(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield,
yes, my swelling had got worse since the last gathering and it will get worst over the few weeks till my EDD.. sigh..
i can't fit into covered shoes long time ago and has been surviving on flat sandals..

artemis,
thks for the link.. will read it thru..

kitsune,
haha.. u still made it to the Isetan private sale after all and get the stuff you want..
tat's good..

good morning mummies,

re: water retention
i found out that I've got water retention since last night.
my fingers, toes and feet became so chubby.. haha...
2 more months to go, don't know if I can endure so long..

SALES ALERT!!
Robinson: Ameda Breast Pump with thermal cooler bag, etc selling at $299
Taka: Philips Avent iQ24 steriliser with gourmet storage set at $149
John Little: 30% voucher rebate with min. $30 purchase.

Does John Little currently has 20% storewide discount?

xiao yun
thanks for the sales alert!
wow, JL 30% voucher rebate promo is here again ah. good leh. only thing dunno if there's 20% discount. yday din pop by JL.

Re: Nania Car Seat
Can't recall who wanted to buy this brand's car seat previously. Robinsons 9.30am special has the car seat on sale at $99. Could be a different model from what you wanted to buy tho. But no harm checking it out ;)

Good morning ladies

Re:pain threshold
My hubby has already told me to drop the idea of avoiding epidural, cos he believes i cannot tahan.... i really wonder if i can do it heeee

Re: Sale
So far, i did not go to the sale leh, cos hor, I am very scared of the crowd. but i agree a slow cooker will come into handy... sigh, wonder if i should go this sat.... cos i got no more leave to clear already.....

Re: breast pump
I wont be getting this, though the sale seems so attractive. cos worried about getting the wrong one.... Mrs Wong mentioned that it is better to watit till delivery then buy cos that time will have a good idea how is the milk supply and which fits, cos she does not believe in one size fit all.... Hee cos i think she read my mind that i want to get during sales...

re: breast pumps
i believe what Mrs. Wong means is not to rush into buying a breast pump. Here's my interpretation:

Whether a breast pump is needed:
(1) For the case where flow is not good:
(i) A lot of ppl will end up use FM due to pressure from other ppl or some other reason. Breast pump become not useful.
(ii) Perservere and supplement with FM. A good breast pump which can stimulate more milk supply becomes essential.

(2) For the case where baby suffer jaundice:
Some gynae will recommend stop BF (which i don't understand why). There are 2 kinds of outcome:
(i) Use FM. Demand for breastmilk drops --> supply drops. From then on, baby use FM. Breast pump become not useful.
(ii) Use FM until recover from jaundice. At the same time, mummy maintain milk flow by using breast pump. Breast pump become essential.

(3) For the case mummy decided to be SAHM:
Direct latch on is the best choice. No matter what, baby is still the best pump ever. Breast pump become not useful.

(4) For the case mummy need to go back to work after ML:
(i) Some ppl will slowly stop BF before go back to work. This may be due to the reason that not convenient to pump in office, etc. Breast pump becomes not useful.
(ii) Some ppl will start storing breastmilk and continue pumping in office. A good breast pump which is very efficient and reliable becomes essential.

Whether a manual/electric or single/double breast pump is needed:
This really depends on individual. For me, I am lazy and wanted fast result. I bought a Medela Harmony (manual and single pump) at first for it's portability. For the sake of bb's immunity, I wanted to ensure I am determined enough to breastfeed/EBM for at least 1/2 year. I bought a PIS Advanced for it's efficiency so that I can pump fast in office and not to affect my work. :p
That's why I spent quite a bit on breast pump, milk storage, and breast pad more than anything else. So far, I didn't buy any clothes for baby. All are hand-me-downs. Even the stroller is a 2nd hand one. :p
Hope I can perservere long enough in my journey of breast feeding.

xiao yun
for: (2) For the case where baby suffer jaundice:
Some gynae will recommend stop BF (which i don't understand why).

Based on my PD, there's some substance in the BM that will cause jaundice. hence the advice to temp stop BF (for a few days) until the jaundice is gone. i did that previously and just pumped out to maintain the supply. hence also the reason my gal was introduced to both bottle feeding and direct latching when she's a newborn.

Any idea where I can do makeover in Sengkang or Plaza Sing? I'm going for photo shoot this sun, lazy to do my own makeup and hair. Any good recommendation? Thanks in advance!

Stephie,
thanks for the info.
how long you have feeding your #1 with breatmilk? after the jaundice, #1 is bottle feed since then?

how's everyone? long time didn't come to this thread to chat already.

my right side lower backache is killing me.... now can't walk far or fast.
so frustrating.... i hope this will go away after delivery.

xiao yun
yes, one type jaundice is due to BM. for this type, it should be mild but bb will take longer to recover from jaundice if he/she is on BF. my gal suffered from BM jaundice and was admitted to hospital for phototherapy. during those few days, i still supplied her with my BM though the PD (who's not pro BF) prefers to feed her FM fully during the hospital stay. it took about 1 mth + for the jaundice fully went off.

btw, for testing of jaundice level, not necessarily go to hospital. you can go to polyclinic which is cheaper and also they gv priority to NB to see doc and test.

snowbelle
i know of a make up artiste (used her for my rom). if you are interested, can give you her contact.

xiaoyun
i fed my #1 BM till she's abt 11 mths plus. After the jaundice, it's a combination of direct latching and bottle feed (like when i'm not around and for nite feed). direct latching stopped after i went back to work for a while (cos not much chance to latch directly and my gal slowly refused to latch on liao)

good morning!!!

today me not working as gg to see gynae later... super sian... dun know what to do... actually a lot if things to do... but not in the mood...
actually to spend a day with gal, but cos she wans to play with her friends, so she decided to go student care....

think i will go isetan later... hopefully, not so crowded today....

snowbelle,
cant recommend any makeup artiste to u....

feeling excited!!!
cos today i 35weeks already...

waxing
happy, i cant ask gynae today as hb not gg with me...

garfield,
dun think so....

happy,
i think i wan... cos waxing no contact ma...
14 jan is ok for me...actually, just now, me thinking of gg wheellock to look see.. if i got courage, might just walk me...

i think direct latch on gives bb different taste of milk. If can remember correctly, there are foremilk (?) which is more diluted and can quench thirst. And hint milk, that consists more fat and more filling.
for EBM, different stages of milk already mixed together.

