(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi garfield,

for BHG,the 20% discount is applicable for pigeon items like the controlled price items:detergent,nappy etc?avent also got the 20%?what bb items u bought from BHG?

happymum
ya i know.. i trust him... but cant control my emotion... haha.. noe everyhting is fine liao..

u packed your bag at 38weeks? abit too late right? some ppl pack on the day itself, even better. for me, scare i will be kan chong spider, dunno wat to pack... hehe

hospital bag - my lady boss asked me to be prepared to pop ANYTIME from 28 weeks onwards....so i'll be starting to pack mine over the coming weekend.

KIASU =P

Dear mtbs

Sorry to barge in here. I am having a BP on maternity and nursing clothes at :
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1107159.html?1196835638

Do take this opportunity to get some new clothes for Xmas or CNY and take a look if you are free. Thanks

linda,
haha.. ya, considered abit late esp since that was my 1st delivery.. i m a last min person.. ;P

items in my hospital bag:-
1. 2 sets of front button pj / bras
2. maternity pad
3. disposable panty
4. jacket / sweater / socks
5. toothbrush / toothpaste
6. receiving blanket for bb {TMC will also provide)
7. one set of bb clothings {TMC will also provide)
8. one set of mittens/booties
9. bb handkerchief
10. necessary documents

Can't remember all the items..

garfield,
it's also good to pack in advanced.. just in case.. :p

christmas dinner outing
17th dec 07
vila'ge @ heeren (Book under my name, Cheryl)
shd be ard 645pm to 7pm...
1. cheryl
2. dorothy(17th ok confirm)
3. kel (ok wif 17th n any type of food)
4. piglettail
5. blueginger
6. garfield
7. kitsune_sg
8. apple_79
9. moi_dar
10. Artemis
11. linda (any date im ok)
12. snowbelle
13. Jeannie
14. bkkgal
15. tubao
16. June(any day also can)
17. tute
18. h@ppymum2b
19. Thankful
20. eliaw
21. hweiz
22. eileengoh
23. Yen
24. Stephie

anymore????

hi goodbabyb,
yes, u can bring more if u feel not enuf.. for me, 2 sets enuf liao..

most impt change the pad when u feel it's full.. then furthermore, i lift my gown pj up when i sat on the bed, reduce the chances of staining.. anyway TMC will provide us the "protective mat" in case we stain the bedsheet.. hee..

happymum2b
i c....
ya, this time round, i also sleep quite late. last time, around 9pm, i was on the bed liao. but now, even my gal sleeps at around 8pm+, most of the time, i still sleeps around 10pm. 'cos seems got too many things to do....

Garfield,
Want to check with you. Do you still feel painful below your breast area? I have more pains lately on the left side. Did you check with gynae on this?

Tiger food jar
Bought this when my friend arrange the BP. It can keep food warm for quite some time. Very good to use. Value for money.

Diapers
Depending on baby growth. Different baby have different growth and buttock side. So some may wear size M earlier than others. It's best to stock up more size M than size S. 1pack of NB will do. The rest afew packs of size S until after your baby is born then you will know what size is needed. So far I find Nepia, Pampers and Mamy Poko cutting big. The rest of diapers size may be smaller than these.

Food thermal container (for adults)
Anybody interested to get hot & cold container at S$20 per pc? Those that similar functions to thermal magic food container. Keep food warm for 6-8hrs type. My friend may be organising another BP (overseas) not confirm yet.

sunny,
yes, yes.. u & ur gal current bed time exactly the same as me & my son..
i guess after #2 popped, we may sleep even later cos got even more things to do??
wat is ur plan on taking care of 2 babies ? (pardon me if u hv mentioned on previous post)

goodbabyb,
forget to tell u during the hospital stay, dun worry if there is anything u missed out or need, ask ur hb to help u bring from home.. Tat's wat i did.. :p

good morning!!!

garfield, when u finishing packing. let me have yr list of what to bring... cos most of the thing kkh already provide....

happymum2b
after #2 is born, my plan is to take care of #2 during my maternity leave, and my gal will still be going to my mil place every morning, then in the evening, i will bring her back home so that she can have some time to interact with #2. And, she would be attending 2 hr daily playgroup next jan onwards.
then, after my maternity leave, #2 would be taken care of my mil, and my gal will stop the daily playgroup. 'cos i think it's quite 'xiong' for my mil to fetch my gal to/fro to the class while taking care of #2.
After #2 is 6 mth old, my gal will attend half day childcare.

how about your plan?

