(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

dor,
i normally sleep at 1030pm, i think should be considered early to you. :p
no problem for me to walk to your place on tue/wed evening.

garfield,
you tried the nacho already? nice?

hppymum2b,
me too feel fat and the maternity wear made me feel aunty.

Hi Happymum,
You made my day too!! I think you and dor don't look past 30 also. We are youthful mummies =) The cake BP is making me very confused also!

Re thankful and contractions
Hope she is ok....i've also been having a lot of contractions over the weekend cos i think over exert. too much walking and bending up and down / squatting here and there trying to wrap my presents and put up christmas deco. think it's braxton hicks cos not painful. When should we see doctor about these contractions ah?

Hi dor,
This Sat - i have a BBQ at CDAC (very near my place, next to the old City Harvest church). So will be out from 430pm - 8plus. So you can ecome either before 430pm or 9 plus. Just give me a buzz on that day itself okie?

Re cake BP, I'll take care of your order and payment for you first. We'll settle separately offline. I managed to ctc Moi Dar....thanks!!

xiaoyun, ok then...
u just let me know when u wan to come over... i can go over to mcdonald to meet u....
but let me know in advance in case i not back yet....

maternity dress
anyone know where to get maternity dress? looking for cheap one as just wan something nice for xmas. i have gotten the toa payoh's address from cheryl. saw one that i like at spring. selling at $80. but i think no pt loh...

garfield
bb's homewear-sorry yet to answer.... i dun know leh... but i think i need long/short sleeve... cos my long sleeves only got 3... then rest r long sleeve rompers... i scare i too impatient to wear for bb n might hurt him in the process....

garfield,
ok... i pay u on sat... i think most prob will go to yr place abt 9plus.... cos my gal's lesson ends at 4pm(tamp) then we are gg to the condo beside parkway for BBQ also!!!

ya garfield

i still duno wan to buy anot.. my hb ask me to try those coffeeshop using to contain the coffee or tea for tabao kind. i was like -.- can meh?

errm...cheryl, a bit dangerous leh. why don't you buy one pack of lasinoh milk bags to try try first. it's about $7.50 for 25 bags (before shipping charges).

i plan to use the milk bags for home. for MIL place - i will use the Avent containers so she don't need to pour here and pour there.

cheryl, i think depends on milk supply lor =P each time pump use one bag, i think.

you mean you want to buy 4 packs of 25? that's 100 bags. assuming you pump about 4 times a day, that will last you 25 days?

any experienced mummies can advise us?

Anyone know where can I get re-sealable caps for those chicken essence bottles that can withstand high heat? Thinking of using that to store breast milk and gotta sterilise first.

Garfield,
You don't look like you are on the Right side of 30s leh... can't believe it...

Xiao Yun,
The nachos are very nice, even if eat without any dip. Ate too much on sat, now sore throat liao... start to have cough too... too greedy liao...

Contraction,
How you all know it's contraction? Is it something like menses cramp?

christmas dinner outing + gift exchange
17th dec 07
vila'ge @ heeren (book under my name, cheryl)
shd be ard 645pm to 7pm...
1. cheryl
2. dorothy(17th ok confirm)
3. kel (ok wif 17th n any type of food)
4. piglettail
5. blueginger
6. garfield
7. kitsune_sg
8. apple_79
9. moi_dar
10. Artemis
11. linda (any date im ok)
12. snowbelle
13. Jeannie
14. bkkgal
15. tubao
16. June(any day also can)
17. tute
18. h@ppymum2b
19. Thankful
20. eliaw
21. hweiz
22. eileengoh
23. Yen
24. Stephie

the gift budget is $20.... will send a sms to all mtb by this week to dble cfm the attendance

re: milk bag
remember sunny said she uses Playtex bottle liners before? (it stated can be used to freeze BM)
it's much cheaper than the Lansinoh one. Anyone has compared the quality?
Drugstore.com selling 100 bags at USD6.83.

Xiao yun,
haven't tried the nachos yet. bringing it to the BBQ this sat. can you imagine - i have 4 packs staring at me every day haha

Jeannie
True that we can get glass milk bottles from hospitals. Just that the volume is quite small, max about 125ml whereas milk bottles can store up to 300 ml (those bigger ones). And I was able to get these milk bottles at $1 previously (now don't have such promo liao). Hence, it's more worthwhile to buy milk bottles to store (the cap for glass bottles alr cost $0.75 each).

