(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Went for my weekly review yesterday and actually came out of NUH feeling, for the first time in weeks, quite light hearted. Everytime I go and see the gynae, I'm afraid there'll be more bad news, more blood tests or more medicine. First, got hypertension, and then gest. diabetes. Docs tell me baby may be growing too big too fast. May need to deliver early etc etc. So many mitigating factors. It seemed my probs never end. Anyway, yesterday, my doc was happy with my progress and actually decided to lower my hypertension medication dosage.
hoping to take me off it eventually. If I continue to be this good, he may actually let me go back to work. :>

So happy, just wanted to share with you gals.

yes, i agreed with bkkgal..
at first i thot my swollen feet was caused by excessive walking..
but if sit too long will cause swollen feet too..

now off and on i will feel the tightening feeling at the tummy. so scared will give birth early which i dun want. so stressed up. then my boss also say i abit careless at my work nwadays. sometimes report wrong figures. stress!!!

bbkgal, great to hear that!

garfield - christian dior - haha you said like pasar malam, maybe other than singaporeans a lot of them are the indon tai tai??

Yeah, I feel a slight crampy feeling at my pelvic area all the time (since last week). Most of the time it's achy. Is it the baby pushing/pulling at our ligaments? Or is it our bodies preparing for labour?

bkkgal,
congrats!!! so u in sing now?

bb weight
sorry... error... my bb is 2.3kg at week23... blur already...

happy
no prob... cos if we all dun wan to go, dun go loh... can one.... now sleepy... cant think

2.3kg at week 32 is it??? week 23 abit impossible...

now lie down also not comfy, sit also not comfy... goggy.... duno is it becos of the med

dor,
bb weight
wah, u hv a big bb!! 2.3kg at week 23..

isetan sales
ok, dun go lor.. then i can go hme 2nite play wif my son.. hee..

Thankful,
I'm thinking of getting 1 packet of Nepia too... but don't know should I get the NB or S size one, since TMC will provide 1 packet of NB Pampers liao... dun want to stock up too many...

Btw, where is the Jan gathering huh?

Now quite sleepy cause had a heavy lunch. Company cater buffet for quarterly birthday celebrations cum Christmas lunch.

RE: Isetan sale

So are you gals going? If not then I won't go too.

dor, yes I came back from BKK end Nov and started work 3 Dec but 4 Dec was warded in Mt. E for poss preeclampsia. Long story. The whole episode was very scary for me and hb as doc was saying things like inducing, injecting steroids to mature baby's lungs. After that, kena gest. diabetes. sigh. To cut long story short, I've been on hospitalisation leave since beginning Dec until Jan.

cheryl/happy
bb weight- sorry sorry... it's 2.3kg for week 32...
super super sleepy.....cheryl, envy envy!!!

Jan gathering
stephie, yr function room available?

RE: Isetan sale
ok ok... then i ask hb to fetch me home... heeheehee....

piglettail
herb for shower during confinement.
my mum checked with hock hua already... only got 1 type. $1.30 each pack... the salesgal say dun buy too early cos of our weather...

artemis,
ya, we cancel the isetan shopping trip..
dor is saying since not gg liao, she will ask her hb to fetch her home after work and she wanna watch her HK serial at home..

hi ladies...

aiyah, nevermind, now already almost 3/4 of day gone liao. my voice still jialat, so at least everybody knows im sick for real and not trying to 'geng' MC.

applied for half day off on Monday, so effectively tomorrow is the last working day of the year...yipee!

yesterday was at home so got time to 'visualize' my confinement period...so u gals intend to wear socks and slippers in the house? cos now i wear t-shirt and shorts or 3/4 pants but walk barefooted... sometimes can feel the 'cold wind' gg thru from my feet.

but then, socks+slippers +t-shirt + shorts will look very very funny hor?i know it's at home lah, but neverknow when relatives, etc, will wanna just pop by so thought i should prepare my 'dress code' to be functional and (almost) presentable

artemis/ Jess/ bkkgal.. i also having sharp pain near my vaginal area.. or rather lower tummy.. very scared i will deliver early too.Actually very tired of the pregnancy.. walking is sooo.. inconvenient.. squatting is worse. Sometimes hope that feb comes quickly so that i can just deliver. But i want to deliver after CNY ( want a rat baby!!), my EDD on 24th feb.. think still ok.

Scary man. tummy suddenly got bigger these few days..now my waist ( 42 inch) taken at the belly button... u all got measure ur waistline??

piglettail.. think wear slippers can already.. must wear socks??

Anyway.. i always wear slippers at home so quite used to it.. actually really less "cold" if u wear slippers..

I thinking of wearing sarong and pyjamas button kind at home.. easier to breastfeed..

h@ppymum2b: Try control your salt intake if you have water rentention, hope it helps. Cos heard that taking in too much salt will also partly cos that.

isetan sale: very superb crowded, queue start as early as 8 am. I shop from 8.45am to 11.30 am. Gals going there need to protect yr tummy. The sales will be continue till sunday, just that the discount is not as attractive as today.

jeannie,
Same here... my tummy also suddenly got bigger these few days... suspect coz I ate a lot since pil in town... I think my waist same as your leh... btw, my edd used to be same as yours but have changed to 17th Feb ever since I changed gynae... now praying hard that bb will come out after cny... hopefully on 12th Feb... work 1 day after cny holiday then can rest liao... dun want Valentine's Day too... if not next time gotta stay at home and celebrate my gal's birthday, cannot go for candlelight dinner with hb alone... :p

mothers, are you still taking your multi vits faithfully..hee..i am so lazy, and i hate taking pills actually..find it hard to swallow..imagine, i have like 2 months supply of multi vits still at home..nowadays i dun even ask from the nurse, always tell them i got plenty of stock..haha..

my baby also 2.1kg at week 32..so i suppose its average..although doc did claim that my baby has a big head n big tummy (above 59th percentile..)

bkkgal,
for pre-eclampsia, did ur gynae advise u to watch out for weight gain? did ur gynae ask to do more execise like swimming?

bkkgal and snowbelle.. my edd also keep changing.. i also very confused..

