(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield,
ok ok... thanks for the tips... aiya, not so soon... mid prob only end mar or early april then have...for the time being, me loh got to monitor...

happy, hahaha... somemore u work in macperson... my hb works in tai seng...

garfield,
wow!!! must strive for that.... but it also depend on the caregiver..

Hi, mummies.

Back from Vivocity. Watched AVP2 with hubby, ate at Carl Junior cos super long queue at Marche and it was raining. Gold Class seats were comfortable but since tickets are expensive $30 each, will save for special occasions only.

Bought the Panasonic ionic hair straightener from Best Denki, $49. Hiao, want to bring it to hospital so that my first photo with BB won't be so awful with messy hair. Cheryl, if I try already and it works, will recommend to you. ;)

Garfield, the KKH promo bluff one lar, the NB drypers OOS more than 1-2 months ago. Once I heard from one of the Jan MTB, I already went to recce, wanted to buy. When I went there, only left with L size. Waste my time. :p

hi ladies...

bb bath gel
thanks Berry and happymum2b! heee in the end i didn't buy anything today, cos it was raining n all of sudden i just felt very fan (cos gotta use umbrella, feet still be wet and i have to move very slowly). mini mood swing...

now ok liao
i just cant stand rainy days lah.

good nites!

thanks for the comment of the nail clipper. i will go and get the baby 1st brand w/o magnifier.

kitsune,
the hair straightener is the one looks plastic and can put water one? i got that. the effect very mild only. if really want spiky straight hair, really need a metallic hair climper.

jaslyn
no worries. join us for the next gathering. probably will be after all of us pop liao. keke ;)

bath tub
i din buy any. just use the one given by Mt A since it serves the same purpose. haha, bochap mum. not sure if my brother wants the extra bathtub that i'm gg to get for my boy. if not, i can pass to one of you if you don't mind the plain looking green bathtub with Mt A logo.

diaper
my gal only used pampers when she's a newborn cos it's provided by hospital. after that, we use whatever brand (EQ, Prokids, Drypers, Pet Pet) that's cheap and won't leak (as long as cutting fits her and no rashes).

nail clipper
i've been using the nail clipper from mothercare. so far so good. still using it now for my gal. my fren bought both clipper and scissor and she prefers the latter.

toilet training
i'm one of those who don't really care cos only started to toilet train my gal when she's 2.5 yos. some more my mum was the one who initiated the training. jiat lat right. till now i still put on diaper for her when she sleeps at nite cos i'm afraid of taking risk! maybe the next one will try to start earlier. really can save $ on diaper.

berry
do you know sanrio?

stephie, u are referring to the mummy who uses the nick sanrio or?

toilet training- I am one of those mummies who are very relaxed abt these things, I figured that when they are ready, it will take much less effort, plus no stress factor. So my DD uses disposable diapers from day one and I bought her a toilet seat (I didnt use potty, figured its easier to to toileting directly) when she is nearly 2 but never forced it. I did bring it up to her and encourage her regularly, and I think she only decided she wants to try from ard 2.5yo+ onwards. She didnt take to it immed, and we went back to diapering. But somehow few mths before she turned 3, we had almost overnight toileting success. She decided she was ready and we just ditched her diapers in less than few weeks. She only had 3-4 accidents and went diaper-free from then on. I think she started sleeping diaperless 1-2mths from then on. I'll be doing the same w my boy too- wait for him to be ready and make the decision himself.

Hi ppl,

morning! Quick question. My husband colleagues advised him to admit into the hospital under class C first and ask for upgrade later so that baby's charges will come under ward C when the bill arrives. How true is that?

I'm still resting in bed, not allowed to move about except to go to toilet... but still spotting. Have a feeling will have to go for C section either next week or the week after... sian man.

Still haven't got baby's mattress yet.

Kitsune,
The tickets are $30 per person? Wow...very ex =P not only must save for special occasion, must also save for good movie!

This time the drypers promo is for real...was there on sat and saw cartons of the NB drypers at the pharmacy leh

Moi Dar,
I think if you upgrade subsequently - the charges will increase accordingly. anyway, you will be in hospital only 2 or 3 nights max. it's bb that will have to stay for monitoring if still small.