The no. of glass bottles you need really depend on your BM supply. If you have excessive supply, then you'll need lots of bottles. I'm sure you wouldn't want the BM to go to waste even if your bb has enuf milk by latching on directly. So you will just pump out and store in freezer for later use (can keep for 2 to 3 months in freezer). Useful when you are away for holiday (like what June has planned)

The pram that my girl uses is from Lucky Baby. Was a gift from my bro. Think it cost $179 then w/o disc. Has reversible handle and full canopy. But it's quite heavy. About 6-7kg. So only bring out when hubby is around to lug the pram. :p

Thankful
Hope you are better now. Do keep us posted.

June
Ya, I heard before too that if it tears on its own, harder to heal back. I suppose our gynae will be experienced enough to know when a cut is needed bah.

Actually I think there's pros and cons in whether or not to intro bottle feeding to bb. To encourage bb to latch on directly, we should avoid intro bottle to them. However, some bbies become very used to direct latching and will refuse bottle if given to them at a later stage. If you intend to direct latch 24 hours, then no problem. If not, then gotta intro maybe one bottle feed a day some time later. I also don't know when's an appropriate time to intro. As my gal had slight jaundice and PD said it's due to some substance in the breastmilk that causes the jaundice, I was advised to stop bfg for a few days until the jaundice is gone. Hence during those few days, I had to give my gal FM using bottles. Thank goodness she was ok when I reverted to bfg. Subsequently, when my mum chooses to feed her EBM in the middle of the night, she's ok too. Just sharing my experience though different babies behave differently.

I 'bu she de' go on holiday without my baby/kid. Last time used to think it's a waste of $ to bring small bb/kid on holiday (since they probably won't know anything/remember when they grow up). But when faced with the situation, I just bring my kid along for holidays even though there's lots of hassle. Started to bring my gal on holiday when she's 15mths old. Now I think she's very experienced in taking planes liao.

Jeannie
No leh, I don't intend to do any massage. Why your hubby danced in front of you? So cute.

RE: Infant pillow
I also didn't use infant pillow. Same as sunny, just fold the nappy cloth and use it as pillow (that's what the hospital practise also). Till now, my gal doesn't really sleep on pillow, she moves a lot when sleeping so will shift all over and just sleep anywhere on the mattress without any pillow. Haha. Am thinking if I should get the rectangular flat type bbsafe pillow this time round. Hmm..

Sunny
Which brand of milk storage bag did you use? What the cost like? Am looking for alternative storage method cos the milk bottles I have are not enough to store the milk. Ended up I had to throw away those that I couldn't store anymore. Last time I think Dor bought the plaxtex storage bag from bp and was very worthwhile. Now can't seem to find such lobang anymore.

Happymum2b
Yup, you blog is very nice with the fanciful side bar. I know nuts about such stuff.

morning ladies!

1115008.jpg

these are the bb clothes which i bought at 3pc for $10 at raffles place. the label dun indicate the no. of months they are for, but i measured, top's width is 23cm and bottom's elastic band width is 17cm (elastic unstretched). Comes in white, blue and yellow.

i think shd be the same as those linda bought?

Stephie,
sunny bought the playtex bag from shopbug.com. 100 bags at SGD12. but when I searched for the site, it's out of stock already.
probably you can join the drugstore spree at USD6.83 for 100 bags.

initially i was thinking to order from drugstore myself with the UOB promotion (15% off VPOST shipping charge + 3% rebates on shopping items + 5% rebate from drugstore) for Desitin, First Years tooth paste, and milk bags which already reach USD 40. But after seeing the tooth paste will only come 1-2 weeks later, I think it's not worth for me to use VPOST with my limited purchases.

hi ladies...

EBM
if we managed to pump and store directly into a milk bottle, can we just heat up the milk bottle and give to bb directly? even thou the milk bottle has been in the fidge for some hours/days? won't get contaminated right?

i realised i have four milk bottles plus two plastic bottles that comes with my breast pump, will it be enough for a start?

checked out the milk bags at robinsons over the weeeked...alomost like $1per bag, very expensive!

garfield,
that's a good idea.
I don't mind organising but I don't have experience on that. First of all, need to add additional mailing address (VPOST address in US) on the credit card.

btw, we can't do it openly here because there's a mother in Aug 2007 thread was banned recently because she organise some BP for Aug07 mummies.

hi stephie,

Thanks for the compliments.. To be honest, i oso noe nuts abt blogging initially.. i learnt it from my SIL from scratch and slowly improve on it when i get a hang of it.. so initially, the blog is quite bare & empty.. it's really not too difficult to decorate the side bar, just need time to do it..

the main purpose of me setting up a blog is that it is like keeping a diary on my son's growth development and how his look changes as days passed.. Also to keep a memory of those special occasions & share wif him when he is older..

piglettail,
you mean the milk in milk bottle in the fridge for hours/days? it's fridge or freezer? I think bm cannot keep for more than 24 hours in fridge. It's that's the freezer, I tink should be no problem to heat it up directly then feed bb.

garfield,
R u saying we can gather orders from Feb 08 mummies and join the BP section ? Or organise a BP directly in this thread ?
Like wat xiao yun said, it's not allowed if organise a BP directly in this thread..

i m oso interested to get the Desitin cream..

