(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

and she keep saying she will put up the delivery schedule SHORTLY.. But we have been waiting since morning till now... :-(

maybe first time organizing BP, not familiar how to handle and no system lor. guess we'll just wait.

i think she said 30 cakes per type maximium - so have a feeling some may have to be dropped. any way we were the first few to order right? so our orders should be confirmed, i hope!!

stephie,
if no cut, dun need to stitch meh? open 10cm liao, dun need to stitch?

so scary after i watch the video abt childbirth during mrs wong class. feel scary, but i enjoy watching, siao right? at least prepare myself abt it. i found a few video in youtube le... if u all not scare, can watch too... hehe

Thanks June for the information.

Can't wait to go home.........

my office next door is doing renovation and now my office has this super glue smell. Feel like a glue sniffer now...........

re: pump rental
I posted this info some time back.

mums n babes do rent out medela hospital grade pumps.
Here's the price:
Symphony:
min. 7 days @ $10/day
14 days @ $9/day
30 days @ $7/day
60 days @ $6/day
90 days @ $5/day

Lactina Select:
min. 7 days @ $9/day
14 days @ $8/day
30 days @ $6/day
60 days @ $5/day
90 days @ $4/day

Lactina Electric Plus:
min. 7 days @ $8/day
14 days @ $7/day
30 days @ $5/day
60 days @ $4/day
90 days @ $3/day

NACHOS order

Ok confirmed collecting tonight:
1. Dor - $22 1x dip + 1x chips (collect on 15Dec)
2. Cheryl - $22 1x dip + 1x chips (collect on 17Dec Christmas dinner)
3. Xiao Yun - $22 1x dip + 1x chips (collect on 15Dec together with Dor's)

Cheryl, XiaoYun - you can pay me when we meet for christmas dinner.

hi snowbelle,
My hb said he is only available after christmas to do baby shopping. I'm so sian liao... SALE dun wait for him loh. By then, I should have finished 95% of my shopping
My opinion to ur qns:
1&2)Baby safe mattress, pillow and bolster
no need lah. like dorothy said u can use cloth nappy to fold into a pillow for her to sleep. Mattress just buy those water-proof type available at Kiddy Palacce. Abt $45.

3)Milk bottle
I bought avent cos of the wide neck and the variable teats that dorothy mentions before.

4)Bottle drying rack,
Just dry it on a normal dish rack good enough.

5) Any brand to recommend and where can I get it cheap?
Milk bottle liquid wash -pigeon
Laundry detergent -pigeon/pureen
Baby body wash -Pureen/J&J 3in1 wash with shampoo
Baby shampoo (Do we need this? Can we just use the body wash?) - combine with body wash
Baby moisturiser -no intention to get. cos baby should be moisturize enough.
Rash cream (this is to apply before wearing diaper right?) -ya. bought desitin(buy online). Have not rec'd yet.
Disposable breast pads (How many should I get?) -get one box first.
Washable Breast pads (How many should I get?) -i din get as i using disposable breast pads

6. Hooded towel or receiving blanket
normal towel can already

7. Bath thermometer
no need lah. use ur ellow can already

8. Sterilised container for cord spirit
Need this meh??? Can pour on cotton wool and applied direct, right?

9. Baby pacifier
i got Avent which come in a pair. Better. In case I get one dirty, I have another as backup.

12. Receiving blanket
Ans in Qn 6.

Arnold's Fried Chicken
yes!!! It is better than KFC. U have this and you will find KFC singapore no good.

Hi snowbelle,
10. What is Ruyi oil & Woods Gripewater for?
Ruyi oil is a must have item. Must buy a few bottle. Small or Medium, but not the biggest one. Mayb not effective after opening for too long. WoodGripewater for stomach pain, when air goes into baby's stomach. Will get rid of the "wind" inside. My friend recommended another brand Alfacol, she said it is better than WoodGripewater. Will see try both to see how.

11. Nail clipper & nose cleanser
cannot use normal one la. I'm still thinking should I buy clipper or scissor. nose cleanser, my friend giving me one. heard it is easier to clear nose block. Olden days, parents will suck it out.

I need advise on sling or pouch. Different b/w both is sling have got 2 rings for easy adjustment, but may spoilt easily and not secure. Pouch is stitched firmly, but might not be able to use for long right? Pls advise. See link for the appearance.
Baby Pouch:
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/babypouch.html
Baby Sling:
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/babyslings.html

I'm oso getting a Door Gate. So you think a net type (material like playpen net) or plastic type (look like those playhouse from Like tikes) is better?

Dorothy,
Nowadays raining cats and dogs, so not washing bb clothings. You joining snowbelle this sunday?
20th dec already induced. Too early bah??? Wanna rush for new year or christmas?