Hello, my name is Sari and I'm conducting a short poll regarding push presents.

There is a trend of husbands presenting expensive gifts like IT bags and jewelleries to their wives after they have delivered their babies. These gifts are known as 'push presents'.

1. Have you received a push present before? If so, how many and what were they?
2. Do you expect a push present? Why and why not?
3. What would be an ideal push present and why?

This poll is a part of an article regarding push presents which will be published in Urban sometime next week. Your response is greatly appreciated.

Could you state your name, age and profession as well? Thanks!

Sariwati AB Latif

one day never log on and already got 2 archive link i need to go through :p

dor,
i've also been helping myself to durian and ice cream...about once a week now..hehehe..

moi_dar,
how come need to go for C-section so early ? i think last time when i went for surgery, i remember if upgrade from C class to B1 then consider private straightaway, you'll loose all the benefits u get as a subsidised patient.

qoosan,
i just transferred to you $2.14
Trans ref no : 1515904102
Trans date : 06 Jan 2008 11:46 AM
nick : tute

kitsune,
eat carls jr. very sinful leh...hehehe..me also tempted to eat sometimes, but hb doesn't really like coz size too big.. :p

garfield,
the rubber duckie u bought is to measure temperature one ? i bought combi termo, cost about $16 but considered cheap compared to the avent one...actually this is more for hb coz he's always have a scared that he can't measure the water well, so bought for his peace of mind... :p

re: nail clipper,
i only bought the clip one...see how, think hb dun dare to cut...maybe will get scissors for hb, think that one is easier to handle

re: delivery method,
i am sooo indecisive, until now still dunno wanna go normal or c-sec...so i use the wait and see method. as of now, gynae say can go normal... fri went for checkup and bb now at 2kg. according to gynae, still medium size..should still be around 3kg by full term. will start going for 2 week checkup now... =P

re: hosp bag,
still haven't pack mine leh...think too early... maybe after next checkup then start packing... for those who have delivered in TMC, is it true we don't have to bring anything for the baby ?

re: cord blood,
suddenly last minute me and hb decide to prob go for private banking...since we have the fbi card, got discount for the processing fee and storage fee up to $450 with cordlife. i think not bad, and would like to think this as insurance...

been long since i log in here... problems w my laptop, lazy to go and fix it.. only get log on for awhile in relative's place.

keep u all update, i will be going for c-section on 18jan. bb, still dun wan to turn, gynae say unlikely to turn liao. bb also very small. weigh 2.2kg at 36weeks. haiz... maybe come out only 2.6kg.

im still thinking to go for GA or epidural.. i wanted to witness the birth of my bb, at least hb can take pic. but the whole world (family and relative) discourage me to take epi... how?

Hi, Linda

Don't worry too much about baby weight.
My boss' son was born at 1.99kg at full term(40 week). Now he is 4 years old, healthy and very smart.

Last year I invited my colleagues for housewarming and prepared some toys for kids around 2~3 years old . Although my boss' son is shortest among 4 3-year old kids, he is smartest and managed to play all kinds of toys on his own in a minute. The rest of kids can't figure out how to play one toy without parents' help. My other colleagues were also impressed and amazed about how clever the boy is.

Last month I saw the boy again at my colleague's wedding; his height is also catching up his peers.
When I had serious morning sickness for 3 month at first trimester and my baby gal is <300g at detailed scan at 20 week, I told my boss that I was very worried and cried at home. He told me his boy's birth weight and said that every baby is different, and we need to accept them as they are.

doink, mine is also at bedok interchange. hehe. so may have seen u at some time or another. i'm at 34 weeks plus now, gonna see her again on 11th Jan. How about you?

tummy hardening - mine also, especially at nite. then my bed is quite soft, so i am like a "bu4 dao3 weng1". cos when i sit up, my big stomach will collide with my big thighs and i can't stay in that position unless hb supports me. otherwise, i will roll backwards like a ball.

poor sleep - i still wake up every 2 hours to go toilet. and i sleep on alternate nites. cos i'll suffer from insomnia for one nite and the next nite i will be too tired and juz sleep.

lack of breath - hb says i sound breathless when i sleep. and when i lie down i feel like there's a rock on my chest. unable to breathe until i adjust to a suitable position.