sunny,
my mum is currently taking care of my son. after #2 is born, my mum will take care of #2 while the maid (in the process of getting one now) will take care of my son under my mum's supervision. During my maternity leave, i will help out.
And depending on situation, i might send my son to playgroup/childcare next year..

morning ladies!

taka is having sales now, there's 15% off on medela breast pumps. does anyone know if this will be a good buy?

i think the twin mini electric breast pump (not Swing or PIS) is $309 before discount.

taka card holders will have extra 10% off (but i dun have).

just wondering if i shd just get it now, cos sometimes during those 20% off sales at other dept stores, certain brands are still not given discount hor...

hi thankful,
ya, i still feel pain under my breast on the left side. gynae finally diagnosed this as an injured / inflammed ligament. the condition is called Costochondritis....basically all the internal stretching causes it. so the pain is like a torn ligament (sports injury).

nothing much to do, except rest - and apply the anti-inflammatory gel that provides very temporary relief only. you may want to ask your gynae about it. it's not a very common condition, but happens.

dor,
i got a checklist for packing that i consolidated from various sources, later i will post it.

piglettail
not sure abt the price of the medela pump. but if you've done your 'market research' and find that it's a good deal and you are really keen in getting it, why not get it during taka sale. it's true that when other stores have 20% disc, medela pump may not included (last time my fren told me robinson will keep the pump when they have sale). if you need the taka card to enjoy the add'l 10%, just let me know. on top of that, think you'll get $10 voucher for $100 spent.

Been feeling quite breathless today....although I am sitting and not walking around. A bit xin ku. Anyone experiencing that?

hi stephie,

Thanks for your advice! yes i think i will get it...have been sitting on this and talking about buying breast pump since 4mths preggy....!

i think the sale is until Friday only, so it's ok, i'll buy w/o the additional 10%. thanks for your kind offer!

piglettail
yup, the sale til tmr only. if you are gg down tmr, i can pop down after work. can save you another $20+ and also can get the $10 voucher wor. good deal that you shouldn't miss.

Hi goodbaby
Re BHG sale...the 20% discount applies to Pigeon regular priced items, but not the already discounted ones. I saw the Pigeon detergent going for 2 bottles @$12.90 - pretty good deal? No discount for Avent though.

I bought
1. front button baby tops (the brand is Jingle) as per the advice of the mummies in the thread 2. bottoms - long and short
3. Bootees and mittens
4. Baby laundry detergent and equipment detergent from Combi.

Still combing through my list to see what else to buy. The sale is till tomorrow =P

Hi Dor,
Replied your email liao! Got new lobang also...go check it out =)

hi garfield,
replied u already!

BHG
ya, i went too... got some stuff... i managed to get 3 pants from pigeon at $9.90(promo items-so no further disc)n other stuff... bought some stuff from fox bb... still have not get a nice pcs for bb to wear home...

washing
have anyone started washing their stuff? i think i will start this sat... weather not veri good these days...

apple
i got this breathless problem for a while already. it's normal

been seeing a lot of u buying bb clothes from departmental store. i got a place to recommend, is at "si ma lu" opp guan yin temple.(bugis). there is a shop that sells bb clothes in wholesales price. i bought 6 newborn top (tied in the front)- $10, 6 sets of mittons and bootes $8. they also sell towels and hankerchief, nappies clothes, yao lan...
of cos the design is not that fanciful, those suitable to wear at home.. cos bewborn outgrow very fast, this kind will be suitable... save $$$ for outside clothing ba..

while u all r happily busy buying new clothes for ur bb, dun forget to get some worn bb clothings from frenz/relatives.. It is believed that it will be easier to "take care" of bb if u let bb wear used/worn clothings sometimes..

linda

thanks. will go down maybe tml or weekend...

happymum2b

yes.. still looking for pass down, but so far dun have leh... duh....

dor
ya, my mum started to help me in washing bb clothes liao.. jus wash those going to wear for the 1st three mth, the rest can wait till later...hehe.. ya, now towards raining season... so very hard to wash.

hope that during our confinement, it will be raining as well, weather cooler... haha, very selfish of me, during my confinement will be CNY period... only scare nappies clothes cannot dry...

cheryl,
i gave away my son's smaller size clothings prior to expecting #2.. else i can pass some to u cos yours is boi boi too..
i go home and check again.. if can find any, i will pass to u.. :p

linda
The Nania car seat looks ok. price wise not very sure. i vaguely recalled robinson/taka having sale on this brand's car seat. price seems to be lower than $138. but can't remember the exact price and whether it's the same model.

dor,
got your mail!!

cheryl,
if you don't mind, my friend who has triplet boy boys is giving away old clothings as her boys are already 1 year old. i've also gotten some hand me downs from her.