Moi_dar,
yalor. Always hungry. Now in the middle of the night will tell husband that I'm hungry. Den next day, tummy will grow bigger by another inch.

garfield,
Saluate all of you. NAcho oso have bulk purchase?
How does it charge? Too lazy to check through the thread again. THot you gals are ordering for cake, how come become Nacho?

june
not too sure if new born can wear bumwear leh. i think might be too big? if i remember correctly, my gal used it when she's much older, more than 3 mths...

blueginger
i used the MIM sling. that time the pouch was not out yet. so, i am not too sure how this pouch can be used. should be easier than sling but it's better to check with MIM to see how long long you can use the pouch.
i used the sling till my gal reached around 10kg... about 15 mths... 'cos too heavy for me liao, i can't tahan. i think the sling can take till 12 or 14 kgs. can't remember....
but it's definitely a good buy for me 'cos without the sling, i can't imagine bringing my gal out alone and went for shopping. (bring stroller is quite troublesome especially when i need to go to crowded places or places with limited space.)

cannot find the shop tat linda say. in the end go OG... bought nail cutter, thermometer, nose cleanser, 1 small n big bottle, 1 pacifier, pigeon laundry detergent,

happumumtobe!! I just visited ur son's blog.. so nice!! I think u are very effort leh.. set up such a nice blog for ur baby.. i must learn from u... i only on off update my multiply.. hehe

And ur son is cute!! Looks like ur hubby...and his eyes open so big even when he was a newborn.. and u look young and pretty too..

Can see u really love to shop and eat.. almost everytime also go shop and eat.. haha

hihi, mummies. Just went to ikea and bought a baby cabinet with removable changing top, $189. A bit ex lar but already the cheapest one there. Delivery next Monday. Can't wait to put all the diapers I've stocked up there, my wardrobe got no space liao. Seems like no need to buy bottle drying rack huh? I can delete from my list then. One less thing to buy.

June, hubby is a full time teacher, part-time writer cum cartoonist. haha.

I bought the gift for gathering liao, an educational computer software for toddlers.

sun
blueginger/snow, most prob... cant as i got another gathering to go.

blog
happymum2b, wa lau.. yr blog like this still consider simple!!!

desitin
bluegin/pigletail/tong/genice/eliaw, i tink most prob end o the month then will arrive.

sling
blue, i think i had the ring type when princess was just 8mths. got it to use when we went hk... my complaint was my shoulder was veri painful as the ring kept pressing...this time round, i got the pouch... hopefully, ok...

nacho
bluegin, it's $22 for one tub of cheese n 1 pack of nacho!

gift exchange
kitsune, hey!!! not supposed to share

prenatal massage
i trying grace's massage tomorrow

induced
according to that mtb, it's doc's advice.

washing
bluegin, no choice... got to start somewhere somehow

but hor, u tell us liao, when we saw u we can see by the packing ma... haha...

anyway i also bought the present liao but maybe have to add on something

hi linda,

think after bb 6mths,not using steriliser anymore cos bb start taking food?so the bottle rack can be used to air dry?

hi june,cheryl and snowbelle,

u have the pic of the nose cleanser?which brand is that?how much?

metro having 20% storewide sale tmr,only 1 day

hi dor,

please share ur prenatal massage experience with grace tmr

hi blueginger,

had u considered baby carrier?sthg like a bag in front..any mothers used it before?can share whether is it better than using sling

haha, I see. But still by lucky draw number mah, so can't choose presents by shape or preference right? ;)

Yup, Ade. D-day is 1 Feb too.

Thanks bluegin!

goodbabyb,
I saw it at Kiddy Palace but I think any departmental store also got sell... in bb dept. Thk it's just few dollars, can't remember liao.

goodbabyb

i bought hospital 1st brand. i bought 1 set, consist of cutter, thermometer, the nose cleaner and others, etc.. all for $19.90.. about 5items

sunny,
thanks for sharing your bb sleeping experience. I think i will let my bb sleep on tummy only in the day too.

tute,
ya, i also worry abt " flat-head syndrome" from sleeping too long on the back. But they sell some kind of pillows to prevent that leh. You can check it out.

yesterday night walk2 till my feet cramp...i was mainly looking for the avent stuff, too bad in all of the dept stores i.e. taka/og/robinsons, they are all in nett price
except if you have taka card then get 10% off.

robinsons offer 20% off medela swing pump but not pis...hmm...what else, i'm really clueless what to buy for this gift exchange, but i finally got something! yeay...hehehe.. btw, i was quite unhappy shopping at robinsons centre point last night, they shifted the nursery items from 6th floor to 4th floor and they are really really understaff ! i had to wait for around 10 min to actually spot a staff and ask about the sales items

today gonna go shopping again...i need to get decoration for my xmas tree! plus need to buy some furnitures for later on when i get a maid. plan to divide one of my spare rooms, half for maid and half for baby stuff...coz can't fit all bb stuff in my room :p

fairfield,
got such pillow ? i didn't know...maybe i'll ask around...