Xiaoyun, really ah? Ya, sounds like the one I bought. I haven't try with the steam attachment yet. But the best denki salesman helped me straighten part of my fringe with just dry heat and it works leh.

I saw another model with metal rod &amp; an attached cylindrical clip but I very clumsy type, scared I will burn myself so end up chose the plastic model which does not have any exposed metal parts. :p

Garfield, ya lor, $61 for 2 tickets including booking fee, 1 small bottle of flavoured sparkling water also costs $6 but they serve it to you in a glass lar. But hubby's birthday so don't complain lar.

Really ah? Got NB drypers again? Okie, I'll go see again when I go for my check up coming Wed.

Tute, ate Carl Junior cos hubby wants to try. We both never tried before. But he ordered the upsized one for me, extra cheese, extra bacon. This morning, woke up with bad tummy pain, had to go loo, don't know whether it's due to the cheese. :p

kitsune, maybe u can buy one of those hair creams that can protect your hair while you do the straightening, otherwise wait yr hair becomes very dry.

June, yup, I bought one of those Loreal cream called "Hot Straight" in a pink bottle. Supposed to use with straightening iron but must apply to towel dried hair before blowing dry, then can use the straightening iron. A bit mafan. Hee. :p

06 Jan 2008 03:21 PM
To Account POSB Savings
026-31174-8 QooSan
Amount S$2.14
Transaction Reference 1516129143

QooSan,
Just transfer funds to you.

Cord bank
Anybody know the charges between Blood Cord and Cord life? Heard can only keep until certain number of years, is it?

hi, thankful. Can store for long term. Just that parents pay for the first 21 years. After that, if the child still wants to continue storing, the account is transferred to the child. I only know Cord life charges cos I signed up with them. One time registration is $1400 and subsequent $250 for 21 years. But they usually have promotion so you can call to check first.

Anyone here will be catering confinement food? Anyone has recs? I think I'll prob be catering confinement food for 2-3 weeks but wondering who to pick. Any suggestions/reviews?

linda,
nice to hear from u...
abt whether to go for GA or epi c-section... really depend on u... cos the only difference i whether yr hb will be in or not...
think u be the first one in our thread to pop...

bb weight
dun worry abt bb's weight... cos whatever weight that gynae told us now is just an estimate. 2.6kg also ok...

berry
sorrycant recommend any.. but i know very ex...

fried durian
angra!!! din manage to eat cos q veri veri long...

durians- tok abt durians, I couldnt sleep well last night cause I ate my yummy durians just before bedtime and the sugar created havoc in my system. This taught me a good lesson lol. :p

pampering- any mummies going for a last min prenatal massage or mani/pedi/facial or doing yr hair right before your EDD? I'll def try to schedule myself a haircut appt and pedi just before I pop, but I heard that for C sect mummies, they will remove yr nail polish before the operation starts, something about needing to monintor the colour of yr nails during operation. Is this true, anyone knows?
My gf told me that she had a nice pedi done just before her C-sect, and the hosp staff removed her nail polish before the op, and they didnt clean it off well, so she ended up waking to v ugly and stained toes (she painted bright red) after the op!

berry
ya, it's the mummy with nick called 'sanrio'.

dor
the tv programme was featuring the fried durian last wed. that's why i think very very long queue.

moi_dar
not sure if hospital has changed their policy lately. cos last time i heard pple saying, opt for 4 bedded and when admitted, hospital will upgrade you to 2 bedded if the 4 bedded is not available. then you only pay for the 4 bedded charges. however, recently my SIL was admitted to hospital and wanted a 4 bedded. As it was not available, they put her in a 2 bedded and she had to pay the 2 bedded charges.

tute
me too haven't packed my hospital bag. keep telling myself to do so but the bag is still empty. will do some packing tonight. keke

Hihi, back from dinner at Ah Lam's Seafood. Had drunken prawns, 'he feng' pork ribs, lemon chicken, stir fried potato leaves, fried oyster omelete, beancurd &amp; XO san lou hor fun. Went there at 6.15pm but the crowd only started coming in at 7+pm.
Including drinks &amp; coconut for me, bill was $73+ for 6 of us. Seems quite cheap to me. My favourite was the pork rib &amp; lemon chicken.