linda,
thanks for the lobang =P i work at gateway so will pop over to take a look next week! still need to buy hankies and washcloths.

dor
i hvn't washed yet. gotta go dig and see if got suitable newborn clothes for bb. if not then gotta go get some liao cos most of the clothings were hand me downs from a fren and i've returned back to her. i only bought 3 pieces of new born rompers for my gal previous and those are in pink/white & red. so cannot use those for my boy.

linda
thanks for the lobang at si ma lu. will check it out over the weekend if i hv the time.

linda, thanks for the lobang... i think i will ask my mother to go... cos she said she is gg there to buy some stuff for confinement use...

handmedown
heehee... happymum2b/garfield, if u got extra handmedown, can i q behind cheryl? will return after used....TIA

washing
the thing is i dun know where to start....
hopefully, the sun will be out the whole day on sat....

ya, like so many stuff to wash. bedsheet, clothings, handkerchief, towel, etc.

maybe start with those that we will need to use in the first few days.

hi ladies...

Cheryl, thanks for letting me know!

yes i replied the organizer already...hope the 20% spree still on.

Stephie,
i'll be going down to taka tomorrow..but will it be convenient for you? i've emailed you my hp no., but it's ok if we can't meet. thanks so much for your kind offer!

bb clothes
i started buying bb clothes..went to this shop at clifford centre (raffles place) during lunch, tops or bottoms at 3 for $10. bought 3 sets...

stephie
really, taka and robinson carry this brand? never see before le... mus check it out. if got, will be good, can use my vouchers...

si ma lu:
fyi, if facing the guan yin temple, the shop will be on the right corner.

linda
maybe only during sale then they carry this brand. for robinson, i'm very sure they had during sale.

piglettail
no problem at all. anyway, me planning to go taka either today or tomorrow. since today i'm planning to go somewhere else, will go tomorrow then. what time will you be there? i'll most likely reach at abt 6.20pm. later i go check my email and sms you my hp nbr.

i also wan to go taka... anyone going in the afternoon? i have taka credit card, can it be use for the additional 10%. dunno if can use vouchers for the promo or not le...

pigletail,

what shop is that at clifford centre? I am working at The Arcade. There are a few shops selling baby clothings there.

Just found out that the $10 voucher for spending min of $100 at taka is only applicable for purchase of selected cosmetics. :p

linda
yes, taka credit card is entitled to the add'l 10% too. vouchers acceptable also.

piggletail,

think they put a sign saying medela have "10%discount (except for special buys)" so you gotta be careful and see if that item has a price tag "sale" or not. I saw the PIS pump forever has the price tag sale on it, which means the 10% disc is not applicable. But i think additional 10% off is applicable and with the $10 voucher, it's almost as good as having 20% off ?

linda,
thanks for the lobang! but where's this guan yin temple? :p

re:sale
how come they are only having sale till tom
now regret i didn't take leave this week...

bumwear - for those who wan to use cloth diapers can consider getting this. i bought all of mine from online sellers. mostly brand new and a few used ones. cos some of them got as gifts but they didn't use it. so far got 8 bumwears + 21 inserts for $247, it's about 30% off the retail price, considering only 3 bumwear out of those are lightly used ones. seems kinda ex but the cost of disposable diapers will outweigh this in 6 mths. read from online threads that you'll probably use 3-4 bumwear and about 10 inserts a day. only need to change the inserts every 2 hours or so and use a nappy liner increase the absorption. anyway i also bought a waterproof mat (about $20) to put under the sheet, just in case there's any leakages. think you can get disposable ones at less than $1 each.

hospital bag - i'm quite kiasu. finish buying almost everything and half-packed my hospital bag already. waiting for the rompers i ordered to come. eastshore is not like tmc, never provide anything de. so gotta pack lotsa things. and i bring extra for everything, just in case it becomes an emergency c-section and i have to stay longer.

Sale Alert!

Ladies, if you are buying Pureen products, can pop by expo from now till Sunday. At Hall 5, where they are having a lifestyle show, the Pureen booth(facing the entrance) is selling their stuff at 20%-40% off retail price. I bought most of my things le, so feel quite heart pain to know it's so cheap now!

The cornstarch powder going at $2.10(rp $3.10), vegetable bottle cleanser at 2 for $10, maternity pads(stick-on) at $5.90 per pack of 20, disposable panties at 5 for $2.30, nappy rash cream $2, even normal body wash for whole family at only 3 for $10. Have other things like wet wipes, nappy liners, baby oil, etc.

The JL sale is also there. So can take a look at the same time!