(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

oh tongtong u also vegan ah...ehh let me dig out those books and website and see can pass some info for you! Not ez to be vegan mum during pregnancy hor. I always worried abt not getting enuff vits and nutrients for bb.

vine_gal,
ya lor.. the only thing i hate during pregnancy is the swollen feets, both pregnancy oso like tat.. no choice lor..

tongtong,
erh.. my water intake quite low.. even when not preggie, i dun drink alot of water leh..
my family & friends called me "camel".. haha..
low water intake link to water retention/swollen feets ?

vine gal, yea i think all waterbirth in overseas done in the pool but sg's one, on the bed>? that's what the nurse told us when i went for hospital tour wor.

about getting enuff vits and nutrients, i think should be ok la as long as u eat balanced diet and remeber to eat the multivits given by docs hehe. our bb's weight also alright what. gynae said no difference from non veg bb.

Hi h@ppymum2b,

You should not take double dosage. Excessive amounts of certain vitamins are harmful to the body and baby. If forget to take for 1 day is still okay.

Hi bkkgal,

TMC does not have water birth, just water bath for pain relief. Once your second stage starts, they will request for you to leave the bath tub and move onto the bed.

happymum - yea that's what i read about water retention, not sure what's the reason though. maybe you try increasing ur water intake and see whether there's any improvement?

piglettail,
no need to wear socks leh...i think slippers enough.

isetan sales,
ya, not all items have additional discount just for today, so no need to rush with pple can take your time. just happened that the items that i'm eyeing have. oh btw, somebody was looking at allerhand diaper bags right? it's going at 30% so slightly more than usual.

oh.. so the TMC one is water bath for pain relief and not for water birth la... okok, understand now. thanks artemis hehe

happymum2b,

drinking more water does help reduce my water retention problem a bit... but now in 3rd tri, i also have some water retention no matter what i do, esp after sitting for one whole day in office.

artemis,
i understand that any excessive dosage will not be absorbed and will just be passed out from our body.. din noe it will cause harm to body & bb..

tongtong,
thks, ok i will try to drink more water & see if it helps anot..

I think the sg midwives are not comfortable with the idea of delivering a baby underwater. They'd rather have you on the bed. Actually, once you're in water, isn't it more troublesome to move out? I mean, dripping wet and in pain and still must get out.

garfield,
heee..u know what..i very vain, thinking if i should buy a new pair of slippers to wear at home during confinement.

maybe now got excuse to get a pair that i saw last week...

yea loh tats the thing loh. I've watch video on those japanese, korean and ang moh giving birth in water and their bb come out ok. Sg midwives here not expose to such thing so they scare issit. Somemore going to give birth soon and moving out of the water wont feel cold meh and wat if slip and fall when moving out.

haha...piglettail, whatever makes you feel happy and pretty =) got nice slippers meh? where where??? cos i was thinking of asking my friend to try to "kapok" the ritz carlton hotel slippers. so plush and comfy....but dun look very nice though.

the sales girl at the elancyl counter stared at me up and down, like why i'm buying stomach slimming gel...so i clarified - oh, delivering soon so stocking up just in case no sale during feb/mar period. she must have thought i'm crazy to want to use that while pregnant

tong,
ya you're right - come to think of it, a lot of japanese and indon tai tais were at the dior counter. scary, the way they buy...

piglettail,
u oso hv water retention problem ?
u dun look like leh during the last gathering when i last saw u..
did u see how swollen my feets r tat day ? arghh..

yeah, i think u are right. lack of exposure.

the thai hospital i was going to had very nice birthing suites equipped with tub, shower, gymball, birthing stool, audio system, microwave oven (for heating hot packs), mini fridge (to keep cold packs), low lighting, low bed to lie on. You can take any position you want, and if you wanna deliver in water, oso can. the midwives will actually come and give you back massage, cold/hot packs, talk to you. You are encouraged to bring music and aromatherapy to the room. Make it like your home.