Hi Berry,
I've been going for my usual facials...not sure how last min you are referring to though =P re the nail polish - ya - any sort of surgery will require removal of ALL nail polish on both hands and feet. So pls don't waste $$

Durian,
Didn't eat, but bought puteri mas durian puffs for my mum cos she loves durain

Feast,
Haha...nowhere near Kitsune's, but i had the yummy famous ta kua pau from Mary's corner and Yong Huat fried hokkien prawn mee

Confinement food catering
I think market rate is about $1000+. I know the first born incentive card entitles to 10% or 20% at one of the caterers but can't recall which one.

Gift registry,
Have had frens and colleagues ask me what i want for bb gift. Instead of ang pow...decided to do up a list of what I still need =) more fun this way!!

hi kitsune,

ah lam's seafood got sell crab?how much are their crabs?cheap also?

hi stephie,

when ur sil is admitted?she stay in thomson medical centre?

Garfield, where's Mary corner tau kua pau? Katong?

Goodbbb, never ask about the crabs cos my family members don't want to eat. All lazy to peel crab. :p We did ask about the live "pating" fish, 1 kg $40. Don't know whether that is considered cheap. :p Maybe you can ask Dor about the crabs cos I think she ate that last time?

BB quite quiet today. Don't know why. :p Hubby is reading story to her now to try and 'wake' her up.

Kitsune,
Mary's corner is directly opposite Katong Mall. One traffic light away from Church of Singapore. Know where?? It's very yummy...must have two cos one not enough!!

Try listen to some rock music to wake bb up! =P

My bb opposite - kicking me like mad these past 3 days. Dunno what she's up to

garfield, haha I was referring to 'last min' as in like er.. few days before EDD for natural and maybe day before for C-sect :p Reason being the effects can 'last' longer mah, cause most mummies wont have time for these things for at least a few weeks or a month or more. I think I'll still go for my pedi cause nice feet makes me happier, v important during postnatal right? (hehe) Anyway since I cant have colours on, then will just get them to buff my nails for me to keep it shiny.

Nesting instincts- anyone in hyper nesting mode? I've been more organised lately, also starting to feel panicky about not having stuff ready so trying to get my act together. Today IKEA delivered my drawer units for bb stuff, and am expecting robinsons and mothercare delivery this week. And I need to get all of bb's clothing/blankets/cot sheets washed also. I'm also stocking up alot of craft/activity materials for my DD to keep her occupied during the first 1-2mths during adjustment period when I prob cannot bring her out much yet.

Driving after C-sect- Anyone knows when its safe to drive after a C-sect? I've heard of mummies who drove with no problems just 1-2 weeks after their op, I've also heard some who had to refrain for a month?? My gynea says best to wait a month at least, I'm wondering if its necessary to wait so long?

berry, like what garfield said, if u go thr c-section, they(nurse)will remove it..so no pt... wanted to do rebonding but hair now too short... so not doing anything...

berry-u confirmed gg for c-section...

kitsune, wow!!! u fast man... went ah lam today... was supposed to have dinner there... then last min, hb got tennis session so din go...

goodbabyb
on avg, their 2 crabs cost abt $50... they only have female ones... but u can choose to cook them separately...
stephie, fried durian... yaloh... so just now, hb bought the fried pisang back(also featured in the show)

water retention
i think my water retentin is getting from bad to worst... ++scare scare++

Oic...me a bit optimistic - have stocked up on my facial masks and ampoules to do DIY home facial during my confinement =)

Talking about the pedi - sounds like a good idea

Nesting instinct - ya me too. Packed away all my bags of brand new clothes that I never got round to wearing, but lying around in bb's room. Hb also helped with the packing, cos somehow i feel the house very messy (with my own stuff haha)

The furniture i was eyeing at IKEA hasn't arrived yet and playpen is not up yet. In fact, hb still playing his PS3 in the room haha...

i also havent set up the playpen.. will set up few weeks later.....

i also wanna buy pineapple tart cos i scare no chances to eat during cny.

so yummy right?

i can finish half a bottle of tarts at one go...scary...my PIL are in the CNY goodies biz so every year i get loads of goodies. but i think this year they may not be producing pineapple tarts so i need to find other lobangs