good morning all!!!

garfield,
I am not going to the gathering as I don't have energy to go out on weekday night.
wondering if I should pass the money to dor first so that she can pass it to you?
btw, how's the glass bottles that you have collected so far? maybe I should go katong to collect it from you some day?

re: milk storage
besides using milk bags, I was planning to use glass bottle from chicken essence/bird's nest with screwable lids. the disadvantage is taking up more spaces in the freezer.

there are also other alternatives which I think quite cute.
(a) milk tray
type I:
http://sensiblelines.com/shop.html

type II:
http://freshbaby.com/buy_our_products/milktrays.cfm

(b) cubes
http://www.mypreciouskid.com/baby-food-cubes.html

christmas dinner outing
17th dec 07
vila'ge @ heeren (confirmed)
shd be ard 645pm to 7pm...
1. cheryl
2. dorothy(17th ok confirm)
3. kel (ok wif 17th n any type of food)
4. piglettail
5. blueginger
6. garfield
7. kitsune_sg
8. apple_79
9. moi_dar
10. Artemis
11. linda (any date im ok)
12. snowbelle
13. Jeannie
14. bkkgal
15. tubao
16. June(any day also can)
17. tute
18. h@ppymum2b
19. Thankful
20. eliaw
21. hweiz
22. eileengoh
23. Yen
24. Stephie

goodbbb,
I did consider baby carrier. but the feedback is usually hot and uncomfortable for the baby. So drop the idea.

sunny & dorothy,
thank you for the advise. I will ask the sale staff at MIM for advise too.

Milk storage,
Intend to use bottle that can warm and direct feed baby. Milk storage bag need to empty into bottles too trouble. Ya, will use more of those chicken essence bottles.

bumwear,
my friend advised no need this cos can be hot for bb to wear. But need to water-proof mattress in case bb pee.

Gift exchange
Heee.. Bought liao! It is something that can be very handy for the first 6 mths. I think it is a good gift. Hope the receiver find it handy too. Can we tell them who brought it after they open the gift?

hmmm.. so sad can't join all of u for the x'mas outg... my hb gt reservist from 17th to 19th and i dare not leave my boy with the maid at home... hope to join in for the nxt gathering...

goodbbb,
the material that cover mattress is water-resistent material. You can check with the sale staff at Kiddy palacce. My friend bought one without knowing it until her bb pee, then she realized the mattress is water-proof

bluegin,
me at home...
u never go out.

robinson
garfield text me saying that nothing much...

pre-natal massage
sigh... i not having my session with grace today as she text me saying that she need to extract her wisdom tooth;(

gift exchange
blue, good idea hor.... after taking the gift, open up n see..

hi blueginger,

so is the mattress that is waterproof,no need to buy another material to put on top of the mattress?

any 1 noe where are the places that sell the brand baby safe products?

back from glucose test + shopping. now tummy like keep cramping...too much walking i guess =P today is a fruitful day, but more in terms of xmas gifts. tmw will be gift wrapping day

hi xiaoyun,
no prob - so dor pay me on your behalf is it? the bottle collection is growing...i think i have about 10 now? when do you want to collect?

hi goodbaby,
robinsons is having 20% off the baby safe products. quite a big range, got mattress, pillow, bedding etc.

hi garfield,

thanks so much!cos went kiddy palace and OG,but these places,babysafe products are all nett prices,the salesgirl told me cant have discount on nett prices,will go down to take a look tmr

Hi goodbaby,
No prob. I bought an infant pillow (the type with depression) under the BabySafe brand that's why I know the discount applies =)

Unfortunately, not all brands are at 20%....

hi garfield,

the pillow can be used for newborn?or only when bb turn 1 years old?
what other babysafe products are worth to buy?

Hi goodbaby,
There are two types of pillows - one is called newborn pillow (it has a depression in the middle, so as to prevent flat head syndrome), and the other is called infant pillow (it's a normal rectangular pillow without any depression).

The newborn one is supposedly up to 6 mths to 12 mths (thereafter, the skull already harden so dun need the depression anymore). The infant one can be used up to 2-3 yrs old.

I wanted to buy the mattress and bedding, but haven't decided what size cot to buy. Babysafe also carries stuff like baby sleeping bags, swaddlers, blankets, head support etc. a lot of things actually. maybe you can do some research before going down tomorrow http://www.babysafe.com.sg/babysafe_latex.html