Here, the rooms are all very clinical and sterile. Actually makes me scared to think of spending 10-20 hrs in there labouring.

happy,
has your swelling gotten worse since that day we met? ya agree piglettail doesn't look one wee bit with water retention...in fact she hardly looks preggie unless you look at her tummy!!! so envious *GRIN*

i think mine is slowly starting to set in. still can wear all my ballet flats, but in the later part of the day, they feel a bit tight. but not to the extent that have to upsize my shoes.

couldn't resist, and bought one pair of new shoes - my excuse? in case water retention so i got one size bigger *muahahahah*

ya lor vine gal...plus the product specifically targets the tummy and highly recommended following pregnancy!! =) so she shouldn't look so surprised

bkkgal,
agree SG hospitals very clinical.

initially i thought KKH very pro-natural delivery...so quite impressed. just found out last night through my doctor friend that it's bcos the doctors have to write a report for every c-section done so they always ask you to try natural first?!?!?!

dunno true or not, but if it's true then quite disgusting, especially for cases where there is high chance of having to do c-section anyways. subject the mummy to unnecessary trauma and pain trying to deliver naturally.

Hi h@ppymum2b,

Only vitamins that are water soluble will not be absorbed if taken excessively. Others that are fat soluble will be retained in the body and if excessive buildup can cause harm to you and the baby. Refer to: http://pregnancychildbirth.suite101.com/article.cfm/excessive_nutritional_status for more information.

RE: water birth

When we went for the TMC hospital tour, I think I remember the lady advised currently in Singapore only NUH has birth pool.

In addition, water birthing looks easier than it actually is. All medical personnel involved in the water birth needs to be specially trained for unexpected circumstances. Therefore, most Singapore hospitals have not sent their midwives for the relevant course yet. Plus, they also need space to build a special birth pool for the water birth process.

Other than NUH, hospitals with tubs only offer it as pain relief as it is believed that warm water helps one to relax and encourages the production of natural endorphins which in turn helps to relieve pain.

RE: labour wards

I find that the TMC labour ward also quite okay, got TV, hi-fi, aromatherapy pots and a comfy chair for the dads. For birth stool and the water bath, they only have 1 room with it and it costs S$200 more :p

bbkgal: wow thai delivery environment so conducive ah. Yea even now sg hos claim their delivery looks like home but still it looks clinical.

Artemis: I wish sg midwives and doc can go for such training. Cos for most developed countries hospital, doc will ask u to induce, c-sect or want any pain relieve which is more or less go against our "nature birthing process".

I've read a book on hypnobirthing and the book did mention that last time woman give birth to bb was very calm, no screaming, shouting or pain relieve.

Garfield is true when you mention of mummy and bb having the high chance of unnecessary risk when doctor doing c-sec. Partly, is it really that necessary or the doc wanted to earn more money out of c-sec and extra medication for inducing bb out.

happymum2b and garfield,

have have, i also have water retention. in ankles and now also my fingers and toes. some days dun have some days have a bit...some days jialat.

my gynae confirmed i have, cos every check up he'll press his finger on my ankles and calves and it'll leave a dent mark (like what linda described)... then he'll tell me "this is water retention.... its NORMAL."

so when im free i also press here press there myself...yes got water retention. :/

my salt intake quite high, no choice, craving for salty food...

Hi ViNE_Gal,

I am also interested in hypnobirthing. :p My HB is also a firm believer of "It's all in your mind" so he said he will help to distract me while I am in labour. Actually, according to a colleague of mine who gave birth 2 times without epidural or any other pain relief, screaming and shouting does not help at all. She said just concentrate on relaxing and breathing during 1st stage, timing the contractions and focus on pushing and breathing during the 2nd stage should be okay already. In fact, she was so relaxed she did not even need episotomy. This is the type of labour experience I would like to have. :p But my HB said my pain threshold so low not likely to happen. Oh well, will take some lavender oil there to help relax.

Artemis

Wah your colleague really know how to relax. I guess that what all ladies what too.Do not let your hb to psycho u that you have low pain threshold, anything can happen during labour..who knows you can endure and be relax during the whole birthing period. Just tell your hb to keep saying encouraging word like relax etc. Heard that screaming and shouting is not good for bb also pushing bb out also not good. So hopefully tat point of time we can tell our body and bb that we are working together.

vine gal,
sorry i wasn't clear. what i meant was, there are certain cases where c-section may make more sense, but the docs may still encourage the mummy to try to go natural. end up having to do an emergency c-section halfway....so the mummy has to endure unneecessary trauma and pain vs if she had been advised to go for c-section straightaway.