Nutritional wise, there shouldn't be much difference if EBM is not subjected to high heat.

I think if I were the bb, I would like something more interesting. :p
HAHA...

snowbelle
have pm you.

garfield
i guess should not have significant difference bah. at most a little nutrients destroyed when we heat up the EBM :p

sometimes the problem with direct latching is that my gal only took the fore milk and was full before the hind milk is ready. hence she got hungry easier. for EBM, both fore milk and hind milk are combined so i assumed she's fuller loh...

so nice to be on leave today dorothy.

Those giving birth at TMC, how many bedders are u choosing? My husband fren told him to take 4 bedders cos they sure upgrade us to 2 bedders. Am also thinking of taking 1 bedder for more privacy.

dor/xiao yun
me reaching 33 wks tmr. time really flies. before we know, we will be starting to pop liao. scary siah....me still not ready leh...

dor,
so fast?!?!?!

direct latching vs EBM bottle feed,
if not much nutritional difference then i'm tempted to bottle feed (especially at night, hb and i can take turns to wake up....if it's direct latching, then i have to wake up ALL THE TIME). reason i ask is cos i have friends who insist on direct latching lor. end up look like panda eye =P

cheryl, thanks for sharing the info on bb’s hiccups. Initially still worried, thinking due to phlegm or wat… me ignorance. : (
now feel more comforted liao since it is normal. Heehee…
me also in week 32 this week.

garfield
ya, adv of bottle feed is that you can get your hubby involved loh. my gal was bottle fed more than direct latch. should be ok lah. if only direct latch, sometimes can't even go out without bb cos bb will have bottle refusal! and unless you are a SAHM, rather difficult to direct latch solely

stephie,
ya loh... me not ready...to give up my freedom too!!!

waxing
cheryl, happy said 14th jan. ok?

Jan gathering
5th jan still on?

garfield,
ya loh....
my edd 1st feb mah...

CNY break
yesterday, my colik n 1 were studying the calender.. cos my company consider chinese boss.. will off til the 6th day of cny... so if i gave birth on 1st feb... i lose out a lot!!!!

garfield,
during the first few weeks when flow is not established yet, you still have to wake up every 3 hrs to bf/pump as advised by lactation consultant.
so, still got to be panda no matter which matter you use.

garfield,
the hello kitty diaper bag got pink one also!!!
dun think i getting cos i already have my allerhand backpack...
i might get a coach one as diaper bag if i suddenly feel rich....

happy,
i think wheellock got one... dunno lah... cos now super sian...14th jan ok, provided i haven pop.. by then already into early 38weeks....scarli, waxing trigger labour... hahahahqa

craving
recently my craving came back... yesterday i got spicy ramen... now craving for it....

apple,
I'll also be delivering in TMC, have choose 4-bedder... hopefully can upgrade to 2-bedder lah... but 2-bedder very small leh...

direct latching vs EBM bottle feed,
I think for 1st few weeks, it's better to direct latch on as it will simulate more milk and the best time to simulate more milk is during the night feeding...

That day I have this crazy idea... I asked my hb can he carry the bb to me when she cries at night, and after latching her on, I continue sleeping and he will handle the rest... and I genna scolded by him for being lazy :p

RE: Wheelock Place

There are 2 Strip outlets at Wheelock Place, 1 on the 3rd (Strip in the City) and 1 on the 5th (Strip Buddy) level. Strip Buddy is co-ed (they do for men too) but of course everyone gets their own room for the waxing.

Hi dorothy,

If you are walking in, you may want to try the 1 on the 5th level cause they newly opened less people.

RE: direct latching vs EBM

I heard for the first six weeks it is better to have more direct latch on to help establish breast milk.

snowbelle,
i think the gel should be fine. usually the concern is caffeine cos a lot of the slimming formulations contain caffeine. but studies have shown that caffeine doesn't affect BM.

xiaoyun,
dun mind waking up during the first 3 months...but thinking if i go back to work and still need to wake up so often at night, sure peng sun =P then i'll end up being a grouchy mummee

hello kitty diaper bag
ya i saw the pink one!! but i dun think my hb will want to carry that colour...so stick to the black one safer

snowbelle
dun think u are lazy.... when my gal was veri small.. when she cried in the middle of the night.. the 2 of us will jump up together.. i will change her diaper n hb will prepare her milk n feed her...
so for no.2, should be the case... night time, dun think i will latch on....should be bottle feed... unless i super productive!

artemis,
thanks for the info... see whether i got the yong qi to walk in....

hope, i wont big mouth to tell my hb abt waxing cos he sure will discourage me one...

dor,
haha.. won't trigger labour lah.. dun scare mi..

cheryl, u oso ok wif 14 jan hor.. then i called them later & book ok..

jess,
i remembered u said u oso wan to do waxing.. is it? still interested ? we gg on 14 jan, u can ?

Hi Thankful, I am one of the mums staying in Sengkang who is interested in getting the Nepia NB diapers...can let me know when you are ordering please? thanks...