I hope will deliver some tim aroung 15-20th feb.. dun want v dae also.. later my ger only get 1 present. hehe

I super sian at workplace.. so much changes.. wish i dun need to work can continue rot at home...Somemore my boss lousy lor.. he is so weird!!! Ask me to find my own replacement when i am not around for the 3 months maternity leave!! Siao..

starry70: still taking multi vits faithfully cos im vegetarian and scared that my bb dun have enough vitamins and minerals.

qoosan,

my weight gain was very sudden and fast - that's one of the symptoms the doc will look out for. she does not recommend exercise, told me to stay home rest, don't go out.

now i have to watch for sudden weight gain and control diet becos of gest. diabetes. but i'm supposed to exercise for diabetes. i've been doing light stretching at home. nothing much.

my baby is in the 70th percentile at 30 weeks... not sure is it becos of gest. diabetes. will go for 32nd week detailed scan next week.

Felt so emotional watching that video...the mom's pains just went away when she carried her baby in her arms.. wow...

feel so unprepared for the labour, the pain...<shudders>

Anyone thinking of water birth here?

hi tongtong and jeanie,

where can i buy sarongs? yes i think tops can wear our usual t-shir/pj tops, but bottoms wear pants very leh chey...

bkkgal,
i also got fast weight gain on first trimester, and this month again i gained 3 kg in 4 weeks. My gynae ask me to do some exercise like swimming as she can't figured out why i got so much weight gain since i do not hav special crave. She worry my bp might shoot up if i continue has so much weight gain.

Think i hav to plan some time to immerse in water liao.

the week before i was warded, my weight gain was almost 2kg in 1 week. this was followed by extreme swelling of feet, ankles and legs. my calves were so hard that i couldn't feel my muscles. and then i had foggy vision (another sign of PE). my BP registered 143/86. movts were brisk. That night, I started having headaches and vomitted uncontrollably. That was when doc said quickly admit myself.

Dun mean to scare you or anything but do watch your health carefully. Basically, PE has a few markers 1) high BP, 2) weight gain, swelling 3) headaches, nausea, foggy vision. But most importantly, the doc will look out for hard evidence of PE which is protein in urine. But I didn't present protein in urine at that time which is what doc can't understand. So I'm told to collect urine for 24 hrs to test again. At my previous visits to clinic, the test strips showed small presence of protein in urine.

bkkgal: I think only NUH offer waterbirth leh. That time my friend wanted but the gynae say that her bb is underweight so cannot. Also waterbirth will be slightly ex.

However, waterbirth is better cos it can relieve pain and when bb come out it is much comfortable as s/he born in the water same as they are in our tummy.

Ladies, though labour can be pain but we try not to be too negative and scare. Bring out the mother instinct inside us. Try to be more positive than we are not that scare. Sometime i wonder, giving birth is painful why doctor and nurse and everyone around us still telling us pain pain and more pain which cos us to preamp ourself during labour is pain. They should be more positive and encouraging and tell us not to think of all pain, tell us to let go and relax!

jeannie,
i dun dare to measure my waistline.. scare i faint when i see the measurement.. :=P

i think when sleeping then wear socks.. otherwise, wear slippers can liao..

vine_gal,
ya, i got observe my salt intake.. actually i dun like salty food and my mum's cooking are less salt type.. but my water retention/swollen feet still v serious.. sigh..
actually, even b4 preggie i will hv water retention sometimes esp few days b4 menses..

isetan sales
we cancel liao, not gg later..

starry,
hehe.. sometime i oso forget to take the multi vits and folic acid..
then i will compensate by taking double dosage the following day to ease my guilty feeling.. :=P

jeannie,
huh.. y ur boss like tat ? ask u find ur own replacement ?? crazy..

happymum2b: hmm den you have to take care loh dunno why some ppl have water rentention..

isetan sale: nvm they have it quarterly, miss this round mar, june, sep and dec 08 still have it. Just tat dec discount will be much attractive! =D

sweetpea,
i actually didn't do any shopping for baby yesterday...was on a shopping spree for my hb instead coz my hb poor thing, nvr bought anything ever since found out i got preg...since then only shop for my maternity stuff and baby stuff...so thought time to replenish his wardrobe :p

but i think baby stuff not bad deal...am still thinking to go back to get this diaper bag i saw...anyway, just look out for the queue at the cashier...gonna be quite long...happy hunting

vinegal

yeah, actually the baby looks calm in the video...not screaming and yelling as i expected. i also thought the water should have some blood from the placenta no? she had a doula and a midwife. wonder which is which.

actually, mt. Alvernia and TMC has water birth facilities. Depends whether your gynae allows you to deliver in the water. There's a doula from fourtrimesters who rents birthing pools.

vinegal - oh you vegetarian? me too! do you have any veg confinement recipe to share with me? hehe.

piglettail - my mum got the sarong from msia wor.

happymum - did you have enuff intake of water? if you drink lots of water there might be less chance of getting water retention

re: waterbirth

yea i'm expecting the midwife to cut the cord and delivered placenta leh.. but doesnt seem like it?

I saw the birthing pool at the hospital too, but the nurse said that the delivery will be still done in bed. but before birth will do some water therapy in the pool i think?