Anyone who want to get Strollers and other stuff can go to this website http://kiddybee.com/. I got a capella stroller from them which is selling cheaper then outside departmental store and as well hypermart and bb kingdom.

happymum2b
wow u'v got a nice blog for your son....i'v got 1 for my son too but too lazy to update since sept.. KeKeKe...

ADe,
thks for the compliment..
how old is ur son ? can share ur son's blog ?

at one time i oso lazy to update.. in june only 3 posts, in july even worse, zero post.. haha..
cos tat time preggie wif #2, no mood for anything at all.. :p

BP / oversesas spree for our Feb08 thread
i think should be ok leh... we do it in this thread loh... dun post in overseas spree....i saw some overseas spree in other thread also.. like birthday direct..

i am interested in the First Years tooth paste, and milk bags.. must jio me hor....

Good morning. Kekeke.
One thing good about staying n work from home is your can wake up late. I had a restless night, so tiring. Have nightmare too. My tummy hv constant cramp and baby moves alot. Do you think I should check with Gynae?

Dorothy,
I stayed at my parents place over the weekend as my husband need to work overnight. My parents are shifting to their new place soon. Will do my confinement at the new place near Jurong Point.
Gift exchange:
Yap. I think so. Cos it is a day of sharing your joys. To an extent, if you have already bought the items, you can ask if anyone wanna exchange with you. In this case, you can get wat you want and she can get hers. Happy for all.

Goodbbb,
Yap. You dun have to buy a protector sheet anymore if you have a waterproof mattress.

Stephie,
I dun remember there is any brand. Come with white sheet cover. Do you want to go shopping at kiddy palace? I can show you, somemore I have the member card that is valid til end of this month. I think can get 10% disc.

Nachos
Hahahah... All your comments so funny. Make me feel like taking nachos. But I'm down with sore throat. Better stay put. *DROOLING* too.

blueginger,
So good, can sleep till now.. **envy**
If u dun feel comfortable abt the cramp, better check wif ur gynae..

ADe,
Just nw i oso hv problem posting.. U try again now.. or just type out the blog's add in normal text.. :=)

ADe,
I visited ur son's blog liao..
Nice pooh/tigger blogskin, i like it! Quite complicated to switch to this blogskin rite ?
I still dare not change my son's blog skin yet cos worry all my side bar deco (done painstaking) will be gone, so stick to the standard template 1st.. haha..

Ya, ur background music is the bird chirping sound, so cute.. at first i thot got birds flew into my office.. keke.. :=P

Hmm.. must update more frequent lah..

cheryl,
yes, for overseas spree, need someone with experienced who had done it before.. also, we must ensure we hv sufficient orders to justify for the shipping charges..

happymum2b
no lah i didnt change the blogskin. cos i dun noe hw to do oso, quite complicated. i jus change the color and add in the pooh pic onli.. mayb u can log in to my friend's cos hers reali nice too..

bluegin,
sob sob... so good... can sleep til so late... me now as usually zombie with blocked nose....

weekend
u din meet sharon?

overseas spree
ya.. a lot of coordination....

ADe,
my edd is supposed to be 25 feb but i m likely gg for c-section on 14 feb..
haha.. why u hv a feeling she will pop earlier?

cheryl,
not really for that reason.. hee..
cos my son's birthday is 14th aug.. i just wan the same date of 14th..

dr adrian v humourous, when i told him my preferred edd for my gal, he jokingly said my gal will "lugi" one present.. cos other gal will receive 2 gifts every year, 1 for birthday, 1 for valentine.. he said my gal's future bf/hb may just buy 1 gift for my gal since her birthday fall on V day as well.. haha.. he think so far ahead for my gal.. :p

happymum2b
wow val day leh 14th feb... i went check up last week and doc says that she oreidi at "head dwn position"... and during my 1st preg, my boy came out 1mth earlier lor so mayb this time round same for my gal???