and he asked me to go see skin doc.. thats why i went yester..

How pp.. i really very scared..skali.. some kind of dunno what cancer..

jeannie,
tis doc did mentioned will not affect the baby, so u dun worry ok..
after tmr visit & if the condition persist, maybe u wan to consider seeking a 2nd opinion ?

Hi jeannie,

Try to stay calm. I know may be easy to say and difficult to do but at least, on the bright side, he said will not affect the baby.

By the fact that he took so many tubes of blood only means that he does not have a clue as to what is affecting you. That's why must take more to run a battery of tests. So it may or may not be serious at all.

So just stay home, refrain from doing anything ditry/dusty. Rest well.

Stephie and happymum.. i hope so.. see tmr.. how then i update u all. I just hope the baby will not be affected...for me i am fine... if anything happens just hope it will be after my baby is borned..

Happymum and the rest of the gals going outing today.,.. i am really very sorry.. i really wish i cna go.. but i cannot walk very well with my feet like that and i feel totally down now... Think i can only catch up with u all after we deliver..so sorry abt it..I was really looking forward and even told my hubby abt it..

jeannie,
dun think so much.. maybe tis is one of the symptoms faced during pregnancy & will be gone once u delivered.. hv some good rest okie..

jeannie,
*BIG HUGZ*

try not to hu2 si1 luan4 xiang3 okie? you must be feeling very worried and scared now, but you have done the right thing by seeking immediate medical attention. follow the doc's instructions and try to rest well till tmw night.

Thanks Artemis.. i trying to cool down and dun get depressed cause think baby can sense it also.. Trying to be positive..

Morning mummies!!
Its always so nice to see you girls meeting up to do things together, how fun is that!! Too bad I cant join you girls at all and I must have missed out alot especially the sharing of tips during pregnancy and all!

Btw, yesterday I went for my gynae checkup. Am in my 36wk thus have to visit her weekly for checkup. I did my strobe b test and will know the results next week. Do you mummies do that in SG as well?

Prior to the checkup, we went to make payment for the delivery and cost us a big bomb. We paid A$4800 for normal delivery with 3 nights stay at the hospital suite! Imagine have to pay that lump sum even before giving birth!!

My gynae told me that my uterus size has reached its maximum size thus from today onwards, my bb will move lower down to prepare for delivery =) So far I put on 12.5kg throughout my pregnancy.

jeannie,
No need to apologise lah and dun worry abt the gathering.. the doc has already advised it's best u stay at home, away from the dust and dun walk so much.. so u better listen to him and hv lotsa rest at home.. we can always meet up after we popped..

Thanks gals.. will catch up with u all later.. think i go and rest first..Enjoy today's outing.. take some pics and post k.

ya jeannie,
you rest well okie? do something to occupy yourself like watch TV, listen to nice music. dun dwell on negative thoughts.

wow! so happening...all going for high tea and shopping...so envious!

been MIA for a few days cos i sprained my left wrist and my right "waist". I am really not sure how it happened...i jus felt all the strains and pains suddenly...and now at home, sit also cannot, lie also cannot, walk around too much then the lower abs above the V area hurts...don't know what to do! m so irritated!

Hi garfield and happy,
i did manage to go dwn to motherworks on tues eve to chk out the baby bjorn and baby rock sling. But i only managed to see the Baby Bjorn carrier active (S$299!!) with back support but not the original (S$175) or the carrier air (S$198). According to the sales person, she voiced that customers seem to prefer Bjorn as it's deemed more sturdy and that if you get the carrier air or the carrier active, it is much cooler compared to the original one. But she says, ultimately, it depends how u wanna carry ur baby cos the Bjorn only 2 ways compared to the 4 ways of Baby rock's sling. And for how long u r carrying cos the sling one wld be more taxing (over 1 shoulder) than the Bjorn's one (over 2 shoulders)...I had a look at the Baby rock sling too, and thk it's quite sturdy and of course airy too plus more fashionable looking leh....but my hubby voiced out that he wld never wanna be caught using the sling type, so i am at a total loss though i like the sling one better...
By the way, if i remembered correctly, the sling one can be used for up to an older age as compared to the Bjorn one.

hi jeannie,
wat happened then to ur feet?

hope everyone is doing good here
i din expect my bb boy came 1 month earlier. hope all mummies have a safe delivery ahead

Dor,

Pls help me to update at the pop list,

Nick-mimi
EDD-9th feb
Actual EDD-15th jan
Gynae-Joycelyn wong
Hosp-Tmc
BB#-01
bb weight 3.160kg
Gender-boy
Deliver Type-natural with epidural

Jeannie, do have a good rest. Like wat others say, it may or may not be a serious thing, and sometimes alot of these problems are only temp due to hormonal changes, things might turn for better in the end after u pop. At least its not affecting yr bb. Dont worry too much for now, try to watch a DVD or read some books/go online and take yr mind off things abit. And do keep us updated.

jeanice,
dun think too much...
we can still meet up after we popped...
do update us ok after yr appt tonight...
whatever it is, stay positive...

mimi,
congrats!!!!