<font color="ff0000">talking about products with lavender content</font> my paediatrician friend says to avoid any product with lavender for baby boys....has been proven to have a strong link to the boys becoming gay when they grow up!!!! thought i better share now before i forget

just wondering if you all experience bb's hiccups very often, as in like at least twice a day?

and also can we assemble bb's cot prior to delivery? cos heard pple saying better not to knock knock here &amp; there in the house...

xuan

i also havent assemble the playpen yet.... maybe when i abt to give birth den set up ba...

my bb hiccup alot also.... 1 day a few times wor.

ya ya ya... initially i thought it was the heartbeat. ask doc, he says it is hiccups. but why bb will hiccups so many times in a day one huh? due to the food we eat?

bb cot will be delivered next saturday, and it comes with free assembling. if dun assemble with the free service, dunno later hubby can handle or not leh... headache.

xuan

i heard is becos bb learning to breath.. tat y. some tell me more hiccup is gd cos lung are healthy,. duno true anot

it also mean the organ matured..

Hiccups in your baby are just a fetal reflex that is remarkably similar to our own. Only the more mature fetuses will hiccup, as hiccups rely on the development of the central nervous system. Some experts think that hiccups in utero is a response to fetal drinking or fetal breathing, which causes the flow of amniotic fluid in and out of the lungs, stimulating the diaphragm to contract.

hi MTBs

sorry to interrupt. im a sept mummy and have the following to let go:-

1)MommyPoko NB 30pcs/pk at $9/pk
self collect at Telok Blangah Heights

2)Gerber Milk Bag (zip lock type) 1box of 25 at $6.50 - self collect at Telok Blangah Heights/Post (charges born by buyer)

3) Avent Breast Shells - $15
- self collect at Telok Blangah Heights/Post (charges born by buyer)

pls ct me via email: [email protected]
thk u! Cheers!!

am on half day leave today (clear my last 1/2 day AL) and took me half an hour to catch up with the postings!

went orchard to see see look look. robinsons got lots of people. all the cashiers have long queues in front of them.

Re: gathering
Dor - me haven't checked yet leh. cos the other time when i mentioned, like not many pple keen (cos my place too ulu liao :p). if you gals are ok, then will ask hubby to check tmr/sat.

Gathering on 05Jan, Sat, evening

1. Garfield (+ hubby)
2. Happymum2b (+ hubby + son)
3. xiaoyun
4. dor11
5. cheryl (+hubby)
6. piglettail
7. Stephie (+ hubby &amp; girl)
8. june (+ hubby)

who else joining???

Stephie,
I don't mind your place =)

Cheryl,
Better stay at home lah. So scary. Still early for bb to come out so take a bit of precaution. YOu want anything from Isetan or what we can get for you and pass you next Sat.

hihi, I went to Isetan Private sale after all cos hubby's seminar ended early. Pressured him to go to Isetan sale with me. Hee. Bought my thermal magic cooker and a few household stuff. Nothing from BB dept. Was very crowded but queue not that bad lar, reach there about 6:30pm, left at 8pm. Only spent about 10-15 mins queuing cos got many cashier counters.

Garfield, I was eyeing the Tiger magic cooker (comes with a real pot with glass lid). Not the Endo set (med &amp; small size, but inside metal pot &amp; the metal very thin). I don't have good impression of Endo cos I have a Endo thermal flask which I use in office and the water doesn't stay hot. Plus it has a plastic rubber smell after some time. But I admit the Endo one much cheaper. The Tiger one I bought is $180, can buy 2 sets of Endo Medium &amp; Small magic cookers. :p

Went to eat at Tonkichi after that. Poor hubby. Didn't know he's not feeling well. He only told me when we were having dinner cos he said don't want to eat fried stuff. Maybe, he don't want to spoil my fun or scared I not happy if he doesn't want to go.

Jeannie, paiseh paiseh, I'm very bad with faces lar. Even just now when I was at Isetan, I saw a familiar face but don't know which MTB cos I attended both Jan &amp; Feb MTB gathering. Blur liao. Hee. ;)